DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min et al. (Korean Patent Publication No. KR 10-2134587 B1, cited in IDS submitted September 6, 2023, machine language translation provided and cited below).
Regarding claim 1, Min discloses a slot die coater for discharging and applying an electrode active material slurry to a current collector through a discharge port (Abstract, FIG. 3 of Min, apparatus for coating electrode components; FIG. 1, [0008] of Min, apparatus #10 is composed of a slot die #20), the slot die coater comprising: a lower die block comprising a first manifold in which the electrode active material slurry is accommodated (FIG. 3 of Min, lower die #110); an upper die block comprising a second manifold in which an coating solution is accommodated (FIG. 3 of Min, upper die #130); and a shim plate located between the lower die block and the upper die block to form at least one slot communicating with the discharge port (FIGS. 12-13 of Min, shim member #430 which includes first shim #431 and second shim #432), wherein the shim plate comprises: a first concave portion disposed in a first surface of the shim plate, the first concave portion located to cover the first manifold of the lower die block (FIGS. 12-13 of Min, first hollow portions #431a in first shim plate #431); and a second concave portion disposed in a second surface of the shim plate, the second concave portion located to cover the second manifold of the upper die block (FIGS. 12-13 of Min, second hollow portions #432b in second shim plate #432), wherein the second concave portion is located adjacent to the first concave portion in a width direction of the shim plate (FIGS. 12-13 of Min, first hollow portions #431a adjacent to second hollow portions #432b).
Regarding claim 2, Min discloses that the first concave portion extends from an end of the shim plate facing the discharge port in a direction away from the discharge port by a length sufficient to communicate with the first manifold (FIGS. 12-13 of Min, first hollow portions #431a in first shim plate #431 communicate with first storage unit #412), and the second concave portion extends from the end of the shim plate in a direction away from the discharge port by a length sufficient to communicate with the second manifold (FIGS. 12-13 of Min, second hollow portions #432b in second shim plate #432 communicate with second storage unit #422).
Regarding claim 3, Min discloses that the first concave portion is recessed by a certain thickness compared to other portions of the first surface, and the second concave portion is recessed by a certain thickness compared to other portions of the second surface (FIGS. 12-13 of Min, first hollow portions #431a and second hollow portions #432b have a thickness defined by the thickness of the shim plates).
Regarding claim 4, Min discloses that the at least one slot comprises: a slurry slot disposed between the lower die block and the first concave portion of the first surface, and a coating solution slot disposed between the upper die block and the second concave portion of the second surface ([0066] of Min, electrode slurry and insulating material discharged from slot die).
Regarding claim 5, Min discloses that the first concave portion includes a plurality of first concave portions at spaced apart intervals along the width direction of the shim plate (FIGS. 12-13 of Min).
Regarding claim 6, Min discloses that the plurality of first concave portions communicate with the first manifold to form a plurality of slurry slots so that the electrode active material slurry moves along the plurality of slurry slots to be applied to the current collector through the discharge port (FIGS. 12-13 of Min).
Regarding claim 7, Min discloses that the second concave portion includes a plurality of second concave portions located on opposite sides of each of the plurality of first concave portions, wherein the plurality of second concave portions communicate with the second manifold to form a plurality of coating solution slots so that the coating solution moves along the plurality of coating solution slots to be applied to the current collector through the discharge port (FIGS. 12-13 of Min).
Regarding claim 12, Min discloses that the coating solution is an insulating coating solution ([0066] of Min, insulating material discharged from slot die).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min in view of Miyazawa et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2004-305955 A, machine language translation provided and cited below).
Regarding claim 8, Min does not specifically disclose that at least one of edge portions of the first concave portion or the second concave portion is chamfered. Miyazawa, however, discloses a slot die coater comprising a shim having slots with tapered or chamfered sides (Abstract of Miyazawa). According to Miyazawa, the tapered sides of the slots prevent bulges from being formed at the edges of the coating film ([0004], [0008]-[0012] of Miyazawa). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use shims having hollow portions with tapered edges in the apparatus of Min. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent bulges from being formed at the edges of the coating film as taught by Miyazawa ([0004], [0008]-[0012] of Miyazawa).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min in view of Horinouchi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0374971 A1, cited in IDS submitted September 6, 2023).
Regarding claim 9, Min does not specifically disclose that the lower die block comprises a first feed unit configured to form a first path for supplying the electrode active material slurry to the first manifold, and the upper die block comprises a second feed unit configured to form a second path for supplying the coating solution to the second manifold. Horinouchi, however, discloses a slot-die coater for coating two different layers simultaneously comprising pumps #7 #10 for pressure feeding two different coating liquids to the upper and lower dies (FIG. 1 of Horinouchi). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Min with pumps for the coating liquids. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to pressure feed the two different coating materials to the upper and lower dies as taught by Horinouchi (FIG. 1 of Horinouchi).
Regarding claim 10, Min discloses a multi-lane double coating device (Abstract, FIG. 1 of Min, apparatus for simultaneously coating components having different properties) comprising: the slot die coater according to claim 1 (see analysis of claim 1 above).
Min does not specifically disclose an electrode slurry storage tank in which the electrode active material slurry is stored; one slurry supply pipe connected to the lower die block of the slot die coater from the electrode slurry storage tank; a coating solution storage tank in which the coating solution is stored; and one coating solution supply pipe connected to the upper die block of the slot die coater from the coating solution storage tank. Horinouchi, however, discloses a slot-die coater for coating two different layers simultaneously comprising pumps #7 #10 for pressure feeding two different coating liquids to the upper and lower dies via feeding tubes #8 #11 (FIG. 1 of Horinouchi). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Min with pumps feeding tubes for the coating liquids. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to pressure feed the two different coating materials to the upper and lower dies as taught by Horinouchi (FIG. 1 of Horinouchi).
Regarding claim 11, Min discloses a multi-lane double coating device (Abstract, FIG. 1 of Min, apparatus for simultaneously coating components having different properties) comprising: the slot die coater according to claim 6 (see analysis of claim 6 above).
Min does not specifically disclose an electrode slurry storage tank in which the electrode active material slurry is stored; one slurry supply pipe connected to the lower die block of the slot die coater from the electrode slurry storage tank; a coating solution storage tank in which the coating solution is stored; and one coating solution supply pipe connected to the upper die block of the slot die coater from the coating solution storage tank. Horinouchi, however, discloses a slot-die coater for coating two different layers simultaneously comprising pumps #7 #10 for pressure feeding two different coating liquids to the upper and lower dies via feeding tubes #8 #11 (FIG. 1 of Horinouchi). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Min with pumps feeding tubes for the coating liquids. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to pressure feed the two different coating materials to the upper and lower dies as taught by Horinouchi (FIG. 1 of Horinouchi).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746