DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 10-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Karabinis et al. (US 2002/0041575, Karabinis-1 hereafter).
RE claims 1 and 16, Karabinis-1 discloses a method and satellite, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (Figure 5, satellite 516. Processor and memory are inherent generic components), wherein the processor is configured to implement the method comprising: determining at least one first frequency band available for a land communication system in a current region (Paragraph 48 discloses an area of coverage by a satellite system comprising seven spot beams and the area of coverage overlaps with terrestrial systems. Each spot beam is comprised of nine channels for a total of 63 assignable channels.); and determining at least one second frequency band available for a satellite communication system in the current region, based on the at least one first frequency band (Paragraphs 49-54 further discloses the coordinated assignment and/or reuse plan between spot beams as well as terrestrial systems such that based on the channels allocated to one spot beam may be reused in another spot beam for use by terrestrial networks.)
RE claim 3, Karabinis-1 discloses method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Karabinis-1 further discloses wherein the method is performed by a satellite (Figure 5 and Paragraphs 48-5) , and determining the first frequency band information available for the land communication system in the current region comprises: determining the at least one first frequency band available for the land communication system in the current region, based on the available frequency bands of the land communication system in each region (Paragraphs 48-54 discloses the coordinated assignment and/or reuse plan between spot beams as well as terrestrial systems such that based on the channels allocated to one spot beam may be reused in another spot beam for use by terrestrial networks.).
RE claims 10 and 17, Karabinis-1 discloses a method for adjusting frequency bands, applied to performed by a satellite; and satellite, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (Figure 5, satellite 516. Processor and memory are inherent generic components), wherein the processor is configured to implement the method comprising: adjusting spectrum resources available when the satellite is in a current region, based on at least one second frequency band available for a satellite communication system in the current region (Paragraph 48: “For example, an area of coverage by a satellite system may comprise seven spot beams, with each spot beam having nine channels. Thus, the system would have sixty three channels that could potentially be assigned, shared and/or reused between the satellite and the respective underlay terrestrial systems or between satellite systems.” Paragraphs 49-54 further disclosing re-use and reallocation between spot beams as well as underlaying terrestrial networks. This is interpreted as re-use and reallocation between both terrestrial networks as well as other satellites)
RE claim 11, Karabinis-1 discloses the method of claim 10 as set forth above. Note that Karabinis-1 further discloses wherein the at least one second frequency band is determined by the satellite, or, the at least one second frequency band is indicated by a frequency band notification message received by the satellite (Paragraph 71: “Finally, one or more satellites can be used to configure the first and second spot beams. In communicating between a first subscriber terminal and a second subscriber terminal and/or other communication device, a network operations controller is preferably used to facilitate assignment, borrowing and/or reuse of frequencies between spot beams, communication areas, and/or terrestrial cells, central portions of spot beams and/or communication areas, subareas associated with spot beams, communication areas and/or terrestrial cells, and/or terrestrial cells within subareas” This appears to be disclosure that satellites may themselves perform allocation of channels within spot beams as well as coordinate with a network operations control to assign/reassign channels such that terre4strial networks within each spot beam may reuse unused channels.).
RE claim 12, Karabinis-1 discloses the method of claim 10 as set forth above. Note that Karabinis-1 further discloses wherein the at least one second frequency band is indicated by a frequency band notification message received by the satellite, and adjusting the spectrum resources available for the satellite comprises: determining that a base station is installed on the satellite, and adjusting the spectrum resources available when the satellite is in the current region based on the at least one second frequency band indicated by the frequency band notification message; or, determining that the base station is installed on the ground, and adjusting the spectrum resources available when the satellite is in the current region based on the second frequency band indicated by the frequency band notification message and indication of the base station (Paragraphs 48-54 as set forth above and Paragraph 71 further disclosing: “Finally, one or more satellites can be used to configure the first and second spot beams. In communicating between a first subscriber terminal and a second subscriber terminal and/or other communication device, a network operations controller is preferably used to facilitate assignment, borrowing and/or reuse of frequencies between spot beams, communication areas, and/or terrestrial cells, central portions of spot beams and/or communication areas, subareas associated with spot beams, communication areas and/or terrestrial cells, and/or terrestrial cells within subareas” This appears to be disclosure that satellites may themselves perform allocation of channels within spot beams as well as coordinate with a network operations control to assign/reassign channels such that terre4strial networks within each spot beam may reuse unused channels.)..
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Karabinis (US 2006/0205367, Karabinis-2 hereafter).
RE claims 6 and 18, Karabinis-2 discloses a method for determining satellite frequency bands; and ground station, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (Paragraphs 50 and 59-71, “aggregate radiated power spectral density controller (i.e., an aggregate interference controller) which may be included in ATN 235”. Per Paragraph 50, ATN stands for Ancillary Terrestrial Network), wherein the processor is configured to implement the method comprising: performing interference detection on at least one first frequency band available for a land communication system in a current region, to obtain an interference detection result; and determining at least one second frequency band available for a satellite communication system in the current region from the at least one first frequency band based on the interference detection result (Paragraphs 50 and 59-71 disclosing that the aggregate radiated power spectral density controller manages interference and coordinates usage of a portion frequency resources used by a second satellite operator by an Ancillary Terrestrial Network. The controllers residing within the ATN. The controller is required to keep interference levels below a threshold so as to not interfere “with the satellite receiver of the SBC of the second operator by more than, or substantially more than, X % .DELTA.T/T. The aggregate (or total) SBC and ATN communications of the first satellite operator, by the first satellite operator, can thereby be controlled to interfere with the satellite receiver of the SBC of the second satellite operator by no more than, or substantially more than, 6% .DELTA.T/T.”. As such, its is clear the controller is measuring and monitoring interference as resources are allocated to meet this threshold.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karabinis-1 in view of Karabinis-2.
RE claim 2, Karabinis-1 discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Karabinis-1 does not explicitly disclose wherein determining at least one second frequency band available for the satellite communication system in the current region, based on the at least one first frequency band, comprises: determining the at least one second frequency band whose interference value with the at least one first frequency band is less than a predetermined threshold.
However, Karabinis-2 teaches wherein determining at least one second frequency band available for the satellite communication system in the current region, based on the at least one first frequency band, comprises: determining the at least one second frequency band whose interference value with the at least one first frequency band is less than a predetermined threshold (Paragraphs 50 and 59-71 disclosing that the aggregate radiated power spectral density controller manages interference and coordinates usage of a portion frequency resources used by a second satellite operator by an Ancillary Terrestrial Network. The controllers residing within the ATN. The controller is required to keep interference levels below a threshold so as to not interfere “with the satellite receiver of the SBC of the second operator by more than, or substantially more than, X % .DELTA.T/T. The aggregate (or total) SBC and ATN communications of the first satellite operator, by the first satellite operator, can thereby be controlled to interfere with the satellite receiver of the SBC of the second satellite operator by no more than, or substantially more than, 6% .DELTA.T/T.”. As such, it is clear the controller is measuring and monitoring interference as resources are allocated to meet this threshold.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Karabinis-1 with the teachings of Karabinis-2 in order to provide for interference control between satellite and terrestrial networks operating in the same spectrum.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karabinis-1 in view of Ravishankar (US 2019/0239082).
RE claim 4, Karabinis-1 discloses the method of claim 3 as set forth above. Karabinis-1 does not explicitly disclose sending a first notification message to a ground station on a first preset frequency band resource, wherein the first preset frequency band resource is a frequency band resource available for the satellite to send the first notification message in the current region as agreed in a protocol, and the first notification message is used to indicate at least one second frequency band available for the satellite in the current region.
However, Ravishankar teaches sending a first notification message to a ground station on a first preset frequency band resource, wherein the first preset frequency band resource is a frequency band resource available for the satellite to send the first notification message in the current region as agreed in a protocol, and the first notification message is used to indicate at least one second frequency band available for the satellite in the current region (Paragraph 27 teaches: “the satellite base station 220 can also include a Global Resource Manager (GRM) 229 configured to coordinate and prioritize the resource requirements by both terrestrial and satellite networks. GRM 229 communicates with both networks and dynamically allocate resources among them to meet their requirements while minimizing potential interference between the two networks.”, Paragraph 36 teaches: “a satellite base station (or its associated GRM) may instruct a scheduler of a terrestrial base station to utilize specific sets of resource blocks of a frequency spectrum”. The communication and coordination between the GRM and the plurality of satellite and terrestrial networks is a teaching of “notification messages” in order to allocate frequency bands amongst them.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Karabinis-1 with the teachings of Ravishankar since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique (notifications/signaling) to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karabinis-1 in view of Ravishankar in view of Parikh et al. (US 2019/0124584, Parikh hereafter).
RE claim 5, Karabinis-1 discloses the method of claim 3 as set forth above. Karabinis-1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the method is performed by a ground station or a base station installed on the ground, and the method further comprises: determining that a satellite arrives in the current region, and sending a second notification message to the satellite on a second preset frequency band resource, wherein the second preset frequency band resource is a frequency band resource available for the ground station or the base station to send the second notification message as agreed in a protocol, and the second notification message is used to indicate the at least one second frequency band determined by the ground station or the base station for the satellite.
However, Ravishankar teaches wherein the method is performed by a ground station or a base station installed on the ground, and the method further comprises: sending a second notification message to a satellite on a second preset frequency band resource, wherein the second preset frequency band resource is a frequency band resource available for the ground station or the base station to send the second notification message as agreed in a protocol, and the second notification message is used to indicate the at least one second frequency band determined by the ground station or the base station for the satellite (Paragraph 27 teaches: “the satellite base station 220 can also include a Global Resource Manager (GRM) 229 configured to coordinate and prioritize the resource requirements by both terrestrial and satellite networks. GRM 229 communicates with both networks and dynamically allocate resources among them to meet their requirements while minimizing potential interference between the two networks.”, Paragraph 36 teaches: “a satellite base station (or its associated GRM) may instruct a scheduler of a terrestrial base station to utilize specific sets of resource blocks of a frequency spectrum”. The communication and coordination between the GRM and the plurality of satellite and terrestrial networks is a teaching of “notification messages” in order to allocate frequency bands amongst them.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Karabinis-1 with the teachings of Ravishankar since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique (notifications/signaling) to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Karabinis-1 in view of Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose determining that a satellite arrives in the current region.
However, Parikh teaches explicitly disclose determining that a satellite arrives in the current region (Paragraph 91-93 teaches an AP configured to track and detect the arrival of satellites that may overlap its coverage area and mitigate interference caused).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Karabinis-1 in view of Ravishankar with the teachings of Parikh in order to manage interference in a system having terrestrial and non-stationary orbit satellite networks.
Claims 7 and 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karabinis-2 in view of Desgagné et al. (US 5,963,865, Desgagné hereafter).
RE claim 7, Karabinis-2 discloses the method of claim 6 as set forth above. Karabinis-2 does not explicitly discloses wherein determining at least one second frequency band available for a satellite communication system in the current region from the at least one first frequency band based on the interference detection result comprises: determining the at least one second frequency band from the at least one first frequency band according to an order of frequency band interference values from high to low, based on the interference detection result.
However, Desgagné teaches determining the at least one second frequency band from the at least one first frequency band according to an order of frequency band interference values from high to low, based on the interference detection result (Column 7, line 64, through column 8, line 15, teaches performing measurements of loading and interference within each of a plurality of frequencies. A sorted list based on these measurements is generated and the idle frequency with the least interference is selected and assigned).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Karabinis-2 with the teachings of Desgagné in order to select the best available frequency for communication.
RE claim 8, Karabinis-2 in view of Desgagné discloses the method of claim 7 as set forth above. Note that Karabinis-2 further discloses performed by a ground station or a terminal (Paragraphs 50 and 59-71, “aggregate radiated power spectral density controller (i.e., an aggregate interference controller) which may be included in ATN 235”. Per Paragraph 50, ATN stands for Ancillary Terrestrial Network).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karabinis-2 in view of Desgagné, in view of Ravishankar and further in view of Parikh.
RE claim 9, Karabinis-2 in view of Desgagné discloses the method of claim 8 as set forth above. Note that Karabinis-2 further discloses wherein the method is performed by a ground station (Paragraphs 50 and 59-71, “aggregate radiated power spectral density controller (i.e., an aggregate interference controller) which may be included in ATN 235”. Per Paragraph 50, ATN stands for Ancillary Terrestrial Network).
Karabinis-2 in view of Desgagné does not explicitly disclose determining that a satellite arrives in the current region, and sending a third notification message to the satellite on a third preset frequency band resource, wherein the third preset frequency band resource is a frequency band resource available for the ground station to send the third notification message as agreed in a protocol, and the third notification message is used to indicate the at least one second frequency band determined by the ground station for the satellite.
However, Ravishankar teaches sending a third notification message to a satellite on a third preset frequency band resource, wherein the third preset frequency band resource is a frequency band resource available for the ground station to send the third notification message as agreed in a protocol, and the third notification message is used to indicate the at least one second frequency band determined by the ground station for the satellite (Paragraph 27 teaches: “the satellite base station 220 can also include a Global Resource Manager (GRM) 229 configured to coordinate and prioritize the resource requirements by both terrestrial and satellite networks. GRM 229 communicates with both networks and dynamically allocate resources among them to meet their requirements while minimizing potential interference between the two networks.”, Paragraph 36 teaches: “a satellite base station (or its associated GRM) may instruct a scheduler of a terrestrial base station to utilize specific sets of resource blocks of a frequency spectrum”. The communication and coordination between the GRM and the plurality of satellite and terrestrial networks is a teaching of “notification messages” in order to allocate frequency bands amongst them.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Karabinis-2 in view of Desgagné with the teachings of Ravishankar since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique (notifications/signaling) to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Karabinis-2 in view of Desgagné and further in view of Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose determining that a satellite arrives in the current region.
However, Parikh teaches explicitly disclose determining that a satellite arrives in the current region (Paragraph 91-93 teaches an AP configured to track and detect the arrival of satellites that may overlap its coverage area and mitigate interference caused).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Karabinis-2 in view of Desgagné and further in view of Ravishankar with the teachings of Parikh in order to manage interference in a system having terrestrial and non-stationary orbit satellite networks.
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461