DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are directed to a placement device for producing a component from a thermoset towpreg semi-finished product and Kaltenborn is directed to means for continuously delivering tape having fibers and a solid polymeric matrix. This is not found persuasive because the technical feature is a placement device comprising a placement unit, laser unit for emitting a laser beam, heating section, wherein the laser unit is arranged and configured to apply the beam in the heating section. The technical feature does not require a thermoset towpreg semi-finished product because the product is the material worked upon by the placement device; the technical feature requires the placement device to be capable of use with thermoset towpreg semi-finished product.
Given that the placement device of Kaltenborn is capable for continuously delivering tape having fibers and a polymeric matrix, it appears that the placement device of Kaltenborn would be capable of use with a thermoset towpreg semi-finished product.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1-3, 6, and 9, “the heating area” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 5, 6, and 11, “the heating region” lacks antecedent basis.
For examination purposes, “the heating area” and “the heating region” will be interpreted as the heating section of claim 1.
In claims 4, “the process housing” lacks antecedent basis. For examination purposes, claim 4 will be interpreted to be dependent on claim 3 which requires a process housing.
In claim 6, “the beam splitter mirror” lacks antecedent basis. For examination purposes, claim 6 will be interpreted to be dependent on claim 5 which requires a beam splitter mirror.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a placement unit for guiding the towpreg semi-finished product”;
“a first temperature measuring unit”;
“a second temperature measuring unit”;
“prestressing unit for generating a longitudinal tension in the towpreg semi-finished product”; and
“handling unit”.
The following interpretations are made:
based on [0018], “placement unit” is interpreted as a guide roller and its equivalents thereof;
based on [0064]-[0065], “temperature measuring unit” is interpreted as a temperature sensor and its equivalents thereof;
based on [0034] and Figure 1, “prestressing unit” is interpreted as a roller and its equivalents thereof; and
based on [0043], “handing unit” is interpreted as an articulated arm robot or a gantry machine and their equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holmes (PG-PUB 2003/0145932).
Regarding claim 1, Holmes teaches a placement device capable of producing a component from a thermoset towpreg semi-finished product, comprising:
a placement unit for guiding a product (Figure 2, item 12 and [0021]),
a laser unit for emitting a laser beam (Figure 2, item 7 and [0022]), and
a heating section (Figure 4, area being heated by item 7),
wherein the laser unit is arranged and configured to apply the laser beam to the product in the heating section (Figure 4).
Holmes does no teach a thermoset towpreg semi-finished product.
However, inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP § 2115). Given that the material worked upon by the apparatus of Holmes is a fiber tape, it appears that the apparatus of Holmes would also be capable of use with a thermoset towpreg semi-finished product.
The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Regarding claim 2, Holmes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein the laser unit is arranged and configured to apply the laser beam to at least a first outer surface of the product within the heating section (Figure 4 and [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 3, Holmes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein the placement unit comprises a process housing through which the product can be passed, wherein the heating section is located within the process housing (Figure 4 and [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Homes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein the laser unit is coupled to the process housing (i.e., arranged in the process housing) (Figure 2, items 7 and 12 and [0022]).
Regarding claim 5, Holmes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein the laser unit is arranged and configured such that the laser beam impinges substantially orthogonally on the product (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Holmes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, comprising a first temperature measuring unit (i.e., temperature sensor) arranged and configured to determine a first temperature of the product in the heating section (Figure 3, item 8 and [0025]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Holmes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, comprising a second temperature measuring unit (i.e., temperature sensor) arranged and configured to detect a second temperature of a second outer surface of the product opposite to a first outer surface of the product [0025]-[0027].
Regarding claim 8, Holmes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, comprising a prestressing unit (i.e., a roller) capable of generating a longitudinal tension in the product, wherein the pressing unit is capable of applying longitudinal tension between 0 N to more than 200 N (Figure 2, items 13 and [0020]).
The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Regarding claim 10, Holmes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, comprising a control device, signal-technically coupled to the laser unit and/or the placement unit [0024]-[0027], for controlling at least one laser parameter of the laser unit (e.g., function on/off [0024], or rate of heating [0025]), wherein
the control device is set up to control the laser unit such that the product is heated to a desired temperature [0023]-[0025].
Given that the control device is capable of controlling the laser unit to heat to a desired temperature, the control device is capable of controlling the laser unit to a curative temperature of a towpreg semi-finished product.
Examiner notes claim 10 limitation “a control device, signal-technically coupled to the laser unit and/or to the placement unit, for controlling and/or loop-controlling at least one laser parameter of the laser unit, a feed speed of the towpreg semi-finished product and/or a longitudinal tension of the towpreg semi-finished product” do not appear to present structural limitations directed towards the configuration of the controller. Claim 10 does not require a control device configured to perform the claimed functions. Accordingly, the limitation appears to be functional limitations directed to the capability of a controller to perform such functions.
Regarding claim 11, Holmes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, comprising a control device arranged to control the laser unit based on a first temperature of the product in the heating section [0024]-[0025].
Examiner notes claim 11 limitation “a control device arranged to control the laser unit based on…” do not appear to present structural limitations directed towards the configuration of the controller. Claim 11 does not require a control device configured to perform the claimed functions. Accordingly, the limitation appears to be functional limitations directed to the capability of a controller to perform such functions.
Regarding claim 12, Holmes teaches a placement system capable of producing a component from a thermoset product, comprising:
the placement device as applied to claim 1, and
a head drive assembly comprising a plurality of drive devices (i.e., handling unit, a functionally equivalent structure to a gantry system or robotic arm that allows for movement of the placement device) (Figure 1 and 2, item 22 and [0021]),
wherein the handing unit is arranged and configured to move the placement device (Figure 1 and 2 and [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmes (PG-PUB 2003/0145932), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Kok (PG-PUB 2017/0320242).
Alternatively, regarding claim 5, Holmes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein the laser unit is a laser diode array [0027].
Holmes does not explicitly teach the laser unit is arranged and configured such that the laser beam impinges substantially orthogonally on the product
Kok teaches a device for producing a reinforcing structure comprising a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic material onto a molded body, the device comprising a laser diode array (Figure 1 and 2). Kok teaches laser diodes of the laser diode array are spaced apart in a non-equidistant manner. Kok teaches by means of the non-equidistant spacing of the laser diodes, the nonuniform radiation intensity on the
heating surface of the strip and/or on the heating surface of the molded body can be achieved or assisted [0030]-[0031]. Kok teaches spacings between laser diodes which
irradiate the heating surfaces at a relatively large angle, the spacings between these laser diodes can be smaller than the spacings between the laser diodes which irradiate the heating surfaces at a more acute angle or approximately perpendicularly ([0032], [0079]-[0080] and Figures 9-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Holmes, in particularly the laser unit, with a laser diode array of Kok, a known suitable laser unit for irradiating a heating surface of a resin-based fiber material.
Regarding claim 9, Holmes teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1.
Holmes does not teach a preheating station arranged upstream of the heating section with respect to a direction of movement of the product.
Kok teaches a device for producing a reinforcing structure which comprises a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic material on a molded body surface ([0030], [0076]-[0077] and Figures 1 and 2). Kok teaches the device includes a laser unit [0079] and a heating unit (Figure 2, item 70) situated ahead of a heating surface to heat both front and rear side of the strip [0102] to ensure that the strip is heated to a predetermined temperature [0103]. Kok teaches since the strip has been pre-heated to a temperature, all that is required is that the strip should be heated further by a reduced amount by means of the laser light emitted by the laser diode array in order to be joined materially to the surface of the molded body [0104]. Kok teaches the heating unit brings about further improved thermalization of the strip, as a result of which even lower thermal stresses remain in the reinforcing structure after said structure cools, whereby the reinforcing structure has a further increased stability [0105]. Kok teaches it is also possible to use strips with a greater thickness since the strip is heated and thus thermalized both on the front side and on the rear side thereof [0106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Holmes with a pre-heating station as taught by Kok, for the benefit of using a combination of pre-heating from a heating unit and heating from a laser unit for improved thermalization and suitability of the apparatus with other materials.
Alternatively, regarding claim 12, Holmes teaches a placement system capable of producing a component from a thermoset product, comprising:
the placement device as applied to claim 1, and
a head drive assembly comprising a plurality of drive devices (Figure 1 and 2, item22 and [0021]),
wherein the handing unit is arranged and configured to move the placement device (Figure 1 and 2, item22 and [0021]).
Holmes does not teach the head drive assembly is a robot arm or gantry system (i.e., handling unit).
Kok teaches a device for producing a reinforcing structure comprising a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic material onto a molded body, the device comprising a laser diode array (Figure 1 and 2), wherein the device is disposed on a robot for moving and rotating [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Holmes, in particularly the drive mechanisms, with a robot as taught by Kok, a suitable handling unit for allowing movement of the placement device.
Conclusion
HANA C. PAGE
Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/HANA C PAGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1745