DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-11 and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”) (CN 211530139 U, cited by Applicant; see English machine translation). Regarding claim s 1, 3 , 24, 26 and 27 , Li teaches a battery module housing 100 includ ing a main body 10 for accommodating battery cells and having an open end, and a fire box cover 20 (cooling member) that covers the open end of the main body 1 0. T he fire box cover 20 includes a channel structure 20a (inner space) in an upper plate 25 and a lower plate 26 that are interlocked (see paragraphs 40 and 51; FIGS. 1 and 3) . The lower plate 26 of the fire box cover 20 is provided with multiple first spray pipes 21 (first part) and a first hot melt valve core 22 for blocking the corresponding first spray pipes 21 on the side facing the main body 10 (see paragraph 40). T he first hot melt valve core 22 is made of a material with a low melting temperature, such as a low melting point alloy or plastic (see paragraph 41) . T he first hot melt valve core 22 may include a low-temperature hot melt layer 221 and a high-temperature hot melt layer 222 (fragile part) stacked together. The high-temperature hot melt layer 222 faces the main body 10, and the thickness of the low-temperature hot melt layer 221 is greater than the thickness of the high-temperature hot melt layer 222 (see paragraph 44) . When the battery cell s heat up or even burns, the hot melt valve core 22 in each first injection pipe 21 is melted. A fire-fighting medium (coolant) is then sprayed through each first injection pipe 21 to cool the battery cells or extinguish the fire (see paragraph 42) . B y taking advantage of the higher heat resistance of the high-temperature hot melt layer 222, and designing a reasonable thickness for the high-temperature hot melt layer 222, the effect of preventing accidental touches with low heat can be achieved (see paragraph 44) . As is best illustrated in FIG. 3, a thickness of the high-temperature hot melt layer 222 has a thickness that is only a fraction ( less than or equal to half ; first thickness ) of a thickness of the lower plate 26 in a region adjacent to the channel structure 20a (second part ; second thickness ). Regarding claim 2 , as is best illustrated in FIG. 3, the high-temperature hot melt layer 222 has the form of a thin strip having a length (long side) in a stacking direction of the battery cells that is greater than a thickness (short side) in a direction perpendicular thereto. Regarding claim 4 , it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc. , 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied , 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Regarding claim 5 , Li teaches that the fire box cover 20 is provided with multiple first spray pipes 21 that are arrayed at regular intervals so as to correspond to the positions of the electrode tabs of the battery cells (see paragraph 40; FIG. 2). Regarding claims 7 and 8 , Li teaches that the first hot melt valve core 22 is made of a material with a low melting temperature, such as a low melting point alloy (see paragraph 41). Regarding claims 9 and 10 , the limitations recited therein are considered product-by-process limitations. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe , 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113). Regarding claim 11 , as is best illustrated in FIG. 3 of Li, the upper plate 25 has a stamped convex portion (curved part) in a region corresponding to the first spray pipes 21, wherein the stamped convex portion protrudes (crest) relative the portions of the upper plate 25 in the regions adjacent to the first spray pipes 21 (trough). Regarding claims 25 and 28 , FIG. 1 of Li illustrates that the fire box cover 20 is the upper most element of the battery module housing 100. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 12-17, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (hereinafter “Wang”) (CN 112531231 A ; see English machine translation ) in view of Nakai et al. (hereinafter “Nakai”) ( JP 2019-029245 A, cited by Applicant; see English machine translation). Regarding claim s 12 -14 , 16 , Wang teaches a passive safety management battery pack 100 comprising multiple battery cells 10 and a liquid cooling device 20 (see paragraph 35). The liquid cooling device 20 includes a liquid cooling medium and is disposed at the top of the plurality of battery cells 10 (see paragraph 36). T he liquid cooling device 20 includes a plurality of spaced-apart cooling channels 210 (main body that provides a flow path) for circulating cooling medium and a plurality of fixed connector s 220 (fixing members) disposed between adjacent cooling channels 210 to fix the multiple cooling channels 210 together (see paragraphs 41 and 49) . The surface of each cooling channel 210 may be provided with a hot melt structure 201 such that, w hen one or more of the battery cells 10 in the passive safety management battery pack 100 experience thermal runaway, the released high-temperature flue gas and other ejected gases will melt the thermal fusion structure 201, and the internal liquid cooling medium will submerge the inside and outside of the battery from top to bottom, cooling the thermal runaway battery through evaporative heat exchange (see paragraphs 37 and 59). Wang does not explicitly teach a lower plate where a plurality of openings are formed, nor a cooling hose. Nakai teaches a storage device comprises a plurality of energy storage elements 10 and a pipeline section 6 capable of supplying a fire extinguishing agent to an energy storage element 10 that has caught fire (see paragraph 23) . The pipeline section 6 includes a heat-resistant tube 61 (main body) and a resin tube 6 2 (cooling hose), wherein the resin tube 62 is placed inside the heat-resistance tube 61 (see paragraph 45). Furthermore, t he heat-resistant tube 61 has multiple through holes 611A (openings) on a lower surface (lower plate) thereof facing a gas discharge valve of the energy storage element 10 (see paragraphs 46 and 47). W hen a fire breaks out from the gas discharge valve 1321 in any of the energy storage elements 10 , there is a through-hole 611A of the pipeline section 6 located opposite the gas discharge valve 1321. As a result, the resin tube 62 melts or softens and a hole is formed in a part of it, allowing the fire extinguishing agent to be efficiently supplied from the through-hole 611A toward the point of fire (see paragraph 50). Nakai further teaches that the pipeline section can have a tubular shape with a polygonal cross-section or the like (see paragraph 54). Additionally, the heat-resistant tube 61 and the resin tube 62 may have different cross-sectional shapes such that the inner surface of the heat-resistant tube 61 and the outer surface of the resin tube 62 may not be in contact in part or all of the circumferential direction (see paragraph 55) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the pipeline section of Nakai to the cooling channels of Wang because the all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claim 15 , Nakai teaches that the resin tube 62 softens at 100 to 200°C (see paragraph 50). Regarding claim 17 , it is understood from FIGS. 3 and 4 of Wang that in the combination of Wang with Nakai, both the heat-resistant tubes 61 and the resin tubes 62 would extend the full width of the battery pack 100. Regarding claim 22 , opposite ends of the cooling channels 210 constitute respective inlets and outlets. Although explicitly taught by Wang, it is well known in the art to provide a pump and a heat exchanger in a coolant loop within a battery pack in order to maintain a nominal operating temperature. It is clear that the figures of Wang have omitted elements such as fluid manifolds and the like, elsewise adjacent cooling channels would not be able to circulate the cooling medium in opposite directions. Regarding claim 23 , Nakai teaches that the pipeline section 6 may be branched (see paragraph 56). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT STEPHAN J ESSEX whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7866 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 6:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Barbara Gilliam can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-1330 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEPHAN J ESSEX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727