DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment dated 6 September 2023, in which claim 3 has been amended, and claim 4 has been added, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-4 are being examined herewith.
Priority
The instant application is a National Stage entry of International Application No. PCT/JP2022/007228, filed on 22 February 2022, which claims priority from Japan Patent Application No. 2021-040578, filed on 12 March 2021.
A certified copy of the priority document, in Japanese, was submitted on 6 September 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6 September 2023 is acknowledged and considered.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. Claim 1 recites a composition comprising plasmalogen, which is a natural product. Claim 2 depends on claim 1 and recites that the plasmalogen is extracted from an animal tissue. Claims 3 and 4 recite that the plasmalogen is an ethanolamine type plasmalogen, which is a natural product.
Claims 1-4 also recite intended use.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not include any elements other than natural products.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims only recite plasmalogen, or an ethanolamine type of plasmalogen, which occur in nature. Although claim 2 and dependent claim 4 recite a plasmalogen extracted from an animal tissue, there is no indication that extracting the plasmalogen from an animal tissue changes the structure, function, or other properties of the natural products in any marked way. There is no showing that the plasmalogens extracted from an animal tissue does or has any markedly different characteristics compared to the closest naturally occurring counterparts. There are no additional elements present in the claims and the claims do not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Claiming a combination of plasmalogen and an additional component, together with a demonstration that the claimed combination does something markedly different than the component in nature; or a limitation requiring the product/preparation to no longer be just a natural product or a mixture of natural products may provide a path toward patent eligibility, such as, for example, a preparation in the form of tablets, granules, creams, ointments, gels, etc.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 102
Claim interpretation: If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”). See MPEP 2111.02. In this case, the body of claims 1-4 fully and intrinsically set forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, namely a composition comprising plasmalogen; the preamble “for ameliorating inflammation of periodontal tissue” only states the intended use of the composition. Thus, the preamble is not given any patentable weight.
"[T]he patentability of apparatus or composition claims depends on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure." Catalina Mktg. Int'l, Inc. v. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801,809 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
It is well settled that “intended use” of a composition or product, e.g., “for use as a medicament”, will not further limit claims drawn to a composition or product, so long as the prior art discloses the same composition comprising the same ingredients in an effective amount, as the instantly claimed. See, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987) and In re Hack 114, USPQ 161
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ifuku et al. (US 2012/0283223, cited in PTO-892).
Ifuku teaches (Abstract, Figure 1, claims 4-6) a composition (cerebral nerve cell neogenesis agent) comprising an ethanolamine plasmalogen, as in instant claims 3, 4, extracted from a biological tissue, namely an avian tissue, as in instant claims 2, 4.
As such, a composition of instant claims 1-4 is anticipated by Ifuku.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Forgeot et al. (US5,759,585 of 2 June 1998, cited in PTO-892).
Forgeot teaches (column 3, lines 25-43) that mammalian brain and spinal cord are the best sources of phospholipidethers in the form of plasmalogens.
Forgeot teaches (column 3, lines 25-43, including Table) a composition comprising plasmalogens, as in instant claim 1, wherein the composition comprises phosphatidylethanolamine 30% to 40%, of which 2/3 are in plasmalogen form. Thus, Forgeot teaches a composition comprising plasmalogen ethanolamine, as in instant claims 1, 3.
Forgeot teaches (column 4, Example I) a composition comprising phospholipids rich in ether lipids (plasmalogen) extracted from mammalians or fishes brains or spinal cord and optionally from hens eggs, which is a composition comprising plasmalogen extracted from animal tissue, as in instant claim 2, which is ethanolamine type plasmalogen (column 3, line 35, line 54), as in instant claim 4.
As such, a composition of instant claims 1-4 is anticipated by Forgeot.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Martino et al. (EP 0638083, published 12 March 1997, cited in PTO-892).
Di Martino teaches (page 6, lines 29-33; also lines 34-38) a composition comprising plasmalogen ethanolamine (line 32, line 37), as in instant claims 1, 3, where the preparation/phospholipid mixture of the invention (containing plasmalogen ethanolamine) is made by extraction (Example I) from bovine brains, thus plasmalogen extracted from animal tissue, as in instant claims 2, 4.
Di Martino teaches (Example 7, page 13-14) a composition comprising plasmalogen ethanolamine, as in instant claims 1, 3, wherein the plasmalogen-ethanolamine is contained in the phospholipids extracted from cortical grey matter, thus is plasmalogen extracted from animal tissue, as in instant claims 2, 4.
As such, a composition of instant claims 1-4 is anticipated by Di Martino.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hossain et al. (Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications 2018, 496 (4), 1033-1039, cited in IDS).
Hossain teaches (page 1034, left column, first paragraph) a composition comprising plasmalogen ethanolamine, as in instant claims 1, 3, suspended in drinking water, where the plasmalogen ethanolamine is extracted from chicken breast meat, thus plasmalogen extracted from animal tissue, as in instant claims 2, 4.
As such, a composition of instant claims 1-4 is anticipated by Hossain.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent 8,822,437 (cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent 8,822,437 anticipate or render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent 8,822,437 recite a composition comprising plasmalogen, wherein not less than 90% mass of the plasmalogen is an ethanolamine plasmalogen and a choline plasmalogen; claim 3 discloses that the plasmalogen is extracted from a biological tissue, and claim 4 recites that the plasmalogen is extracted from an avian tissue.
Thus, a composition containing ethanolamine plasmalogen, as in instant claims 1, 3, wherein the plasmalogen is extracted from an animal tissue, as in instant claims 2, 4, is anticipated by claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent 8,822,437.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-22 of U.S. Patent application 17/921,501 (cited in PTO-892, notice of allowance sent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 7-22 of U.S. Patent application 17/921,501 anticipate or render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 7-22 of U.S. Patent application 17/921,501 recite a composition comprising plasmalogen (claims 7, 9, 11, 22), wherein the plasmalogen is an ethanolamine plasmalogen (claims 13-21); claims 8, 10, 12 disclose that the plasmalogen is extracted from an animal tissue.
Thus, a composition containing ethanolamine plasmalogen, as in instant claims 1, 3, wherein the plasmalogen is extracted from an animal tissue, as in instant claims 2, 4, is anticipated or rendered obvious by claims 7-22 of U.S. Patent application 17/921,501.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 4 of co-pending U.S. Patent application 18/010,587 (cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 3, 4 of co-pending U.S. Patent application 18/010,587 anticipate or render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 3, 4 of co-pending U.S. Patent application 18/010,587 recite a composition comprising plasmalogen (claim 3), wherein the plasmalogen is extracted from an animal tissue (claim 4), as in instant claims 1-2.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable at least over claims 7, 11-13 of co-pending U.S. Patent application 18/010,604 (cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 7, 11-13 of co-pending U.S. Patent application 18/010,604 anticipate or render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 7, 11-13 of co-pending U.S. Patent application 18/010,604 recite a composition comprising plasmalogen (claims 7, 12), wherein the plasmalogen is extracted from an animal tissue (claims 11, 13), as in instant claims 1-2.
Claims 1, 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of co-pending U.S. Patent application 18/685,412 (cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-11 of co-pending U.S. Patent application 18/685,412 anticipate or render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-11 of co-pending U.S. Patent application 18/685,412 are drawn to a compound of formula (I) or to a composition comprising said compound,
, wherein X is, for example, O;
R1 is an unsaturated aliphatic hydrocarbon group containing one double bond (claim 4), wherein the double bond of R1 is present between the carbon at position 1 and the carbon at position 2, when the carbon bonded to the carbon bonded to X is defined as the carbon at position 1 (claim 5); and
R3 is, for example, ethanolamine. The genus of compounds of formula (I) encompasses plasmalogen (alpha unsaturated ether at sn-1) ethanolamine, as in instant claims 1, 3.
As such, there is considerable overlap between the genus of compounds of formula (I) in claims 1-11 of co-pending U.S. Patent application 18/685,412, and plasmalogen ethanolamine of instant claims 1, 3.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4 are rejected.
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629