DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wit ha data hub” includes a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the phrase “a control valve” (see line 7) is indefinite because it is unclear whether this is the same as the previously recited “control valve” (see line 1). For purposes of examination, these will be interpreted as being the same elements.
Regarding independent claim 7, the phrase “a control valve” (see line 7) is indefinite because it is unclear whether this is the same as the previously recited “control valve” (see line 1). For purposes of examination, these will be interpreted as being the same elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komoriya (US 2013/0134770).
Regarding independent claim 1, Komoriya discloses a valve housing (40) (see FIGS. 4, 5) for a control valve (54) of a rail car pneumatic brake system (see ¶ 0002), the valve housing comprising: at least one fluid interface (see FIG. 4, fluid interface via channels (44)) enabling fluid communication with the control valve of the rail car pneumatic brake system to be mounted thereon for controlling a fluid flow through the housing (see FIG. 4; ¶¶ 0030, 0031) and an electronics interface (see FIG. 5, portion of (41) for mounting electronic module (43)) connecting the valve housing to an electronic module (43) (see FIG. 5), wherein the valve housing has a control valve (54) configured to be coupled to a distributor valve or a relay valve assembly (33) (see FIG. 4), wherein the electronics interface comprises a predetermined mechanical connection adapted to a predetermined mechanical electronic module connection (see FIG. 5) and at least two openings for the distributor valve or for the relay valve assembly (see FIG. 4, showing at least two openings connected to valve (54) and pressure sensor (63)) to monitor the air flow between the control valve and one of the distributor valve or the relay valve assembly (see ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 2, Komoriya discloses at least one fluid channel configured to be in fluid communication with a fluid consumer (BC1, BC2) and/or a fluid source (SR) (see FIG. 4, fluid channels (44, 49) leading to/from fluid consumers (BC1, BC2) and fluid source (SR)).
Regarding claim 4, Komoriya discloses that the electronics interface is configured to enable the electronic module to access, measure and/or monitor, at least one parameter of the fluid flow, including a pressure, through the housing through the at least one fluid channel (see ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 5, Komoriya discloses that the electronics interface design is adapted to the number of fluid channels in the valve housing (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Komoriya discloses that the electronics interface comprises a flat plate (see ¶ 0030; FIGS. 4, 5) and at least two, three, four, five, or six, additional openings (see FIG. 4), configured to receive the fluid flow and to branch off the fluid flow to the electronic module (see FIG. 4).
Regarding independent claim 7, Komoriya discloses a control valve (40, 54) for a rail car pneumatic brake system (see ¶ 0002), the control valve comprising a housing (40) (see FIGS. 4, 5) with at least one fluid interface (see FIG. 4, fluid interface via channels (44)) enabling fluid communication with a valve assembly (54) mounted thereon for controlling a fluid flow through the housing (see FIG. 4; ¶¶ 0030, 0031) and an electronics interface (see FIG. 5, portion of (41) for mounting electronic module (43)) connected to an electronic module (43) (see FIG. 5) or a dummy for occupying the electronic interface, wherein the housing has a control valve (54) configured to be coupled to a distributor valve or a relay valve assembly (33) (see FIG. 4), wherein the electronics interface comprises a predetermined mechanical connection adapted to a predetermined mechanical electronic module connection (see FIG. 5) and at least two openings for the distributor valve or for the relay valve assembly (see FIG. 4, showing at least two openings connected to valve (54) and pressure sensor (63)) to monitor the air flow between the control valve and one of the distributor valve or the relay valve assembly (see ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 8, Komoriya discloses that the electronic module comprises a measuring and/or monitoring device (63) configured to determine and/or monitor at least one parameter of the fluid flow, such as a pressure (see ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 9, Komoriya discloses at least one pressure line connecting to a compressed air pipe system (20) (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Komoriya discloses that the measuring and/or monitoring device comprises a predetermined sensor arrangement of at least one sensor (61-66), and the electronics interface is adapted to the predetermined sensor arrangement (see FIGS. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 11, Komoriya discloses that the electronics interface comprises a flat plate (see ¶ 0030; FIGS. 4, 5) and at least one additional opening (see FIGS. 4, 5), configured to receive the fluid flow and to branch off the fluid flow to the electronic module (see FIGS. 4, 5), wherein the arrangement of the opening is adapted to the predetermined sensor arrangement (see FIGS. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 12, Komoriya discloses that the at least one pressure sensor of the predetermined sensor arrangement is allocated to one electronics interface opening (see FIGS. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 13, Komoriya discloses that the valve housing comprises: at least one fluid interface enabling fluid communication with the distributor valve or the relay valve assembly of the rail car pneumatic brake system to be mounted thereon (see FIGS. 4, 5) for controlling a fluid flow through the housing (see FIGS. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 18, Komoriya discloses that the electronic module comprises a monitoring system (61-66) with a data hub (67) to integrate sensed data from sensors monitoring the fluid flow and transmit the integrated sensed data (see FIG. 5, ¶ 0030).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
April 2, 2026