DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The Applicants submitted claim amendments on 6/2/2026 in response to the office action mailed on 3/3/2026. The status of the claims are as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2018/0289593 A1) to Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen).
The above noted rejection is withdrawn.
4. Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (JP 2019-112343 A) to Sakamoto et al. (hereinafter Sakamoto).
The above noted rejection is withdrawn.
NEW Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2018/0289593 A1) to Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen) in view of the teachings of (US 11,325,993 B1) to Fukudome (hereinafter Fukudome).
Chen is directed toward dental compositions. Chen discloses at paragraph [0007] that the dental composition is a polymerizable monomer, a thiourea and copper, a 4th period element, as a catalyst. Chen discloses at paragraph [0008] that the thiourea compound includes a 1-(2-Tetrahydrofurfuryl)-2-thiourea, which reads on Applicants formula (1). Chen discloses at paragraph [0046] that the composition may include a tertiary amine. Chen discloses at paragraph [0007] that the 1-Benzoyl-2-thiourea compound reads on the Applicants aromatic thiourea compound. Chen discloses at paragraph [0046] that dialkylaminobenzoic compounds are disclosed. Chen discloses at paragraph [0007] that the composition is used in dental cements. Chen discloses at paragraph [0008] that polymerizable monomers that contain acidic groups are disclosed. Chen discloses a thiourea initiator, but is silent regarding the specific species.
Fukudome is directed toward dental compositions. Chen and Fukudome are both directed toward dental compositions and therefore are analogous art. Fukudome teaches at (C4, L60) a thiourea compound used as an initiator:
One skilled in the art would find it obvious to use the thiourea compound of Fukudone as an initiator for a dental adhesive, which is functionally equivalent.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the filing of the disclosure of Chen in view of the teachings of Fukudome that teaches each and every element as arranged in claims and forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-4 and 6-7.
8. Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 2019-112343 A) to Sakamoto et al. (hereinafter Sakamoto). in view of the teachings of (US 11,325,993 B1) to Fukudome (hereinafter Fukudome).
Sakamoto is directed toward dental compositions. Sakamoto discloses in paragraph [0008] that a dental composition comprising a methacrylate monomer, a photopolymerization initiator, a vanadium compound and a thiourea. Sakamoto discloses in paragraph [0035] that a thiourea that includes a trialkylthiourea of trimethylthiourea may be used. Sakamoto discloses a thiourea initiator, but is silent regarding the specific species.
Fukudome is directed toward dental compositions. Chen and Fukudome are both directed toward dental compositions and therefore are analogous art. Fukudome teaches at (C4, L60) a thiourea compound used as an initiator:
One skilled in the art would find it obvious to use the thiourea compound of Fukudone as an initiator for a dental adhesive, which is functionally equivalent.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the filing of the disclosure of Sakamoto in view of the teachings of Fukudome that teaches each and every element as arranged in claims and forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1 and 3-7.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766