DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the subject matter of “an electronics interface on an opposing side of the valve housing from the at least one fluid interface” is considered new matter. The original written description does not disclose that the electronics interface is on an opposing side of the valve housing from the at least one fluid interface. Nor do the drawings show such a feature. As depicted in Figures 1 and 2, all of the fluid interfaces (3, 5, 7) are located on a surface that is orthogonally adjacent to the electronics interface (9) (see Annotated FIGS. 1, 2; below), and the opposing surface from the electronics interface (9) does not have any fluid interface. Furthermore, while the specification discloses that there is the possibility for a “fourth fluid interface (not shown)” (see page 10, lines 1-2), this fluid interface is located “adjacent” to the first fluid interface (see page 10, lines 8-10). As such, the original specification does not disclose a fluid interface on a surface opposing a surface on which the electronics interface is located.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the electronics interface the valve housing to an electronic module” is an incomplete phrase rendering the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as --the electronics interface connecting the valve housing to an electronic module--.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “receive a portion of the fluid flow form a fluid channel within the valve housing and to deliver a portion of the fluid flow to the electronic module” (see claim 1, last two lines) is listed after the period of the claim. It is unclear whether this phrase is intended to be a part of the claim or is a typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Long, Jr. et al. (US 6,472,769).
Regarding independent claim 1, Long discloses a valve housing (400) for a control valve (800) of a rail car pneumatic brake system (see Abstract, FIGS. 8-30), the valve housing comprising: at least one fluid interface (432) on one side of the valve housing (see FIG. 12) enabling fluid communication with the control valve (see e.g. FIG. 7, “BC RELAY” in fluid communication with control valve “CVM”) of the rail car pneumatic brake system and enabling a distributor valve or relay valve assembly to be mounted thereon for controlling a fluid flow through the valve housing (see e.g. col. 18, lines 5-11); and an electronics interface (700) (see col. 15, lines 36-38; FIGS. 15, 16, 29, 30) on an opposing side of the valve housing from the at least one fluid interface (see FIGS. 8, 12; interface (431) is on an opposite side from interface (432)), the electronics interface connecting the valve housing to an electronic module (852) (see col. 11, lines 55-58; col. 13, lines 20-26; col. 15, lines 36-38) that is externally mountable on the valve housing (see col. 15, lines 36-38), wherein the valve housing contains the control valve (800) configured to be coupled to the distributor valve or the relay valve assembly (see e.g. FIG. 7, “BC RELAY” is fluidly coupled with control valve “CVM”), wherein the electronics interface (431) comprises a flat plate (see col. 19, lines 7-21, 44-45; FIGS. 8, 12, 29, 30) having a predetermined mechanical connection adapted to a predetermined mechanical electronic module connection (see col. 19, lines 7-45) and at least two openings (see col. 18, line 66 to col. 19, line 6; col. 19, lines 30-39) the at least two openings configured to receive a portion of the fluid flow from a fluid channel within the valve housing and to deliver a portion of the fluid to the electronic module (see col. 18, line 66 to col. 19, line 6; col. 19, lines 30-39) to monitor the air flow between the control valve and one of the distributor valve or the relay valve assembly (see col. 19, lines 7-45; see also FIGS. 7, 29, 30).
Regarding claim 2, Long discloses at least one fluid channel (see FIG. 7, “BP”) configured to be in fluid communication with a fluid consumer and/or a fluid source (see FIG. 7, “BRAKE PIPE”).
Regarding claim 4, Long discloses that the electronics interface is configured to enable the electronic module to access, measure and/or monitor, at least one parameter of the fluid flow, including a pressure, through the housing through the at least one fluid channel (see FIG. 7, pressure sensor module “PSM” is in fluid communication with channel “BP”).
Regarding claim 5, Long discloses that the electronics interface design is adapted to the number of fluid channels in the valve housing (see col. 19, lines 7-45; see also FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Long discloses that the electronics interface comprises a flat plate (854) and at least two, three, four, five, or six, additional openings, each of the additional openings configured to receive the fluid flow and to branch off the fluid flow to the electronic module (see col. 19, lines 7-45; see also FIGS. 7, 29, 30).
Regarding claim 7, Long discloses a control valve (400, 800) for a rail car pneumatic brake system (see Abstract, FIGS. 8-30), the control valve comprising: a housing (400) with at least one fluid interface (432) on one side of the housing enabling fluid communication with a distributor valve or a relay valve (see e.g. col. 14, lines 19-22; col. 18, lines 5-11) mounted thereon for controlling a fluid flow through the housing (see e.g. col. 14, lines 19-22; col. 18, lines 5-11), and an electronics interface (431) (see col. 13, lines 20-24; col. 19, lines 10-13; area for mounting pressure sensor module (852) forms the electronics interface; see also FIGS. 15, 16, 29, 30) on another side of the housing connected to an electronic module (852) or a dummy for occupying the electronics interface, wherein the housing contains the control valve configured to be coupled to the distributor valve or a relay valve assembly (see FIG. 16), wherein the electronics interface comprises a predetermined mechanical connection (see col. 19, lines 10-13) adapted to a predetermined mechanical electronic module connection (see col. 19, lines 7-45) and at least two openings (see col. 18, line 66 to col. 19, line 6; col. 19, lines 30-39) the at least two openings configured to receive a portion of fluid flow from a fluid channel within the valve housing (see col. 18, line 66 to col. 19, line 6; col. 19, lines 30-39) and to deliver a portion of the fluid flow to the electronic module to monitor the air flow between the control valve and one of the distributor valve or the relay valve (see col. 19, lines 7-45; see also FIGS. 7, 29, 30).
Regarding claim 8, Long discloses that the electronic module comprises a measuring and/or monitoring device configured to determine and/or monitor at least one parameter of the fluid flow (see col. 19, lines 30-31, “pressure transducer”).
Regarding claim 9, Long discloses at least one pressure line (see FIG. 7, “BP”) connecting to a compressed air pipe system (see FIG. 7, “BRAKE PIPE”).
Regarding claim 10, Long discloses that the measuring and/or monitoring device comprises a predetermined sensor arrangement of at least one sensor (see col. 19, lines 30-31, “pressure transducer”), and the electronics interface is adapted to the predetermined sensor arrangement (see col. 19, lines 7-45).
Regarding claim 11, Long discloses that the electronics interface comprises a flat plate (431) (see col. 19, lines 7-21, 44-45; FIGS. 8, 12, 29, 30) and at least one additional opening (see col. 18, line 66 to col. 19, line 6; col. 19, lines 30-39), configured to receive the fluid flow and to branch off the fluid flow to the electronic module (see FIG. 7), wherein the arrangement of the opening is adapted to the predetermined sensor arrangement (see col. 18, line 66 to col. 19, line 6; col. 19, lines 30-39).
Regarding claim 12, Long discloses that at least one pressure sensor of the predetermined sensor arrangement is allocated to one electronics interface opening (see col. 19, lines 30-31).
Regarding claim 13, Long discloses that the valve housing comprises: at least one fluid interface (432) enabling fluid communication with the distributor valve or the relay valve assembly of the rail car pneumatic brake system to be mounted thereon for controlling a fluid flow through the housing (see e.g. col. 18, lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 18, Long discloses that the electronic module comprises a monitoring system with a data hub to integrate sensed data from sensors monitoring the fluid flow and transmit the integrated sensed data (see e.g. col. 19, lines 30-33).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02-Sep-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant argues that “it is unclear how electronics interface 700 and PSM 852 are on an opposing side of the valve housing [from the relay valve port]” (see Amendment, page 5). Long, however, discloses that the pressure sensor module (852) is mounted on a top surface of the housing (see FIGS. 15, 16; col. 15, lines 36-43, pressure sensor module is mounted through cover (444) on the top of the housing) whereas the relay valve is mounted on the bottom surface of the housing (see FIG. 12, col. 14, lines 19-20; relay valve is mounted in cavity (432) on the bottom surface of the housing).
Applicant further argues that “Long teaches electronics interface 700 and PSM 852 are both internally mounted in a compartment 420 with cover 444” (see Amendment, page 5). The electronics module (852) of Long, however, is externally mountable to the housing (401) (see e.g. FIGS. 12, 29, 30). While the cover (444) in combination with he housing (401) forms an internal compartment, the electronics module (852) is externally mounted to the housing itself.
Applicant further argues that “Long fails to teach wherein the electronics interface comprises a flat plate having at least two openings” (see Amendment, page 5). Long, however, teaches an electronics interface (431) that is formed as a flat plate (see FIG. 8). Furthermore, Long discloses that the electronics module has a flat bottom surface (see FIGS. 29, 30) that is sealed against the housing (see col. 19, lines 44-45), thereby further implying a flat surface. Furthermore, the electronics interface of Long has at least two openings (see col. 19, lines 34-39; PSM receives pressure from at least four different pressure sources; see also FIG. 7; “PSM” is connected to four ports on housing; see also FIG. 30, PSM has four ports (864) for receiving pressure from four corresponding ports on the housing).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 7, Applicant argues that “Long fails to teach each of the at least two openings configured to receive a portion of the fluid flow form a fluid channel within the valve housing and to deliver a portion of the fluid flow to the electronic module as recited in independent claims 1 and 7” (see Amendment, page 5). Long, however, explicitly states that “[i]n a car control device, a pressure sensor module receives pneumatic pressure signals from various ports of the manifold 468, and translates these pneumatic pressure signals to a functional control module” (see col. 18, line 67 to col .19, line 6) and further that “the pressure transducers detect and measure the pressure at various points in the manifold 468, these points corresponding to respective pressures int eh brake pipe BP, emergency reservoir ER, brake cylinder BC, and the output of the control CV” (see col. 19, lines 35-39). As such, Long discloses at least two openings in the electronic interface to deliver fluid pressure to the sensor module.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
November 9, 2026