DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “27” has been used to designate both the base and the outlet (see e.g. figure 2a).
The drawings do not comply with Rule 1.84 (l) “Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.”
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following:
In the last paragraph on page 6, reference character “27” has been used to designate both the base and the outlet (see e.g. figure 2a).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following:
Claim 1 should end with a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. The claims are indefinite because of the following reasons:
The following terms lack antecedent basis: “said three pairs of media tanks” (claims 7 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elfstrom (U.S. 2013/0098816 A1).
As for claim 1, Elfstrom teaches a water treatment module 1, comprising:
at least one row of media tanks; said at least one row of media tanks comprising at least two media tanks (e.g. 50 and 51); wherein said at least two media tanks are fluidly connected in parallel (flow from inlet pump 14 flows to both the left side and right side filter 77, 78); and wherein said media tanks are vertically orientated in said treatment module (the vertical orientation of rows 50/51, 52/53, and 54/55 is easily deducted from e.g. figure 3A in the center, bottom portion of the figure);
at least one media manifold (e.g. 26-31); wherein said at least one media manifold is mounted on top of each of said at least one row of tanks (easily deduced from figures 4 and 5);
an enclosure 5; an inlet (from pump 14); an outlet 64: and a drain (e.g. at either 25 or 39).
As for claim 2, Elfstrom teaches wherein each row of at least one row of media tanks comprises a media selected from the group consisting of catalytic carbon, softener, sediment media, calcite, and media for removal of iron and arsenic (e.g. left and right filters 50/51 are loose media sediment filters [0019]).
As for claim 3, Elfstrom teaches wherein each row of media tanks comprises two media tanks (e.g. 50/51).
As for claim 5, Elfstrom teaches wherein said water treatment module comprises two rows of media tanks wherein said two rows of media tanks are fluidly linked in series (e.g. row 50/51 is in serial communication with row 52/53, etc.).
As for claim 6, Elfstrom teaches wherein said water treatment module comprises three rows of media tanks wherein a first row of media tanks is positioned immediately adjacent to a second row of media tanks and said second row of tanks is positioned immediately adjacent to a third row of media tanks (this is easily deduced from figure 5).
As for claim 9, Elfstrom teaches wherein each row of said media tanks is in series with the row of media tanks immediately adjacent (this is easily deduced from figure 5).
As for claim 10, Elfstrom teaches wherein said treatment module is fluidly connected to at least one member selected from the group consisting of a filtration module, a reverse osmosis system, a pump, a calcite module, a water sterilization system, an ultrafiltration system, and combinations thereof (in this case, the treatment module is fluidly connected to a pump 14, a filtration module 58/59, and UV sterilizers 69/70).
As for claim 12, Elfstrom teaches wherein said treatment module is fluidly connected to a pump (14).
As for claim 14, Elfstrom teaches at least one serial part connector (e.g. between 50/52 or 51/53).
Claims 1, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tally et al. (U.S. 2021/0024382 A1), hereinafter “Tally”.
As for claim 1, Tally teaches a water treatment module (Figure 1; and Abstract, the disclosure relates to water treatment systems that may be used to remove impurities from water; and para [0051], FIGS. 1-8 show different views of an assembled water treatment system 10 according to this example), comprising: at least one row of media tanks; said at least one row of media tanks comprising at least two media tanks; wherein said at least two media tanks are fluidly connected in parallel; and wherein said media tanks are vertically orientated in said treatment module (Figure 1, 12 and 13; and Figure 2, 31 and 32 and 33; and Figure 7; and Figure 8; and para [0051], FIGS. 1-8 show different views of an assembled water treatment system 10 according to this example... The system includes frame 11, filtration cartridges 12, 13 reverse osmosis cartridges 31, 32, 33, manifold 16, and pump 20; and para [0054], According to this example, a water treatment system has two cassettes. A first cassette includes two linked filtration units 12, 13. The two filtration units are linked by an adaptor 26. Cover 22 is also present. In this example, feed water is fed into a first filtration unit 12... e.g. with a 10 micron filter... and then passes through the adaptor to a second filtration unit 13... e.g. with a carbon filter; and para [0055], In this example, as shown in FIGS. 1- 8, a second cassette may include three reverse osmosis cartridges 31, 32, 33. Feed water having passed through filtration units 12, 13 is then flowed or passed through the reverse osmosis cartridges. In this example, the reverse osmosis cartridges are linked such that the water flows the cartridges in parallel; Note that the at least one row of media tanks is interpreted as comprising the reverse osmosis cartridges 31-33, however, the row of media tanks may also be interpreted as comprising the filtration cartridges 12 and 13. As seen in the Figures, especially Figure 2, the media tanks 31/32/33 are vertically oriented in the treatment module 10, and are connected in parallel by the manifold 16); at least one media manifold; wherein said at least one media manifold is mounted on top of each of said at least one row of tanks (Figure 1, 12 and 13 and 26; and Figure 2, 16 and 31 and 32 and 33; and Figure 7; and Figure 8; and para [0054], According to this example, a water treatment system has two cassettes. A first cassette includes two linked filtration units 12, 13. The two filtration units are linked by an adaptor 26; and para [0055}, In this example, as shown in FIGS. 1-8, a second cassette may include three reverse osmosis cartridges 31, 32, 33. Feed water having passed through filtration units 12, 13 is then flowed or passed through the reverse osmosis cartridges... The three cartridges 31, 32, 33 are fluidly connected by top manifold 16 and bottom manifold 17; and para [0059], The design of the manifold allows the reverse osmosis cartridges to be mounted closely together; As seen in Figures 2 and 7-8, there is a media manifold 16 mounted on top of the row of tanks 31/32/33. The adaptor 26 may also be interpreted as a second manifold mounted on top of a second row of tanks 12/13); an enclosure (Figure 1, 11; and Figure 8; and para [0051], The system includes frame 11, filtration cartridges 12, 13 reverse osmosis cartridges 31, 32, 33, manifold 16, and pump 20; and para [0053], According to this example, a frame 11 for the system may be assembled using as few as five parts: upper support 41, middle support 46, side supports 42, 45, and bottom support 47; Note that the frame 11 is broadly interpreted as defining an enclosure. The enclosure may also be broadly interpreted as the interior of any of cartridges 12-13 and 31-33); an inlet; an outlet; and a drain; (Figure 7; and Figure 8; and para [0049], The system may further include sensors or may further include drains... In preferred examples, a system of the disclosure includes one or more drains that are used to drain water from the system during, for example, service. According to the disclosure, at least one drain valve may be located on the frame; and para [0082], A system of the disclosure includes at least one modular bypass unit that includes at least two of the following: inlet, outlet, bypass and sensors for flow, TDS... total dissolved solids... and water pressure; and para [0055], In this example, as shown in FIGS. 1-8, a second cassette may include three reverse osmosis cartridges 31, 32, 33. Feed water having passed through filtration units 12, 13 is then flowed or passed through the reverse osmosis cartridges; Note that as described, additional components can be added to the system comprising an inlet, an outlet, and a drain. Alternatively, the inlet can be interpreted as the feed into filtration units 12 and 13, and the piping between ‘units 12/13 and units 31/32/33 to pass water from the filtration row to the reverse osmosis row may be interpreted as an outlet and drain).
Regarding claim 10, Tally teaches the water treatment module of claim 1, Tally further teaches wherein said treatment module is fluidly connected to at least one member selected from the group consisting of a filtration module, a reverse osmosis system, a pump, a calcite module, a water sterilization system, an ultrafiltration system, and combinations thereof (Figure 1; and Figure 8, 20; and Figure 20; and para [0051], FIGS. 1-8 show different views of an assembled water treatment system 10 according to this example... The system includes frame 11, filtration cartridges 12, 13 reverse osmosis cartridges 31, 32, 33, manifold 16, and pump 20; and para [0024], FIG. 20 shows a schematic view of a system according to the disclosure; and para (0092], During normal operation... FIG. 20... input water is flowed through inlet 110 and water passes through sediment filter 112 and carbon filter 114. Booster pump 116 may be used to increase flow to reverse osmosis cartridges 118, 120,122; Note that the pump used to pass water through the treatment module is interpreted as the at least one member).
As for claim 11, Tally also teaches reverse osmosis filters (118, 120, 132) downstream of media tanks 112, 114.
Regarding claim 12, Tally teaches the water treatment module of claim 1, Tally further teaches wherein said treatment module is fluidly connected to a pump (Figure 1; and Figure 8, 20; and Figure 20; and para [0051], FIGS. 1-8 show different views of an assembled water treatment system 10 according to this example... The system includes frame 11, filtration cartridges 12, 13 reverse osmosis cartridges 31, 32, 33, manifold 16, and pump 20; and para [0024], FIG. 20 shows a schematic view of a system according to the disclosure; and para [0092], During normal operation... FIG. 20... input water is flowed through inlet 110 and water passes through sediment filter 112 and carbon filter 114. Booster pump 116 may be used to increase flow to reverse osmosis cartridges 118, 120,122).
Regarding claim 13, Tally teaches the water treatment module of claim 1, Tally further teaches wherein each of said at least one media manifold comprises at least one solenoid and at least one gate valve (Figure 19A, 901 and 904; and Figure 19B; and Figure 19C; and para [0049], According to the disclosure, a water treatment system includes a frame, at least one filtration unit, at least one reverse osmosis cartridge, at least one pump and at least one bypass unit. In further examples, a system may further include at least one flush valve for flushing the system; and para [0088], An example of flush combination valve 900 is shown in FIG. 19. FIGS. 19 a to c shows the valve in cross-section. The valve 900 includes an inlet 906 where water enters the valve 900. The valve 900 includes channel A, A check valve 907 is present at the end of channel A where the valve includes check valve seat 908, spring 910, metering jet 912, and jet position screw 916 The valve also includes channel B. The valve includes diaphragm 904. The valve includes a top access plug and side access plug. The valve includes an outlet 914 where water exits the valve 900. Solenoid 901 is also present; and para [0090], When the system is in use and water is pumped through the system as shown in FIG. 19b, water pressure is adequate to open the check valve 907. In the example of FIG. 19b, the diaphragm 904 remains closed through the action of the solenoid 901; and para [0091], According to the disclosure, the valve may provide another water path. According to this example, a solenoid 901 may open the diaphragm 904, thereby allowing water flow through channel 8; Note that the diaphragm 904 is broady interpreted as a gate, thus providing a gate valve which is actuated by the solenoid 901, which will open or close a water passage through channel B as seen in Figures 19B and 19C).
Regarding claim 15, Tally teaches a water treatment system (Figure 1; and Abstract, The disclosure relates to water treatment systems that may be used to remove impurities from water; and para [0051], FIGS. 1-8 show different views of an assembled water treatment system 10 according to this example), comprising: at least one filtration treatment module; wherein said at least one filtration treatment module comprises at least one media selected from the group consisting of catalytic carbon, softener, sediment media, calcite, media for removal of iron and arsenic (Figure 1, 12 and 13; and Figure 20, 112 and 114; and para [0051], FIGS. 1-8 show different views of an assembled water treatment system 10 according to this example... The system includes frame 11, filtration cartridges 12, 13 reverse osmosis cartridges 31, 32, 33, manifold 16, and pump 20; and para [0024], FIG. 20 shows a schematic view of a system according to the disclosure; and para [0054], According to this example, a water treatment system has two cassettes. A first cassette includes two linked filtration units 12, 13. The two filtration units are linked by an adaptor 26. Cover 22 is also present. In this example, feed water is fed into a first filtration unit 12... e.g. with a 10 micron filter... and then passes through the adaptor to a second filtration unit 13... e.g. with a carbon filter; and para [0092], During normal operation... FIG. 20... input water is flowed through inlet 110 and water passes through sediment filter 112 and carbon filter 114. Booster pump 116 may be used to increase flow to reverse osmosis cartridges 118, 120, 122; Note that the filter media within a sediment filter is broadly interpreted as “sediment media").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The factual inquiries that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craft, SR. et al. (U.S. 2006/0237370 A1), hereinafter “Craft” in view of Elfstrom.
As for claim 1, Craft teaches a water treatment module, comprising:
at least one row 20 of media tanks (see figure 2); said at least one row of media tanks comprising at least two media tanks (10); wherein said at least two media tanks are fluidly connected in parallel [0012] and wherein said media tanks are vertically orientated in said treatment module (easily deducted from e.g. figures 2 or 5); and
an enclosure 11/12; an inlet 13; and an outlet 14.
Craft doesn’t specify at least one media manifold mounted on top of each of said at least one row of tanks or explicitly teach a drain.
However, as expanded above, such is taught by Elfstrom. Elfstrom teaches each of his media tanks to include a manifold (as shown in e.g. figures 7A-7C). He also teaches a drain (the back flush discharge 63) [0034]. It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the manifold of Elfstrom at the top of each tank of Craft, since both references teach inflow and outflow into each tank and to backwash the tanks and because simple substitution of parts for the same purpose and in the same environment (water filtration) would have been obvious. Also having the drain of Elfstrom in Craft would have been obvious to discharge the back washing fluid.
As for claim 2, Craft teaches wherein each row of at least one row of media tanks comprises a media selected from the group consisting of catalytic carbon, softener, sediment media, calcite, and media for removal of iron and arsenic (in this case for the removal of arsenic and iron [0006]).
As for claim 3, Craft teaches wherein each row of media tanks comprises two media tanks. See figure 20.
As for claim 4, Craft teaches two rows of media tanks wherein said two rows of media tanks are fluidly connected in parallel 0012.
As for claim 7, Craft teaches wherein three pairs of media tanks are fluidly connected in parallel (in figure 5, each of pair of parallel tanks are connected in parallel to other pairs of parallel tanks in order to accommodate greater flows). See paragraphs [0022-0023, 0031].
As for claim 8, Craft teaches wherein all of said three pairs of media tanks contain the same media (i.e. for arsenic removal 0012).
As for claim 10, Elfstrom teaches a filtration module 58/59 and also UV sterilizers 69/70 receiving treated water from the media tanks. It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have either the filtration modules or UV sterilizers of Elfstrom downstream from the media tanks of Craft, since Elfstrom teaches further purification of water.
As for claim 12, Elfstrom teaches wherein said treatment module is fluidly connected to a pump (14). It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the pump of Elfstrom in the invention of Craft, since Craft desires pumping [0035].
As for claim 14, Craft teaches serial port connector (e.g. for connecting each pair of tanks at a respective inlet or outlet header pipe (21/22). See figure 5.
If repeated attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful (including leaving a voice message), the examiner’s supervisor, Bobby Ramdhanie can be reached on (571) 270-3240. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TERRY K CECIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779