DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species Embodiment 1 and Subspecies Embodiment 1, with corresponding claims 1-6, 8-12, 15-17, and 20-22 in the reply filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7 and 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to nonelected Species Embodiments.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: LIGHT-EMITTING ELEMENT SUPPRESSING ELECTROMIGRATION IN TWO OR MORE ADJACENT NANOPARTCLE LAYERS AND PRODUCTION METHOD THEREFOR
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-11, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 2020/0135984 A1; hereinafter “Jang”).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a light-emitting element comprising: a first electrode (a first electrode 560) (Fig. 8 and paragraphs 103 and 116); a second electrode (a second electrode 566) (Fig. 8 and paragraph 121); a first nanoparticle layer (a first QD layer 210) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode and including first nanoparticles (first QDs 212) (Figs. 3 and 8 and paragraphs 47 and 124); and a second nanoparticle layer (a second QD layer 230) disposed between the second electrode and the first nanoparticle layer, and in contact with the first nanoparticle layer, the second nanoparticle layer including second nanoparticles (second QDs 232) (Figs. 3 and 8 and paragraphs 47 and 124), wherein an interface between the first nanoparticle layer and the second nanoparticle layer includes a ligand (a first organic compound 222 of a protection layer 220 at an interface between 210 and 230) including a first coordinating functional group for coordination to the first nanoparticles (one of two thiol groups anchored to 212) and a second coordinating functional group for coordination to the second nanoparticles (the other one of the two thiol groups anchored to 232) (Figs. 3 and 8 and paragraphs 44 and 47-55).
Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches wherein the ligand includes at least one ligand selected from the group consisting of a ligand represented by general formula (1) below:
R1-A1-A2-(CH2)n-R2 (1) where R1 represents one of the first coordinating functional group and the second coordinating functional group, R2 represents another of the first coordinating functional group and the second coordinating functional group, A1 represents a substituted or unsubstituted -((CH2)m1-X1)m2- group, A2 represents direct bonding, an X2 group, or a substituted or unsubstituted -((CH2)m3-X2)m4- group, X1 and X2 represent polar bonding groups different from each other, each of n, m1, and m3 independently represents an integer from 1 to 4, and each of m2 and m4 independently represents an integer from 1 to 10 (paragraphs 39-40 and 50 and Formula 1. For example, (S-1) from Formula 1 reads on formula (1) in claim 2 with R1 and R2 as thiol groups, A1 as CH groups, A2 as a direct bonding, X1 as an ether bonding group, and each of n, m1, and m3 are equal to 2).
Regarding claim 3, Jang teaches wherein A2 is direct bonding, and 2≤m1×m2+n≤20 is satisfied (paragraphs 39-40 and 50 and Formula 1, S-1, each of n, m1, and m3 are equal to 2).
Regarding claim 4, Jang teaches wherein 3≤m1×m2+n≤10 is satisfied (paragraphs 39-40 and 50 and Formula 1, S-1, each of n, m1, and m3 are equal to 2).
Regarding claim 5, Jang teaches wherein A2 is the substituted or unsubstituted -((CH2)m3-X2)m4- group, and 2≤m1×m2+m3×m4+n≤20 is satisfied (paragraphs 39-40 and 50 and Formula 1. For example, either (S-2) with 3rd coordinating group or (S-3) with 3rd or 4th coordinating group is represented as A2 group with an ester bonding group).
Regarding claim 6, Jang teaches wherein 3≤m1×m2+m3×m4+n≤10 is satisfied (paragraphs 39-40 and 50 and Formula 1. For example, either (S-2) with 3rd coordinating group or (S-3) with 3rd or 4th coordinating group is represented as A2 group with an ester bonding group).
Regarding claim 8, Jang teaches wherein the polar bonding groups include at least one polar bonding group selected from the group consisting of an ether bonding group, a sulfide bonding group, an imine bonding group, an ester bonding group, an amide bonding group, and a carbonyl group (a linker including an ether bond or an ester bond) (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 9, Jang teaches wherein each of the first coordinating functional group and the second coordinating functional group includes, independently, a thiol group, an amino group, a carboxyl group, a phosphonic group, a phosphine group, or a phosphine oxide group (at least two thiol groups) (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 10, Jang teaches wherein the ligand includes at least one ligand selected from the group consisting of 1,2-ethanedithiol, 1,2-propanedithiol, 1,3-propanedithiol, 1,2-butanedithiol, 1,3-butanedithiol, 1,4-butanedithiol, 2,3-butanedithiol, 1,6-hexanedithiol, 1,8-octanedithiol, 1,2-propanediamine, 1,3-propanediamine, 1,4-butanediamine, 3-amino-5-mercapto-1,2,4-triazole, 2-aminobenzenethiol, toluene-3,4-dithiol, dithioerythritol, dihydrolipoic acid, thiolactic acid, 3-mercaptopropionic acid, 1-amino-3,6,9,12,15,18-hexaoxahenicosan-21-oic acid, 2-[2-(2-aminoethoxy)ethoxy]acetic acid, 2,2′-(ethylenedioxy)diethanethiol, 2,2′-oxydiethanethiol, (12-phosphonododecyl)phosphonic acid, 11-mercaptoundecylphosphonic acid, 11-phosphonoundecanoic acid, and ethylene glycol bis(3-mercaptopropionate) (paragraphs 39-40 and 50 and Formula 1).
Regarding claim 11, Jang teaches wherein each of the first nanoparticles and the second nanoparticles includes a semiconductor material including Zn (paragraphs 36-37), and each of the first coordinating functional group and the second coordinating functional group includes a thiol group (paragraphs 39-40).
Regarding claim 22, Jang teaches a manufacturing method for the light-emitting element according to claim 1, the manufacturing method comprising: forming a first nanoparticle containing layer including the first nanoparticles, as the first nanoparticle layer; forming, on the first nanoparticle containing layer, a second nanoparticle containing layer including the second nanoparticles, as the second nanoparticle layer; and supplying, onto the second nanoparticle containing layer, a ligand solution including the ligand including the first coordinating functional group for coordination to the first nanoparticles and the second coordinating functional group for coordination to the second nanoparticles, after the formation of the second nanoparticle containing layer (It is noted that the limitation in claim 22 is a product-by process claim and therefore is treated according to MPEP 2113. Even through product-by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. Since Jang teaches each and every limitation of the light-emitting element recited in claim 1 as a product, the claimed method does not distinguish from the prior art).
Claims 1, 12, 15-17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (US 2021/0371743 A1; hereinafter “Liang”).
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches a light-emitting element comprising: a first electrode (an anode) (paragraphs 18 and 32); a second electrode (a cathode) (paragraphs 18 and 32); a first nanoparticle layer (a quantum dot light-emitting layer) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode and including first nanoparticles (quantum dots) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 18 and 30-31); and a second nanoparticle layer (an electron transport layer) disposed between the second electrode and the first nanoparticle layer, and in contact with the first nanoparticle layer, the second nanoparticle layer including second nanoparticles (metal oxide nanoparticles) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 22 and 26-28), wherein an interface between the first nanoparticle layer and the second nanoparticle layer includes a ligand (an ultraviolet absorbing material at an interface between the quantum dot light-emitting layer and the electron transport layer) including a first coordinating functional group for coordination to the first nanoparticles (for example, hydroxyl coordination group anchored to the quantum dot light-emitting layer) and a second coordinating functional group for coordination to the second nanoparticles (for example, carboxyl coordination group anchored to the electron transport layer) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 20 and 26).
Regarding claim 12, Liang teaches wherein the first nanoparticles include first quantum dots (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 18 and 30-31), and the second nanoparticles are nanoparticles including a first carrier transport material (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 22 and 26-28).
Regarding claim 15, Liang teaches wherein the first carrier transport material is a semiconductor material including Zn atoms (Fig. 1 and paragraph 31, ZnSe/ZnS).
Regarding claim 16, Liang teaches wherein the first quantum dots include a semiconductor material including Zn in an outermost surface (Fig. 1 and paragraph 31, ZnSe/ZnS).
Regarding claim 17, Liang teaches wherein a number mean particle size of the nanoparticles including the first carrier transport material is in a range from 1 to 15 nm (paragraph 2, a diameter of QD being less than 10 nm).
Regarding claim 22, Liang teaches a manufacturing method for the light-emitting element according to claim 1, the manufacturing method comprising: forming a first nanoparticle containing layer including the first nanoparticles, as the first nanoparticle layer; forming, on the first nanoparticle containing layer, a second nanoparticle containing layer including the second nanoparticles, as the second nanoparticle layer; and supplying, onto the second nanoparticle containing layer, a ligand solution including the ligand including the first coordinating functional group for coordination to the first nanoparticles and the second coordinating functional group for coordination to the second nanoparticles, after the formation of the second nanoparticle containing layer (It is noted that the limitation in claim 22 is a product-by process claim and therefore is treated according to MPEP 2113. Even through product-by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. Since Liang teaches each and every limitation of the light-emitting element recited in claim 1 as a product, the claimed method does not distinguish from the prior art).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang.
Regarding claims 20-21, Liang teaches wherein the first electrode, the first nanoparticle layer, the second nanoparticle layer, and the second electrode are provided, in this stated order, from a lower layer side, the first electrode is an anode electrode and the second electrode is a cathode electrode (paragraphs 26-33).
Liang does not explicitly teach “the first nanoparticle layer has a layer thickness in a range from 1 to 150 nm, and the second nanoparticle layer is thinner than the first nanoparticle layer” in claim 20 and “the first nanoparticle layer has a layer thickness in a range from 1 to 150 nm, and a density of the second nanoparticles in the second nanoparticle layer is lower than a density of the first nanoparticles in the first nanoparticle layer” in claim 21. Considering “a density” to be a charge carrier density such a hole density, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thicknesses of the light-emitting layer and/or the electron transport layer by a routine experimentation in order to obtain the desired thickness ranges, including the thicknesses such that the thickness of the electron transport layer is thinner than the light-emitting layer, and to adjust the hole density of the electron transport layer to be less than that in the light-emitting layer as a routine skill in the art in order to provide the predictable light-emitting device.
Conclusion
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893