DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5 and 7-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Mondt US 20150124032 A1 in view of Burrows, R., et al., (Multifunctional photoinitiators (MFPls): A new concept, Surface Coatings International Part B: Coatings Transactions Vol.87, B2, 71-148, June 2004).
Regarding claim 1-3, De Mondt teaches a curable composition comprising a methacrylated silicone surfactant (Abstract). De Mondt teaches the silicone surfactant has a structure of
(Paragraph [0081]). This reads on the claimed organopolysiloxane having at least one methacrylate group. De Mondt teaches the composition can be cured with a photoinitiator (Paragraph [0114]). De Mondt teaches the photoinitiator can be an Irgacure initiator (Paragraph [0114]). De Mondt is silent on the composition having a structure of formula (1).
De Mondt is silent on the photoinitiator having the structure of formula (1). However, Burrows teaches that unreacted UV cured initiators can leak out of UV cured printing inks which is a concern in food applications (Page 123). De Mondt teaches that the curable printer ink is used in food packaging application (Abstract). Burrows teaches that Irgacure printer ink has significantly more photoinitiator present after 2 rounds of extraction in air, than acetoxy modified Irgacure (Figure 15, Page 132). Burrows teaches this acetoxy modified Irgacure has a structure of:
(Figure 13, Page 131).
This reads on the structure of Formula (1), specifically, the compound of Formula (3) where R10 is a C1 alkyl group.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the photoinitiator taught by Burrows Figure 13, as the photoinitiator of De Mondt instead an Irgacure initiator for the advantage of less unreacted initiators leaking from the packaging. Therefore, DeMondt in view of Burrows reads on the limitations of claims 1-3.
Regarding claim 4, De Mondt teaches that the silicone surfactant has a structure of
(Paragraph [0081]). De Mondt teaches that R1 is an alkyl group or ethoxy group or polyethoxy group, a propoxy group or polypropoxy group (Paragraph [0084]). De Mondt teaches R2 is a methyl or hydrogen (Paragraph [0085]). This reads on the structure of formula IV, where R is a C1 alkyl group, R1 is a C1 alkyl group or a polyalkylene or oxyalkylene group, Y’ is a alkenylcarbonyloxygroup. a is 1 , b is 1, and n is 1. Therefore, this reads on the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, De Mondt is silent on the resulting cured composition being an elastomer. The Specification shows that a composition formed from a methacrylate-functional polysiloxane similar in structure to De Mondt’s surfactant, combined with a photoinitiator having the same structure as that of Burrows, combined with a curable monomer (C) like tetrahydrofurfuryl acrylate (Specification p. 13, [76] and De Mondt Paragraph [0104]) leads to an elastomeric product.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01.
Although not expressly disclosed, the product resulting from modification of De Mondt in view of Burrows will necessarily be elastomeric as claimed.
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762