DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 12/11/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new prior art below.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 12/11/2025, with respect to rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claim has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2010/0194214 A1) in view of Endo et al. (US 2018/0083516 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi discloses a rotary electrical machine (¶ [0001]; FIG. 9) comprising:
a stator (19) that includes a plurality of iron cores (10) that are annularly disposed; windings (13) that are wound to each of the plurality of iron cores (10); connection terminals (13a, 13b) to which the windings (13) are connected to; molded members (14) that partially cover (FIG. 13 discloses the molded member 14 on covers one side of the iron core on the left and partially covers the top side of the iron core) the plurality of iron cores (10) and the windings (13); and
a rotor (connected to rotor shaft 33) that rotates around an axis that coincides with a circular center of the plurality of iron cores (10; FIG. 9), wherein the molded members (14) have resin portions that cover the plurality of iron cores (10) and the windings (13), and
winding holders (16) that are attached to each of the plurality of iron cores (10); wherein
the winding holders (16) have arc grooves that extend along the circumferential direction of the stator (19);
a part (17) of the windings (13) is disposed in the arc grooves; and
the molded portions (14) cover the winding holders (16; FIG. 13).
Takahashi does not disclose a plurality of exposed terminal portions that expose the connection terminals.
Endo discloses a plurality of exposed terminal portions (¶ [0052] terminals 16 is partially exposed) that expose the connection terminals (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Endo to disclose a plurality of exposed terminal portions that expose the connection terminals, for the advantages of directly connecting the terminals to external components (¶ [0053]).
Regarding claim 8/7, Takahashi in view of Endo was discussed above in claim 7. Takahashi further discloses winding holders (16) that are attached to each of the plurality of iron cores (10); wherein
the winding holders (16) have arc grooves (FIG. 11; holding busbars 17) that extend along the circumferential direction of the stator (19; FIG. 11); and
a part (17) of the windings (13) is disposed in the arc grooves (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 9/7, Takahashi in view of Endo was discussed above in claim 7. Takahashi in view of Endo further discloses the plurality of the exposed terminal portions (FIG. 2; connection terminals 13a, 13b are at equal intervals) are formed in the molded members (14) at equal intervals along the circumferential direction of the stator (19).
Takahashi modified by Endo would have the exposed terminal portions where the connection terminals 13a and 13b are located, which would have the exposed terminal portions at equal intervals around the stator.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2010/0194214 A1) in view of Endo et al. (US 2018/0083516 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yamagata et al. (US 2020/0028404 A1).
Regarding claim 12/7, Takahashi in view of Endo was discussed above in claim 7. Takahashi in view of Endo does not explicitly disclose PA66 is used as a material of the resin portions.
Yamagata discloses PA66 is used as a material of the resin portions (¶ [0073] nylon 66 is another name for PA66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Endo, further in view of Yamagata to disclose PA66 is used as a material of the resin portions, as using PA66 as a resin material is a simple substitution of a known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the specific limitation of “the molded member have … a plurality of exposed terminal portions that expose the connection terminals, the windings have terminal wires that connect to the windings; the terminal wires are positioned in each of the exposed terminal portions” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
The closest prior art Endo discloses a stator and windings, the stator and winding covered and held together by resin, and terminals which are exposed from the resin, but does not disclose the winding having terminal wires which are also exposed from the resin.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are allowable for depending upon claim 1.
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10/7, the specific limitation of “the windings have terminal wires that connect to the windings; the terminal wires are positioned in each of the exposed terminal portions” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
The closest prior art Endo discloses a stator and windings, the stator and winding covered and held together by resin, and terminals which are exposed from the resin, but does not disclose the winding having terminal wires which are also exposed from the resin.
Regarding claim 11/7, the specific limitation of “the windings have terminal wires that connect to the windings; the terminal wires are positioned in each of the exposed terminal portions” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
The closest prior art Endo discloses a stator and windings, the stator and winding covered and held together by resin, and terminals which are exposed from the resin, but does not disclose the winding having terminal wires which are also exposed from the resin.
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834