DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office action is in response to Applicant’s filing 09/07/2023. Claims 1-11 are pending. The effective filing date of the claimed invention is 04/23/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0046023 to Reevell (“Reevell”) in view of WO2014/086802 to Camus (“Camus”).
With regard to claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, and 11, Reevell discloses the claimed aerosol generating article for use with an aerosol generating device (see e.g. Fig. 22-23), the aerosol generating article comprising:
a substantially planar aerosol generating substrate (see Fig. 22-23
);
a wrapping member surrounding the substantially planar aerosol generating substrate to form a substantially planar aerosol generating article (see e.g. [0012], [0037] [0042-43] [0097]);
wherein the wrapping member comprises a window aligned with part of the aerosol generating substrate (Reevell does not disclose this limitation. Camus teaches at e.g. abstract, page 1 line 29-31, page 8 line 15-35, page 9 line 1-6, that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the aerosol generating device art to include a wrapper having a window aligned with part of the substrate (abstract, “A sheet of paper material is Provided and comprises a window in the paper material. . . . The sheet of paper material is wrapped around at least a portion of the transparent wrapper (18) so that an underlying mouthpiece segment can be viewed through the window and the substantially transparent wrapper (18).”) See Camus at page 9, line 1-6, “Alternatively, or in addition, the paper wrapper may include a window which overlies at least a portion of a filter segment which includes a particulate material so that a consumer can observe the particulate material through the window and the substantially transparent layer. Where the paper wrapper also includes a window overlying a cavity within the mouthpiece, these may be the same window extending over both portions of the mouthpiece or they may be different windows.”). For claim 2, see Camus at e.g. page 1 line 30, page 8 line 21, cut out window in sheet material. For claim 3, Revell discloses the main surface as the outside surface of the device; Camus at e.g. Fig. 1 and 2 show that the window is less than the whole main surface. For claim 4, See Camus at page 9, line 1-6, “Alternatively, or in addition, the paper wrapper may include a window which overlies at least a portion of a filter segment which includes a particulate material so that a consumer can observe the particulate material through the window and the substantially transparent layer. Where the paper wrapper also includes a window overlying a cavity within the mouthpiece, these may be the same window extending over both portions of the mouthpiece or they may be different windows.” For claim 7, Reevell discloses the flat planar surface, and Camus at e.g. Fig. 2 shows the two connected papers (e.g. 18, 20) that are rectangle shaped.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the aerosol generating device art before the effective filing date to include the wrapping with window aligned with substrate, as shown in Camus, where the motivation or advantage of such combination is, as shown in Camus, “so that a consumer can observe the particulate material through the window and the substantially transparent layer.” Camus, page 9 line 1-6.
With regard to claim 8, Reevell further discloses where the aerosol generating article further comprises a support member forming a mouth- end portion of the article, and the support member has a tubular form configured to receive a downstream end of the aerosol generating substrate (e.g. Fig. 22-23).
With regard to claim 9-10, Reevell does not disclose claim 9-10. However, Camus teaches at e.g. page 10 line 1-10 that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the wrapper aerosol device art to include the ability of where the wrapping member has a porous inner surface facing towards the aerosol generating substrate for absorbing condensation and an anti-stick outer surface facing away from the aerosol generating substrate (see Camus, page 10, line 1-10, where the inner surface is a film that is absorbant, and then the moisture barrier coating/anti-stick is only applied to the outer surface of a sheet material). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the wrapping art before the effective filing date to include such surface coatings in order to reduce shrinkage, as shown throughout Camus page 10-11.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reevell, Camus, in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0295875 to Kadiric (“Kadiric”).
With regard to claim 5-6, Reevell and Camus do not teach claims 5-6. Kadiric teaches at e.g. abstract, Fig. 5-6 [0078] that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the aerosol generation device art to include where the wrapping member comprises a removable portion covering the window and one or more lines of weakness defining a periphery of the removable portion, and the removable portion is removable by a user prior to use of the aerosol generating article in an aerosol generating device, and perforations/weakening line (abstract, a removable tipping wrapper portion (26) extending downstream from the at least one weakening line (22).; [0078] perforations that form a weakening line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in aerosol generation device art before the effective filing date to include such removable portion of the wrapper, and with perforations, for the reasons stated in Kadiric at [0010]: “By providing at least one surface formation on a surface of the mouthpiece wrapper and underlying a removable tipping wrapper portion, aerosol generating articles according to the present invention advantageously provide a consumer with a choice over the surface texture of the aerosol generating article that contacts the their lips during smoking or otherwise using the aerosol-generating article. In particular, the consumer may choose not to remove the removable tipping wrapper portion to retain a surface texture that may be substantially the same as the surface texture of a conventional smoking article. Alternatively, the consumer may choose to remove the removable tipping wrapper portion before or during smoking to experience an alternative surface texture provided by the at least one surface formation on the underlying mouthpiece.” (emphasis added, to show advantage to user of providing different options, thereby allowing users to tailor their experience to their own preferences, and the like).
Conclusion
/PETER LUDWIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627