DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 42, 43, 56, 57, 63, 67, 68, 70, 71, 73, 75-77 and 101, in the reply filed on 06 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 63 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 63 depends from canceled claim 62, limitations of which have been incorporated into claim 42. Accordingly, the office has interpreted the claim as depending from claim 42.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 42, 43, 56, 57, 63, 67, 68, 70 and 101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “hot” in claim 42 (“hot gas”) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “hot” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear from the context of the claim and corresponding specification what temperature range is intended to be within the scope of “hot”.
Claim 101 recites the limitation "the first pyrolysis chamber" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 71, 73 and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Serio et al (US 2002/0040864).
Regarding claim 71, Serio discloses a method of processing a mixed waste stream including a first material and a second material, comprising (see [0008], mixed solid waste materials; [0010]; [0024]; [0060]):
generating a first group of pyrolysis products by pyrolyzing the mixed waste stream under conditions configured to cause pyrolysis of the first material and hinder pyrolysis of the second material (see [0006], describing primary and secondary pyrolysis reactions, where secondary pyrolysis occurs under further heat treatment after primary pyrolysis; [0011]);
separating out the first group of pyrolysis products to generate a residual waste stream including the second material (see [0013]); and
generating a second group of pyrolysis products by pyrolyzing the residual waste stream under conditions configured to cause pyrolysis of the second material (see [0012]).
Regarding claim 73, Serio discloses wherein the pyrolysis of the first material and the pyrolysis of the second material occur in separate pyrolysis chambers (see Fig. 6; [0011]; [0012]; [0068]).
Regarding claim 77, Serio discloses wherein the conditions configured to cause pyrolysis of the first material and hinder pyrolysis of the second material include a first temperature and a first pressure and the conditions configured to cause pyrolysis of the second material include a second temperature and a second pressure (see [0011]-[0012]; [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42, 56, 63, 67, 68, 70 and 101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serio in view of Hansen et al (US 5,868,085).
Regarding claim 42, Serio discloses a method of pyrolyzing material, wherein the material is a mixed waste stream including a first material and a second material, comprising (see [0008], mixed solid waste materials; [0010]; [0024]; [0060]):
conveying the material through a pyrolysis chamber (see [0011]);
heating the material in the pyrolysis chamber (see [0011]);
generating a first group of pyrolysis products by pyrolyzing, in the pyrolysis chamber, the mixed waste stream under conditions configured to cause pyrolysis of the first material and hinder pyrolysis of the second material (see [0006], describing primary and secondary pyrolysis reactions, where secondary pyrolysis occurs under further heat treatment after primary pyrolysis; [0011]);
drawing out the first group of pyrolysis products from the pyrolysis chamber by separating out the first group of pyrolysis products to generate a residual waste stream that includes the second material (see [0013]); and
generating a second group of pyrolysis products by pyrolyzing the residual waste stream under conditions configured to cause pyrolysis of the second material (see [0012]).
Serio does not disclose the particulars of the pyrolysis chamber, as claimed, wherein the pyrolysis chamber is disposed inside of and fluidly isolated from a heating chamber, the material is heated in the pyrolysis chamber circumferentially by introducing gas into the heating chamber around the pyrolysis chamber, and fuel is combusted in the heating chamber to heat the material and cause pyrolysis.
However, this type of reactor configuration is well-known in the art for the purpose of carrying out pyrolysis of mixed waste feedstocks, as demonstrated in Hansen.
Hansen is directed to a system for pyrolysis of waste material including a pyrolysis chamber 125 disposed inside of and fluidly isolated from a surrounding heating chamber 131. In use, gas is introduced into the heating chamber and combusted therein to heat the material and cause pyrolysis within the pyrolysis chamber while the material is being conveyed therethrough. The ports and gas injection tubes are placed so as to promote even conduction of heat energy and ensure efficiency of the pyrolysis reactions (see Abstract; Fig. 7; col. 9, lines 31-45; col. 10, lines 1-8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process of Serio by carrying out the pyrolysis reactions in a reaction system as described in Hansen and in line with that claimed, wherein Hansen establishes that such a reactor arrangement is associated with even conduction of heat energy and ensures efficient pyrolysis reactions.
Regarding claim 56, Serio discloses wherein the material includes methane and pyrolysis of the material is configured to generate hydrogen and solid carbon, the method further comprising using the solid carbon in the pyrolysis chamber to enhance pyrolysis of the methane to generate hydrogen (see [0006]; [0011]-[0012]; [0016]; [0043]; [0070]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 63, Serio discloses wherein (see Fig. 6):
drawing out the first group of pyrolysis products from the pyrolysis chamber includes drawing out the first group of pyrolysis products from the pyrolysis chamber to generate the residual waste stream in the pyrolysis chamber (see [0011]; [0013]);
generating the first group of pyrolysis products by pyrolyzing the mixed waste stream under conditions configured to cause pyrolysis of the first material includes causing pyrolysis of the first material in a first portion 12 of the pyrolysis chamber (see [0011]; [0068]);
generating the second group of products by pyrolysis in the pyrolysis chamber includes causing pyrolysis of the second material in a second portion 14 of the pyrolysis chamber (see [0012]; [0068]).
Additionally, Serio, as modified by Hansen, entails conveying the material through the pyrolysis chamber by conveying the mixed waste stream through the first portion and second portion of the pyrolysis chamber as the first material and second material, respectively, are being pyrolyzed (see Hansen: col. 3, line 60 – col. 4, line 6, describing the screw conveyor).
Regarding claim 67, the screw conveyor of Hansen is considered to provide the function of compacting the material in the pyrolysis chamber (see Fig. 5a & 6).
Regarding claim 68, Hansen discloses a rotatable screw comprising a plurality of helically-oriented flights which function to convey waste through the reactor as pyrolysis takes place (see col. 4, lines 4-6). The flights are designed to controllably pick up and transfer material in a certain volume and at a selected rate to sequentially move the material (see col. 8, lines 18-21). While Hansen does not explicitly disclose the flight having variable pitch, the selection of a suitable shape to achieve the stated function amounts to matter of routine engineering choice by a person of ordinary skill in the art. Absent a showing of new or unexpected results, the claimed design is not considered to patentably distinguish over the cited prior art. MPEP 2144.04 IV B.
Regarding claim 70, Serio in view of Hansen discloses mixing the material in the pyrolysis chamber as the solid mass of material is reduced (by function of the screw conveyor, as discussed above) (see Hansen: Figs. 5a & 6).
Regarding claim 101, Serio discloses wherein generating the second group of pyrolysis products includes generating the second group of pyrolysis products by pyrolyzing the residual waste stream in a second pyrolysis chamber 14 separate from a first pyrolysis chamber 12 under conditions configured to cause pyrolysis of the second material (see Fig. 6; [0011]-[0012]; [0068]).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serio in view of Hansen, as applied to claim 42, in further view of Olofsson et al (US 2015/0107499).
Regarding claim 43, Serio in view of Hansen does not disclose receiving cooling fluid into the heating chamber to control a temperature in the heating chamber.
Olofsson is directed to a method and arrangement for precise control of a torrefaction (pyrolysis) temperature in a conveyor screw reactor (see Abstract; Fig. 1). In particular, Olofsson discloses that the temperature can be controlled in the reaction zone by introducing heating media and/or cooling media via heating/cool media inlet 10 (see [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process of Serio in view of Hansen by providing for means to receive a cooling fluid in the heating chamber, as suggested by Olofsson, in order to allow for precise control of reaction temperature.
Claim 75 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serio, as applied to claim 71, in view of Wu et al (US 5,411,714).
Regarding claim 75, Serio does not disclose wherein the pyrolysis of the first and second material is achieved below atmospheric pressure.
Determining a suitable pressure at which to carry out pyrolysis of the feedstock materials amounts to nothing more than routine experimentation of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Given that it is known to carry out such reactions at vacuum pressures (see Wu: col. 6, lines 27-39), doing so in the process of Serio would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and associated with a reasonable expectation of success, where Wu discloses that an advantage of utilizing vacuum is to minimize undesirable oxygen from entering the pyrolysis chamber.
Claim 76 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serio, as applied to claim 71, in view of Hansen and Harris et al (US 5,085,738).
Regarding claim 76, Serio does not disclose the particulars of the pyrolysis chamber, as claimed, wherein the pyrolysis chamber is heated by combustion in a heating chamber.
However, this type of reactor configuration is well-known in the art for the purpose of carrying out pyrolysis of mixed waste feedstocks, as demonstrated in Hansen.
Hansen is directed to a system for pyrolysis of waste material including a pyrolysis chamber 125 disposed inside of and fluidly isolated from a surrounding heating chamber 131. In use, gas is introduced into the heating chamber and combusted therein to heat the material and cause pyrolysis within the pyrolysis chamber while the material is being conveyed therethrough. The ports and gas injection tubes are placed so as to promote even conduction of heat energy and ensure efficiency of the pyrolysis reactions (see Abstract; Fig. 7; col. 9, lines 31-45; col. 10, lines 1-8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process of Serio by carrying out the pyrolysis reactions in a reaction system as described in Hansen and in line with that claimed, wherein Hansen establishes that such a reactor arrangement is associated with even conduction of heat energy and ensures efficient pyrolysis reactions.
Hansen, however, does not explicitly disclose metering fuel to the heating chamber to control the temperature therein.
Harris discloses temperature control means for an apparatus for thermal conversion of waste materials comprising sensing temperatures within a heating chamber and operating fuel line valves to control heating of the chamber by each burner so as to maintain a desired temperature within each segment of the chamber (see Abstract; col. 9, line 67 – col. 10, line 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to further modify the process of Serio by including control of fuel flow through fuel line valves, as suggested by Harris, in order to maintain the desired temperatures within the chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 57 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art fails to teach or suggest the further limitations encompassed by claim 57, entailing supplying water and oxygen to the pyrolysis chamber to cause a water gas shift reaction.
Serio discloses that pyrolysis gases obtained by the process may require further treatment, such as water gas shift conversion to remove CO (see [0071]). However, there is no indication that the water gas shift reaction may be done by supplying to the pyrolysis chamber water and oxygen (emphasis added). Nor does there appear to be sufficient teachings and/or suggestions in the prior art which would lead a person of ordinary skill to modify Serio in such a way as to arrive at the claimed embodiment, i.e. wherein water gas shift is undertaken in the pyrolysis chamber by the addition of water and oxygen thereto instead of carrying out the reaction in a separate reactor vessel.
Conclusion
/Renee Robinson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772