DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 13-15 and newly added 18-28 in the reply filed on 3 June 2026 is acknowledged. All other groups have been cancelled in the reply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-15 and 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 2020/0135984, hereinafter referred to as “Jang”).
As to Claim 13: Jang teaches a quantum dot light emitting diode and display device (title) wherein the quantum dot has an organic compound including at least two thiol groups one of which is anchored to the quantum dot (Abstract). Jang further teaches that the quantum dot layer is between a first and a second electrode [0122]. Jang additionally teaches that the ligand further contains a polar bonding group at a site other than where the ligand is connected to the quantum dots (Formula 1, [0039]).
As to Claim 14: Jang teaches the element of claim 13 (supra). Jang further teaches that the element can contain transport layers between the electrode and the light emitting layer [0125] and that a known transport material is ZnO [0128].
As to Claim 15: Jang teaches the element of claim 13 (supra). Jang further teaches that the element can be used in a display (Abstract).
As to Claim 18-25, 27, and 28: Jang teaches the element of claim 13 (supra). Jang further teaches that the ligand can be 2,2’(ethylenedioxy)diethanethiol [0039].
As to Claim 26: Jang teaches the element of claim 13 (supra). Jang further teaches that the quantum dots can be core-shell quantum dots where the shell contains Zn [0036-0037, 0059] and that the two coordinating functional groups are thiol groups [0039].
Double Patenting
Claim 13-15 and 18-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6, 8-11, 15-17, 20-22, and 25 of copending Application No. 18/280,460 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claims are drawn to light emitting elements with a light emitting layer between two electrodes and the light emitting layer can be quantum dots with ligands that can be the same.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767