DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendment and remarks, filed 9/3/26, are acknowledged.
Claims 1-4, 6-10 have been amended.
Claims 11-12 have been added.
Claims 1-4, 6-12 are pending.
Claims 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1-4, 6, and 11-12 are being acted upon.
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s claim amendments.
The following are new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2017/0258835 (of record).
The ‘835 application teaches a method of treating cancer, comprising administering modified T cells that are engineered to express a bispecific antibody, wherein the bispecific antibody binds to CD3 and a tumor antigen (see claims 145-148, 165, page 1-2, paragraph 463, and Example 4, in particular). See example 4, in particular, wherein purified T cells (which express surface CD3) are engineered to express the bispecific antibody, and the antibody binds to CD3 on the T cells and activates the T cells (see pages 42 ,62-63, Fig. 38, and description thereof, and Fig. 104, in particular). The ‘835 publication exemplifies using Blinatumomab as the bispecific antibody, i.e. a bispecific antibody that binds to CD3 and CD19, see example 4, in particular). The ‘853 publication teaches embodiments wherein the T cells do not express any CAR (see Fig. 42 and Example 4 and the claims in particular). In example 4, the administered T cells are xenogeneic with respect to the treated subject (see page 43, 64, and Fig. 42). However, the ‘835 application explicitly teaches that the examples are not limiting but encompass all variations that result from the teachings herein, and the ‘835 publication explicitly teaches that T cells may be allogeneic with respect to the subject undergoing therapy (see paragraph page 38 and 465, in particular). Thus, the ordinary artisan would at once envisage that the cancer treating method using T cells engineered to express the bispecific antibody could be allogeneic. Alternatively, it would be obvious to select allogenic T cells for the cancer treating embodiment with the bispecific antibody based on the explicit teachings of the cited reference. The ‘835 publication teaches treating human subjects (See paragraph 463, in particular). The ‘835 publication teaches producing the T cells by a process comprising purifying T cells, such as from peripheral blood (T cells comprising CD3+, ab T cells) and engineering the cells to express the bispecific antibody (see pages 21-22, 34 and the examples, in particular).
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Amy E. Juedes
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
/AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644