DETAILED ACTION
This Office action regarding Application No. 18/280,549 to Murakami et al., assigned to Toray Industries, Inc., Tokyo, Japan, filed 09/06/2023, and published as 2024/0182639A1 on 06/06/2024 is in response to applicant’s arguments/ remarks and claims amendment filed 06/18/2026.
Status of the Claims
In the response filed on 06/18/2026 the claims of the application has been amended. Limitation of claim 7 is incorporated into claim 1, and claim 7 is canceled. The dependence of claim 8 and claim 9 are changed from claim 7 to claim 1. New claims 15-17 are added. The status of the claims stand as follows:
Currently amended 1, 8-9
Original 2, 11-12
Previously presented 3-6,10, 13-14
Canceled 7
3.5 New 15-17
Claims 1-6, 8-17 are currently pending in this application. All pending claims are under full consideration.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Izuhara et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2014/0193742)
The following rejection has been presented in the previous non-final Office action and is maintained in this Office action.
Regarding claim 1 Izuhara discloses a block copolymer (Izuhara paragraph 0012), a polymer electrolyte material and a polymer electrolyte form article (Izuhara paragraph 0012), and the copolymer is specifically used as a polymer electrolyte form article (Izuhara paragraph 0063). Izuhara discloses the polymer has a phase-separated structure (Izuhara paragraph 0024, 0025).
Izuhara discloses the higher structure created by the gathering of domains formed of individual segments is called the "nano- or micro-phase separated structure", and as to the ion conduction through the polymer electrolyte membrane, the space arrangement of ion-conductive segments in the membrane, that is, nano- or micro-phase separated structure becomes important (Izuhara paragraph 0024). The nano- or micro separated is equivalent to the claimed periodic distance.
Izuhara is silent about the ratio of the average periodic distance in the atmosphere and the average periodic distance in water in the phase-separated structure is less than or equal to 2.20. However, the polymer electrolyte article of Izuhara is the same as the polymer electrolyte disclosed in the instant specification (Instant Specification paragraph 0037, 0044, 0046, 0047, 0049, 0050-0053, 0078).
The co-polymer described in the instant specification and represented by structural formula (S1) and (S2) (Instant Specification paragraph 0050-0053, 0078-0084) also recited in instant claim 8 and 9 of the instant application is the same polymer compound disclosed by Izuhara (Izuhara paragraph 0018, 0019). Izuhara discloses the average interlayer distance observed by TEM is 8 nm or larger and 100 nm or less; more preferably 10 nm or larger and 50 nm or smaller; and most preferably 15 nm or larger and 30 nm or smaller (Izuhara paragraph 0113). In the presence of water there is some degree of swelling of the polymer and the interlayer distance increases than in an atmosphere where there is no water and which fail to achieve satisfactory mechanical strength and physical durability (Izuhara paragraph 0067).
Therefore, the claimed polymer electrolyte article will have the same properties including the claimed ratio of the average periodic distance in water and the average periodic distance in an atmosphere since according to the MPEP, "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present." (In re Spada, 911F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658, Fed. Cir. 1990) See MPEP 2112.01 II. Thus the claimed polymer electrolyte and the polymer electrolyte will also have the same average periodic distance, and the disclosure of Izuhara also meets the limitation of claim 15.
Izuhara discloses the block copolymer according to the present invention includes each one or more of a segment (A1) containing an ionic group, equivalent to the ionic segment; and a segment (A2) not containing an ionic group, equivalent to the non -ionic segment (Izuhara paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 2 Izuhara discloses the polymer structure is co-continuous phase- separated structure (Izuhara paragraph 0112), equivalent to the bi-continuous phase-separated structure.
Regarding claim 3 Izuhara discloses the copolymer shows the crystallization heat of 0.1 J/g or larger determined by differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) or shows the degree of crystallinity of 0.5% or larger determined by the wide angle X-ray diffraction (Izuhara paragraph 0114).
Regarding claim 4 Izuhara discloses the interlayer distance, equivalent to the average periodic distance in the atmosphere is preferably 10 nm or larger and 50 nm or smaller (Izuhara paragraph 0113). This range overlaps with the claimed range of not less than 35 nm.
Regarding claim 5 Izuhara discloses the polymer electrolyte article comprise an aromatic hydrocarbon Ar1-Ar4 (Izuhara paragraph 0012); thus, comprising an aromatic hydrocarbon polymer.
Regarding claim 6 Izuhara discloses the polymer electrolyte article comprise a poly (ether ketone) polymer (Izuhara paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 8 Izuhara discloses the ionic segment (A1) has the formula (S1), wherein Ar¹ to Ar⁴ are arylene groups, and may each be substituted; Ar¹ and/or Ar² contains an ionic group are arylene groups; and ketone groups (-CO-), and the symbol * signifies a bond moiety equivalent to an attachment point with the general formula (S1) or with another constituent unit. (Izuhara paragraph 0013)
Regarding claim 9 Izuhara discloses the polymer electrolyte form article (Izuhara paragraph 0012), the segment (A2) not containing an ionic group preferably comprises a constituent unit represented by the general formula (S2), wherein Ar5 to Ar8 are arylene groups; and ketone groups (-CO-), and the symbol * signifies a bond moiety equivalent to an attachment point with the general formula (S2) or with another constituent unit. (Izuhara paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 10 Izuhara discloses the block copolymer according to the present invention exhibits high proton conductivity under a wide humidity condition as the polymer electrolyte material and as the polymer electrolyte membrane (Izuhara paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 11, Izuhara discloses using the polymer electrolyte as electrode catalyst layer (Izuhara paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 12 Izuhara discloses the polymer is used as polymer electrolyte membrane assembly (Izuhara paragraph 0127, 0127).
Regarding claim 13 Izuhara discloses the polymer electrolyte is used in a polymer electrolyte fuel cell (Izuhara paragraph 0012, 0013, 0014).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izuhara et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2014/0193742) as applied to claim 1, in view of Minamibayashi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2022/0336836)
The discussion of Izuhara as applied to claim 1 is fully incorporated here and is relied upon for the limitation of the claim in this region.
Regarding claim 14, Izuhara discloses using the polymer electrolyte material in fuel cell utilizing hydrogen as the fuel in power generation (Izuhara paragraph 0324), but is silent the disclosed polymer electrolyte articles is in water electrolysis hydrogen generator.
32. Minamibayashi discloses a composite electrolyte membrane comprising hydrocarbon polymer electrolyte and a porous substrate (Minamibayashi paragraph 0014), The hydrocarbon polymer electrolyte is an electrolyte composed of an ionic group-containing hydrocarbon polymer, which is suitably an aromatic hydrocarbon polymer having an aromatic ring in the main chain (Minamibayashi 0036), and polyether ketone (Minamibayashi 0037), that forms a co-continuous or lamellar phase-separated structure (Minamibayashi paragraph 0038), including a segment containing an ionic group-containing constituent unit (S1) and a segment containing an ionic group-free constituent unit (S2) (Minamibayashi paragraph 0043, 0044) and whose structural chemical formula is the same as chemical structural formula of Izuhara (Izuhara paragraph 0013,0019, 0027). Minamibayashi discloses the electrolyte members can be used in an electrochemical use such as in water electrolysis hydrogen generator (Minamibayashi paragraph 0318, 0319).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the disclosed polymer electrolyte articles of Izuhara (Izuhara (Izuhara paragraph 0012, 0013) in water electrolysis hydrogen generator as disclosed by Minamibayashi (Minamibayashi paragraph 0318, 0319) since it constitutes the same compound and would be capable of generating hydrogen in an electrochemical electrolysis generator and according to the MPEP, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present." (In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658, Fed. Cir. 1990) See MPEP 2112.01 II.
Claim 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izuhara et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2014/0193742)
The discussion of Izuhara as applied to claim 1 is fully incorporated here and is relied upon for the limitation of the claims in this section.
Regarding claim 16 Izuhara discloses the number average molecular weight of the segment (A1) containing an ionic group and the segment (A2) not containing anionic group are most preferably 50,000 or smaller (Izuhara paragraph 0062), which overlap with the claimed ranges of greater than 45,000 of the ionic segment and not less than 10,000 for the non-ionic segment. According to the MPEP “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 17 the ratio of the number average molecular weight of the segment (A1) containing an ionic group and the segment (A2) not containing anionic group are most preferably 50,000 or smaller (Izuhara paragraph 0062) overlaps with the claimed range of less than or equal to 7. According to the MPEP “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” (MPEP 2144.05).
Response to Argument
Applicant traverses the rejection of the claims presented in the previous non-final Office action. Applicant argues against the rejection of claim 1 that states the average periodic distance in water / the average periodic distance in the atmosphere being 2.20 or less is inherent in the disclosure of Izuhara, and notes that the Izuhara reference does not anticipate amended claim 1 (Remarks page 6). Applicant then presents the results for Comparative example 4 and 8 of the instant application with working examples 3 and 6 of Izuhara. However, a review of the structures of the Izuhara examples 3 and 6 the average periodic distance in water is not disclosed in Izuhara. Furthermore reviewing the structure of the polymers forming the polymer electrolytes of the instant application and that of Izuhara reveals that the structure of the polymer in comparative example 8 (G14) of the instant application is different from both the polymer in examples 3 and 6 of Izuhara. Also the structure of the polymer (G3) of example 3 of Izuhara is different from the polymer of both comparative examples 4 and 5. Therefore, making a comparison of the polymers in comparative examples 4 and 8 of the instant application and the polymers in examples 3 and 6 of Izuhara and concluding that they shows different ratio of distance in water and atmosphere is not supported by the disclosure of Izuhara, and the argument presented in not persuasive.
Examiner notes that applicant’s arguments are not fully supported by the disclosure of Izuhara. Examiner maintains that the polymer electrolyte disclosed by Izuhara has the same composition and structure as the claimed polymer electrolyte and will inherently have the same properties. The previously presented rejection is maintained in this Office action with the appropriate modification to address the amendment of the claims included. The rejection is made final.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/OMAR M KEKIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1722