DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed December 15, 2025. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 16-30 were previously pending; no claims were cancelled and no claims were added by amendment; and thus, claims 16-30 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered.
The Applicant's first point (page 10-12 of Remarks) amends the specification and drawings to better show that the prior amendment was not new material. The Applicant goes on to argue that the new material has already been taught in Figure 4 of the present application. The Examiner finds this explanation acceptable, thus the specification objection will be removed and the newly submitted drawings are accepted.
The Applicant's second point (page 12-15 of Remarks) amends claims 16 and 30 to include new limitations. The new limitation claims, “the first depressions and/or elevations are arranged next to one another in rows, wherein two adjacent rows of the rows define a flow path, wherein at least one of the rows comprises a plurality of the first depressions and/or elevations, and wherein the plurality of the first depressions and/or elevations of the at least one of the rows each have a cruciform design in the form of a plus sign.” The Applicant goes on to argue that this new limitation is not taught by FROEHLICH (DE 102016216019) in tandem with the previously presented limitation, “a cruciform design in the form of a plus sign.” The Examiner disagrees with the Applicant, FROEHLICH meets all the new limitations added by the new amendment shown below, therefor the 102 rejection is upheld.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation " rows " in the end of claim 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because rows are also presented in claim 16. It is unclear if the Applicant is referring to the previously presented rows in claim 16. Therefore, in order to further the examination, the Examiner will assume these are a different set of rows presented in claim 19 than claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 19-22, and 24-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated FROEHLICH (DE 102016216019 A1).
Regarding claim 16, FROEHLICH teaches:
A cooling assembly (Fig 25; 2)for cooling an electrical machine (Fig 25; 3)of a drive assembly for a vehicle[0016,0018], the cooling assembly comprising:
a cooling channel (Fig 14-22; 22) for conducting a cooling medium with an inlet (Fig 14-22; 17)for introducing the cooling medium into the cooling channel (Fig 14-22; 22)and with an outlet (Fig 14-22; 18)for discharging the cooling medium from the cooling channel[0061],
wherein the cooling channel (Fig 14-22; 22)has a receiving region (Fig 25; R1)for receiving the electrical machine(Fig 25; 3),
wherein the cooling assembly(Fig 25; 2) comprises an insert (Fig 24; shows the whole insert)with at least one insertion part (Fig 22; 1 shows the insertion part)for generating turbulence (Fig 27/28 show how various pins and turbulator found on Fig 14-22 generate turbulence) of the cooling medium within the cooling channel,
wherein the insert (Fig 24)is arranged in a space surrounding the receiving region (Fig 23; R1)for the electrical machine(Fig 25; 3), within the cooling channel
wherein the insertion part (Fig 22; 1)has a two-part design, and the insertion part(Fig 22; 1) comprises a first element (Fig 22; 19/29 and other turbulators)and a second element (Fig 22; 4),
wherein the first element(Fig 21; 19/29 and other turbulators) has first depressions and/or elevations (Fig 21; 19) for generating flow vortices[0060],
wherein the first depressions and/or elevations(Fig 21; 19) are arranged next to one another in rows(shown in Fig 20 and Fig 21 elevations 19 are formed in rows),
wherein two adjacent rows (the top oriented elevations 19 for a top row, while the bottom oriented elevations 19 for a bottom row) of the rows define a flow path(Fig 20; 22),
wherein at least one of the rows comprises a plurality of the first depressions and/or elevations(Fig 20; 19), and
wherein the plurality of the first depressions and/or elevations(Fig 21; 19) of the at least one of the rows each have a cruciform design in the form of a plus sign(shape outline in annotated Fig 20).
Regarding claim 19, FROEHLICH teaches the cooling assembly according to Claim 16:
wherein the first element (Fig 20/21; 19/29 and other turbulators) has a plurality of structural regions (Fig 20; S1), wherein within a structural region(Fig 20; S1), the first (Fig 20; 19)depressions and/or elevations, second (Fig 20; 29)depressions and/or elevations and/or third (Fig 20; 28)depressions and/or elevations are arranged next to one another in rows(shown in Fig 20/21), wherein two adjacent rows(Fig 20; 22’) define a flow path through the structural region(Fig 20; S1).
Regarding claim 20, FROEHLICH teaches the cooling assembly according to Claim 19:
wherein exclusively third (Fig 20; 28) depressions and/or elevations are arranged in the two outermost rows(as shown in Fig 20, third elevation 28 make up the outer boundary of each structural region S1).
Regarding claim 21, FROEHLICH teaches the cooling assembly according to Claim 19:
wherein the rows(Fig 20; 22’) lying between the two outermost rows each begin with a first (Fig 20; 19)depression and/or elevation or a second (Fig 20; 29)depression and/or elevation(Fig 20 shows all rows starting with a first elevation 19; first elevation 19 spans the whole path therefore it is the starting and finishing point of the row).
Regarding claim 22, FROEHLICH teaches the cooling assembly according to Claim 19:
wherein the rows (Fig 20; 22’)lying between the two outermost rows each end with a first(Fig 20; 19) depression and/or elevation or a third(Fig 20; 28) depression and/or elevation(Fig 20 shows all rows ending with a first elevation 19; first elevation 19 spans the whole path therefore it is the starting and finishing point of the row).
Regarding claim 24, FROEHLICH teaches the cooling assembly according to Claim 19:
wherein within two adjacent rows lying between the two outermost rows, the first(Fig 20; 19) depressions and/or elevations are arranged at an offset from one another(Fig 20 shows first elevation 19 offset in alternating rows 22’).
Regarding claim 25, FROEHLICH teaches the cooling assembly according to Claim 19:
wherein a structure-free region (Fig 20; F1)is arranged between two adjacent structural regions(Fig 20; S1)(when in the cylindrical shape the structure-free region F1 will be surrounded by two structure regions S1).
Regarding claim 26, FROEHLICH teaches the cooling assembly according to Claim 25:
wherein the inlet (Fig 20; 17)and/or outlet (Fig 20; 18)are configured in such a way that the inlet(Fig 20; 17) and/or outlet (Fig 20; 18)each open into a structure-free region(Fig 20; F1) or between two adjacent first elements.
Regarding claim 27, FROEHLICH teaches the cooling assembly according to Claim 16:
wherein the second element (Fig 20; 4)is configured as a support body [abstract] for the first element (Fig 20; 19/29/other turbulent)and/or for the electrical machine.
Regarding claim 28, FROEHLICH teaches the cooling assembly according to Claim 16:
wherein the first element(Fig 20; 19/29/other turbulent) is designed as a deep-drawn (beading is a type of deep drawn process[0008])part and/or that the second element (Fig 20; 4)is designed as an injection-molded part( plastic molded can easily be injected [0008]).
Regarding claim 29, FROEHLICH teaches the cooling assembly according to Claim 16:
wherein the at least one insertion part(Fig 24; shows the whole insert) includes, two insert parts(Fig 24;30/31).
Regarding claim 30, FROEHLICH teaches:
A drive assembly, for a vehicle [0016,0018], the drive assembly comprising:
an electrical machine(Fig 25; 3); and
a cooling assembly (Fig 25; 2), wherein the cooling assembly comprises a cooling channel (Fig 14-22; 22) for conducting a cooling medium with an inlet (Fig 14-22; 17)for introducing the cooling medium into the cooling channel (Fig 14-22; 22)and with an outlet (Fig 14-22; 18)for discharging the cooling medium from the cooling channel[0061],
wherein the cooling channel (Fig 14-22; 22)has a receiving region (Fig 25; R1)for receiving the electrical machine(Fig 25; 3),
wherein the cooling assembly(Fig 25; 2) comprises an insert (Fig 24; shows the whole insert)with at least one insertion part (Fig 22; 1 shows the insertion part)for generating turbulence (Fig 27/28 show how various pins and turbulator found on Fig 14-22 generate turbulence) of the cooling medium within the cooling channel,
wherein the insert (Fig 24)is arranged in a space surrounding the receiving region (Fig 23; R1)for the electrical machine(Fig 25; 3), within the cooling channel
wherein the insertion part (Fig 22; 1)has a two-part design, and the insertion part(Fig 22; 1) comprises a first element (Fig 22; 19/29 and other turbulators)and a second element (Fig 22; 4), and
wherein the first element(Fig 21; 19/29 and other turbulators) has first depressions and/or elevations (Fig 21; 19) for generating flow vortices[0060],
wherein the first depressions and/or elevations(Fig 21; 19) are arranged next to one another in rows(shown in Fig 20 and Fig 21 elevations 19 are formed in rows),
wherein two adjacent rows (the top oriented elevations 19 for a top row, while the bottom oriented elevations 19 for a bottom row) of the rows define a flow path(Fig 20; 22),
wherein at least one of the rows comprises a plurality of the first depressions and/or elevations(Fig 20; 19), and
wherein the plurality of the first depressions and/or elevations(Fig 21; 19) of the at least one of the rows each have a cruciform design in the form of a plus sign(shape outline in annotated Fig 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over an embodiment of FROEHLICH (DE 102016216019 A1) in view of another different embodiment of FROEHLICH (DE 102016216019 A1).
In regards to claim 17, FROEHLICH (Fig. 20-21) teaches the cooling assembly according to claim 16:
wherein the first element (Fig 21; 19/29 and other turbulators)has a plurality of second depressions and/or elevations (Fig 21; 29) for generating flow vortices[0066].
FROEHLICH (Fig 20-21) does not teach:
wherein the second depressions and/or elevations each have a preferably T-shaped design.
FROEHLICH (Fig. 18) teaches:
wherein the second depressions and/or elevations each have a preferably T-shaped design(Fig 18; 20/21)(t-shape annotated in Fig 18 [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Fig 20/21 embodiment of FROEHLICH by using the T-shaped design for the second elevations taught by FROEHLICH in the embodiment of Fig 18/19 in order to prevent the cooling liquid flowing directly between the openings [0061 FROEHLICH].
In regards to claim 18, FROEHLICH (Fig. 20-21) teaches the cooling assembly according to claim 16:
wherein the first element (Fig 21; 19/29 and other turbulators)has a plurality of third depressions and/or elevations (Fig 21; 29) for generating flow vortices[0061].
FROEHLICH (Fig. 20-21) does not teach:
wherein the third depressions and/or elevations each have a preferably elongate, in particular cuboidal, design.
FROEHLICH (Fig. 11) teaches:
wherein the third depressions and/or elevations each have a preferably elongate, in particular cuboidal, design(Fig 11; 14)( elongate cuboidal shape in Fig 11 [0057].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Fig 20/21 embodiment of FROEHLICH by using the elongate cuboidal shape design for the second elevations taught by FROEHLICH in the embodiment of Fig 11 in order to enable an optimal increase in heat transfer with only a low pressure loss, since the cross-sections shown generate a relatively low flow resistance within the cooling jacket [0057 FROEHLICH].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 23: The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: FROEHLICH teaches:
wherein the rows lying between the two outermost rows are each formed.
However. FROEHLICH does not teach:
except for the first and the last depression and/or elevation arranged within the respective row, exclusively from first depressions and/or elevations.(The underlined is allowable subject matter.)
Claim 23 is objected to, and not rejected, because the limitation of, except for the first and the last depression and/or elevation arranged within the respective row, exclusively from first depressions and/or elevations, is too specific which makes it novel.
It should also be brough to the examiners attention that claim 19 also contain allowable subject matter when given proper antecedent basis and dependency. Claim 17 and 18 introduce the second and third elevation with shape limitation, but claim 19 depends from claim 16 and does not contain those shape limitations. If claim 19 were to contain the shape limitations of claims 17 and 18 it would also be found in allowable condition.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834