DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
2. Applicant filed the Request for Continued Examination on 09/19/2026. Claims 4-12 and 14-15 are pending. Claims 4, 12, and 14-15 are amended.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 14 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites “wherein the authentication server generated CVV or PIN matches …”, wherein after the underlined word “PIN” the word “code” is omitted.
Claim 15 recites “(iv) transmit the dynamic CVV code and the timestamp to an authentication server; and (v) at the…”, wherein underlined word “and” is extra.
Claim 15 recites “(v) at the authentication server… a server dynamic CVV from the same timestamp … the server dynamic CVV and…”, wherein after the underlined words “CVV” the word “code” is omitted and should be included.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 4-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Lack of antecedent basis
6. Claim 4 recites the limitation “said final sub-interval” in paragraph starting with “(viii) selecting …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
7. Claim 15 recites the limitations “the same timestamp” and “the transaction card's static CVV code” in paragraph starting with “(v) at the authentication…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
8. Claim 15 recites the limitation “the received dynamic CVV code” in paragraph starting with “(v) at the authentication…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because there is no previous step that the dynamic CVV code was received.
Unclear scope
9. “An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.” Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322.
10. Claim 15 recites “(v) at the authentication server… authenticate the received dynamic CVV code only upon a match between the server dynamic CVV and the transmitted dynamic CVV code, and upon said match, replace the dynamic CVV code …”.
It is not clear whether the underlined CVV codes: “the received dynamic CVV code”, “the transmitted dynamic CVV code”, and “the dynamic CVV code” are the same CVV codes or different ones.
11. “For example, if the language of a claim, given its broadest reasonable interpretation, is such that a person of ordinary skill in the relevant art would read it with more than one reasonable interpretation, then a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph is appropriate.” MPEP 2173.02 I.
12. Claims 5-12 and 14 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 because claims 5-12 and 14 inherit the deficiencies of claim 4 due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
14. Claims 4-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
15. In the instant case, claim 4 is directed to “system for generating a dynamic Card Verification Value (CVV) or Personal Identification Number (PIN) code” and claim 15 is directed to “system for generating a dynamic Card Verification Value (CVV) code”.
16. Claim 4 recites generating a number such as CVV or a PIN code. Specifically, the claim recites (abstract ideas is emphasized in bold) “(i) receiving a timestamp;
(ii) receiving an initial code and personal data related to said transaction card and/or a user of said transaction card;
(iii) calculating a secret key based on a predefined formula receiving as input the initial code, timestamp and the personal data;
(iv) performing a first statistical manipulation on the secret key based on an alphabet comprising digits of the secret key, a probability of occurrence of each digit in the secret key, and the digits of the initial code to reorder said alphabet accordingly;
(v) performing a second statistical manipulation based on selecting a digit from the reordered alphabet and partitioning a value interval of said digit to sub-intervals based on the probabilities of occurrence of the digits in the reordered alphabet;
(vi) performing a third statistical manipulation based on selecting a subsequent digit from the reordered alphabet and partitioning a corresponding interval of a digit previously partitioned in a prior step to obtain sub-intervals based on the probabilities of occurrence of the digits in the reordered alphabet;
(vii) repeating step (vi) for a predetermined number of times; and
(viii) selecting a number from said final sub-interval as the dynamic CVV or PIN code”. Subject matter grouped under “Certain methods of organizing human activity” (e.g., commercial or legal interactions) and/or “Mathematical concepts – mathematical calculations”, and an abstract idea in prong one of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04(a)).
17. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04 II), the additional elements of claim 4 such as “a computing system”, “at least one processor”, “at least one memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor”, and “a transaction card” represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. With respect to “receiving a timestamp” and “receiving an initial code and personal data related to said transaction card and/or user of said transaction card” is simply transmitting data, “[use] of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more, (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to (i.e., automate) the acts of generating a number such as CVV or a PIN code.
18. When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.04 II), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely describe the concept of generating a number such as CVV or a PIN code. Therefore, as the additional elements do no more than represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, they do not improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)).
19. Hence, claim 4 is not patent eligible.
20. Claim 15 recites generating a number such as CVV code. Specifically, the claim recites (abstract ideas is emphasized in bold) “(i) receive, by a mobile application associated with a transaction card, a request to generate a dynamic Card Verification Value (CVV) code, the request including a timestamp and personal data associated with said transaction card or a cardholder;
(ii) calculate a secret key based on a predefined formula receiving as inputs an initial code, the timestamp, and the personal data;
(iii) generate the dynamic CVV code by executing an adaptive arithmetic-coding procedure that:
(a) performs a first statistical manipulation on the secret key to define an alphabet, symbol probabilities, and a symbol order;
(b) iteratively partitions a current interval according to the probabilities and symbol order to obtain a final sub-interval; and
(c) selects a number from the final sub-interval as the dynamic CVV code;
(iv) transmit the dynamic CVV code and the timestamp to an authentication server; [and]
(v) at the authentication server, retrieve a stored copy of the initial code and personal data associated with the transaction card, independently calculate a server dynamic CVV from the same timestamp, the retrieved initial code, and the retrieved personal data and authenticate the received dynamic CVV code only upon a match between the server dynamic CVV and the transmitted dynamic CVV code, and upon said match, replace the dynamic CVV code with the transaction card's static CVV code for downstream clearing, thereby providing backward compatibility without changes to clearing systems; and
(vi) wherein the dynamic CVV code is activated only during a predefined validity window”. Subject matter grouped under “Certain methods of organizing human activity” (e.g., commercial or legal interactions) and/or “Mathematical concepts – mathematical calculations”, and an abstract idea in prong one of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04(a)).
21. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04 II), the additional elements of claim 15 such as “a computing system”, “at least one processor”, “at least one memory”, “a mobile application associated with a transaction card”, “an authentication server”, and “clearing systems” represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. With respect to “receive, by a mobile application associated with a transaction card, a request to generate a dynamic Card Verification Value (CVV) code, the request including a timestamp and personal data associated with said transaction card or a cardholder” and “transmit the dynamic CVV code and the timestamp to an authentication server” is simply transmitting data, “[use] of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more, (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to (i.e., automate) the acts of generating a number such as CVV code.
22. When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.04 II), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely describe the concept of generating a number such as CVV code. Therefore, as the additional elements do no more than represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, they do not improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)).
23. Hence, claim 15 is not patent eligible.
24. The following dependent claims recent additional elements not addressed above:
claim 5 recites “a mobile telephone”;
claim 6 recite “a personal computer”; and
claim 12 recites “an authentication server”.
When considered individually, and as a whole, each of these additional elements amount to merely “apply it”, as they are merely applying the abstract idea to the technical environment of the mobile telephone, the personal computer, and the authentication server.
Dependent claims 5-12 and 14 merely expand upon the abstract ideas of the independent claim, and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Conclusion of 35 USC §101
25. The claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not effect an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself; and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
26. Accordingly, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
30. Claims 4-6, 9-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20110225089A1 to Hammad in view of US20040076299A1 to Wang.
31. As per claim 4:
Hammad discloses the following limitations:
A computing system comprising: ([0088] “The various participants and elements of the system shown in FIG. 1 may operate one or more computer apparatuses to facilitate the functions described herein…”)
at least one processor ([0046] “The IP Gateway 152 can refers to an entity that includes one or more servers such as server computer 153 which include one or more computer readable mediums 154 and one or more processors 155…”)
at least one memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor comprising computer-readable instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations on the computing system ([0088] “…The interconnection via system bus allows the central processor 773 to communicate with each subsystem and to control the execution of instructions from system memory 772 or the fixed disk 779…”, [0089] “…The software code may be stored as a series of instructions, or commands on a computer-readable medium…”) implementing a method of generating a dynamic Card Verification Value (CVV) or Personal Identification Number (PIN) code for a transaction card, the method comprising: ([0020] “…The dynamically generated device verification value (also referred to as the dynamic card verification value or “dCVV2”) can be embedded into the payment data.”)
receiving a timestamp ([0068] “…The security values shown in FIG. 3 include a primary account number (PAN) 301, a refresh window 302, a request date 303, a request sequence number 304, a request type 305, and an issuer secret phrase 306…”, [0074] “…For example, a Julian date may be calculated from beginning of a calendar year and may include the number of days or minutes or seconds from the reference point…”)
(ii) receiving an initial code ([0079] “The issuer secret phrase 306 can refer to a unique secret phrase chosen by the issuer 160 or mutually agreed upon between the payment processing network 150 and the issuer 160…”, [0085] “…An issuer secret phrase ‘4321’ will also be used to generate the dynamic verification value…”) and personal data related to said transaction card and/or a user of said transaction card ([0072] “…Using the primary account number (PAN) 301 as an input is advantageous, because it results in a user-specific dynamic verification value.”)
(iii) calculating a secret key based on a predefined formula ([0067] “… In some embodiments, a function-based algorithm such as the Secure Hash Algorithm, also referred to as ‘SHA,’ is used to generate the dynamic verification value…”) receiving as input the initial code, timestamp and the personal data ([0081] “…The IP Gateway 152 sends three security values (PAN, request date, and issuer secret phrase) to SHA1 and a dynamic verification value is generated…”)
(viii) selecting a number from said final sub-interval as the dynamic CVV or PIN code ([0069] “…For example, if the output of the function-based algorithm is 128 bits, 24 bits that represent a 3-digit number (e.g. 123) may be chosen from the 128-bits result.”)
Hammad does not disclose, however, Wang, as shown, teaches the following limitations:
(iv) performing a first statistical manipulation on the secret key based on an alphabet comprising digits of the secret key ([0045] “2) Divide the current interval into smaller intervals such that each character has a corresponding smaller interval with a length proportional to its probability.”, [0049] “…Probabilities of characters are repeated in all three tables…”), a probability of occurrence of each digit in the secret key ([0049] “…Probabilities of characters are repeated in all three tables…”, [0045] “2) Divide the current interval into smaller intervals such that each character has a corresponding smaller interval with a length proportional to its probability.”), and the digits of the initial code to reorder said alphabet accordingly ([0050] “The basic idea of concealing information in the process of arithmetic coding is to use an encryption key to shuffle the interval table before the coding process …”, [0051] “…In step 910, the encryption key is used to initialize a pseudo random number generator. In step 920, the pseudo random number generator is used to shuffle the interval table…”, [claim 7] “…a method of introducing randomness into the process of the arithmetic coding by changing the order of dividing an interval into smaller intervals with an encryption key.”)
(v) performing a second statistical manipulation based on selecting a digit from the reordered alphabet ([0046] “3) From these new intervals, choose the one corresponding to the next character in the message.”, [0051] “…In step 930, the arithmetic coding process is performed on the input message in its usual fashion.”) and partitioning a value interval of said digit to sub-intervals based on the probabilities of occurrence of the digits in the reordered alphabet ([0045] “2) Divide the current interval into smaller intervals such that each character has a corresponding smaller interval with a length proportional to its probability.”, [0050] “…Without the encryption key, the interval table cannot be shuffled in the same way and the division of an interval into smaller intervals won't be the same…”)
(vi) performing a third statistical manipulation based on selecting a subsequent digit from the reordered alphabet ([0047] “4) Continue to do steps 2) and 3) until the whole message is coded.”, [0046] “3) From these new intervals, choose the one corresponding to the next character in the message.”) and partitioning a corresponding interval of a digit previously partitioned in a prior step to obtain sub-intervals based on the probabilities of occurrence of the digits in the reordered alphabet ([0045] “2) Divide the current interval into smaller intervals such that each character has a corresponding smaller interval with a length proportional to its probability.”, [0047] “4) Continue to do steps 2) and 3) until the whole message is coded.”)
(vii) repeating step (vi) for a predetermined number of times ([0047] “4) Continue to do steps 2) and 3) until the whole message is coded.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for performing data encryption and data compression simultaneously of Wang (‘299, [0002]) with the teaching of Hammad for generating dynamic verification values for use in the electronic payment transactions (‘089, [0006]) for enhancing the method for generating dynamic verification values of Hammad with features of operating on an alphabet of message characters, that character of the alphabet has a probability that sizes its interval, shuffling by the encryption key the interval table before the coding process, choosing from the reordered table the interval of the next symbol, wherein the selected interval is divided into smaller intervals proportional to symbol probabilities, repeating the step of dividing into smaller intervals proportional to symbol probabilities, and repeating partitioning step once per symbol until the whole message is coded (‘299, [0045]-[0047], [0049], [0050], [claim 7]).
32. As per claim 5:
Hammad discloses the following limitations:
wherein the computing system is implemented on a mobile telephone ([0065] “In another embodiment, the user 110 requests and receives the dynamic verification value using the mobile device 118…”, [0054] “In the embodiments of the invention, a dynamic verification value may be generated by the server computer 153 in the IP Gateway 152 and delivered to a user communication device such as the verification token 122 and the mobile device 118…”)
33. As per claim 6:
Hammad discloses the following limitations:
wherein the computing system is implemented on a personal computer ([0039] “The user computer 120 may be a personal computer or a laptop…”, [0066] “…In another example, a program application running on the user computer 120 or a secure chip embedded in the user computer 120 may send a request to the IP Gateway 152 for a dynamic verification value…”)
34. As per claim 9:
Hammad does not disclose, however, Wang, as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the dynamic CVV or PIN is any number in the last calculated interval ([0043] “In arithmetic coding, a message of any length is coded as a real number between 0 and 1…”, [0048] “5) Represent the interval's value using a binary fraction.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for performing data encryption and data compression simultaneously of Wang (‘299, [0002]) with the teaching of Hammad for generating dynamic verification values for use in the electronic payment transactions (‘089, [0006]) for enhancing the method for generating dynamic verification values of Hammad with features of representing the coded result by a value within the last calculated interval (‘299, [0043], [0048]).
35. As per claim 10:
Hammad does not disclose, however, Wang, as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the dynamic CVV or PIN is a predefined number in the last calculated interval (i.e. first, last, half, X%, random) ([0049] “…The number 0.36864 is the final result of the arithmetic coding…”, [0052] “…The number 0.0477 is the final result of the arithmetic coding.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for performing data encryption and data compression simultaneously of Wang (‘299, [0002]) with the teaching of Hammad for generating dynamic verification values for use in the electronic payment transactions (‘089, [0006]) for enhancing the method for generating dynamic verification values of Hammad with features of outputting a specific number from the final interval as the result (‘299, [0049], [0052]).
36. As per claim 11:
Hammad does not disclose, however, Wang, as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein step (vi) is repeated in correlation with the number of digits in the initial code ([0047] “4) Continue to do steps 2) and 3) until the whole message is coded.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for performing data encryption and data compression simultaneously of Wang (‘299, [0002]) with the teaching of Hammad for generating dynamic verification values for use in the electronic payment transactions (‘089, [0006]) for enhancing the method for generating dynamic verification values of Hammad with features of repeating the interval partitioning step once per symbol, so the number of repetitions correlates with the number of symbols coded (‘299, [0047]).
37. As per claim 12:
Hammad discloses the following limitations:
wherein execution of the instructions by the at least one processor further causes the at least one processor to transmit to an authentication server the generated dynamic CVV or PIN ([0055] “ Before or after sending the dynamic verification value to a user communication device, the server computer 153 may also send the dynamic verification value to the server computer 155 in the payment processing network 150…”, [0056] “… After it receives transaction details including the payment amount and the dynamic verification value, the merchant website 130 then generates an authorization request message which is sent to the acquirer 140. The acquirer 140 forwards the authorization request message to the payment processing network 150…”) and the timestamp ([0082] “…Therefore, by knowing the issuer secret phrase, the issuer 160 is able to regenerate the same exact dynamic verification value by extracting the PAN and request date from the authorization request message, and supplying these values along with the issuer secret phrase to the algorithm (SHA1)…”), wherein the authentication server is configured to generate a dynamic CVV or PIN ([0028] “…The issuer utilizes the same type of function-based algorithm and inputs the same security values (including the issuer secret phrase) to regenerate the dynamic verification value.”), and to determine whether the authentication server dynamic CVV or PIN matches the transmitted the dynamic CVV or PIN ([0028] “In the embodiments of the invention, issuers of portable consumer devices (e.g. credit and debit cards) are able to independently verify the accuracy of the dynamic verification value that they receive along with an authorization request message…”, [0057] “The payment processing network 150 determines whether the dynamic verification value that was included in the authorization request message matches the copy that was provided by the IP Gateway 152…”)
38. As per claim 14:
Hammad discloses the following limitations:
wherein the authentication server generated CVV or PIN matches the transmitted dynamic CVV or PIN code ([0064] “…If they match, the payment processing network 150 sends the authorization request message to the issuer 160…”)
39. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20110225089A1 to Hammad in view of US20040076299A1 to Wang and US20120153028A1 to Poznansky et al.
40. As per claim 7:
Neither Hammad nor Wang disclose, however, Poznansky et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the initial code is the transaction card's static CVV or PIN code ([0056] “…In order to avoid a huge random number database and to facilitate a stand alone system without any dependency or external server communication, one can use the static CVV number as the Private Key 2111…The XOR gate 2113 will enable to choose the private key 2109 used and then we will multiply the private key with the card ID 2108—the embossed numbers 230 on the front side 200 of the card 100…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for performing data encryption and data compression simultaneously of Wang (‘299, [0002]) and transaction cards with improved security features such as a dynamic Card Verification Value (CVV) code generator of Poznansky et al. (‘028, [0002]) with the teaching of Hammad for generating dynamic verification values for use in the electronic payment transactions (‘089, [0006]) for enhancing the method for generating dynamic verification values of Hammad with features of having the card's static CVV which is used as the private key, i.e., the initial code, and multiplied with the card ID to compute the dynamic CVV (‘028, [0056]).
41. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20110225089A1 to Hammad in view of US20040076299A1 to Wang and US20200007536A1 to Piel.
42. As per claim 8:
Neither Hammad nor Wang disclose, however, Piel, as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the timestamp has 16 digits ([0005] “…The AC computing device receives a first authentication request from a requesting computer device including an account identifier, a first timestamp, and at least one authentication factor…”, [0049] “…In one embodiment, an authentication rule includes an integer configured such that, when subtracted from a UNIX timestamp, the result is a second UNIX timestamp defining a lower limit for authentication factor data…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for performing data encryption and data compression simultaneously of Wang (‘299, [0002]) and methods for authenticating network users by using previous multifactor authentications when processing current authentication requests of Piel (‘536, [0001]) with the teaching of Hammad for generating dynamic verification values for use in the electronic payment transactions (‘089, [0006]) for enhancing the method for generating dynamic verification values of Hammad with features of presenting a numeric machine timestamp (a UNIX timestamp) received with a request a UNIX timestamp in seconds (‘028, [0005], [0049]).
43. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20110225089A1 to Hammad in view of US20040076299A1 to Wang and US20210326890A1 to Aravamudhan et al.
44. As per claim 15:
Hammad discloses the following limitations:
A computing system comprising ([0088] “The various participants and elements of the system shown in FIG. 1 may operate one or more computer apparatuses to facilitate the functions described herein…”) at least one processor ([0046] “The IP Gateway 152 can refers to an entity that includes one or more servers such as server computer 153 which include one or more computer readable mediums 154 and one or more processors 155…”) and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the system to: ([0088] “…The interconnection via system bus allows the central processor 773 to communicate with each subsystem and to control the execution of instructions from system memory 772 or the fixed disk 779…”, [0089] “…The software code may be stored as a series of instructions, or commands on a computer-readable medium…”)
receive, by a mobile application associated with a transaction card, a request to generate a dynamic Card Verification Value (CVV) code ([0065] “In another embodiment, the user 110 requests and receives the dynamic verification value using the mobile device 118. The user 110 then initiates a request by sending an SMS from the mobile device 118 to the IP Gateway 152…”, [0066] “… In another example, a program application running on the user computer 120 or a secure chip embedded in the user computer 120 may send a request to the IP Gateway 152 for a dynamic verification value…”), the request including a timestamp ([0074] “Request date 303 may be the date on which the request for dynamic verification value is made which may also correspond to the date that the electronic payment transaction takes place…”) and personal data associated with said transaction card or a cardholder ([0063] “…The verification token 122 encrypts the card data and sends them to the IP Gateway 152 via the previously established SSL session described above…”)
(ii) calculate a secret key based on a predefined formula ([0067] “…In some embodiments, a function-based algorithm such as the Secure Hash Algorithm, also referred to as “SHA,” is used to generate the dynamic verification value…”) receiving as inputs an initial code, the timestamp, and the personal data ([0081] “…The IP Gateway 152 sends three security values (PAN, request date, and issuer secret phrase) to SHA1 and a dynamic verification value is generated…”)
(iii) generate the dynamic CVV code … ([0070] “…The security values that are selected are provided to a function-based algorithm and a dynamic verification value is generated (step 403)…”)
performs a first statistical manipulation on the secret key to define an alphabet … ([0069] “In some embodiments, the dynamic verification value may be a 3-digit number (i.e. 24 bits) and may be obtained from choosing any combination of 24 bits of the output of the function-based algorithm, provided that each 8-bits of the 24-bits translates into a numerical value (i.e. 0 to 9)…”)
(c) selects a number from the final sub-interval as the dynamic CVV code ([0069] “…For example, if the output of the function-based algorithm is 128 bits, 24 bits that represent a 3-digit number (e.g. 123) may be chosen from the 128-bits result.”
(iv) transmit the dynamic CVV code ([0056] “… After it receives transaction details including the payment amount and the dynamic verification value, the merchant website 130 then generates an authorization request message which is sent to the acquirer 140. The acquirer 140 forwards the authorization request message to the payment processing network 150…”) and the timestamp to an authentication server ([0082] “…Therefore, by knowing the issuer secret phrase, the issuer 160 is able to regenerate the same exact dynamic verification value by extracting the PAN and request date from the authorization request message, and supplying these values along with the issuer secret phrase to the algorithm (SHA1)…”)
(v) at the authentication server, retrieve a stored copy of the initial code and personal data associated with the transaction card ([0043] “…This information includes data associated with the account on the portable consumer device 112 such as profile information, data, and other suitable information. Such data may be stored in one or more databases such as the database 159 and accessible by one or more server computers such as the server computer 155.”), independently calculate a server dynamic CVV from the same timestamp, the retrieved initial code, and the retrieved personal data ([0028] “…The issuer utilizes the same type of function-based algorithm and inputs the same security values (including the issuer secret phrase) to regenerate the dynamic verification value.”) and authenticate the received dynamic CVV code only upon a match between the server dynamic CVV and the transmitted dynamic CVV code ([0079] “…In the event that the issuer 160 wants to independently verify the dynamic verification value, it can use the algorithm to regenerate the same exact dynamic verification value that is in an authorization request message.”, [0057] “…In one embodiment, if the dynamic verification values do not match, payment processing network 150 may decline the transaction on behalf of the issuer 160…”)… thereby providing backward compatibility without changes to clearing systems ([0024] “Embodiments of the present invention are able to maintain or improve existing user experiences, minimize the impact on merchant processes/systems, leverage existing network data transport mechanisms, utilize existing issuer validation infrastructure, support multiple forms of implementation, and maintain consistency with broader authentication strategy.”)
(vi) wherein the dynamic CVV code is activated only during a predefined validity window ([0073] “Refresh window 302 indicates the amount of time for which a generated dynamic verification value remains valid or that a previously generated dynamic verification value may be reused…”)
Hammad does not disclose, however, Wang, as shown, teaches the following limitations:
[(iii) generate] … by executing an adaptive arithmetic-coding procedure that: ([0050] “The basic idea of concealing information in the process of arithmetic coding is to use an encryption key to shuffle the interval table before the coding process…”, [0051] “…In step 930, the arithmetic coding process is performed on the input message in its usual fashion.”)
[(a) performs] … symbol probabilities ([0049] “…Probabilities of characters are repeated in all three tables…”, [0045] “2) Divide the current interval into smaller intervals such that each character has a corresponding smaller interval with a length proportional to its probability.”), and a symbol order ([0050] “The basic idea of concealing information in the process of arithmetic coding is to use an encryption key to shuffle the interval table before the coding process…”, [0051] “…In step 910, the encryption key is used to initialize a pseudo random number generator. In step 920, the pseudo random number generator is used to shuffle the interval table…”, [claim 7] “… a method of introducing randomness into the process of the arithmetic coding by changing the order of dividing an interval into smaller intervals with an encryption key.”)
(b) iteratively partitions a current interval according to the probabilities and symbol order ([0045] “2) Divide the current interval into smaller intervals such that each character has a corresponding smaller interval with a length proportional to its probability.”, [0047] “4) Continue to do steps 2) and 3) until the whole message is coded.”, [0050] “…Without the encryption key, the interval table cannot be shuffled in the same way and the division of an interval into smaller intervals won't be the same…”) to obtain a final sub-interval ([0047] “4) Continue to do steps 2) and 3) until the whole message is coded.”, [0048] “5) Represent the interval's value using a binary fraction.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for performing data encryption and data compression simultaneously of Wang (‘299, [0002]) with the teaching of Hammad for generating dynamic verification values for use in the electronic payment transactions (‘890, [0006]) for enhancing the method for generating dynamic verification values of Hammad with features of executing arithmetic coding whose interval table depends on the key, defining probabilities for the alphabet, and the key-seeded shuffle of the interval table defines the symbol order and repeatedly dividing in proportion to symbol probabilities and in the order set by the shuffled table and iteration continues until the whole message is coded (‘299, [0045], [0047], [0049], [0050], [claim 7]).
Neither Hammad nor Wang disclose, however, Aravamudhan et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
[(v) at the authentication] … and upon said match, replace the dynamic CVV code with the transaction card's static CVV code for downstream clearing ([0042] “… For various use cases, a call may be made to a new TCVV2 service to generate a Temporal CVV2 which may then be sent back to an existing CVV2 field…”, [0041] “…HSM API 418 may be called to validate a static CVV2 over the TLS layer, via 426…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for performing data encryption and data compression simultaneously of Wang (‘299, [0002]) and a method for generating and providing a Temporal CVV2 for secure online transaction processing of Aravamudhan et al. (‘890, [0001]) with the teaching of Hammad for generating dynamic verification values for use in the electronic payment transactions (‘089, [0006]) for enhancing the method for generating dynamic verification values of Hammad with features of having the Temporal CVV2 and the static CVV2 that are interchangeable in the existing CVV2 field and both are validated (‘890, [0041], [0042]).
Response to Arguments
45. After careful consideration of applicant arguments, the examiner finds them to be not persuasive. Claims 4-12 and 14-15 are rejected.
Rejection under 35 USC § 101
46. Applicant is of the opinion that “[the] Claims Recite a Technological Improvement to Network Functionality”, and states that the claimed invention is analogous to DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, (Fed. Cir. 2014) and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Unlike DDR, where the click of a hyperlink would cause an e-commerce website to lose a customer to a rival e-commerce website, there is no such business or technical problem confronting the user. Applicant’s invention does not set out to solve any specific business or technological challenges comparable to that in DDR. There is no risk of losing business to a rival because of a mouse click. The claimed invention does not involve internet browsing and its associated challenges. Nor do the claims describe any technical solutions to any problem. Generating a dynamic Card Verification Value (CVV) or Personal Identification Number (PIN) code for a transaction card is not even remotely comparable to navigating a merchant website. Hence, the DDR analogy does not apply here.
Moreover, Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016),[1] is related to a patent–eligibility of software patent claims, wherein the claims were directed to a specific improvement to the way computers operate, embodied in the claimed “self-referential table” for a database, which the relevant prior art did not contain.
Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to the abstract idea.
47. Applicant is of the opinion that “the claimed invention represents a specific technological improvement to payment card security systems that goes well beyond abstract ideas or conventional computer implementation”, and referring to Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The rejection was not based on conventional elements. To the contrary, the claims are directed to the abstract idea of generating a number such as CVV or a PIN code (e.g., (claim 4) “…the at least one processor to perform operations on the computing system implementing a method of generating a dynamic Card Verification Value (CVV) or Personal Identification Number (PIN) code …”; (PGPub, para 10) “The present invention relates to a computing system… to implement a method of generating a dynamic Card Verification Value (CVV) code for a transaction card…”) and does not improve functioning of a computer or computer technology.
Applicant's argument that the steps - the adaptive arithmetic-coding procedure-including initializing a model to define symbol probabilities and symbol order and iteratively partitioning a current interval - are part of the abstract idea and not additional elements and that is why Berkheimer analysis does not apply to them. Examiner notes that Applicant completely misapprehend storing data on non-volatile memory, releasing data based on SMS OTP trigger are merely insignificant extra solution activities or using a computer to carry out certain methods of organizing human activity on additional elements is not well-understood, routine, conventional activities. See MPEP 2106.05(g) Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity.
The claims are not patent eligible.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)
48. Rejection of claim 15 under “New matter” due to amendment is withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
49. Some of rejections of claims 4 and 15 under “Lack of antecedent basis” and claim 15 under “Unclear scope” due to amendments are withdrawn.
Conclusion
50. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20070136211A1 – Brown et al. – Discloses a payment card comprises an internal dynamic card verification value (CVV) generator and a user display for card-not-present transactions, wherein card-present transactions with merchant card readers are enabled by a dynamic magnetic array internally associated with the card's magnetic stripe.
US20200226608A1 – Muralidharan et al. – Discloses methods and systems for payment card transactions, where a Card Verification Value (CVV) or Card Verification Code (CVC) is generated dynamically as part of a tokenized session.
US20160217471A1 – Ashfield – Discloses a method and apparatus for using at least a portion of a one-time password as a dynamic card verification value (CVV) wherein a credit/debit card is able to generate a dynamic card verification value (CVV).
/AMANULLA ABDULLAEV/Examiner, Art Unit 3692
/RYAN D DONLON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3692 October 26, 2026