DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application No. US 2017/0361271 A1 to Eisenberger (hereinafter referred to as Eisenberger).
Regarding claim 1, Eisenberger teaches a sorbent polymer composite article comprising a composite of a sorbent (Abstract “wherein said sorbent is alternately exposed to a flow of ambient air during said removal phase, to sorb, and therefore remove, carbon dioxide from said ambient air”) and a flexible porous polymer having a flexibility (Abstract “The sorbent can be carried on a porous thin flexible sheet”), the sorbent polymer composite article having: an adsorptive configuration in which the sorbent polymer composite article is disposed to adsorb one or more components of a feed stream (Abstract “wherein said sorbent is alternately exposed to a flow of ambient air during said removal phase, to sorb, and therefore remove, carbon dioxide from said ambient air”); a desorptive configuration in which the sorbent polymer composite article is disposed to remove the one or more components from the sorbent polymer composite article (Abstract “to a flow of the process steam during the regeneration and capture phase, to remove the sorbed carbon dioxide, thus regenerating such sorbent”); and wherein the flexibility of the flexible porous polymer facilitates a transfiguration between the adsorptive configuration and the desorptive configuration (Abstract “The sorbent can be carried on a porous thin flexible sheet constantly in motion between the removal location and the regeneration location”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 10, 12-13, 16-18, 21-22, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5912423 to Doughty et al. (hereinafter referred to as Doughty), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. US 2014/0311341 to Jiang et al. (hereinafter referred to as Jiang).
Regarding claim 4, Doughty teaches a sorbent article (Abstract “A method and apparatus for removing contaminates from an air stream”) comprising a sorbent and a flexible material (Col. 2, lines 58-62 “In addition to the well-known traditional physical forms of activated carbon, it is also known that activated carbon can be prepared in the form of activated carbon cloth or activated carbon felt.”), the article having: an adsorptive configuration in which the sorbent article is disposed to adsorb one or more components of a feed stream (Fig. 1, activated carbon cloth 11 is disposed in an air stream ; Col. 3, lines 44-46 “One embodiment of the present invention also provides a means for removing the contaminants from air by contacting the contaminated air stream with an activated carbon cloth”); a desorptive configuration in which the sorbent article is disposed to remove the one or more components from the sorbent article (Fig. 2, regeneration chambers 26’ and 21’ ; Col. 4, lines 55-58 “Additionally, it should be understood by those skilled in the art, that rolls 16 and 19 may also act as electrodes so that chamber 26 acts as a regeneration chamber thereby permitting continuous adsorption and regeneration.”); and wherein the flexibility of the flexible material facilitates a transfiguration between the adsorptive configuration and the desorptive configuration (Fig. 2, the sorbent article moves through a continuous loop of adsorption in a flat configuration and regeneration in a rolled configuration), wherein the sorbent article is substantially laminar in the adsorptive configuration (Fig. 1, air flows through cloth 11 in a laminar configuration) and substantially cylindrical in the desorptive configuration (Fig. 1, cloth 11 collects around rolls 16 and 19 when in regeneration chambers 21 and 26). Doughty does not teach wherein the article comprises a composite of a sorbent and a flexible porous polymer, forming a sorbent polymer composite article.
However, Jiang teaches a sorbent polymer composite article for capturing a gas (Abstract “Articles for capturing or separating a target gas from a gas stream may include a porous substrate such as a flexible sheet or mat … with a sorbent composition.”) comprising a composite of a sorbent and a flexible porous polymer having a flexibility (¶0020 “The articles for capturing or separating a target gas from a gas stream may include a porous substrate. The porous substrate may be any type of substrate with which the sorbent composition, to be described below, is chemically compatible … For example, the sheet or mat may be a nonwoven cellulosic material such as paper or tissue. As a further example, the sheet or mat may be made from nonwoven fibers of a polymer such as polypropylene.”), wherein said article can desorb the captured material (¶0050 “The methods for capturing or separating a target gas from a gas stream may further include heating the article to a temperature sufficient to desorb the target gas that has adsorbed onto the sorbent composition.”). Jiang further teaches that the sorbent polymer composite may give the article properties not achieved with just an independent sorbent or polymer article (¶0024 “In general, when polyamines are used alone as a sorbent composition on a sorbent article … over time the sorbent articles tend to lose effectiveness in capturing the target gas … Thus, it is believed that lifetime and performance of efficiency of a sorbent article containing a polyamine may be increased if the sorbent article is coated or impregnated with a sorbent composition that is both chemically stable in oxygen and less soluble in water than a substantially insoluble in water. The sorbent compositions that include both the polyamine and the coexistent polymer are believed to meet these specifications.”).
Doughty and Jiang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of adsorption articles for capture of target gases that may be regenerated. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the article as taught by Doughty could be modified to include the sorbent polymer composite material as taught by Jiang to improve the longevity and stability of the article. Furthermore, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B). It should additionally be noted that, as claim 4 depends upon claim 1, the combination of Doughty and Jiang read on both claims 1 and 4 and claim 1 is therefore likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding claim 5, Doughty and Jiang teach the sorbent polymer composite article as applied to claim 1 above. Doughty further teaches wherein the sorbent polymer composite article comprises: an extended arrangement in the adsorptive configuration (Fig. 1, air flows through cloth 11 in an extended configuration); and a compressed arrangement in the desorptive configuration (Fig. 1, cloth 11 collects around rolls 16 and 19, compressing the material, when in regeneration chambers 21 and 26).
Regarding claim 6, Doughty and Jiang teach the sorbent polymer composite article as applied to claim 1 above. Doughty further teaches wherein the sorbent polymer composite article is substantially unfolded in the adsorptive configuration (Fig. 1, air flows through cloth 11 in an unfolded configuration) and substantially folded in the desorptive configuration (Fig. 1, cloth 11 “folds” around rolls 16 and 19 when in regeneration chambers 21 and 26).
Regarding claim 10, Doughty and Jiang teach the sorbent polymer composite article as applied to claim 1 above. Doughty further teaches wherein, once an adsorption capacity of adsorption equilibrium of the sorbent polymer composite article has been reached, the sorbent polymer composite article transitions from the adsorptive configuration to the desorptive configuration (Col. 4, lines 43-46 “When the cloth is judged to no longer have adequate capacity for removal of the contaminants of interest, it is regenerated by desorbing the contaminants therefrom. According to the method of the present invention, desorption is accomplished by reversing the path of the cloth and applying a suitable electrical current to the cloth as it passes between two electrodes.”), and wherein the sorbent polymer composite article returns from the desorptive configuration to the adsorptive configuration (Claim 3 “A method as set forth in claim 1 and 2 including the step of providing cloth that has undergone desorption being contacted by said air.”).
Regarding claim 12, Doughty teaches a method of using a sorbent article comprising the steps of: providing the sorbent article (Abstract “A method and apparatus for removing contaminates from an air stream”) comprising: a sorbent and a flexible material (Col. 2, lines 58-62 “In addition to the well-known traditional physical forms of activated carbon, it is also known that activated carbon can be prepared in the form of activated carbon cloth or activated carbon felt.”), exposing the sorbent article in a first configuration to a feed stream containing carbon dioxide (Fig. 1, cloth 11 receives an air flow ; Abstract “A method and apparatus for removing contaminants from an air stream” ; Although Doughty does not explicitly mention carbon dioxide, this is a known contaminant and is present in ambient air); adsorbing at least a portion of the carbon dioxide onto the sorbent while the sorbent article is in the first configuration (Col. 4, lines 19-23 “With reference to FIG. 1, a presently preferred embodiment of the invention is shown in which adsorber 10 includes an activated carbon cloth 11 positioned across an orifice in an air stream containing contaminates to be removed.”); positioning the sorbet article into a second configuration after the adsorbing step (Fig. 1, cloth 11 moves from the adsorption position to regeneration chambers 21 and 26); and desorbing the carbon dioxide from the sorbent article while the sorbent article is in the second configuration (Col. 4, lines 40-46 “As cloth 11 is collected onto a take-up roll in regeneration chamber 21, the width of the cloth is passed over rolls 14 and 18 which are rendered electrically conductive … When the cloth is judged to no longer have adequate capacity for removal of the contaminants of interest, it is regenerated by desorbing the contaminants therefrom.”). Doughty does not teach wherein the article comprises a composite of a sorbent and a flexible porous polymer, forming a sorbent polymer composite article.
However, Jiang teaches a sorbent polymer composite article for capturing carbon dioxide (Abstract “Articles for capturing or separating a target gas from a gas stream may include a porous substrate such as a flexible sheet or mat … with a sorbent composition.” ; ¶0040 “In non-limiting illustrative embodiments, the target gas may be an acidic gas such as hydrogen sulfide, carbon dioxide”) comprising a composite of a sorbent and a flexible porous polymer having a flexibility (¶0020 “The articles for capturing or separating a target gas from a gas stream may include a porous substrate. The porous substrate may be any type of substrate with which the sorbent composition, to be described below, is chemically compatible … For example, the sheet or mat may be a nonwoven cellulosic material such as paper or tissue. As a further example, the sheet or mat may be made from nonwoven fibers of a polymer such as polypropylene.”), wherein said article can desorb the captured material (¶0050 “The methods for capturing or separating a target gas from a gas stream may further include heating the article to a temperature sufficient to desorb the target gas that has adsorbed onto the sorbent composition.”). Jiang further teaches that the sorbent polymer composite may give the article properties not achieved with just an independent sorbent or polymer article (¶0024 “In general, when polyamines are used alone as a sorbent composition on a sorbent article … over time the sorbent articles tend to lose effectiveness in capturing the target gas … Thus, it is believed that lifetime and performance of efficiency of a sorbent article containing a polyamine may be increased if the sorbent article is coated or impregnated with a sorbent composition that is both chemically stable in oxygen and less soluble in water than a substantially insoluble in water. The sorbent compositions that include both the polyamine and the coexistent polymer are believed to meet these specifications.”).
Doughty and Jiang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of adsorption articles for capture of target gases that may be regenerated. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the method and article as taught by Doughty could be modified to include the sorbent polymer composite material as taught by Jiang to improve the longevity and stability of the article. Furthermore, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 13, Doughty and Jiang teach the method as applied to claim 12 above. Doughty further teaches maintaining the sorbent polymer in the first configuration until the sorbent reaches a carbon dioxide capacity or equilibrium, wherein the positioning step occurs once the carbon dioxide capacity or equilibrium has been reached (Col. 4, lines 43-48 “When the cloth is judged to no longer have adequate capacity for removal of the contaminants of interest, it is regenerated by desorbing the contaminants therefrom. According to the method of the present invention, desorption is accomplished by reversing the path of the cloth and applying a suitable electrical current to the cloth”).
Regarding claim 16, Doughty and Jiang teach the method as applied to claim 12 above. Doughty further teaches returning the sorbent polymer composite article from the second configuration to the first configuration subsequent to the desorbing step (Col. 4, lines 55-58 “Additionally, it should be understood by those skilled in the art, that rolls 16 and 19 may also act as electrodes so that chamber 26 acts as a regeneration chamber thereby permitting continuous adsorption and regeneration.” ; Fig. 2 depicts a continuous loop wherein the sorbent article moves from the first configuration (adsorption) in to the second configuration (regeneration) and then returns to the first configuration once again, forming a continuous loop).
Regarding claim 17, Doughty and Jiang teach the method as applied to claim 12 above. Doughty further teaches rotating the sorbent polymer composite article along a path having a first potion and a second portion (Fig. 1, first portion is considered to be within the air flow path while the second portion is inside regeneration chambers 21’ and 26’), wherein: during the exposing step with the sorbent polymer composite article in the first configuration, a portion of the sorbent polymer composite article is positioned in the first portion of the path (Fig. 2, when cloth 11’ is exposed to the air flow it reads on a portion of the article positioned within the first portion of the path); and during the positioning step with the sorbent polymer composite article in the second configuration, a portion of the sorbent polymer composite article is positioned on the second portion of the path (Fig. 2, a portion of cloth 11’ is rolled around either roller 14’ and 16’ which are located inside regeneration chambers 21’ and 26’, therefore reading on a portion of the article is positioned on the second portion of the path).
Regarding claim 18, Doughty and Jiang teach the method as applied to claim 17 above. Doughty further teaches wherein the rotating step results in a reduced volume occupied by the sorbent polymer composite article (Fig. 2, as the cloth 11’ is wound around rollers 14’ and 16’, the volume occupied by the article will be reduced).
Regarding claim 21, Doughty and Jiang teach the method as applied to claim 12 above. Doughty further teaches collecting the extracted carbon dioxide subsequent to the desorbing step (Col. 4, lines 51-54 “The desorbed contaminates are swept from the regeneration chamber by a small stream of air which is vented through vent 22 which can be to the atmosphere or disposal resource.” ; In this case, the “disposal resource” reads on a collection mechanism for the desorbed contaminants).
Regarding claim 22, Doughty and Jiang teach the method as applied to claim 17 above. Doughty further teaches wherein the rotating step is performed continuously such that the sorbent polymer composite article continuously transitions between the first configuration and the second configuration (Col. 4, lines 55-58 “Additionally, it should be understood by those skilled in the art, that rolls 16 and 19 may also act as electrodes so that chamber 26 acts as a regeneration chamber thereby permitting continuous adsorption and regeneration.” ; see Fig. 2 for a depiction of this embodiment).
Regarding claim 27, Doughty and Jiang teach the method as applied to claim 12 above. Doughty further teaches moving the sorbent polymer composite article (Fig. 2, in the continuous embodiment the sorbent polymer composite article continuously rotates between the two configurations). Although Doughty does not explicitly teach wherein the movement of the sorbent polymer composite article is to substantially remove any liquid droplets, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. That is to say that the article as taught by Doughty and Jiang is capable of performing such a function. See MPEP § 2112.01(I).
Claims 7-9 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doughty and Jiang, and further in view of European Patent Application No. EP 0888801 A1 to Macquet et al. (hereinafter referred to as Macquet).
Regarding claim 7, Doughty and Jiang teach the sorbent polymer composite article as applied to claim 1 above. Doughty and Jiang do not teach wherein the sorbent polymer composite article further comprises a non-porous portion that lacks the sorbent, wherein the non-porous portion is coupled to the composite.
However, Macquet teaches a filter belt edge structure (Fig. 1), wherein the edge structure is comprised of a plastic material (Col. 2, lines 52-56 “The edge strip 10 may be of natural or synthetic rubber or of any suitable flexible and hard wearing plastics material. Thermoplastics with rubber like properties and a significant polyolefin content (e.g. Polypropylene) are preferred” ; polypropylene is a non-porous material) designed to protect the edge of a filter cloth (Col. 2, lines 48-51 “The structure also encapsulates the edge 17 of the belt cloth so that the edge is not exposed to abrasion or fraying, resulting in extended useful life for the filter cloth.”).
Doughty, Jiang, and Macquet are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of adsorption articles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sorbent polymer composite article as taught by Doughty and Jiang to further include the edge strip as taught by Macquet to protect the edges of the article and extend the lifetime of the filter material.
Regarding claim 8, Doughty, Jiang, and Macquet teach the sorbent polymer composite article as applied to claim 7 above. Macquet further teaches wherein the non-porous portion is coupled to an outermost end of the composite (Fig. 2, edge strip 10 surrounds an edge 17 of filter cloth 18).
Regarding claim 9, Doughty, Jiang, and Macquet teach the sorbent polymer composite article as applied to claim 7 above. As can be seen in Fig. 3 of Macquet, the non-porous portion (edge strip 10) would cover a portion of the porous polymer of the composite (Fig. 3, edge strip 10 encloses edge 17 of filter cloth 18). With such a configuration, the article as taught by Doughty, Jiang, and Macquet would read on wherein when the sorbent polymer composite article is in the desorptive configuration, the porous polymer of the composite is temporarily covered by the non-porous portion (Macquet additionally teaches it is known in the art to stitch reinforcement strips to the filter material, which would read on the “temporarily” limitation ; Col. 1, lines 7-11 “The rubber edge track is attached to a fabric reinforcement strip by means of several rows of stitching and the fabric reinforcement strip is in turn secured to the edge of the filter cloth.”).
Regarding claim 26, Doughty and Jiang teach the method as applied to claim 12 above. Doughty and Jiang do not teach wherein the sorbent polymer composite article further includes an end-sealing region that protects the sorbent.
However, Macquet teaches a filter belt edge structure (Fig. 1), wherein the edge structure is comprised of a plastic material (Col. 2, lines 52-56 “The edge strip 10 may be of natural or synthetic rubber or of any suitable flexible and hard wearing plastics material. Thermoplastics with rubber like properties and a significant polyolefin content (e.g. Polypropylene) are preferred” ; polypropylene is a non-porous material) designed to protect the edge of a filter cloth (Col. 2, lines 48-51 “The structure also encapsulates the edge 17 of the belt cloth so that the edge is not exposed to abrasion or fraying, resulting in extended useful life for the filter cloth.”).
Doughty, Jiang, and Macquet are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of adsorption articles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sorbent polymer composite article as taught by Doughty and Jiang to further include the edge strip as taught by Macquet to protect the edges of the article and extend the lifetime of the filter material.
Claims 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doughty and Jiang, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. US 2023/0167591 A1 to Soliman et al. (hereinafter referred to as Soliman).
Regarding claim 19, Doughty and Jiang teach the method as applied to claim 17 above. Doughty and Jiang do not teach wherein the desorbing step further includes submerging the porous composite portion in the second configuration in a substance to desorb the carbon dioxide.
However, Soliman teaches a composite material for CO2 capture (Abstract “In some embodiments, the membrane is suitable for use in removal of VOCs and CO2 in conjunction with a carbon nanofiber membrane.”), wherein the material comprises a polymer membrane and a carbon nanofiber membrane (¶0099 “In some embodiments, the photocatalyst-impregnated nanofibrous polymer membrane may be used in conjunction with a carbon nanofiber membrane for removal of CO2”) and can be regenerated using water (¶0073 “In some preferred embodiments, the disclosed membrane does not degrade upon exposure to water … Thus, products made using the membrane may be washed and reused.”).
Doughty, Jiang, and Soliman are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of adsorption articles for capture of target gases that may be regenerated. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Doughty and Jiang to further include a washing step as taught by Soliman. The system as taught by Doughty may be modified wherein the regeneration chambers can be filled with a liquid rather than using electrodes to heat the material, which may offer a cheaper regeneration alternative. Furthermore, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 23, Doughty and Jiang teach the method as applied to claim 12 above. Doughty further teaches wherein the exposing step includes positioning the sorbent polymer composite article in an extended configuration (Fig. 1, cloth 11 is extended across the air flow path during adsorption); and the positioning step includes positioning the sorbent polymer composite article in a compressed configuration (Fig. 1, cloth 11 is compressed around roller 14 in regeneration chamber 21), wherein a height of the sorbent polymer composite article is greater in the extended configuration than a height of the sorbent polymer composite article in the compressed configuration (“height 1” in the extended configuration is greater than “height 2” in the compressed configuration ; see annotated figure below).
Doughty and Jiang do not teach wherein the desorbing step further includes submerging the sorbent polymer composite article in the second configuration in a substance that desorbs the carbon dioxide.
However, Soliman teaches a composite material for CO2 capture (Abstract “In some embodiments, the membrane is suitable for use in removal of VOCs and CO2 in conjunction with a carbon nanofiber membrane.”), wherein the material comprises a polymer membrane and a carbon nanofiber membrane (¶0099 “In some embodiments, the photocatalyst-impregnated nanofibrous polymer membrane may be used in conjunction with a carbon nanofiber membrane for removal of CO2”) and can be regenerated using water (¶0073 “In some preferred embodiments, the disclosed membrane does not degrade upon exposure to water … Thus, products made using the membrane may be washed and reused.”).
Doughty, Jiang, and Soliman are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of adsorption articles for capture of target gases that may be regenerated. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Doughty and Jiang to further include a washing step for desorption as taught by Soliman. The system as taught by Doughty may be modified wherein the regeneration chambers can be filled with a liquid rather than using electrodes to heat the material, which may offer a cheaper regeneration alternative. Furthermore, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 14 requires that:
“The method of claim 12, wherein:
the providing step further comprises coupling a non-porous portion having a flexible polymer to the flexible porous polymer of the porous composite portion;
the exposing step further includes positioning the sorbent polymer composite article into a substantially laminar form; and
the positioning step further includes positioning the sorbent polymer composite article into a substantially cylindrical form with the porous composite portion concealed by the non-porous portion, and wherein the desorbing step comprises injecting water vapor into a center of the sorbent polymer composite article in the second configuration and collecting at least some of the carbon dioxide.”
The prior art which best approaches the invention of claim 14 is Doughty and Jiang as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Macquet, wherein Doughty teaches the exposing step further includes positioning the sorbent polymer composite article into a substantially laminar form (Fig. 1, cloth 11 is in a laminar form across the air flow path when in the adsorption configuration); and the positioning step further includes positioning the sorbent polymer composite article into a substantially cylindrical form (Fig. 1, cloth 11 is cylindrically round around roller 14 in regeneration chamber 21).
Doughty and Jiang do not teach coupling a non-porous portion having a flexible polymer to the flexible porous polymer of the porous composite portion, wherein during the positioning step the porous composite portion is concealed by the non-porous portion, and wherein the desorbing step comprises injecting water vapor into a center of the sorbent polymer composite article in the second configuration and collecting at least some of the carbon dioxide. As explained above, the combination of Doughty, Jiang, and Macquet teaches coupling a non-porous portion to the porous composite portion.
However, Doughty, Jiang, and Macquet nor the related prior art provide the limitations (emphasis added) of coupling a non-porous portion having a flexible polymer to the flexible porous polymer of the porous composite portion, the positioning step further includes positioning the sorbent polymer composite article into a substantially cylindrical form with the porous composite portion concealed by the non-porous portion, and wherein the desorbing step comprises injecting water vapor into a center of the sorbent polymer composite article in the second configuration and collecting at least some of the carbon dioxide.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hopkinson (US 20220280918 A1) teaches a sorbent polymer composite on a flexible fabric substrate.
/RACHEL MARIE SLAUGOVSKY/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/Magali P Slawski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773