DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status.
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 08/06/2026. Claims 1-8 were pending. Claims 1-8 are now pending. Claims 1-8 are presented for examination. Applicant's arguments have been considered
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2018174042 to Inoue ( Inoue, machine translation) in view of US 20200106073 to Fujita (Fujita).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses an energy storage apparatus (battery pack) comprising: an energy storage device (battery, claim 1); an electrical component (12, Fig. 1) disposed on a path of a current that flows through a main circuit (51, para 20, Fig. 9 ) including the energy storage device, a first conductive member (bus bars 21, 22, 24, “connected so as to be able to conduct electricity to the electrical components” claim 1) including a first connecting portion that is electrically connected to the energy storage device (Fig. 10) a second conductive member that is connected to the first conductive member and is electrically connected to the electrical component (busbar extensions claim 1 ), and an outer case (11, claim 1, Fig. 1) accommodating the energy storage device, the electrical component (switch), the first conductive member, and the second conductive member, and an extension portion extending from the second connecting portion in a direction away from the path of the current (para 19-25, Fig. 7). Inoue does not expressly disclose wherein at least one conductive member of the first conductive member and the second conductive member includes: a second connecting portion being a portion that overlaps with another conductive member and is connected to the other conductive member in a state where the second connecting portion is in contact with the other conductive member.
Fujita teaches a battery stack (reads on battery pack, claim 1) for an electrical device (vehicle, para 2), comprising a plurality of batteries. Fujita also teaches a bas bar wherein comprising two connecting portions wherein overlapping each other (See Fig. 5A, Fig. 5B) in a state where the second connecting portion is in contact with the other conductive member. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bus bar of Inoue with the connecting members, as taught by Fujita, in order to maintaining a stable electrical connection between batteries and inhibiting deterioration in power generation performance of the battery (Fujita, para 5).
Regarding claim 3, modified Inoue discloses wherein the first conductive member includes a raised portion that is positioned between the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion and extends in a direction away from the energy storage device (Fig. 5B above, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, modified Inoue discloses wherein the extension portion has a larger width than the second connecting portion in a direction orthogonal to the extending direction of the extension portion (Inoue, para 25).
Regarding claim 5 and 6, modified Inoue discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Modified Inoue does not expressly disclose wherein the extension portion has a larger width than the second connecting portion in a direction orthogonal to the extending direction of the extension portion and wherein the extension portion has a larger volume than the second connecting portion. However, the courts have held that changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04.It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of extension portion of modified Inoue because in order to make effective use of space.
Regarding claim 7, Inoue discloses an insulating member 91 disposed at least partially on the extension member 121b1 (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 8, modified Inoue discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1, and incorporating therein including insulating member 91 disposed at least partially on the extension member 121b1(Fig. 10). Modified Inoue does not expressly disclose wherein an insulating member that surrounds a periphery of the extension portion. However, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the insulation member around extension of extension portion in order to improve an electrical insulation and heat dissipation. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)).
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2018174042 to Inoue ( Inoue, machine translation) in view of US 20200106073 to Fujita and further in view of US 20200008314 in view of Kuroiwa (Kuroiwa).
Regarding claim 2, modified Inoue discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Modified Inoue does not expressly disclose wherein the electrical component, at least a portion of the first conductive member, and at least a portion of the second conductive member are disposed between an outer surface of the energy storage device and an inner surface of the outer case, the outer surface and the inner surface facing each other.
Kuroiwa teaches an electronic control device (Title) comprising an electrical component at least a portion of the first conductive member (bus bar 40, Fig. 8), all components are disposed within a housing (Fig. 3). As such t least a portion of the second conductive member are disposed between an outer surface of the energy storage device. Therefore, such structural device is well known in the art. MPEP 2112 V states that "once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference." It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the , at least a portion of the first conductive member, and at least a portion of the second conductive member of modified Inoue between an outer surface of the energy storage device and an inner surface of the outer case, the outer surface and the inner surface facing each other, as taught by Kuroiwa in order secure mechanical integrity of the energy storage apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 over JP 2020088087 A have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (JP 2018174042) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Alexander Usyatinsky/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751