DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 6 September 2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6, 11, 14, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “of the DCI,” in the final line. For consistency and clarification with the claim ending, it is recommended to change “of the DCI,” in final line to “of the DCI.”.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 11, 14, and 19 recite the limitation "and/or". It is suggested to clarify the use of words instead of "/".
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the instructions to configure the processing circuitry to” in lines 3-4. For consistency and clarification with “instructions for execution by processing circuitry” in line 2 of claim 11, it is recommended to change “the instructions to configure the processing circuitry to” in lines 3-4 to “the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23-42 of copending Application No. 18/558,153 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are in the same scope as claims 23-42 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshioka et al. WO 2019/234929 A1.
NOTE: Yoshioka et al. US 2021/0243761 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Yoshioka”) will be used for translation purposes.
As to claim 1, Yoshioka teaches an apparatus for a user equipment (UE) (¶196; see figure 11) configured for operation in a fifth-generation (5G) new radio (NR) (5G-NR) system, the apparatus comprising: processing circuitry (¶196; see figure 11); and memory (¶196; see figure 11),
the processing circuitry configured to (¶196; see figure 11):
decode a downlink control information (DCI) format, the DCI format comprising one of DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_2 (¶56; see figure 1: decode DCI format 0_1);
wherein when the DCI format does not schedule a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and does not trigger a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, and when the DCI format triggers a channel state information (CSI) request including at least one of a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) operation, a CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM), and a CSI report transmission (¶¶40-48, 57-58, 70, 87-94, and 96-98; see figures 1 and 4A-4B: the DCI format 0_1 has all HPN fields set to ‘0’, does not schedule PUSCH, does not trigger SRS, and triggers a CSI-RS activation or deactivation or a CSI report transmission activation or deactivation), the processing circuitry is configured to:
interpret one or more fields of the DCI format for PUSCH scheduling and/or SRS triggering as indicating additional information for the triggered CSI request (¶¶87-94 and 96-98; see figures 4A-4B: the PUSCH and/or SRS fields are used to indicate which CSI reporting is deactivated and which remains activated); and
perform the triggered CSI request using at least the information in the one or more fields of the DCI (¶¶87 and 97-98; see figures 4A-4B: deactivate/keep active the appropriate CSI reporting according to the “specific field (second field)”),
As to claim 2, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to decode the DCI format to:
determine that the DCI format does not schedule the PUSCH when an UL-SCH indicator is present and is set to zero (¶¶89 and 98; see figure 4B: UL-SCH set to 0);
determine that the DCI format does not trigger the SRS transmission when an SRS request field is set to all zeros (¶¶93 and 98; see figure 4B: SRS request field set to 0); and
determine that the DCI format triggers the CSI request when a CSI request field is set to a non-zero value (¶¶40, 58, and 87; see figures 1 and 4A-4B: CSI request field set to non-zero value).
As to claim 3, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the triggered CSI request includes at least one of an aperiodic CSI-RS operation, an CSI-IM and an aperiodic CSI report transmission (¶¶33 and 53: A-CSI operation or A-CSI report transmission).
As to claim 4, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more fields of the DCI format for PUSCH scheduling and/or SRS triggering include one or more of:
a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field, a Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) field, a redundancy version field, a new data indicator field, and a transmit power control (TPC) command for PUSCH field,
wherein the processing circuitry is to interpret the one or more fields to configure a resource allocation for the triggered CSI request (¶¶40-48, 57-58, 70, 87-84, and 96-98; see figures 1 and 4A-4B: specific/second field used for resource allocation configuration for triggered CSI operation or report transmission).
As to claim 5, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more fields to configure the resource allocation for the triggered CSI request comprise at least one of:
CSI-RS resource mapping, a bandwidth part (BWP) identifier (BWP-ID) indicating a BWP for reception of a CSI-RS, and power control offset information (¶¶33, 59, 87-94, 96-98, 108, 111, and 114-115; see figures 1, 4A-4B, and 5B: CSI-RS slot/resource or BI field).
As to claim 6, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein when the DCI format either schedules the PUSCH or the DCI format schedules the SRS transmission, the processing circuity is configured to interpret the one or more fields of the DCI format for the PUSCH scheduling and/or the SRS triggering (¶¶60-61: PUSCH scheduled by DCI).
As to claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As to claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As to claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As to claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As to claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same way as claim 5.
As to claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
As to claim 19, Yoshioka teaches an apparatus for a gNodeB (gNB) (¶196; see figure 11) configured for operation in a fifth-generation (5G) new radio (NR) (5G-NR) system, the apparatus comprising: processing circuitry (¶196; see figure 11); and memory (¶196; see figure 11),
the processing circuitry configured to (¶196; see figure 11):
encode a downlink control information (DCI) format for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the DCI format comprising one of DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_2 (¶¶29 and 56; see figure 1: encode DCI format 0_1);
wherein when the DCI format does not schedule a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and does not trigger a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, and when the DCI format triggers a channel state information (CSI) request including at least one of a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) operation, a CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM), and a CSI report transmission (¶¶40-48, 57-58, 70, 87-94, and 96-98; see figures 1 and 4A-4B: the DCI format 0_1 has all HPN fields set to ‘0’, does not schedule PUSCH, does not trigger SRS, and triggers a CSI-RS activation or deactivation or a CSI report transmission activation or deactivation), the processing circuitry is configured to:
encode one or more fields of the DCI format for PUSCH scheduling and/or SRS triggering as indicating additional information for the triggered CSI request (¶¶87-94 and 96-98; see figures 4A-4B: the PUSCH and/or SRS fields are used to indicate which CSI reporting is deactivated and which remains activated),
wherein the one or more fields of the DCI format for PUSCH scheduling and/or SRS triggering include one or more of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field, a Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) field, a redundancy version field, a new data indicator field, and a transmit power control (TPC) command for PUSCH field (¶¶40-48, 57-58, 70, 87-84, and 96-98; see figures 1 and 4A-4B: specific/second field used for resource allocation configuration for triggered CSI operation or report transmission),
wherein the processing circuitry is to encode the one or more fields to configure a resource allocation for the triggered CSI request (¶¶29, 40-48, 57-58, 70, 87-84, and 96-98; see figures 1 and 4A-4B: DCI format 0_1 includes the encoded fields for resource allocation for the triggered CSI operation or report transmission), and
wherein the memory is configured to store the information in the one or more fields of the DCI (¶196; see figure 11).
As to claim 20, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to encode the DCI format to:
include an UL-SCH indicator in the DCI format and set the UL-SCH indicator to zero to indicate that the DCI format does not schedule the PUSCH (¶¶29, 89, and 98; see figure 4B: UL-SCH set to 0);
set an SRS request field to all zeros to indicate that the DCI format does not trigger the SRS transmission (¶¶29, 93, and 98; see figure 4B: SRS request field set to 0; and
set a CSI request field to a non-zero value to indicate that the DCI format triggers the CSI request (¶¶29, 40, 58, and 87; see figures 1 and 4A-4B: CSI request field set to non-zero value), and
wherein the one or more fields to configure the resource allocation for the triggered CSI request comprise at least one of: CSI-RS resource mapping, a bandwidth part (BWP) identifier (BWP-ID) indicating a BWP for reception of a CSI-RS, and power control offset information (¶¶33, 59, 87-94, 96-98, 108, 111, and 114-115; see figures 1, 4A-4B, and 5B: CSI-RS slot/resource or BI field).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka in view of 3GPP R1-2101913 “Moderator summary#3 for multi-beam enhancement: Round 2” (hereinafter referred to as “3GPP”).
As to claim 7, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of claim 6.
Although Yoshioka teaches “The apparatus of claim 6,” Yoshioka does not explicitly disclose “when the DCI format…for beam indication”.
However, 3GPP teaches apparatus of claim 6, wherein when the DCI format does not schedule a PUSCH, does not trigger an SRS transmission, and does not trigger a CSI request, the processing circuitry is configured to interpret one or more fields of the DCI format for beam indication (§2.3: use existing DCI format 0_1/0_2 for beam indication when there is no scheduling (DL-SCH, UL-SCH, SRS, or CSI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Yoshioka by including “seen the DCI format…for beam indication” as taught by 3GPP because it provides Yoshioka’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of lower beam application latency (3GPP, §2.3).
As to claim 8, Yoshioka in view of 3GPP teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
3GPP further teaches when the UE is configured for multi- transmission-reception point (m-TRP) operation, and
wherein when the one or more fields are interpreted for beam indication, the one or more fields may be decoded by the processing circuitry as indicating first and second transmission control indication (TCI) states, the first TCI state associated with a first TRP, the second TCI state associated with a second TRP, and
the processing circuitry is configured to apply the first and second TCI states for reception of reference signals from the first and second TRPs (§§2.2-2.4: UE configured for mTRP and there is a TCI state and beam per TRP/antenna).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Yoshioka in view of 3GPP by including “when the UE…second TRPs” as further taught by 3GPP for the same rationale as set forth in claim 7 (3GPP, §2.3).
As to claim 9, Yoshioka in view of 3GPP teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
3GPP further teaches w the UE comprises a plurality of antennas configured by the processing circuitry for multi-beam operation (§§2.2-2.4: antenna panels for multi-beam operation of mTRP operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Yoshioka in view of 3GPP by including “the UE…multi-beam operation” as further taught by 3GPP for the same rationale as set forth in claim 7 (3GPP, §2.3).
As to claim 10, Yoshioka in view of 3GPP teaches the apparatus of claim 9. Yoshioka further teaches the processing circuitry comprises baseband processor (¶170; see figure 9).
As to claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same way as claim 7.
As to claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same way as claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
3GPP TS 38.214 V16.5.0 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Physical layer procedures for data (Release 16)
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469