DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 09/05/2023.
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 12-16, 18-22, 24, 28, 47, 49, and 51 are pending.
Claims 4-5, 8, 10-11, 17, 23, 25-27, 29-46, 48, 50, and 52-60 are cancelled.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filled on 6/02/2025, with respect to claims 1 and 28 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Objection of claims 2-3, 6-7, 9, 12-16, 18-22, 24, 47, 49, and 51 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filled on 6/02/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §102 rejection of claims 1 and 28 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §102 rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12, filled on 6/02/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §103 of claims 3, 6, 12-13, 18, 24, 47, and 51 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over NA et al. (CN 107370582) in view of WANG et al. (US 2023/0319946).
Regarding claim 1, NA discloses an information processing method [see page 10 lines 1-52; a method of base station 800], comprising:
configuring, by a base station, configuration information of a reference signal based on a type of a user equipment (UE) [see page 10 lines 7-10, 15-17; configuring/polymerizing/generating/constructing, by resource management unit 810 of the base station 800, CSI-RS resource configuration/configuration information of a reference signal based on a type of a user equipment (UE)], wherein the reference signal comprises at least one of following signals:
tracking reference signal (TRS); or channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) [see page 10 lines 7-10, 15-17; wherein the reference signal comprises channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)],
wherein the UE comprises at least one of a first type UE or a second type UE [see Fig. 1, page 4 lines 38-39; wherein the UE comprises at least one of a first type mobile station and a second type mobile station],
and a bandwidth supported by the first type UE is greater than a bandwidth supported by the second type UE [see Fig. 2, 3, page 5 lines 20-34, page 7 lines 32-36; wherein a bandwidth supported by the first type of mobile station is greater than a bandwidth supported by the second type of mobile station].
NA does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information of the reference signal comprises: a set of common reference signal configurations for the first type UE and the second type UE.
However, WANG discloses wherein the UE comprises at least one of a first type UE or a second type UE [see ¶¶ 359-360; wherein the terminal device comprises at least one of a type or a type 2],
wherein the configuration information of the reference signal comprises: a set of common reference signal configurations for the first type UE and the second type UE [see ¶¶ 359-360; wherein the common signaling may carry configuration information of each type of terminal device (UE type = type 1 and UE type = type 2), see Table 3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the configuration information of the reference signal comprises: a set of common reference signal configurations for the first type UE and the second type UE” as taught by WANG in the system of NA, so that it would to improve flexibility of designing and manufacturing the chip of the terminal device, reduce complexity of designing and manufacturing the chip, and production costs during large-scale production of various terminal devices [see WANG; ¶ 8].
Regarding claim 3, the combined system of NA and WANG discloses the information processing method according to claim 1.
NA does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information of the reference signal is further used for channel state information acquisition of the UE in a connected state, wherein the UE in the connected state comprises at least one of followings: the first type UE in the connected state or the second type UE in the connected state.
However, WANG discloses wherein the configuration information of the reference signal is further used for channel state information acquisition of the UE in a connected state [see ¶¶ 351; wherein the configuration information of the reference signal (functions included in both the first mode and the second mode are CSI/SRS, see ¶ 347) is further used for channel state information acquisition of the UE with first mode may be an idle state, an inactive state, or a connected state], wherein the UE in the connected state comprises at least one of followings: the first type UE in the connected state or the second type UE in the connected state [see Table 3; wherein the terminal device/UE in the connected state comprises at least one of followings: the first type UE in the connected state or the second type UE in the connected state].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the configuration information of the reference signal comprises: a set of common reference signal configurations for the first type UE and the second type UE” as taught by WANG in the system of NA, so that it would to improve flexibility of designing and manufacturing the chip of the terminal device, reduce complexity of designing and manufacturing the chip, and production costs during large-scale production of various terminal devices [see WANG; ¶ 8].
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of NA and WANG discloses the information processing method according to claim 3.
NA does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information of the reference signal is in one of following manners: the configuration information of the reference signal is for the first type UE in the connected state and the second type UE in the connected state; the configuration information of the reference signal is for the first type UE in the connected state; or the configuration information of the reference signal is for the second type UE in the connected state.
However, WANG discloses wherein the configuration information of the reference signal is in one of following manners: the configuration information of the reference signal is for the first type UE in the connected state and the second type UE in the connected state; the configuration information of the reference signal is for the first type UE in the connected state; or the configuration information of the reference signal is for the second type UE in the connected state [see Table 3; wherein the configuration information of the reference signal is in one of following manners: the configuration information of the reference signal is for the first type UE in the connected state and the second type UE in the connected state; the configuration information of the reference signal is for the first type UE in the connected state; or the configuration information of the reference signal is for the second type UE in the connected state].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the configuration information of the reference signal is in one of following manners: the configuration information of the reference signal is for the first type UE in the connected state and the second type UE in the connected state; the configuration information of the reference signal is for the first type UE in the connected state; or the configuration information of the reference signal is for the second type UE in the connected state” as taught by WANG in the system of NA, so that it would to improve flexibility of designing and manufacturing the chip of the terminal device, reduce complexity of designing and manufacturing the chip, and production costs during large-scale production of various terminal devices [see WANG; ¶ 8].
Regarding claim 28, the claim recites the information processing method to perform the information processing method recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 28 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over NA et al. (CN 107370582) in view of WANG et al. (US 2023/0319946), and further of SILVA et al. (CN 110169130).
Regarding claim 2, the combined system of NA and WANG discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the reference signal is used in at least one of following manners:
the reference signal is used for time-frequency domain synchronization between the UE in idle state or inactive state and the base station; or
the reference signal is used for wireless resource management RRM measurement of the UE in idle state or inactive state.
However, SILVA discloses wherein the reference signal is used in at least one of following manners:
the reference signal is used for time-frequency domain synchronization between the UE in idle state or inactive state and the base station [Fig. 2, page 5 lines 45-49; the reference signal is used for time-frequency domain synchronization between the UE in idle state or inactive state and the base station]; or
the reference signal is used for wireless resource management RRM measurement of the UE in idle state or inactive state [Page 5 lines 45-49; the reference signal is used for wireless resource management RRM measurement of the UE in idle state or inactive state].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the reference signal is used in at least one of following manners: the reference signal is used for time-frequency domain synchronization between the UE in idle state or inactive state and the base station; or the reference signal is used for wireless resource management RRM measurement of the UE in idle state or inactive state” as taught by SILVA in the combined system of NA and WANG, so that it would to enabling the energy in the connection mode for the RRM measurement to support based on the mobility of the RRC [see SILVA; page 2 lines 26-27].
Claims 12-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over NA et al. (CN 107370582) in view of WANG et al. (US 2023/0319946), and further in view of WANG et al. (US 2020/0374076) (referred as WANG’s 076).
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of NA and WANG discloses the method according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information of the reference signal comprises: a reference signal configuration for the first type UE and a reference signal configuration for the second type UE; wherein the reference signal configuration for the first type UE is at least partially different from the reference signal configuration for the second type UE.
However, WANG’s 076 discloses wherein the configuration information of the reference signal comprises: a reference signal configuration for the first type UE and a reference signal configuration for the second type UE [¶¶ 138; wherein the configuration information of the reference signal comprises: a reference signal configuration for the first type UE and a reference signal configuration for the second type UE]; wherein the reference signal configuration for the first type UE is at least partially different from the reference signal configuration for the second type UE [¶¶ 138-139; wherein the reference signal configuration for the first type UE is at least partially different from the reference signal configuration for the second type UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the configuration information of the reference signal comprises: a reference signal configuration for the first type UE and a reference signal configuration for the second type UE; wherein the reference signal configuration for the first type UE is at least partially different from the reference signal configuration for the second type UE” as taught by WANG’s 076 in the combined system of NA and WANG, so that it would to supporting different reference signal configurations can be deployed in a network [see WANG’s 076; ¶ 8].
Regarding claim 13, the combined system of NA, WANG, and WANG’s 076 discloses the method according to claim 12.
The combined system of NA, WANG does not explicitly disclose wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: correlatively configuring the reference signal configuration for the first type UE and the reference signal configuration for the second type UE based on the first type UE and the second type UE.
However, WANG’s 076 discloses wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: correlatively configuring the reference signal configuration for the first type UE and the reference signal configuration for the second type UE based on the first type UE and the second type UE [¶¶ 138, 199; wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: correlatively configuring the reference signal configuration for the first type UE and the reference signal configuration for the second type UE based on the first type UE and the second type UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: correlatively configuring the reference signal configuration for the first type UE and the reference signal configuration for the second type UE based on the first type UE and the second type UE” as taught by WANG’s 076 in the combined system of NA and WANG, so that it would to supporting different reference signal configurations can be deployed in a network [see WANG’s 076; ¶ 8].
Regarding claim 18, the combined system of NA and WANG discloses the method according to claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: configuring the reference signal configuration for the first type UE and the reference signal configuration for the second type UE respectively.
However, WANG’s 076 discloses wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: configuring the reference signal configuration for the first type UE and the reference signal configuration for the second type UE respectively [¶¶ 138, 199; wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: configuring the reference signal configuration for the first type UE and the reference signal configuration for the second type UE respectively].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: configuring the reference signal configuration for the first type UE and the reference signal configuration for the second type UE respectively” as taught by WANG’s 076 in the combined system of NA and WANG, so that it would to supporting different reference signal configurations can be deployed in a network [see WANG’s 076; ¶ 8]..
Claims 24, 47 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over NA et al. (CN 107370582) in view of WANG et al. (US 2023/0319946), and further of LI, Bing-zhao (CN 109391986).
Regarding claim 24, the combined system of NA and WANG discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving auxiliary information; wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE and the auxiliary information.
However, LI discloses further comprising: receiving auxiliary information [page 20 lines 33-34; receive the auxiliary cell activation measurement report]; wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE and the auxiliary information [page 21 lines 19-24; wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE and the auxiliary information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “further comprising: receiving auxiliary information; wherein configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE comprises: configuring the configuration information of the reference signal based on the type of the UE and the auxiliary information” as taught by LI in the combined system of NA and WANG, so that it would to inform the access network device terminal device have not been obtained effective measurement value in the CSI. until the terminal device starts to obtain the effective CSI measurement value [see LI; page 2 lines 26-30].
Regarding claim 47, NA discloses the method according to claim 28, but does not explicitly, further comprising: sending auxiliary information ; wherein the auxiliary information is used by a base station to configure the configuration information of the reference signal, wherein the auxiliary information indicates at least one of followings: whether the UE support use of the reference signal in at least one of the UE in an idle state or an inactive UE state; or a time domain offset between the reference signal and PO supported by UE.
However, LI discloses further comprising:
sending auxiliary information; wherein the auxiliary information is used by a base station to configure the configuration information of the reference signal [page 20 lines 33-34; sends the auxiliary cell activation measurement report back to the access network device],
wherein the auxiliary information indicates at least one of followings:
whether the UE support use of the reference signal in at least one of the UE in an idle state or an inactive UE state; or a time domain offset between the reference signal and PO supported by UE [page 20 lines 33-34; whether the UE support use of the reference signal in at least one of the UE in an idle state or an inactive UE state].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “further comprising: sending auxiliary information; wherein the auxiliary information is used by a base station to configure the configuration information of the reference signal, wherein the auxiliary information indicates at least one of followings: whether the UE support use of the reference signal in at least one of the UE in an idle state or an inactive UE state; or a time domain offset between the reference signal and PO supported by UE” as taught by LI in the system of NA, so that it would to inform the access network device terminal device have not been obtained effective measurement value in the CSI. until the terminal device starts to obtain the effective CSI measurement value [see LI; page 2 lines 26-30].
Regarding claim 51, NA discloses the method according to claim 28, but does not explicitly further comprising: receiving the reference signal by frequency hopping based on the configuration information in response to a distance between a frequency domain position of the reference signal and a frequency domain position of a center frequency point of SSB being greater than a preset value.
However, LI discloses further comprising: receiving the reference signal by frequency hopping based on the configuration information in response to a distance between a frequency domain position of the reference signal and a frequency domain position of a center frequency point of SSB being greater than a preset value [page 23 lines 5-13; receiving the reference signal by frequency hopping based on the configuration information in response to a distance between a frequency domain position of the reference signal and a frequency domain position of a center frequency point of SSB being greater than a preset value].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “further comprising: receiving the reference signal by frequency hopping based on the configuration information in response to a distance between a frequency domain position of the reference signal and a frequency domain position of a center frequency point of SSB being greater than a preset value” as taught by LI in the system of NA, so that it would to inform the access network device terminal device have not been obtained effective measurement value in the CSI. until the terminal device starts to obtain the effective CSI measurement value [see LI; page 2 lines 26-30].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 14-16, 19-22, and 49 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469