CTNF 18/280,614 CTNF 79640 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-10 the phrase "in particular for" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 16-23, and 26-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,350,217 to Agapiou et al . Regarding claims 16, 20, 26, and 28-32, Agapiou et al disclose an asynchronous machine and a method for producing a short-circuit rotor of an asynchronous machine, the method comprising: forming a laminated core (14, see Fig. 2) with substantially axial slots (18) and with an axial skew over an axial length of the laminated core (see Col. 4, lines 6-8); inserting conductor bars (24) made of a first conductive material (copper or aluminum, see Col. 4, lines 29-31) into the slots, such that the conductor bars protrude out of one end faces of the laminated core (14) in a skew manner out of the laminated core to define overhangs (see Fig. 10); coating at least the overhangs of the conductor bars with a galvanic layer (42, see Col. 9, lines 37-40) made of aluminum, tin or a solderable alloy (see Col. 5, lines 55-59) to provide a lubricating layer when axially pushing onto the overhangs of the conductor bars; and individually axially pressing a specifiable number of pre-stamped individual laminations (64), which are made of a second conductive material (see Col. 8, lines 28-31) and have each a specified contour, one after the other onto the conductor bars such that the individual laminations short-circuit the conductor bars and form a short-circuit ring, which is composed of multiple individual laminations (see Figs. 10-11) except for axial skew is 0.3 to 3 times a slot pitch of the rotor and the laminations are stamped. It would have been obvious an obvious matter of designed choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention by choosing any desired axial skew for the axial slots such as 0.3 to 3 times a slot pitch of the rotor and choose any desired method of forming the laminations such as by stamp. Since Applicant has not disclosed the specific axial skew as claimed and laminations by stamp, solves any stated problem or is for any particular purposes and it appears the invention would perform equally well with any axial skew and laminations made from any method. Furthermore it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (in claim 1). Regarding claims 17, Agapiou et al disclose the conductor bars (24) in the slots (18) abut at least one section of side walls of corresponding ones of the slots and are fixed into the slots by axially pressing the individual laminations (64 see Fig. 11B) or by a separate caulking process. Regarding claims 18, Agapiou et al disclose the individual laminations (18) comprise a specifiable number of recesses (32) which corresponds to a number of the slots (see Fig. 9). Regarding claims 19 and 23, Agapiou et al disclose oversizing the conductor bars (24) compared to the recesses (32) at least in one section so that in an axial joining procedure a permissible shear stress of the first conductive material of the conductor bars and of the second conductive material of the individual laminations are locally exceeded to cause a material transfer by diffusion at a boundary surface between the conductor bars and the individual laminations, resulting in micro-welding of the conductor bars and corresponding ones of the individual laminations (see Figs 11). Regarding claims 21-22, Agapiou et al disclose the conductor bars (14) are chamfered in a region of the overhangs so as to have a circumference which is reduced in size (see Fig. 7A-C). Regarding claims 27, Agapiou et al disclose the recesses (32) in the individual laminations (64) have a closed contour or a slotted contour (see Figs. 5A/8). Regarding claim 25, Agapiou et al disclose heat treating the short-circuit rotor simultaneously or subsequently to raise a yield point of the individual laminations and/or to increase a conductivity between the conductor bars and the individual laminations (see Col. 7, lines 31-40) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agapiou et al in view of U.S. Patent 10,819,198 to Buttner et al . Agapiou et al do not disclose the conductance of at least one of the conductor bars is made of drawn electro-copper with a conductance of at least 58 MS/m. Buttner et al teach the conductor bars (6) are made of drawn electro-copper with a conductance of at least 58 MS/m for avoiding deformation of the bard under the axial pressure (see Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 4, line 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention Agapiou et al by using the electro-copper bars with a conductance of at least 58 MS/m as taught by Buttner et al for avoiding deformation of the bard under the axial pressure . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited reference for their general teaching of producing a short-circuit rotor . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DONGHAI D NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-4566. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas J. Hong can be reached at 571-272-00993. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DN/ /DONGHAI D NGUYEN/May 30, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/280,614 Page 2 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/280,614 Page 3 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/280,614 Page 4 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/280,614 Page 5 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/280,614 Page 6 Art Unit: 3729