DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 23-24 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Terao (US 5,172,972).
Regarding claim 16, Terao discloses a lighting device for a motor vehicle, the lighting device comprising: one or more first lighting units (generally 11, particularly at least 50,51,52,53), each of which is configured to generate a distribution of light for a dip beam and/or a high beam function, and one or more second lighting units (generally 13; at least 100,101,102,103; Examiner note: the one or more second lighting units could additionally or alternatively be second lighting unit 12, specifically at least collective elemetns 90-95 which is rigidly and directly connected to outer lens 4 via reflector 92 and has an opening between at least light source 90 and outer lens 4; see Fig. 1), each of which is configured to create a light distribution for a light function other than the dip beam function and the high beam function, and each of which does not generate the distribution of the light for the dip beam function and the high beam function, wherein: the one or more first lighting units 11 and the one or more second lighting units 13 (and/or 12) are covered by a common outer lens 4 which is transparent at least in sections and through which light coming from the one or more first lighting units and the one or more second lighting units exits from the lighting device, each of the one or more first lighting units 11 is spaced apart from the outer lens 4 and each of the one or more second lighting units 13 (and/or 12) is rigidly connected to the outer lens, and each of the one or more second lighting units 13 (and/or 12) is directly connected to the outer lens 4 (at least portions 102,103, and/or 92), and an opening is formed between each of the one or more second lighting units and the outer lens 4 (see opening between light source 101 and outer lens 4, and opening between light source 90 and outer lens 4) (see at least Figures 1-3 and col. 3, line 27 through col. 8 line 40).
Regarding claim 17, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more second lighting units 13 (and/or 12) are configured to create a light distribution for a daytime running light, for a position light, for a turn signal, for illumination of an area along the outer lens, and/or for contour lighting alone one edge of the outer lens (see at least Fig. 1 and col. 7, line 35).
Regarding claim 18, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses at least one of the one or more first lighting units 11 is a lighting module comprising a first housing (52 and/or 53) in which there is disposed a light emitter 50 for creating the distribution of light for the dip beam function and/or the high beam function (see at least Figure 1 and col. 4, line 63 through col. 5, line 5).
Regarding claim 23, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein at least one of the one or more second lighting units 13 (and/or 12) is a lighting module comprising a second housing (100 and/or 103,92a, or 92) in which there is disposed a light emitter 101 (or 90) for creating the lighting distribution for the light function other than the dip beam and the high beam function (see at least Fig. 1 and col. 7, line 35-50).
Regarding claim 24, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 23, and further discloses wherein the second housing (at least portions 92b,103, or 92) is rigidly connected to the outer lens 4 (see at least Figure 1).
Regarding claim 32, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the outer lens 4, upon installation in the motor vehicle, has an extend in a transverse direction of the motor vehicle that extends from one edge of the motor vehicle to essentially a center of the motor vehicle (see at least Figure 2).
Regarding claim 33, Terao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses a motor vehicle comprising the lighting device according to claim 16 (see at least col. 1, lines 5-6 and col. 3, lines 27-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terao (US 5,172,972).
Regarding claims 26-27, Terao does not specifically teach a radiation unit connected to the outer lens 4 for emitting radiation other than light. However the use of radiation units in headlamps to emit radiation other than light is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a radiation unit in the outer lens 4 of Terao for emitting radiation other than light in order to provide detection means such as LIDAR around the vehicle for improved safety and reduced collisions, or for heating the outer lens 46 with infrared radiation to remove ice/condensation for improved visibility and safety..
Regarding claim 28, Terao does not specifically teach that the outer lens 4 be formed from plastic. However plastic outer lenses are well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify that outer lens 4 in Terao be made of plastic in order to provide a resilient, durable and inexpensive outer lens 4, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 29, the recitation that the outer lens be “a multicomponent injection molding” relates to the method of manufacturing the device which is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the device itself. Therefore this recitation is not to be given patentable weight (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claims 30-31, Terao teaches an inner surface of the lighting device (see at least Figs. 1-3, surfaces of 53 and/or 92,103) which is visible through the outer lens 4, but Terao does not specifically teach that the inner surface have an absorptivity of 50% or 90%. However providing inner surfaces with absorption coatings to achieve a high absorptivity is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the inner surface in Terao with high absorptivity in order to protect the inner surface from damage while reducing glare for a more defined light distribution pattern.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 19, the best prior art of record, Terao, does not teach that the first housing (52 and/or 53) be connected to the outer lens via a flexible connector. Accordingly, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record. Claims 20-22 are allowable in that they are dependent on, and further limit claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 16, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s submission that Terao does not teach “an opening is formed between each of the one or more second light units and the outer lens”. As set forth in the rejection above, Examiner submits that there is an opening between the light source 100 of second lighting unit 13 and outer lens 4 (see Fig. 1). Additionally and alternatively, Examiner submits that the at least one second lighting unit in Terao can include second lighting unit 12 (at least collective elements 90-95) which also is rigidly and directly connected to outer lens 4 and has an opening between at least light source 90 and outer lens 4. For the foregoing reasons, Examiner submits that Terao teaches “an opening is formed between each of the one or more second lighting units and the outer lens”. Accordingly, the rejection of at least claim 16 is maintained.
Conclusion
/SEAN P GRAMLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875