DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 23-25 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wuerthele et al (US 2013/0215633).
Regarding claim 16, Wuerthele discloses a lighting device for a motor vehicle, the lighting device comprising: one or more first lighting units (at least 26 or collective 26,28), each of which is configured to generate a distribution of light for a dip beam and/or a high beam function, and one or more second lighting units (at least 32), each of which is configured to create a light distribution for a light function other than the dip beam function and the high beam function, and each of which does not generate the distribution of the light for the dip beam function and the high beam function, wherein: the one or more first lighting units 26 and the one or more second lighting units 32 are covered by a common outer lens 46 which is transparent at least in sections and through which light coming from the one or more first lighting units and the one or more second lighting units exits from the lighting device, each of the one or more first lighting units 26 is spaced apart from the outer lens 46 and each of the one or more second lighting units 32 is rigidly connected to the outer lens (second lighting unit 32 is rigidly connected to the outer lens 46 via at least front housing section 21, see at least Figs. 3 and 7 and para [0036]) (see at least Figures 1-8 and paragraphs [0018]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 17, the one or more second lighting units 4 in Wuerthele are configured to create a light distribution for a daytime running light, for a position light, for a turn signal, for illumination of an area along the outer lens, and/or for contour lighting alone one edge of the outer lens (see at least para [0020]).
Regarding claim 18, at least one of the one or more first lighting units 26 in Wuerthele is a lighting module comprising a first housing (see Fig. 2 and housing of first lighting unit 26) in which there is disposed a light emitter for creating the distribution of light for the dip beam function and/or the high beam function (see at least Figures 2-3 and para [0020]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 23, at least one of the one or more second lighting units 4 in Wuerthele is a lighting module comprising a second housing (at least 55,56) in which there is disposed a light emitter (at least 48) for creating the lighting distribution for the light function other than the dip beam and the high beam function (see at least Figures 2-3 and 7 and paras [0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 24, the second housing 55,56 in Wuerthele is rigidly connected to the outer lens 48 (see at least Figure 7, rigidly connected to outer lens 48 via housing portion 21).
Regarding claim 25, at least one of the one or more second lighting units 32 in Wuerthele comprises a surface light guide 50 (see at least Figs. 2-7 and para [0027]).
Regarding claim 32, the outer lens 48 in Wuerthele, upon installation in the motor vehicle, has an extend in a transverse direction of the motor vehicle that extends from one edge of the motor vehicle to essentially a center of the motor vehicle (see at least Figures 1-3 and 7).
Regarding claim 33, Wuerthele discloses a motor vehicle 10 comprising the lighting device according to claim 16 (see at least Figure 1 and para [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuerthele et al (US 2013/0215633).
Regarding claims 26-27, Wuerthele does not specifically teach a radiation unit connected to the outer lens 46 for emitting radiation other than light. However the use of radiation units in headlamps to emit radiation other than light is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a radiation unit in the outer lens 46 of Wuerthele for emitting radiation other than light in order to provide detection means such as LIDAR around the vehicle for improved safety and reduced collisions, or for heating the outer lens 46 with infrared radiation to remove ice/condensation for improved visibility and safety..
Regarding claim 28, Wuerthele does not specifically teach that the outer lens 46 be formed from plastic. However plastic outer lenses are well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify that outer lens 46 in Wuerthele be made of plastic in order to provide a resilient, durable and inexpensive outer lens 46, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 29, the recitation that the outer lens be “a multicomponent injection molding” relates to the method of manufacturing the device which is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the device itself. Therefore this recitation is not to be given patentable weight (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claims 30-31, Wu teaches an inner surface of the lighting device (at least inner surface of housing portion 21, see at least Fig. 3) which is visible through the outer lens 46, but Wuerthele does not specifically teach that the inner surface have an absorptivity of 50% or 90%. However providing inner surfaces with absorption coatings to achieve a high absorptivity is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the inner surface of the housing 21 in Wuerthele with high absorptivity in order to protect the inner surface from damage while reducing glare for a more defined light distribution pattern.
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuerthele et al (US 2013/0215633) in view of Mano (US 2021/0231284).
Regarding claims 19-22, Wuerthele does not specifically teach the first housing of the first lighting unit 26 be connected to outer lens 46 via a flexible connector of the type claimed and the manner claimed. However, attaching first housings to outer lenses via flexible connectors is common in the art and taught in Mano (see Mano, at least Figure 4 and paras [0060]-[0061]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to connecting the first light housing 26 in Wuerthele to the outer lens 46 via a flexible connector as taught by Mano in order to direct light from the first light housing 26 for improved brightness and efficiency while preventing light from the other lighting devices in the headlight from interfering with the light beam pattern emitted from the first lighting unit 26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 23, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s submission that the one or more second lighting units 32 in Wuerthele are not rigidly connected to the outer lens 46. Examiner respectfully submits that the one or more second lighting units 32 in Wuerthele are rigidly connected to outer lens 46 via at least front housing section 21 (see at least Figs. 3 and 7 and para [0036]). Accordingly, the rejection of at least claim 16 is maintained.
Conclusion
/SEAN P GRAMLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875