DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
The present application is being examined under the AIA the first inventor to file provisions.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s arguments see remarks, filed 03/09/2026, regarding the 112(a) rejections are persuasive due to amendments and are therefore withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see remarks, filed 03/09/2026, Claim rejections are with respect to the 103 art rejections have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combinations of references being used in the current rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because In Fig. 5, S3 says “is determination value is less than or equal to a threshold” this should be changed to “is determination value for typographical/grammar issues to avoid clarity issues. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 along with its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for when the determination value is not less than or equal to the threshold (step S3: NO), the flow returns to step 51. When the determination value is less than or equal to the threshold (step S3: YES), determination section 120 determines that door 3 is in a closed state (step S4) determination section 120 then transmits, to loading rate estimation apparatus 200, determination-result information indicating that door 3 is in the closed state (step S5). Loading rate estimation apparatus 200, which has received this determination-result information, performs estimation of a loading rate, as described in Paragraph [0050-53] in the specification, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing the claim language “wherein the hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when it determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when it determines that the door is in the open state”, as claimed in claim 1.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is wherein the hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when it determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when it determines that the door is in the open state.
Claim 7 along with its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for when the determination value is not less than or equal to the threshold (step S3: NO), the flow returns to step 51 When the determination value is less than or equal to the threshold (step S3: YES), determination section 120 determines that door 3 is in a closed state (step S4) determination section 120 then transmits, to loading rate estimation apparatus 200, determination-result information indicating that door 3 is in the closed state (step S5). Loading rate estimation apparatus 200, which has received this determination-result information, performs estimation of a loading rate., as described in Paragraph [0050-53] in the specification, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing the claim language “wherein the second hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the open state”, as claimed in claim 7.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is wherein the second hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the open state.
The office respectfully requests the Applicant to indicate where in the specification teaches the limitation in claims 1 and 7 or amend in order to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20080025565 A1) hereafter referenced as Zhang in view of Nakamori et al. (US 20100074469 A1) hereafter referenced as Nakamori and Henry et al. (US 20220113182 A1) hereafter referenced as Henry.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a sensing apparatus (Fig. 1A-B, Paragraph [0009]- Zhang discloses referring to FIG. 1B, the reference numeral 14 generally designates a monocular vision system housed within the vision module 12 of FIG. 1A.) mounted on a vehicle having a cargo compartment provided with an openable/closable door (Fig. 1A, Paragraph [0008]- Zhang discloses the reference numeral 10 generally designates a cargo container such as a semi-trailer equipped with a monocular vision module 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the vision module 12 is mounted on the front wall 10a of container 10, near the ceiling 10b, and midway between the sidewalls 10c, 10d. Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0013]- Zhang discloses if the bright pixel count is less than CT_THR1, the door 10g is deemed to be closed, and block 46 sets a Door Open flag to False. Otherwise, the door 10g is deemed to be open and block 48 sets the Door Open flag to True.),
the sensing apparatus comprising: a hardware processor (Fig. 1b Paragraph [0009]- Zhang discloses referring to FIG. 1B, the reference numeral 14 generally designates a monocular vision system housed within the vision module 12 of FIG. 1A. The vision system 14 includes a set of active light sources 16 (such as light-emitting-diodes that emit near-infrared light) for illuminating the interior volume of container 10, a digital camera 18, a digital signal processor (DSP) 20, and a radio-frequency transceiver 22.)
that acquires a color image of an inside of the cargo compartment from a camera disposed inside the cargo compartment (Fig. 1A-B, Paragraph [0016]- Zhang discloses this is important because the image may be somewhat cluttered even when the container 10 is empty due to color variations or patches in the floor and sidewalls, and lower resolution processing produces better floor and package boundary detection in an otherwise cluttered image. Fig. 1A, Paragraph [0008]- Zhang discloses the reference numeral 10 generally designates a cargo container such as a semi-trailer equipped with a monocular vision module 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the vision module 12 is mounted on the front wall 10a of container 10, near the ceiling 10b, and midway between the sidewalls 10c, 10d. Further in Fig. 1B, Zhang discloses the reference numeral 14 generally designates a monocular vision system housed within the vision module 12 of FIG. 1A. The vision system 14 includes a set of active light sources 16 (such as light-emitting-diodes that emit near-infrared light) for illuminating the interior volume of container 10, a digital camera 18, a digital signal processor (DSP) 20, and a radio-frequency transceiver 22.);
that recognizes a determination area defined within the color image (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0013]- Zhang discloses once a suitably exposed image is acquired, block 42 counts the number of bright pixels (i.e., pixels having a brightness value in excess of a threshold) in a defined region of the image corresponding to the area occupied by rear access door 10g, which can be easily determined once the vision module 12 is installed.);
that calculates a determination value based on color information of a plurality of pixels included in the determination area (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0013]- Zhang discloses once a suitably exposed image is acquired, block 42 counts the number of bright pixels (i.e., pixels having a brightness value in excess of a threshold) in a defined region of the image corresponding to the area occupied by rear access door 10g, which can be easily determined once the vision module 12 is installed. (wherein the determination area is the defined region)),
that determines that the door is in an open state when the determination value is greater than a predetermined threshold (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0013]- Zhang discloses block 44 compares the bright pixel count to a first count threshold (CT_THR1) to determine the door state. If the bright pixel count is less than CT_THR1, the door 10g is deemed to be closed, and block 46 sets a Door Open flag to False. Otherwise, the door 10g is deemed to be open and block 48 sets the Door Open flag to True.),
and determines that the door is in a closed state when the determination value is less than or equal to the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0013]- Zhang discloses block 44 compares the bright pixel count to a first count threshold (CT_THR1) to determine the door state. If the bright pixel count is less than CT_THR1, the door 10g is deemed to be closed, and block 46 sets a Door Open flag to False.);
Zhang fails to explicitly teach the determination value being a statistical measure based on an RGB value serving as the color information.
However, Nakamori explicitly teaches the determination value being a statistical measure based on an RGB value serving as the color information (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0034]- Nakamori discloses the area extraction means 3 uses a luminance value Y calculated from the color components of the pixel data as a color feature value.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang of having a sensing apparatus, comprising: a calculation section that acquires a color image of an inside of a cargo compartment provided with a door and calculates a determination value based on color information of a plurality of pixels included in the color image with the teachings of Nakamori the determination value being a statistical measure based on an RGB value serving as the color information.
Wherein having Zhang’s system for imaging cargo and getting its status wherein the determination value being a statistical measure based on an RGB value serving as the color information.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate information to be obtained, since both Zhang and Nakamori are both systems calculate and use image brightness. Wherein Zhang’s system wherein improved systems reliability and accuracy, while Nakamori’s system provides another way to calculate brightness. Please see Zhang et al. (US 20080025565 A1), Paragraph [0003] and Nakamori et al. (US 20100074469 A1) Paragraph [0011].
Zhang in view of Nakamori fails to explicitly teach wherein the hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when it determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when it determines that the door is in the open state.
However, Henry explicitly teaches wherein the hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when it determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when it determines that the door is in the open state (Fig. 9B, Paragraph [0027]- Henry discloses only after receipt of the lid close signal, receive one or more weight sensor readings output by the weight sensor, and transmit the one or more weight sensor readings using the transmission device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang of having a sensing apparatus, comprising: a calculation section that acquires a color image of an inside of a cargo compartment provided with a door and calculates a determination value based on color information of a plurality of pixels included in the color image with the teachings of Henry wherein the hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when it determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when it determines that the door is in the open state.
Wherein having Zhang’s system for imaging cargo and getting its status wherein the hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when it determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when it determines that the door is in the open state.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate information to be obtained in a more secure way, since both Zhang and Henry are both systems that determine information of items within a container. Wherein Zhang’s system wherein improved systems reliability and accuracy, while Henry’s system provides a way to improve accuracy and security. Please see Zhang et al. (US 20080025565 A1), Paragraph [0003] and Henry et al. (US 20220113182 A1) Paragraph [0100].
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches a loading rate estimation system (Fig. 1A-B, Paragraph [0009]- Zhang discloses referring to FIG. 1B, the reference numeral 14 generally designates a monocular vision system housed within the vision module 12 of FIG. 1A.) mounted on a vehicle having a cargo compartment provided with an openable/closable door (Fig. 1A, Paragraph [0008]- Zhang discloses the reference numeral 10 generally designates a cargo container such as a semi-trailer equipped with a monocular vision module 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the vision module 12 is mounted on the front wall 10a of container 10, near the ceiling 10b, and midway between the sidewalls 10c, 10d. Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0013]- Zhang discloses if the bright pixel count is less than CT_THR1, the door 10g is deemed to be closed, and block 46 sets a Door Open flag to False. Otherwise, the door 10g is deemed to be open and block 48 sets the Door Open flag to True.),
the loading rate estimation system comprising a sensing apparatus and a loading rate estimation apparatus (Fig. 1B paragraph [0009]- Zhang discloses the vision system 14 includes a set of active light sources 16 (such as light-emitting-diodes that emit near-infrared light) for illuminating the interior volume of container 10, a digital camera 18, a digital signal processor (DSP) 20, and a radio-frequency transceiver 22. The camera 18 includes a wide-angle lens 18a and a solid-state imaging chip 18b.):
wherein the sensing apparatus comprises, a first hardware processor (Fig. 1b Paragraph [0009]- Zhang discloses referring to FIG. 1B, the reference numeral 14 generally designates a monocular vision system housed within the vision module 12 of FIG. 1A. The vision system 14 includes a set of active light sources 16 (such as light-emitting-diodes that emit near-infrared light) for illuminating the interior volume of container 10, a digital camera 18, a digital signal processor (DSP) 20, and a radio-frequency transceiver 22.)
that acquires a color image of an inside of the cargo compartment from a camera disposed inside the cargo compartment (Fig. 1A-B, Paragraph [0016]- Zhang discloses this is important because the image may be somewhat cluttered even when the container 10 is empty due to color variations or patches in the floor and sidewalls, and lower resolution processing produces better floor and package boundary detection in an otherwise cluttered image. Fig. 1A, Paragraph [0008]- Zhang discloses the reference numeral 10 generally designates a cargo container such as a semi-trailer equipped with a monocular vision module 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the vision module 12 is mounted on the front wall 10a of container 10, near the ceiling 10b, and midway between the sidewalls 10c, 10d. Further in Fig. 1B, Zhang discloses the reference numeral 14 generally designates a monocular vision system housed within the vision module 12 of FIG. 1A. The vision system 14 includes a set of active light sources 16 (such as light-emitting-diodes that emit near-infrared light) for illuminating the interior volume of container 10, a digital camera 18, a digital signal processor (DSP) 20, and a radio-frequency transceiver 22.);
that recognizes a determination area defined within the color image (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0013]- Zhang discloses once a suitably exposed image is acquired, block 42 counts the number of bright pixels (i.e., pixels having a brightness value in excess of a threshold) in a defined region of the image corresponding to the area occupied by rear access door 10g, which can be easily determined once the vision module 12 is installed.);
that calculates a determination value based on color information of a plurality of pixels included in the determination area (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0013]- Zhang discloses once a suitably exposed image is acquired, block 42 counts the number of bright pixels (i.e., pixels having a brightness value in excess of a threshold) in a defined region of the image corresponding to the area occupied by rear access door 10g, which can be easily determined once the vision module 12 is installed. (wherein the determination area is the defined region)),
and that determines that the door is in an open state when the determination value is greater than a predetermined threshold (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0013]- Zhang discloses block 44 compares the bright pixel count to a first count threshold (CT_THR1) to determine the door state. If the bright pixel count is less than CT_THR1, the door 10g is deemed to be closed, and block 46 sets a Door Open flag to False. Otherwise, the door 10g is deemed to be open and block 48 sets the Door Open flag to True.),
and determines that the door is in a closed state when the determination value is less than or equal to the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0013]- Zhang discloses block 44 compares the bright pixel count to a first count threshold (CT_THR1) to determine the door state. If the bright pixel count is less than CT_THR1, the door 10g is deemed to be closed, and block 46 sets a Door Open flag to False.);
Zhang fails to explicitly teach the determination value being a statistical measure based on an RGB value serving as the color information.
However, Nakamori explicitly teaches the determination value being a statistical measure based on an RGB value serving as the color information (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0034]- Nakamori discloses the area extraction means 3 uses a luminance value Y calculated from the color components of the pixel data as a color feature value.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang of having a sensing apparatus, comprising: a calculation section that acquires a color image of an inside of a cargo compartment provided with a door and calculates a determination value based on color information of a plurality of pixels included in the color image with the teachings of Nakamori the determination value being a statistical measure based on an RGB value serving as the color information.
Wherein having Zhang’s system for imaging cargo and getting its status wherein the determination value being a statistical measure based on an RGB value serving as the color information.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate information to be obtained, since both Zhang and Nakamori are both systems calculate and use image brightness. Wherein Zhang’s system wherein improved systems reliability and accuracy, while Nakamori’s system provides another way to calculate brightness. Please see Zhang et al. (US 20080025565 A1), Paragraph [0003] and Nakamori et al. (US 20100074469 A1) Paragraph [0011].
Zhang in view of Nakamori fails to explicitly teach wherein the second hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the open state.
However, Henry explicitly teaches wherein the second hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the open state (Fig. 9B, Paragraph [0027]- Henry discloses only after receipt of the lid close signal, receive one or more weight sensor readings output by the weight sensor, and transmit the one or more weight sensor readings using the transmission device.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang of having a sensing apparatus, comprising: a calculation section that acquires a color image of an inside of a cargo compartment provided with a door and calculates a determination value based on color information of a plurality of pixels included in the color image with the teachings of Henry wherein the second hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the open state.
Wherein having Zhang’s system for imaging cargo and getting its status wherein the second hardware processor executes a process to estimate the loading rate only when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the closed state, and does not execute the process to estimate the loading rate when the sensing apparatus determines that the door is in the open state.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate information to be obtained in a more secure way, since both Zhang and Henry are both systems that determine information of items within a container. Wherein Zhang’s system wherein improved systems reliability and accuracy, while Henry’s system provides a way to improve accuracy and security. Please see Zhang et al. (US 20080025565 A1), Paragraph [0003] and Henry et al. (US 20220113182 A1) Paragraph [0100].
Claims 6 and 8-9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20080025565 A1) hereafter referenced as Zhang in view of Nakamori et al. (US 20100074469 A1) hereafter referenced as Nakamori, Henry et al. (US 20220113182 A1) hereafter referenced as Henry, and Groble et al. (US 20140372182 A1) hereafter referenced as Groble.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Nakamori and Henry teaches the sensing apparatus according to claim 1,
Zhang further teaches wherein: the color image is an image captured with a camera provided inside the cargo compartment (Fig. 1A, Paragraph [0008]- Zhang discloses the reference numeral 10 generally designates a cargo container such as a semi-trailer equipped with a monocular vision module 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the vision module 12 is mounted on the front wall 10a of container 10, near the ceiling 10b, and midway between the sidewalls 10c, 10d. Further in Fig. 1B, Zhang discloses the reference numeral 14 generally designates a monocular vision system housed within the vision module 12 of FIG. 1A. The vision system 14 includes a set of active light sources 16 (such as light-emitting-diodes that emit near-infrared light) for illuminating the interior volume of container 10, a digital camera 18, a digital signal processor (DSP) 20, and a radio-frequency transceiver 22.),
Zhang in view of Nakamori and Henry fails to explicitly teach the loading rate is estimated based on a sensing result of a depth sensor integrated with the camera.
However, Groble explicitly teaches the loading rate is estimated based on a sensing result of a depth sensor integrated with the camera (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0016]- Groble discloses the monitor can comprise a video camera device, such as a RGB camera, as is known in the art, and any type of three dimensional depth/volume monitor, such as a stereo, structured light or time-of-flight depth camera, an infrared three dimensional depth/volume camera, and the like able to determine a distance to the points (i.e. pixels) in an image. Further in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0024]- Groble discloses knowing the trailer dimensional model and the depth of the wall 204, the processor is able to determine the filled volume 200 of the trailer, V.sub.loaded.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Henry of having a sensing apparatus, comprising: a calculation section that acquires a color image of an inside of a cargo compartment provided with a door and calculates a determination value based on color information of a plurality of pixels included in the color image with the teachings of Groble the loading rate is estimated based on a sensing result of a depth sensor integrated with the camera.
Wherein having Zhang’s system for imaging cargo and getting its status wherein the loading rate is estimated based on a sensing result of a depth sensor integrated with the camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate information about the cargo status, since both Zhang and Groble are both systems that use cameras to image cargo. Wherein Zhang’s system wherein improved systems reliability and accuracy, while Groble’s system provides efficiency and trailer utilization. Please see Zhang et al. (US 20080025565 A1), Paragraph [0003] and Groble et al. (US 20140372182 A1) Paragraph [0015 and 0024].
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Nakamori and Henry teaches the sensing apparatus according to claim 1,
Although Zhang explicitly teaches wherein the camera is disposed inside the cargo compartment (Fig. 1A, Paragraph [0008]- Zhang discloses the reference numeral 10 generally designates a cargo container such as a semi-trailer equipped with a monocular vision module 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the vision module 12 is mounted on the front wall 10a of container 10, near the ceiling 10b, and midway between the sidewalls 10c, 10d. Further in Fig. 1B, Zhang discloses the reference numeral 14 generally designates a monocular vision system housed within the vision module 12 of FIG. 1A. The vision system 14 includes a set of active light sources 16 (such as light-emitting-diodes that emit near-infrared light) for illuminating the interior volume of container 10, a digital camera 18, a digital signal processor (DSP) 20, and a radio-frequency transceiver 22.),
Zhang in view of Nakamori and Henry fails to explicitly teach wherein the camera is integrated with a depth sensor and the depth sensor acquires detection information related to the distance to cargo present inside the cargo compartment.
However, Groble explicitly teaches wherein the camera is integrated with a depth sensor (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0016]- Groble discloses the monitor can comprise a video camera device, such as a RGB camera, as is known in the art, and any type of three dimensional depth/volume monitor, such as a stereo, structured light or time-of-flight depth camera, an infrared three dimensional depth/volume camera, and the like able to determine a distance to the points (i.e. pixels) in an image. Further in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0024]- Groble discloses knowing the trailer dimensional model and the depth of the wall 204, the processor is able to determine the filled volume 200 of the trailer, V.sub.loaded.).
and the depth sensor acquires detection information related to the distance to cargo present inside the cargo compartment (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0030]- Groble discloses the monitor can be a three-dimensional depth/volume camera operable to provide a fill distance to determine a loaded volume of the trailer. Optionally, the monitor includes a video camera operable to provide an optical image that is merged with the fill distance to provide an image of fill depth used by the processor to determine trailer utilization in the determining step.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Henry of having a sensing apparatus, comprising: a calculation section that acquires a color image of an inside of a cargo compartment provided with a door and calculates a determination value based on color information of a plurality of pixels included in the color image with the teachings of Groble wherein the camera is integrated with a depth sensor and the depth sensor acquires detection information related to the distance to cargo present inside the cargo compartment.
Wherein having Zhang’s system for imaging cargo and getting its status wherein the camera is integrated with a depth sensor and the depth sensor acquires detection information related to the distance to cargo present inside the cargo compartment.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate information about the cargo status, since both Zhang and Groble are both systems that use cameras to image cargo. Wherein Zhang’s system wherein improved systems reliability and accuracy, while Groble’s system provides efficiency and trailer utilization. Please see Zhang et al. (US 20080025565 A1), Paragraph [0003] and Groble et al. (US 20140372182 A1) Paragraph [0015 and 0024].
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Nakamori, Henry, and Groble teaches the sensing apparatus according to claim 8,
Zhang in view of Nakamori and Henry fails to explicitly teach wherein the hardware processor estimates the loading rate of the cargo compartment as a volume percentage of the cargo placed in the cargo compartment based on the detection information by the depth sensor.
However, Groble explicitly teaches wherein the hardware processor estimates the loading rate of the cargo compartment as a volume percentage of the cargo placed in the cargo compartment based on the detection information by the depth sensor (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0039]- Groble discloses a next step 702 includes determining trailer utilization in real-time during loading of the trailer using image information from the three-dimensional monitor and package information (e.g. volume from dimension scans) for packages loaded in the trailer. This can include establishing utilization as a ratio of cumulative package volume to currently loaded volume of the trailer, wherein the cumulative package volume is determined from dimensional scans of packages to be loaded in the trailer and the currently loaded volume is determined by the monitor.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Henry of having a sensing apparatus, comprising: a calculation section that acquires a color image of an inside of a cargo compartment provided with a door and calculates a determination value based on color information of a plurality of pixels included in the color image with the teachings of Groble wherein the hardware processor estimates the loading rate of the cargo compartment as a volume percentage of the cargo placed in the cargo compartment based on the detection information by the depth sensor.
Wherein having Zhang’s system for imaging cargo and getting its status wherein the hardware processor estimates the loading rate of the cargo compartment as a volume percentage of the cargo placed in the cargo compartment based on the detection information by the depth sensor.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate information about the cargo status, since both Zhang and Groble are both systems that use cameras to image cargo. Wherein Zhang’s system wherein improved systems reliability and accuracy, while Groble’s system provides efficiency and trailer utilization. Please see Zhang et al. (US 20080025565 A1), Paragraph [0003] and Groble et al. (US 20140372182 A1) Paragraph [0015 and 0024].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered
pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Ehrman et al. (US 20150213705 A1)- Implementations for a system to receive a message indicating that an ambient light level measured by an ambient light sensor within a container exceeds a first threshold value or falls below a second threshold value; in response to the message indicating that the ambient light level exceeds the first threshold value, activate a cargo sensor; and in response to the message indicating that the ambient light level falls below the second threshold value, de-activate the cargo sensor......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
He et al. (US 20180172722 A1)- In some examples, to perform motion detection of a moveable platform, variance values based on acceleration data from an accelerometer on the moveable platform are computed. Using the computed variance values, it is determined whether the moveable platform is in motion......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Urano et al. (US 20200189420 A1)- A method for adjusting a seat in a vehicle is presented. The method includes receiving a user input from a passenger to adjust the seat from a default position to a passenger adjusted position. The method also includes predicting, in response to the passenger exiting the vehicle, a likelihood of the passenger returning to the vehicle. The method still further includes maintaining the passenger adjusted position when the likelihood of the passenger returning to the vehicle is greater than a threshold......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Katoh et al. (US 12077163 B2)- A method for adjusting a seat in a vehicle is presented. The method includes receiving a user input from a passenger to adjust the seat from a default position to a passenger adjusted position. The method also includes predicting, in response to the passenger exiting the vehicle, a likelihood of the passenger returning to the vehicle. The method still further includes maintaining the passenger adjusted position when the likelihood of the passenger returning to the vehicle is greater than a threshold......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
/LUCIUS CAMERON GREEN ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673