DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Amendment filed April 14, 2026. Claim 16 is amended. Claims 16-33 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 23-24 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Terao (US 5,172,972).
Regarding claim 16, Terao discloses a lighting device for a motor vehicle, the lighting device comprising: one or more first lighting units (generally 11, particularly at least 50,51,52,53), each of which is configured to generate a distribution of light for a dip beam and/or a high beam function, and one or more second lighting units (generally 13; at least 100,101,102,103), each of which is configured to create a light distribution for a light function other than the dip beam function and the high beam function, and each of which does not generate the distribution of the light for the dip beam function and the high beam function, wherein: the one or more first lighting units 11 and the one or more second lighting units 13 are covered by a common outer lens 4 which is transparent at least in sections and through which light coming from the one or more first lighting units and the one or more second lighting units exits from the lighting device, each of the one or more first lighting units 11 is spaced apart from the outer lens 4 and each of the one or more second lighting units 13 is rigidly connected to the outer lens, and each of the one or more second lighting units is directly connected to the outer lens (at least portions 102,103) (see at least Figures 1-3 and col. 3, line 27 through col. 8 line 40).
Regarding claim 17, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more second lighting units 13 are configured to create a light distribution for a daytime running light, for a position light, for a turn signal, for illumination of an area along the outer lens, and/or for contour lighting alone one edge of the outer lens (see at least Fig. 1 and col. 7, line 35).
Regarding claim 18, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses at least one of the one or more first lighting units 11 is a lighting module comprising a first housing (52 and/or 53) in which there is disposed a light emitter 50 for creating the distribution of light for the dip beam function and/or the high beam function (see at least Figure 1 and col. 4, line 63 through col. 5, line 5).
Regarding claim 23, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein at least one of the one or more second lighting units 13 is a lighting module comprising a second housing (100 and/or 103,92a) in which there is disposed a light emitter 101 for creating the lighting distribution for the light function other than the dip beam and the high beam function (see at least Fig. 1 and col. 7, line 35-50).
Regarding claim 24, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 23, and further discloses wherein the second housing (at least portions 92b,103) is rigidly connected to the outer lens 4 (see at least Figure 1).
Regarding claim 32, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the outer lens 4, upon installation in the motor vehicle, has an extend in a transverse direction of the motor vehicle that extends from one edge of the motor vehicle to essentially a center of the motor vehicle (see at least Figure 2).
Regarding claim 33, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses a motor vehicle comprising the lighting device according to claim 16 (see at least col. 1, lines 5-6 and col. 3, lines 27-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terao (US 5,172,972).
Regarding claims 26-27, Terao does not specifically teach a radiation unit connected to the outer lens 4 for emitting radiation other than light. However the use of radiation units in headlamps to emit radiation other than light is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a radiation unit in the outer lens 4 of Terao for emitting radiation other than light in order to provide detection means such as LIDAR around the vehicle for improved safety and reduced collisions, or for heating the outer lens 46 with infrared radiation to remove ice/condensation for improved visibility and safety..
Regarding claim 28, Terao does not specifically teach that the outer lens 4 be formed from plastic. However plastic outer lenses are well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify that outer lens 4 in Terao be made of plastic in order to provide a resilient, durable and inexpensive outer lens 4, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 29, the recitation that the outer lens be “a multicomponent injection molding” relates to the method of manufacturing the device which is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the device itself. Therefore this recitation is not to be given patentable weight (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claims 30-31, Terao teaches an inner surface of the lighting device (see at least Figs. 1-3, surfaces of 53 and/or 92,103) which is visible through the outer lens 4, but Terao does not specifically teach that the inner surface have an absorptivity of 50% or 90%. However providing inner surfaces with absorption coatings to achieve a high absorptivity is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the inner surface in Terao with high absorptivity in order to protect the inner surface from damage while reducing glare for a more defined light distribution pattern.
Claims 16-18 and 23-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuerthele et al (US 2013/0215633) in view of Terao (US 5,172,972).
Regarding claim 16, Wuerthele discloses a lighting device for a motor vehicle, the lighting device comprising: one or more first lighting units (at least 26 or collective 26,28), each of which is configured to generate a distribution of light for a dip beam and/or a high beam function, and one or more second lighting units (at least 32), each of which is configured to create a light distribution for a light function other than the dip beam function and the high beam function, and each of which does not generate the distribution of the light for the dip beam function and the high beam function, wherein: the one or more first lighting units 26 and the one or more second lighting units 32 are covered by a common outer lens 46 which is transparent at least in sections and through which light coming from the one or more first lighting units and the one or more second lighting units exits from the lighting device, each of the one or more first lighting units 26 is spaced apart from the outer lens 46 and each of the one or more second lighting units 32 is rigidly connected to the outer lens (second lighting unit 32 is rigidly connected to the outer lens 46 via at least front housing section 21, see at least Figs. 3 and 7 and para [0036]) (see at least Figures 1-8 and paragraphs [0018]-[0044]).
Wuerthele does not specifically teach that each of the second lighting units 4 be directly connected to the outer lens 46. However directly attaching lighting units to outer lenses is common in the art and taught in Terao (see Terao, at least Figure 1, particularly integration of lens 102 with outer lens 4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to directly attach the second lighting unit 32 (at least lens portion 38 of second lighting unit 32, see Figs. 4 and 7) to the outer lens 46 in Wuerthele as taught by Terao in order to reduce the depth of the lighting device for a more compact fitting and/or to reduce refraction in the air gap between lens 38 and outer lens 46 for improved light output and efficiency.
Regarding claim 17, the one or more second lighting units 4 in Wuerthele are configured to create a light distribution for a daytime running light, for a position light, for a turn signal, for illumination of an area along the outer lens, and/or for contour lighting alone one edge of the outer lens (see at least para [0020]).
Regarding claim 18, at least one of the one or more first lighting units 26 in Wuerthele is a lighting module comprising a first housing (see Fig. 2 and housing of first lighting unit 26) in which there is disposed a light emitter for creating the distribution of light for the dip beam function and/or the high beam function (see at least Figures 2-3 and para [0020]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 23, at least one of the one or more second lighting units 4 in Wuerthele is a lighting module comprising a second housing (at least 55,56) in which there is disposed a light emitter (at least 48) for creating the lighting distribution for the light function other than the dip beam and the high beam function (see at least Figures 2-3 and 7 and paras [0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 24, the second housing 55,56 in Wuerthele is rigidly connected to the outer lens 48 (see at least Figure 7, rigidly connected to outer lens 48 via housing portion 21).
Regarding claim 25, at least one of the one or more second lighting units 32 in Wuerthele comprises a surface light guide 50 (see at least Figs. 2-7 and para [0027]).
Regarding claims 26-27, Wuerthele does not specifically teach a radiation unit connected to the outer lens 46 for emitting radiation other than light. However the use of radiation units in headlamps to emit radiation other than light is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a radiation unit in the outer lens 46 of Wuerthele for emitting radiation other than light in order to provide detection means such as LIDAR around the vehicle for improved safety and reduced collisions, or for heating the outer lens 46 with infrared radiation to remove ice/condensation for improved visibility and safety..
Regarding claim 28, Wuerthele does not specifically teach that the outer lens 46 be formed from plastic. However plastic outer lenses are well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify that outer lens 46 in Wuerthele be made of plastic in order to provide a resilient, durable and inexpensive outer lens 46, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 29, the recitation that the outer lens be “a multicomponent injection molding” relates to the method of manufacturing the device which is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the device itself. Therefore this recitation is not to be given patentable weight (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claims 30-31, Wuerthele teaches an inner surface of the lighting device (at least inner surface of housing portion 21, see at least Fig. 3) which is visible through the outer lens 46, but Wuerthele does not specifically teach that the inner surface have an absorptivity of 50% or 90%. However providing inner surfaces with absorption coatings to achieve a high absorptivity is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the inner surface of the housing 21 in Wuerthele with high absorptivity in order to protect the inner surface from damage while reducing glare for a more defined light distribution pattern.
Regarding claim 32, the outer lens 48 in Wuerthele, upon installation in the motor vehicle, has an extend in a transverse direction of the motor vehicle that extends from one edge of the motor vehicle to essentially a center of the motor vehicle (see at least Figures 1-3 and 7).
Regarding claim 33, Wuerthele discloses a motor vehicle 10 comprising the lighting device according to claim 16 (see at least Figure 1 and para [0019]).
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuerthele et al (US 2013/0215633) and Terao (US 5,172,972), and further in view of Mano (US 2021/0231284).
Regarding claims 19-22, Wuerthele does not specifically teach the first housing of the first lighting unit 26 be connected to outer lens 46 via a flexible connector of the type claimed and the manner claimed. However, attaching first housings to outer lenses via flexible connectors is common in the art and taught in Mano (see Mano, at least Figure 4 and paras [0060]-[0061]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to connecting the first light housing 26 in Wuerthele to the outer lens 46 via a flexible connector as taught by Mano in order to direct light from the first light housing 26 for improved brightness and efficiency while preventing light from the other lighting devices in the headlight from interfering with the light beam pattern emitted from the first lighting unit 26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 14, 2026 have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection set forth above, said new grounds being necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P GRAMLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875