DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 73-81 and 84-86 in the reply filed on 15 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that amended technical features of Group I, II, and III are not discloses by Boulet and therefore constitute a special technical feature. This is not found persuasive because it appears that Gadkaree (US 2019/0262762) or Gadkaree in view of Jaffe (US 2004/0118287) teaches the corresponding technical feature. See rejection below. Therefore, the restriction requirement is maintained.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 82-83 and 87-94 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 15 April 2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 15 April 2026 has been entered. Claims 73, 75, 82, and 87 are amended. Accordingly, claims 73-94 remain pending in the application with claims 73-81 and 84-86 considered in this Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed 09/06/2023, 12/12/2023, and 03/27/2025 have been considered.
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the claim numbering “84” should read “84.” for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the text in Fig. 25 is not legible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 73, lines 8-10, recite "the percolation network is responsive to inputted energy to generate heat to desorb CO2 from the sorbent". The specification recites "The desorption material is generally electrically conductive and can create a percolation network within the structured material assembly (SMA) when combined with the substrate material during forming to achieve an overall electrical resistivity target in a range of from 0.03 to 300 Ω·m" [0052]. The specification further recites "a desorption material that is responsive to inputted energy to generate heat in-situ to desorb CO2 from the sorbent in the structured material assembly" [0044]. There is no disclosure that the percolation network is responsive to inputted energy to generate heat to desorb CO2 from the sorbent.
Claims 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 76, line 2, recites "a support component arranged in a structural relationship with the sorbent". It is unclear what "being arranged in a structural relationship" means. This limitation is interpreted as requiring the sorbent may be deposited on or in a support per [0066] of the Specification.
Claims 77 and 81 are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite base and fail to cure the deficiencies of the base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 73-81 and 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gadkaree (US 2019/0262762).
Regarding Claim 73, Gadkaree discloses a sorbent structure (sorbent structure meets the limitation of a structured material assembly) for removing CO2 from a gas [0002], [0070].
Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent structure comprises a flow-through substrate [0041], which comprises multiple channels ([0042], Fig. 1).
Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent structure includes a sorbent material for adsorbing CO2 from the gas [0052].
Gadkaree further discloses desorption of the sorbent material [0066], such that the sorbent material meets the limitation of a desorption material. Gadkaree further discloses applying the sorbent material as a coating onto the substrate (coating onto meets the limitation of deposited on; [0112]), and forming a mixture of a carbon precursor and a sorbent material into the shape of a flow-through substrate (forming into the shape of the substrate meets the limitation of deposited in the substrate; [0013]). Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent material is electrically conductive [0063]. Gadkaree discloses the sorbent structure includes a continuous body including the sorbent material in the form of a flow-through substrate, and the flow-through substrate 14 includes one or more cells 16 that are defined by one or more porous walls 18 ([0040], Fig. 1, Fig. 1A) such that the desorption material is combined with the substrate to create a percolation network within the structured material assembly (aka sorbent structure). Gadkaree further discloses the resistivity of the sorbent structure can be adjusted as desired according to the following equation: ρ = R·A/L, where ρ is resistivity in ohm-cm, R is resistance in ohms, A is the area of the conducting surface in cm2, and L is the distance between two conducting surfaces in cm [0061].
Gadkaree is silent to the sorbent structure having an overall electrical resistivity in a range of from 0.03 to 300 Ω·m.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gadkaree to form a sorbent structure having an overall electrical resistivity in a range of from 0.03 to 300 Ω·m, absent a showing of unexpected results, because resistivity of the sorbent structure can be adjusted as desired, as recognized by Gadkaree [0061].
Gadkaree further discloses the electrical energy (electrical energy meets the limitation of inputted energy) is converted to thermal energy (thermal energy meets the limitation of generating heat) directly within the sorbent structure via resistive heating, and this thermal energy can then break the sorbent-CO2 bonds, thus ensuring desorption of the CO2 gas from the sorbent [0038]. The sorbent structure of Gadkaree comprises the percolation network comprising the sorbent material, which is responsible for adsorbing and desorbing CO2, such that the percolation network of Gadkaree is responsive to the inputted energy to generate heat and desorb CO2.
Regarding Claim 74, Gadkaree discloses applying the sorbent material (sorbent material meets the limitation of the sorbent and the desorption material; see the rejection of claim 73) as a coating onto the substrate [0112], or forming a mixture of a carbon precursor and a sorbent material into the shape of a flow-through substrate [0013]. Since the sorbent material is either coated on the substrate or forms the substrate, the substrate necessarily structurally supports the sorbent material.
Regarding Claim 75, Gadkaree discloses forming a mixture of a carbon precursor and a sorbent material into the shape of a flow-through substrate [0013], such that the sorbent material (aka desorption material) is impregnated in the substrate.
Regarding Claim 76, Gadkaree discloses a continuous body in the form of a flow-through substrate, wherein the continuous body further comprises a sorbent coating comprising the sorbent material, the sorbent coating is located on the walls of the body [0010], and the sorbent coating is derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011]. Gadkaree further discloses these inorganic fillers can include zirconia, alumina, and silica [0054]. Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049], such that the inorganic fillers of Gadkaree act as a support component arranged in a structural relationship with the sorbent. Gadkaree discloses the sorbent coating is located on the walls of the body (on the walls meets the limitation of deposited on) of the substrate [0010], such that the inorganic fillers (support) of Gadkaree would be deposited on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 77, Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049], such that the inorganic fillers (sorbent) are necessarily deposited on or impregnated in the support, as these appear to be the only options for continuous, uninterrupted contact, absent a showing to the contrary.
Regarding Claim 78, Gadkaree discloses forming a carbon precursor into the shape of a flow-through substrate [0016], such that the substrate comprises carbon.
Regarding Claim 79, Gadkaree discloses the sorbent coating is derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011], wherein methylcellulose contains carbon, such that the desorption material of Gadkaree comprises carbon.
Regarding Claim 80, Gadkaree discloses the sorbent coating is derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011]. Gadkaree further discloses the green body includes an organic filler such as sodium carboxy methylcellulose [0056]. Gadkaree further discloses the green body includes a forming aid/plasticizer such as sodium stearate [0057]. Sodium is a Group 1 element from the periodic table such that the sorbent coating of Gadkaree comprises Group 1 elements.
Regarding Claim 81, Gadkaree discloses a sorbent coating derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011]. Gadkaree further discloses these inorganic fillers can include zirconia, alumina, and silica [0054]. Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049], such that the inorganic fillers of Gadkaree act as a support component arranged in a structural relationship with the sorbent.
Regarding Claim 84, Gadkaree discloses conduction of an electrical current through the sorbent structure (continuous body) for heating the sorbent structure (and, therefore, for heating the desorption material within the sorbent structure) for desorption of CO2 gas from the sorbent [0060]. Gadkaree further discloses the sides 12 of the sorbent structure 10a can be configured to be electrically conductive, and connected to leads 40 and an electrical power supply 48, wherein the sides 12 of the sorbent structure are positioned so as to be able to conduct an electric current through the sorbent structure (Fig. 1, 1A, 1B; [0060]), which meets the limitation of a mechanism for providing electricity.
Claims 76-77 and 81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gadkaree (US 2019/0262762) in view of Ding (US 2017/0291167).
An alternative rejection of claim 76 is provided in case the inorganic fillers of Gadkaree are not supports.
Alternatively, regarding Claim 76, Gadkaree teaches the elements as described above with regards to claim 74.
Gadkaree discloses a continuous body in the form of a flow-through substrate, wherein the continuous body further comprises a sorbent coating comprising the sorbent material, the sorbent coating is located on the walls of the body [0010], and the sorbent coating is derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011]. Gadkaree further discloses these inorganic fillers can include zirconia, alumina, and silica [0054]. Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent material of the continuous body can be fabricated from various sorbent materials that include, but are not limited to, zeolites, metal-organic framework (“MOFs”) and combinations of these materials [0051]. Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049].
Gadkaree is silent to a support component being arranged in a structural relationship with the sorbent.
Ding discloses a zeolite supported on a metal oxide support [0014], wherein the metal oxide support may be alumina [0018]. The metal oxide support is necessarily arranged in a structural relationship with the zeolite sorbent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gadkaree to incorporate the teachings of Ding, wherein the alumina inorganic filler is a support component for the zeolite sorbent, such that the support component is arranged in a structural relationship with the sorbent, because inorganic fillers such as alumina are well-known supports for zeolite sorbents, as recognized by Ding.
Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent coating is located on the walls of the body (on the walls meets the limitation of deposited on) of the substrate [0010], such that the inorganic fillers (support) of Gadkaree would be deposited on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 77, Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049], such that the inorganic fillers (sorbent) are necessarily deposited on or impregnated in the support, as these appear to be the only options for continuous, uninterrupted contact, absent a showing to the contrary.
Regarding Claim 81, Gadkaree discloses a sorbent coating derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011]. Gadkaree further discloses these inorganic fillers can include zirconia, alumina, and silica [0054]. Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049].
Ding discloses a zeolite supported on a metal oxide support [0014], wherein the metal oxide support may be alumina [0018]. The metal oxide support is necessarily arranged in a structural relationship with the zeolite sorbent.
Claims 85-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gadkaree (US 2019/0262762) in view of Sadiq (US 2022/0134307; US PGPub of IDS Doc WO 2020/113281).
Regarding Claim 85, Gadkaree teaches the elements as described above with regards to claim 84.
Gadkaree discloses an electrode is employed to connect to the side 12 as part of the lead 40 (Fig. 1, 1A, 1B; [0062]), such that two electrodes would be included to connect to each side 12, therefore meeting the limitation wherein the mechanism for providing electricity to the desorption material for heating comprises electrodes. Gadkaree further discloses sorbent structures that can be heated by passing a sufficient voltage across a portion of the sorbent structures to resistively heat the sorbent structures to promote CO2 gas desorption [0038], such that the electricity is converted to heat for desorption of the CO2 sorbent material and CO2 is desorbed from the sorbent.
Gadkaree is silent to the electrodes being in contact with the desorption material.
Sadiq discloses an adsorption apparatus (adsorption apparatus meets the limitation of a structured material assembly) for capturing a target gaseous adsorbate comprising a substrate coated with an adsorptive composite coating (adsorptive composite coating is responsible for adsorbing and desorbing and therefore meets the limitation of a sorbent and a desorption material), wherein heating the adsorptive composite coating desorbs the target gaseous adsorbate [0013], wherein the target gas is carbon dioxide [0022]. Sadiq further discloses electrodes 120 comprising conductive strips positioned along the longitudinal edge of each planar sheet 110 (Fig. 4D; [0189]), wherein the adsorption element comprises a flexible planar sheet coated on both sides with an adsorptive composite coating [0162], such that at least a portion of the electrodes is in contact with the desorption material. Sadiq further discloses heating the adsorptive composite coating by applying a current through the spaced apart electrodes 120, thereby generating heat within resistive heating material of the planar sheet 110 so as to release at least a portion of the gaseous adsorbate therefrom into a product fluid flow [0198].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gadkaree to incorporate the teachings of Sadiq wherein the electrodes are in contact with the desorption material, because contacting the electrodes and the desorption material is well-known in the art of desorbing carbon dioxide by applying a current through electrodes, thereby generating heat, as recognized by Sadiq [0198].
Regarding Claim 86, Gadkaree discloses an electrode is employed to connect to the side 12 as part of the lead 40 (Fig. 1, 1A, 1B; [0062]), such that two electrodes would be included to connect to each side 12, therefore meeting the limitation wherein the sorbent structures (aka structured material assemblies) comprise electrodes. Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent structures can be incorporated into a system configuration for CO2 gas removal and sorbent regeneration [0073].
Gadkaree is silent to the more than one structured material assemblies comprise electrodes and are arranged in parallel circuits or series circuits, or a combination of parallel and series circuits relative to an electrical power supply.
Sadiq discloses an adsorption apparatus (adsorption apparatus meets the limitation of a structured material assembly) for capturing a target gaseous adsorbate comprising a substrate coated with an adsorptive composite coating, wherein heating the adsorptive composite coating desorbs the target gaseous adsorbate [0013], wherein the target gas is carbon dioxide [0022]. Sadiq further discloses electrodes connected to a suitable power source (power source meets the limitation of an electrical power supply) for applying current flow through the substrate [0189]. Sadiq further discloses where multiple parallel connected (parallel connected meets the limitation of being arranged in parallel circuits relative to an electrical power supply) adsorption apparatus 200 (multiple adsorption apparatuses meets the limitation of a structured material assembly system) are used, the adsorption apparatus 200 can be operated simultaneously through different parts of this cycle, and therefore continuously produce the adsorbate in a product flow [0199].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gadkaree to incorporate the teachings of Sadiq wherein more than one structured material assemblies comprise electrodes and are arranged in parallel circuits or series circuits, or a combination of parallel and series circuits relative to an electrical power supply, because where multiple parallel connected adsorption apparatus are used, the adsorption apparatus can be operated simultaneously through different parts of this cycle, and therefore continuously produce the adsorbate in a product flow, as recognized by Sadiq [0199].
Claims 73-81 and 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gadkaree (US 2019/0262762) in view of Jaffe (US 2004/0118287).
An alternative rejection of claim 73 is provided in case Gadkaree does not sufficiently obviate the resistivity.
Alternatively, regarding Claim 73, Gadkaree discloses a sorbent structure (sorbent structure meets the limitation of a structured material assembly) for removing CO2 from a gas [0002], [0070].
Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent structure comprises a flow-through substrate [0041], which comprises multiple channels ([0042], Fig. 1).
Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent structure includes a sorbent material for adsorbing CO2 from the gas [0052].
Gadkaree further discloses desorption of the sorbent material [0066], such that the sorbent material meets the limitation of a desorption material. Gadkaree further discloses applying the sorbent material as a coating onto the substrate (coating onto meets the limitation of deposited on; [0112]), and forming a mixture of a carbon precursor and a sorbent material into the shape of a flow-through substrate (forming into the shape of the substrate meets the limitation of deposited in the substrate; [0013]). Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent material is electrically conductive [0063]. Gadkaree discloses the sorbent structure includes a continuous body including the sorbent material in the form of a flow-through substrate, and the flow-through substrate 14 includes one or more cells 16 that are defined by one or more porous walls 18 ([0040], Fig. 1, Fig. 1A) such that the desorption material is combined with the substrate to create a percolation network within the structured material assembly (aka sorbent structure). Gadkaree further discloses the resistivity of the sorbent structure can be adjusted as desired according to the following equation: ρ = R·A/L, where ρ is resistivity in ohm-cm, R is resistance in ohms, A is the area of the conducting surface in cm2, and L is the distance between two conducting surfaces in cm [0061].
Gadkaree is silent to the sorbent structure having an overall electrical resistivity in a range of from 0.03 to 300 Ω·m.
Jaffe discloses an adsorbent material fabricated into a thin sheets and configured for use as a parallel passage contactor element in adsorption of gases (Abstract). Jaffe further discloses the adsorption of CO2 [0047]. Jaffe further discloses the adsorbent material has an electrical resistivity of lower than 200 ohm-cm (claim 16), which is equivalent to 2 Ω·m (2 Ω·m meets the limitation of from 0.03 to 300 Ω·m)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gadkaree to incorporate the teachings of Jaffe to form a sorbent structure having an overall electrical resistivity in a range of from 0.03 to 300 Ω·m, absent a showing of unexpected results, because resistivity of the sorbent structure can be adjusted as desired, as recognized by Gadkaree [0061], and having an electrical resistivity of 0.03 to 300 Ω·m is a process parameter well-known in the art of carbon dioxide adsorbents, as recognized by Jaffe.
Gadkaree further discloses the electrical energy (electrical energy meets the limitation of inputted energy) is converted to thermal energy (thermal energy meets the limitation of generating heat) directly within the sorbent structure via resistive heating, and this thermal energy can then break the sorbent-CO2 bonds, thus ensuring desorption of the CO2 gas from the sorbent [0038]. The sorbent structure of Gadkaree comprises the percolation network comprising the sorbent material, which is responsible for adsorbing and desorbing CO2, such that the percolation network of Gadkaree is responsive to the inputted energy to generate heat and desorb CO2.
Regarding Claim 74, Gadkaree discloses applying the sorbent material (sorbent material meets the limitation of the sorbent and the desorption material; see the rejection of claim 73) as a coating onto the substrate [0112], or forming a mixture of a carbon precursor and a sorbent material into the shape of a flow-through substrate [0013]. Since the sorbent material is either coated on the substrate or forms the substrate, the substrate necessarily structurally supports the sorbent material.
Regarding Claim 75, Gadkaree discloses forming a mixture of a carbon precursor and a sorbent material into the shape of a flow-through substrate [0013], such that the sorbent material (aka desorption material) is impregnated in the substrate.
Regarding Claim 76, Gadkaree discloses a continuous body in the form of a flow-through substrate, wherein the continuous body further comprises a sorbent coating comprising the sorbent material, the sorbent coating is located on the walls of the body [0010], and the sorbent coating is derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011]. Gadkaree further discloses these inorganic fillers can include zirconia, alumina, and silica [0054]. Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049], such that the inorganic fillers of Gadkaree act as a support component arranged in a structural relationship with the sorbent. Gadkaree discloses the sorbent coating is located on the walls of the body (on the walls meets the limitation of deposited on) of the substrate [0010], such that the inorganic fillers (support) of Gadkaree would be deposited on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 77, Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049], such that the inorganic fillers (sorbent) are necessarily deposited on or impregnated in the support, as these appear to be the only options for continuous, uninterrupted contact, absent a showing to the contrary.
Regarding Claim 78, Gadkaree discloses forming a carbon precursor into the shape of a flow-through substrate [0016], such that the substrate comprises carbon.
Regarding Claim 79, Gadkaree discloses the sorbent coating is derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011], wherein methylcellulose contains carbon, such that the desorption material of Gadkaree comprises carbon.
Regarding Claim 80, Gadkaree discloses the sorbent coating is derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011]. Gadkaree further discloses the green body includes an organic filler such as sodium carboxy methylcellulose [0056]. Gadkaree further discloses the green body includes a forming aid/plasticizer such as sodium stearate [0057]. Sodium is a Group 1 element from the periodic table such that the sorbent coating of Gadkaree comprises Group 1 elements.
Regarding Claim 81, Gadkaree discloses a sorbent coating derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011]. Gadkaree further discloses these inorganic fillers can include zirconia, alumina, and silica [0054]. Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049], such that the inorganic fillers of Gadkaree act as a support component arranged in a structural relationship with the sorbent.
Regarding Claim 84, Gadkaree discloses conduction of an electrical current through the sorbent structure (continuous body) for heating the sorbent structure (and, therefore, for heating the desorption material within the sorbent structure) for desorption of CO2 gas from the sorbent [0060]. Gadkaree further discloses the sides 12 of the sorbent structure 10a can be configured to be electrically conductive, and connected to leads 40 and an electrical power supply 48, wherein the sides 12 of the sorbent structure are positioned so as to be able to conduct an electric current through the sorbent structure (Fig. 1, 1A, 1B; [0060]), which meets the limitation of a mechanism for providing electricity.
Claims 76-77 and 81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gadkaree (US 2019/0262762) in view of Jaffe (US 2004/0118287) and Ding (US 2017/0291167).
An alternative rejection of claim 76 is provided in case the inorganic fillers of Gadkaree are not supports.
Alternatively, regarding Claim 76, Gadkaree and Jaffe teach the elements as described above with regards to claim 74.
Gadkaree discloses a continuous body in the form of a flow-through substrate, wherein the continuous body further comprises a sorbent coating comprising the sorbent material, the sorbent coating is located on the walls of the body [0010], and the sorbent coating is derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011]. Gadkaree further discloses these inorganic fillers can include zirconia, alumina, and silica [0054]. Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent material of the continuous body can be fabricated from various sorbent materials that include, but are not limited to, zeolites, metal-organic framework (“MOFs”) and combinations of these materials [0051]. Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049].
Gadkaree is silent to a support component being arranged in a structural relationship with the sorbent.
Ding discloses a zeolite supported on a metal oxide support [0014], wherein the metal oxide support may be alumina [0018]. The metal oxide support is necessarily arranged in a structural relationship with the zeolite sorbent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gadkaree to incorporate the teachings of Ding, wherein the alumina inorganic filler is a support component for the zeolite sorbent, such that the support component is arranged in a structural relationship with the sorbent, because inorganic fillers such as alumina are well-known supports for zeolite sorbents, as recognized by Ding.
Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent coating is located on the walls of the body (on the walls meets the limitation of deposited on) of the substrate [0010], such that the inorganic fillers (support) of Gadkaree would be deposited on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 77, Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049], such that the inorganic fillers (sorbent) are necessarily deposited on or impregnated in the support, as these appear to be the only options for continuous, uninterrupted contact, absent a showing to the contrary.
Regarding Claim 81, Gadkaree discloses a sorbent coating derived from a green coating that comprises a methylcellulose, a plasticizer, an inorganic filler and the sorbent material [0011]. Gadkaree further discloses these inorganic fillers can include zirconia, alumina, and silica [0054]. Gadkaree further discloses the inorganic fillers and the sorbent material may be in continuous, uninterrupted contact with one another [0049].
Ding discloses a zeolite supported on a metal oxide support [0014], wherein the metal oxide support may be alumina [0018]. The metal oxide support is necessarily arranged in a structural relationship with the zeolite sorbent.
Claims 85-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gadkaree (US 2019/0262762) in view of Jaffe (US 2004/0118287) and Sadiq (US 2022/0134307; US PGPub of IDS Doc WO 2020/113281).
Regarding Claim 85, Gadkaree and Jaffe teach the elements as described above with regards to claim 84.
Gadkaree discloses an electrode is employed to connect to the side 12 as part of the lead 40 (Fig. 1, 1A, 1B; [0062]), such that two electrodes would be included to connect to each side 12, therefore meeting the limitation wherein the mechanism for providing electricity to the desorption material for heating comprises electrodes. Gadkaree further discloses sorbent structures that can be heated by passing a sufficient voltage across a portion of the sorbent structures to resistively heat the sorbent structures to promote CO2 gas desorption [0038], such that the electricity is converted to heat for desorption of the CO2 sorbent material and CO2 is desorbed from the sorbent.
Gadkaree is silent to the electrodes being in contact with the desorption material.
Sadiq discloses an adsorption apparatus (adsorption apparatus meets the limitation of a structured material assembly) for capturing a target gaseous adsorbate comprising a substrate coated with an adsorptive composite coating (adsorptive composite coating is responsible for adsorbing and desorbing and therefore meets the limitation of a sorbent and a desorption material), wherein heating the adsorptive composite coating desorbs the target gaseous adsorbate [0013], wherein the target gas is carbon dioxide [0022]. Sadiq further discloses electrodes 120 comprising conductive strips positioned along the longitudinal edge of each planar sheet 110 (Fig. 4D; [0189]), wherein the adsorption element comprises a flexible planar sheet coated on both sides with an adsorptive composite coating [0162], such that at least a portion of the electrodes is in contact with the desorption material. Sadiq further discloses heating the adsorptive composite coating by applying a current through the spaced apart electrodes 120, thereby generating heat within resistive heating material of the planar sheet 110 so as to release at least a portion of the gaseous adsorbate therefrom into a product fluid flow [0198].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gadkaree to incorporate the teachings of Sadiq wherein the electrodes are in contact with the desorption material, because contacting the electrodes and the desorption material is well-known in the art of desorbing carbon dioxide by applying a current through electrodes, thereby generating heat, as recognized by Sadiq [0198].
Regarding Claim 86, Gadkaree discloses an electrode is employed to connect to the side 12 as part of the lead 40 (Fig. 1, 1A, 1B; [0062]), such that two electrodes would be included to connect to each side 12, therefore meeting the limitation wherein the sorbent structures (aka structured material assemblies) comprise electrodes. Gadkaree further discloses the sorbent structures can be incorporated into a system configuration for CO2 gas removal and sorbent regeneration [0073].
Gadkaree is silent to the more than one structured material assemblies comprise electrodes and are arranged in parallel circuits or series circuits, or a combination of parallel and series circuits relative to an electrical power supply.
Sadiq discloses an adsorption apparatus (adsorption apparatus meets the limitation of a structured material assembly) for capturing a target gaseous adsorbate comprising a substrate coated with an adsorptive composite coating, wherein heating the adsorptive composite coating desorbs the target gaseous adsorbate [0013], wherein the target gas is carbon dioxide [0022]. Sadiq further discloses electrodes connected to a suitable power source (power source meets the limitation of an electrical power supply) for applying current flow through the substrate [0189]. Sadiq further discloses where multiple parallel connected (parallel connected meets the limitation of being arranged in parallel circuits relative to an electrical power supply) adsorption apparatus 200 (multiple adsorption apparatuses meets the limitation of a structured material assembly system) are used, the adsorption apparatus 200 can be operated simultaneously through different parts of this cycle, and therefore continuously produce the adsorbate in a product flow [0199].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gadkaree to incorporate the teachings of Sadiq wherein more than one structured material assemblies comprise electrodes and are arranged in parallel circuits or series circuits, or a combination of parallel and series circuits relative to an electrical power supply, because where multiple parallel connected adsorption apparatus are used, the adsorption apparatus can be operated simultaneously through different parts of this cycle, and therefore continuously produce the adsorbate in a product flow, as recognized by Sadiq [0199].
Conclusion
/S.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735