Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS resin)” which is incorrect. As understood from the disclosure, this should be -- acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) resin--. Claim 1 recites an ABS base resin including polyurethane, a metal carboxylic acid salt, and a polyhydric alcohol, which is incorrect. As understood from the disclosure, the extrusion feed includes ABS base resin, a metal carboxylic acid salt, and a polyhydric alcohol, wherein the ABS base resin includes polyurethane and ABS. The Examiner suggests the following amendments:
1. (Currently Amended) A method for preparing a recycled acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) resin [[)]], the method comprising:
preparing an extrusion feed including an acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) base resin
, wherein the ABS base resin includes ABS and polyurethane; and
supplying the extrusion feed to an extruder to perform a depolymerization reaction of the
polyurethane, and
extruding the extrusion feed.
Claims not listed above are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
For further examination purposes, the scope of the claims are read in light of the suggested Examiner claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2000-0018319 in view of CN 102618010.
KR 2000-0018319 discloses a method for preparing a recycled acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) resin, the method comprising:
preparing an extrusion feed including an acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) base resin
including polyurethane; and
supplying the extrusion feed to an extruder to perform a depolymerization reaction of the
polyurethane, and
extruding the extrusion feed (see attached entire English translation provided by the Examiner; recycled PC/ABS base resin including polyurethane is feed into an extruder for extrusion, wherein the polyurethane is decomposed (depolymerization reaction) by heat and high shear force in the extruder to break down the bonds of the polyurethane making the polyurethane into fine particles).
However, KR 2000-0018319 does not disclose the extrusion feed including a metal carboxylic acid salt and a polyhydric alcohol.
CN 102618010 discloses a method of recycling polyurethane including:
preparing an extrusion feed including polyurethane, a metal carboxylic acid salt, and a polyhydric alcohol; and
supplying the extrusion feed to an extruder to perform a depolymerization reaction of the
polyurethane, and
extruding the extrusion feed (references are to the attached English translation provided by the Examiner; polyurethane, catalysts and alcoholysis agent are feed to an extruder for depolymerizing the polyurethane [005], [0008], [0015]-[0016], wherein the catalysts include a metal salt of a carboxylic acid including zinc acetate [0029], and wherein the alcoholysis agent includes glycerol (glycerin which is a polyhydric alcohol) [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the method of KR 2000-0018319 by including a metal carboxylic acid salt and a polyhydric alcohol in the extrusion feed, as disclosed by CN 102618010, because such a modification is known in the recycling art and would provide an alternative configuration for depolymerizing the urethane known to be operable in the art.
KR 2000-0018319 further discloses the method:
(Claim 8) wherein a temperature inside the extruder is 200°C to 280°C (see attached entire English translation provided by the Examiner; extruder at 180°C to 280°C).
CN 102618010 further discloses the method;
(Claim 2) wherein the metal carboxylic acid salt includes one or more of zinc acetate, zinc stearate, and potassium acetate [0029];
(Claim 6) wherein the polyhydric alcohol includes one or more of glycerin (glycerol) and erythritol [0025];
(Claim 9) wherein a residence time of the extrusion feed in the extruder is 0.5 minutes to 10 minutes [0021];
(Claim 12) wherein the metal carboxylic acid salt includes zinc acetate [0029];
(Claim 13) wherein the polyhydric alcohol includes glycerin (glycerol) [0025].
As to claims 3-4, 7 and 10, as mentioned above, adding a metal carboxylic acid salt and a polyhydric alcohol in the extrusion feed to depolymerize polyurethane is taught in the prior art. The amounts of the metal carboxylic acid salt and the polyhydric alcohol, as recited by claims 3-4, 7 and 10, would have been found by an artisan of ordinary skill in view of such teachings in finding operable amounts of the metal carboxylic acid salt and the polyhydric alcohol to obtain a desired depolymerization of the polyurethane.
As to claim 5, as mentioned above, CN 102618010 further discloses the method wherein the polyhydric alcohol includes glycerin (glycerol) [0025]. Note that instant Table 1 lists glycerin as having a boiling point of 290°C.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2000-0018319 in view of CN 102618010 as applied to claims 1-10 and 12-13 above, and further in view of JP 6-155474.
KR 2000-0018319 and CN 102618010 do not disclose the limitations of claim 8.
JP 6-155474 discloses a method for preparing a recycled resin, the method including extruding an extrusion feed from an extruder 20, and supplying an extrusion composition 15 discharged from the extruder 20 to a pelletizer (including cutting chamber 30) to perform pelletization (fig. 1; see English translation provided by Applicant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to further modify the method by supplying an extrusion composition discharged from the extruder to a pelletizer to perform pelletization, as disclosed by JP 6-155474, because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for the method capable of producing pellets from the recycled resin.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/290,852 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 6 are respectively fully encompassed by claims 8 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/290,852.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/J.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744