DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/6/2023 and 2/24/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 7 recite “reduce the charging current to a value corresponding at the maximum to the continuous current”. This wording (“a value corresponding at the maximum to the continuous current”) is awkward and confusing. It is not clear what “at the maximum” refers to. More specifically, does the applicant mean the maximum temperature, as recited in claims 1 and 6? For does applicant mean a maximum current? If the latter, there is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation. Please clarify.
Claim 10 recites “a third interface”. However, claim 6 recites “a first interface”. As such, it is not clear if the applicant intends there to be three interfaces, or two interfaces where “third” is merely a title. Please clarify. For examination purposes, “a third interface” will be interpreted as a second interface, i.e. there being two interfaces total.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Banks (WO 2012139778).
With respect to claims 1, 6 and 11, Banks discloses a control unit for controlling a charging process of electric vehicles, having:
a first interface (plug) by way of which the control unit is able to be connected or is connected to a charging station (44) (pg. 19, lines 5-12; Fig. 8); and
a processor which is configured (pg. 19, lines 14-21; Fig. 8):
to instruct the charging station to charge an electric vehicle by way of a charging cable with a charging current, wherein an initial current value of the charging current is above a continuous current value attributed to the charging cable (pg. 27, lines 34-35; Fig. 12B);
to determine whether a temperature associated with the charging cable reaches or exceeds a maximum temperature value associated with the charging cable (pg. 23, lines 24-30; pg. 27, lines 17-24); and
to instruct the charging station to reduce the charging current if the temperature associated with the charging cable reaches or exceeds the maximum temperature value (pg. 23, lines 28-30; pg. 27, lines 17-31).
Banks further discloses a charging system for carrying out a charging process of electric vehicles that includes a charging station (44), a charging cable (7) by way of which the charging station is able to be connected or is connected to an electric vehicle; and the claimed control unit above (pg. 19, lines 5-12; Fig. 8).
The method is inherent to the control unit/system.
With respect to claims 2 and 7, as best understood, Banks fails to expressly disclose the processor is further configured to instruct the charging station to reduce the charging current to a value corresponding at the maximum to the continuous current (as best understood, a predetermined current far from the maximum rated current) if the temperature associated with the charging cable reaches or exceeds the maximum temperature value (pg. 27, lines 26-31).
With respect to claim 9, Banks discloses a second interface (e.g. status indicator) which is configured to receive or to determine the temperature associated with the charging cable (pg. 19, line 15 – pg. 20, line 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 8, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banks as applied to claim 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (CN109936185) (see attached machine translation).
With respect to claims 3 and 8, Banks addresses all the limitations of claims 1 and 6.
Banks fails to expressly disclose the processor is further configured to instruct the charging station to maintain the charging current at a value above the continuous current if the temperature associated with the charging cable does not reach or does not exceed the maximum temperature value.
Zhao teaches it is well known in the art to maintain the charging current at a value (first set current) above the continuous current (second set current) if the temperature associated with the charging cable does not reach or does not exceed the maximum temperature value (pg. 5 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor to be further configured to instruct the charging station to maintain the charging current at a value above the continuous current if the temperature associated with the charging cable does not reach or does not exceed the maximum temperature value, in order to maximize the rate of charging when the temperature associated with the charging cable does not reach or does not exceed the maximum temperature value.
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 10, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banks as applied to claim 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0015200).
With respect to claims 4, 5 and 10, Banks addresses all the limitations of claims 1 and 6.
Banks fails to expressly disclose a third interface which is configured: to receive information relating to a capacity to be charged of a battery to be charged of the electric vehicle, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the initial current value of the charging current taking account of the capacity of the battery to be charged; and/or to receive information relating to a time period for at least partial charging of a battery to be charged of the electric vehicle, wherein the processor is configured to determine the initial current value of the charging current taking account of the time period for at least partial charging of the battery to be charged.
Kim et al. teaches it is well known in the art to include an interface configured to receive information relating to a capacity to be charged of a battery to be charged of the electric vehicle, wherein a processor is configured to determine an initial current value of the charging current taking account of the capacity of the battery to be charged; and/or to receive information relating to a time period for at least partial charging of a battery to be charged of the electric vehicle, wherein a processor is configured to determine the initial current value of the charging current taking account of the time period for at least partial charging of the battery to be charged ([0071], [0089], [0094], [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a third interface which is configured: to receive information relating to a capacity to be charged of a battery to be charged of the electric vehicle, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the initial current value of the charging current taking account of the capacity of the battery to be charged; and/or to receive information relating to a time period for at least partial charging of a battery to be charged of the electric vehicle, wherein the processor is configured to determine the initial current value of the charging current taking account of the time period for at least partial charging of the battery to be charged, in order to provide additional desired information regarding an initial charging state, a current charging state, amplitude of current applied, charging status information, and an actual charging finish time based on a capacity of the battery.
Telephone/Fax Information
/SUEZU ELLIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876