DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 7, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The compounds and formulas are low resolution and it is difficult to discern the variables and atoms in the structures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0058: There seems to be a typographical error in line 5 of the paragraph. Currently the paragraph recites “This role” and should be revised to “The role” for clarity.
Paragraphs [0006], [0009], [0014], [0019], [0020], [0046], [0048]:The compounds and formulas are low resolution and it is difficult to discern the variables and atoms in the structures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim is 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. As per MPEP 608.01(n), under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), a claim in dependent form shall contain: (i) a reference to a claim previously set forth. As written, claim 3 does not include a reference to a previously set forth claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim is 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In the instant case, claim 3 is dependent on itself and examiner cannot discern the dependency of the claim. For examination purposes claim 3 is interpreted as dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vo et al. (US 2022/0162222 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vo teaches:
An organic light emitting device (device example 1, para. [0293] – [0303]) comprising a first electrode (para. [0295]), a second electrode (para. [0303]) opposite to the first electrode (para. [0295]), and one or more organic layers (para. [0296] – [0302]) interposed between the first (para. [0295]) and second electrodes (para. [0303]) wherein one of the organic layers (para. [0296] – [0302]) is a light emitting layer (para. [0299]), wherein the light emitting layer (para. [0299]) comprises at least one host (Compound 1-3, para [0245], [0299], and Table 1, Example 1) and at least one dopant (Dopant-1, para. [0299]), and wherein the host is a compound represented by Formula A:
Compound 1-3 reads on Formula A (para [0245], [0299], and Table 1, Example 1)
wherein Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
R1 to R8 and R10 to R13 are hydrogens, and R9 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
X is oxygen
Regarding claim 2, Vo further teaches wherein R9 in Formula A is unsubstituted C6 aryl (compound 1-3 depicted in paragraph 15 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Vo further teaches wherein the compound represented by Formula A is compound 1
of the instant application (Compound 1-3 from Vo as depicted above for claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Vo further teaches wherein the organic layers (para. [0296] – [0302]) comprise a hole injecting layer (para [0296]), a hole transport layer (para. [0297]), an electron transport layer (para. [0300]), an electron injecting layer (para. [0302]).
Regarding claim 10, Vo further teaches wherein one or more of the layers are formed by a deposition process (vapor deposition, para. [0289]).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ha et al. (US 2024/0349607 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ha teaches:
An organic light emitting device (device example 1, Table 14, para. [0373] – [0377]) comprising a first electrode (positive electrode para. [0373]), a second electrode (negative electrode, para. [0374]) opposite to the first electrode (positive electrode, para. [0373]), and one or more organic layers (para. [0374]) interposed between the first (positive electrode, para. [0373]) and second electrodes (negative electrode, para. [0374]) wherein one of the organic layers (hole injection layer, hole transporting layer, light emitting layer, electron adjusting layer, electron transport layer, para. [0374]) is a light emitting layer (para. [0374]), wherein the light emitting layer (para. [0374]) comprises at least one host (Compound 1, para. [0374]) and at least one dopant (Compound BD1, para. [0374], Table 12, Table 14), and wherein the host is a compound represented by Formula A:
Compound 1 reads on Formula A (para. [0374], Table 12, table 14)
wherein Ar1 is a substituted C6 aryl
R1 to R8 are deuterium, R9 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl, R10 and R12 to R13 are hydrogens, and R11 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
X is oxygen
Regarding claim 2, Ha further teaches wherein R9 in Formula A is unsubstituted C6 aryl (compound 1 depicted in paragraph 21 for claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Ha further teaches wherein R11 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl (Compound 1 depicted in paragraph 21 for claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vo et al. (US 2022/0162222 A1) as applied to claim 1-2, 4-5, and 10 above.
Regarding claim 3, Vo discloses the organic light emitting device according to claim 1 as described above in Paragraph 15.
In Example 1 cited above, Vo does not specifically teach wherein at least one of R10, R11, and R12 is substituted or unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl.
However, Vo teaches a host of formula
(para. [0006]).
wherein Ar1 may be a C6-C50 aryl (para. [0007]).
Q is
.
Ar2 may be a C6 aryl (para. [0008]).
Y may be O or S (para. [0011]).
and R2 may be a C6-C30 aryl (para. [0013]).
Thus, Vo’s general formula read in the claimed Formula I and R10, R11, and R12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a compound of the claimed Formula A wherein at least one of R10, R11, and R12 is substituted or unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl, because Vo expressly suggests the use of such compound as a host as a suitable host for an organic light emitting device.
Vo includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Vo being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of new electroactive compounds that can be use as hosts or electroluminescent materials, absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Regarding claim 6, Vo discloses the organic light emitting device according to claim 1 as described above in Paragraph 15.
In Example 1 cited above, Vo does not specifically teach wherein one or more hosts other than the compound represented by Formula A (Compound 1-3) are mixed or stacked in the light emitting layer.
However, Vo teaches that in some embodiments of the light emitting layer (photoactive layer), a second host material is present (para. [0213]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting device of Vo to mix or stack one or more hosts other than the compound represented by Formula A in the light emitting layer, because Vo expressly suggests the presence of a second host material, and the use of multiple host materials in the light emitting layer was a known practice in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Vo discloses the organic light emitting device according to claim 1 as described above in Paragraph 15.
In Example 1 cited above, Vo does not specifically teach wherein the organic light emitting device according is used in a display or lighting system selected from flat panel displays, flexible displays, monochromatic flat panel lighting systems, white flat panel lighting systems, flexible monochromatic lighting systems, flexible white lighting systems, displays for automotive applications, displays for virtual reality, and displays for augmented reality.
However, Vo teaches Organic electronic devices that may benefit from having one or more layers comprising the compounds having Formula I (Compound 1-3) include light emitting diode display or lighting panel (para. [0202]) which reads on at least on flat panel displays, flexible displays, monochromatic flat panel lighting systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the organic light emitting device of Vo in a display or lighting system as the ones cited in the claimed, because Vo expressly suggests the use of organic light emitting devices for a light emitting diode display or a lighting panel. The use of organic light emitting devices for displays and lighting systems is a predictably suitable application in the art.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vo et al. (US 2022/0162222 A1) as applied to claims 1-6, and 10-11 above, and further in view of Yamatani (US 2020/0227639 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Vo discloses the organic light emitting device according to claim 1 as described above in Paragraph 15. Vo teaches that compounds of Formula I (Compound 1-3 as depicted for claim 1 above) can be used with a variety of dopants and will perform in a similar way (para. [0214]). Exemplary dopants from Vo include, but are not limited to, anthracenes, benzanthracenes, benz[de]anthracenes, chrysenes, pyrenes, triphenylenes, benzofluorenes, other polycyclic aromatics, analogs having one or more heteroatoms, benzofurans, dibenzofurans, carbazoles, benzocarbazoles, carbazolocarbazoles, and azaborines (para. [2014]). Vo also teaches that the photoactive layer includes a blue luminescent material as dopant (para. [0215]). Vo also teaches that the dopant can be a boron-containing polycyclic aromatic compound (para. [0288]).
In Example 1 cited above, Vo does not specifically teach wherein the dopant is selected from compounds represented by Formulas D-1 and D-2:
Yamatani teaches an organic electroluminescence device having a long life-time and high efficiency, and a polycyclic compound used therefor (para. [0006]). Yamatani also teaches the emission layer may be a delayed fluorescence emission layer including a host and a dopant, wherein the dopant may be a polycyclic compound (para. [0013]). Yamatani also teaches that the polycyclic compound may boron-containing polycyclic aromatic compound (Formula 1, where Z may be BAr2, para [0072]). Additionally, Yamatani discloses wherein the dopant is selected from compounds represented by Formulas D-1 (compound 9, para [0104]):
Compound 9 reads on Formula D-1
wherein X1 is B
Y1 and Y2 are NR21, and Y3 is S
A1 to A3 are unsubstituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon rings
R21 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to select a dopant, such as that of the claimed Formula D-1, because Vo teaches that boron-containing polycyclic aromatic compounds are suitable dopants for use in organic light emitting devices and Yamatani teaches that compounds within the scope of Formula D-1 (compound 9) improve the luminous efficiency and/or life-time of the organic electroluminescence device (para. [0105]).
Regarding claim 8, Vo further teaches wherein one or more dopants other than the compound represented by Formula D-1 or D-2 are mixed or stacked in the light emitting layer (para. [0213]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamatani teaches wherein the compound represented by Formula D-1 is compound D-101
of the instant application (Compound 9 from Yamatani as depicted above for claim 7).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5 and 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, and 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because,
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493 teaches,
An organic light emitting device (claim 1, col. 188, line 62) comprising a first electrode (claim 1, col. 188, line 62), a second electrode (claim 1, col. 188, line 62) opposite to the first electrode (claim 1, col. 188, line 62), and one or more organic layers interposed between the first and second electrodes (light emitting layer, claim 1, col. 188, line 63), wherein one of the organic layers is a light emitting layer (claim 1, col. 188, line 63), wherein the light emitting layer comprises at least one host (claim 1, col. 188, line 66) and at least one dopant (claim 1, col. 188, line 66), and wherein the host is a compound represented by Formula A:
Compound A-20 of claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493 reads on Formula A
wherein Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
R1 to R8 and R10 to R13 are hydrogens, and R9 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
X is oxygen
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493 further teaches wherein R9 in Formula A is unsubstituted C6 aryl (Compound A-20 from claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493 as depicted in paragraph 40 for claim 1 of the instant application).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493 further teaches Compound A-29 of claim 3 that reads on all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application and wherein R11 and R13 are unsubstituted C6 aryl
wherein Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
R1 to R10 and R12 are hydrogens
X is sulfur
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493 further teaches wherein the compound represented by Formula A is compound 1
of the instant application (Compound A-20 from claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493 as depicted in paragraph 40 for claim 1 of the instant application).
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493 further teaches wherein the organic layers comprise a hole injecting layer, a hole transport layer, a functional layer having functions of both hole injection and hole transport, an electron transport layer, an electron injecting layer, and/or a functional layer having functions of both electron injection and electron transport (claim 8).
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493 further teaches wherein one or more of the layers are formed by a deposition or solution process (claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 12,543,493 further teaches wherein the organic light emitting device is used in a display or lighting system selected from flat panel displays, flexible displays, monochromatic flat panel lighting systems, white flat panel lighting systems, flexible monochromatic lighting systems, flexible white lighting systems, displays for automotive applications, displays for virtual reality, and displays for augmented reality (claim 10).
Claim 1-5 and 10-11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 14-15, and 21-22 of copending Application No. 18/715,729 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because,
Regarding claim 1, copending Application No. 18/715,729 teaches,
An organic light emitting device (claim 1, line 3) comprising a first electrode (claim 1, line 4), a second electrode (claim 1, line 5) opposite to the first electrode (facing the first electrode, claim 1, line 5), and one or more organic layers interposed between the first and second electrodes (first and second light emitting layer, claim 1, lines 6-7), wherein one of the organic layers is a light emitting layer (first and second light emitting layer, claim 1, lines 6-7), wherein the light emitting layer comprises at least one host (claim 1, line 6-7) and at least one dopant ((claim 1, line 6-7), and wherein the host is a compound represented by Formula A:
Compound A-20 of claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/715,729 reads on Formula A
wherein Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
R1 to R8 and R10 to R13 are hydrogens, and R9 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
X is oxygen
Regarding claim 2, copending Application No. 18/715,729 further teaches wherein R9 in Formula A is unsubstituted C6 aryl (Compound A-20 of claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/715,729 as depicted in paragraph 48 for claim 1 of the instant application).
Regarding claim 3, copending Application No. 18/715,729 further teaches Compound A-29 of claim 14 that reads on all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application and wherein R11 and R13 are unsubstituted C6 aryl
wherein Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
R1 to R10 and R12 are hydrogens
X is sulfur
Regarding claim 4, copending Application No. 18/715,729 further teaches wherein the compound represented by Formula A is compound 1
of the instant application (Compound A-20 from claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/715,729 as depicted in paragraph 48 for claim 1 of the instant application).
Regarding claim 5, copending Application No. 18/715,729 further teaches wherein the organic layers comprise a hole injecting layer (claim 15, line 4), a hole transport layer (claim 15, line 4), an electron transport layer (claim 15, line 5), and an electron injecting layer (claim 15, line 6).
Regarding claim 10, copending Application No. 18/715,729 further teaches wherein one or more of the layers are formed by a deposition or solution process (claim 21).
Regarding claim 11, copending Application No. 18/715,729 further teaches wherein the organic light emitting device is used in a display or lighting system selected from flat panel displays, flexible displays, monochromatic flat panel lighting systems, white flat panel lighting systems, flexible monochromatic lighting systems, flexible white lighting systems, displays for automotive applications, displays for virtual reality, and displays for augmented reality (claim 22).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/APCV/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789