DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed on 11/21/2025
Claims 1 – 19 are pending and have been examined; wherein:
Claims 1 – 14 and 16 – 18 have been amended, and
New claim 19 is added.
Claims 1 – 19 are being finally rejected.
Response to Amendments
Claim objections for claims 1 – 6, 10 – 12, and 13 – 18 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
35 USC 101 rejections for claims 1 – 18 remain.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejections as necessitated by amendments. See LIU (CN 113328477 A) and HU (CN 112201863 A,) arts being made of record.
In view of Applicant’s arguments, 35 USC 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BLANK MANFRED et al. (DE 102016011768 A1; hereinafter Blank) in view of LIU (CN 113328477 A; hereinafter Liu), Acharya et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0265965 A1; hereinafter Acharya), and HU (CN 112201863 A; hereinafter Hu.)
Claim 1
Blank teaches a battery management system comprising:
a battery modules;
a plurality of battery module management apparatuses connected to the battery modules (Blank; [0006] The battery pack (battery module), battery monitoring, and, if applicable, interface, together form a so-called battery system …),
[0020] Preferably, the battery management unit (battery module management apparatus) of the battery system according to the invention is designed to monitor the status information of the battery pack as a whole …); and
a battery pack management apparatus having embedded therein firmware and configured to manage the battery module management apparatuses (Blank; [0020] … the battery system according to the present invention, in particular its battery management unit (battery module management apparatus), is configured to receive and store configuration and programming commands sent from the remote station (battery pack management apparatus) via the wireless connection, the wireless interface module, and the data bus, thus enabling, for example, an upgrade of the firmware running on the battery management unit …),
wherein the battery pack management apparatus is further configured to transmit the firmware packet information to the battery module management apparatuses (Blank; [0020] … the battery system according to the present invention, in particular its battery management unit, is configured to receive and store configuration and programming commands sent from the remote station (battery pack management apparatus) via the wireless connection, the wireless interface module, and the data bus, thus enabling, for example, an upgrade of the firmware running on the battery management unit …; also see [0032 – 0033]),
wherein the battery module management apparatuses are further configured to monitor a state of the battery modules (Blank; [0020] Preferably, the battery management unit (battery module management apparatus) of the battery system according to the invention is designed to monitor the status information of the battery pack as a whole, individual cells, or groups of cells, which includes at least an applied voltage, an output current, and/or the temperature. Furthermore, according to the invention, the battery management unit derives further information about the current state of the battery …; also see [0032 – 0033]) and .
But Blank does not explicitly teach a plurality of battery modules, a plurality of battery modules management apparatuses, a battery pack management apparatus configured to manage the plurality of battery module management apparatuses, and a number of the plurality of battery modules is equal to a number of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses and each respective battery module management apparatus of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses is connected to a different battery module of the plurality of battery modules.
However, Liu teaches
a plurality of battery modules,
a plurality of battery modules management apparatuses (Liu; [0043] FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a partial electrical connection structure of a vehicle including a battery pack system according to an embodiment of the present application. The battery pack system includes multiple battery packs (plurality of battery modules), which are PACK 1, PACK 2, ..., PACK N, where N is a natural number greater than 1.
Each battery pack includes a BMS (battery modules management apparatus) and battery cells. As shown in FIG. 1, PACK 1 includes BMS 1, PACK 2 includes BMS 2, and PACK N includes BMS N…),
a battery pack management apparatus configured to manage the plurality of battery module management apparatuses (Liu; [0043] … The BMS of each battery pack serves as a BMS node and can monitor or obtain the status of other battery packs from the vehicle-wide CAN communication bus. Also see paragraph [0048].), and
a number of the plurality of battery modules is equal to a number of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses and each respective battery module management apparatus of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses is connected to a different battery module of the plurality of battery modules (Liu; [0043] …The battery pack system includes multiple battery packs (plurality of battery modules), which are PACK 1, PACK 2, ..., PACK N, where N is a natural number greater than 1.
Each battery pack includes a BMS (battery modules management apparatus) and battery cells. As shown in FIG. 1, PACK 1 includes BMS 1, PACK 2 includes BMS 2, and PACK N includes BMS N…)
Blank and Liu are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, managing battery packs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Liu teachings into Blank invention to also allow Blank to monitor plurality of battery packs, as suggested by Liu ([0043]), to arrive at the invention.
But Blank and Liu do not explicitly teach the battery pack management apparatus is further configured to divide the firmware to generate divided firmware packet information and transmit the divided firmware packet information to the plurality of battery module management apparatuses.
However, Acharya teaches the battery pack management apparatus is further configured to divide the firmware (Acharya; [0037 – 0039] In still another instance, the one or more aspects of the target device (battery module management apparatuses) may affect or determine the division of the software update. In particular, the amount of memory of the target device may determine whether the software update is sent in one unitary section, or is divided into sections (such as separate unitary sections) for separate transmission (and potentially separate updating at the target device). As one example, the server (battery pack management apparatus) may have two options available for transmitting the software update: (i) undivided; or (ii) divided into sections (so that the upgrade of the software is performed piecemeal, section-by-section) …) to generate divided firmware packet information and transmit the divided firmware packet information to the plurality of battery module management apparatuses (Acharya; [0052] … In instances where the software update is divided into sections, the software update may manage the process, including receiving an indication (firmware packet information) as to the section of software to use with the delta to recreate the image of the software in memory and installing the recreated image into the volatile and/or non-volatile memory …
[0030] … in one implementation, one or more aspects of the software update are adapted based on one or more capabilities (such as computing capabilities, memory capabilities, security capabilities, or the like) of the device or devices (plurality of battery module management apparatuses) that are subject to the update (e.g., the target device) …)
Blank, Liu and Acharya are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, updating software. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Acharya teachings into Blank/Liu invention to determine transmission of firmware to determine division of firmware based on amount of memory of a device as suggested by Acharya ([0037].)
But Blank, Liu and Acharya do not explicitly teach the plurality of battery module management apparatuses transmit monitored battery data information to the battery pack management apparatus, and the battery management system is configured to control a switch that controls charging or discharging of the plurality of battery modules to turn on or off based on the monitored battery data information.
However, Hu teaches
the plurality of battery module management apparatuses transmit monitored battery data information to the battery pack management apparatus (Hu; [0026] the present invention provides a power battery pack 100, which includes a plurality of electrically connected single cells 10, a circuit board 20, and a charge-discharge switch module 30.
[0027 – 0028] … the circuit board 20 is provided with an acquisition module 201 (battery module management apparatuses), a conversion, module 202 and a control module 203 (battery pack management apparatuses) …
The acquisition module 201 is connected to the multiple single cells 10, and the acquisition module 201 is used to acquire parameter information (battery information) of the multiple single cells 10 … the control module 203 is used to receive the parameter information of the digital signal …); and
the battery management system is configured to control a switch that controls charging or discharging of the plurality of battery modules to turn on or off based on the monitored battery data information (Hu; [0028 – 0030] … The control module 203 is also used to control the opening or closing of the charge and discharge switch module 30 according to the parameter information.
… when the parameter information is within a normal range, the control module 203 can control the charge and discharge switch module 30 to close, and the power battery pack 100 charges and discharges normally; and when the parameter information is within an abnormal range, the control module 203 can control the charge and discharge switch module 30 to disconnect, and the power battery pack 100 stops charging and discharging …)
Blank, Liu, Acharya, and Hu are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, controlling battery packs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Hu teachings into Blank/Liu/Acharya invention to allow Blank to obtain battery information to control battery discharge and charge to avoid abnormal conditions as suggested by Hu ([0007].)
Claim 2
Acharya teaches transmit a non-divided firmware to the plurality of battery module management apparatuses when a firmware batch download command is input according to a scheme designated in the battery pack management apparatus (Acharya; [0037 – 0039] In still another instance, the one or more aspects of the target device may affect or determine the division of the software update. In particular, the amount of memory of the target device may determine whether the software update is sent in one unitary section (non-divided), or is divided into sections (such as separate unitary sections) for separate transmission (and potentially separate updating at the target device). As one example, the server may have two options available for transmitting the software update: (i) undivided (non-divided); or (ii) divided into sections (so that the upgrade of the software is performed piecemeal, section-by-section) …) command == server’s determination. Motivation for incorporating Acharya into Blank/Liu is the same as motivation in claim 1.
Claim 4
Liu teaches the one or more of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses are further configured to transmit the monitored battery data information to at least some of the other battery module management apparatuses of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses (Liu; [0048] … The BMS (e.g., BMS 1) is configured to monitor the status of PACK 1 and other battery packs (one or more of PACK 2 to PACK N) …) Motivation for incorporating Liu into Blank is the same as motivation in claim 1.
Claim 7
This is a method version of the battery management system in claim 1; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 8
This limitation is already discussed in claim 2; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 10
This limitation is already discussed in claim 4; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 13
Blank teaches a battery management system comprising:
a battery modules;
a battery module management apparatuses respectively connected to the battery modules (Blank; [0006] The battery pack (battery module), battery monitoring, and, if applicable, interface, together form a so-called battery system …
[0020] Preferably, the battery management unit (battery module management apparatus) of the battery system according to the invention is designed to monitor the status information of the battery pack as a whole …);
a battery pack management apparatus having embedded therein firmware and configured to manage the battery module management apparatuses (Blank; [0020] … the battery system according to the present invention, in particular its battery management unit (battery module management apparatus), is configured to receive and store configuration and programming commands sent from the remote station (battery pack management apparatus) via the wireless connection, the wireless interface module, and the data bus, thus enabling, for example, an upgrade of the firmware running on the battery management unit …
[0006] … battery management units in modern battery systems carry out equalization during charging and discharging. This ensures at all times that the proportion of power absorbed or delivered by a cell in relation to the total power corresponds to the free or remaining capacity, and adjusts the total power depending on the temperature of individual or all cells) (emphasis added,) plurality of battery systems; and
a controller connected to the battery module management apparatuses and the battery pack management apparatus (Blank; [0020] … the battery system according to the present invention, in particular its battery management unit (battery module management apparatus), is configured to receive and store configuration and programming commands sent from the remote station (battery pack management apparatus, controller) via the wireless connection, the wireless interface module, and the data bus, thus enabling, for example, an upgrade of the firmware running on the battery management unit …,
wherein the controller is configured to:
by controlling the battery pack management apparatus, transmit the firmware packet information to the battery module management apparatuses (Blank; [0020] … the battery system according to the present invention, in particular its battery management unit, is configured to receive and store configuration and programming commands sent from the remote station (battery pack management apparatus) via the wireless connection, the wireless interface module, and the data bus, thus enabling, for example, an upgrade of the firmware running on the battery management unit …; also see [0032 – 0033]); and
by controlling the battery module management apparatuses, monitor a state of the battery modules (Blank; [0020] Preferably, the battery management unit (battery module management apparatus) of the battery system according to the invention is designed to monitor the status information of the battery pack as a whole, individual cells, or groups of cells, which includes at least an applied voltage, an output current, and/or the temperature. Furthermore, according to the invention, the battery management unit derives further information about the current state of the battery, …) .
But Blank does not explicitly teach a plurality of battery modules, a plurality of battery modules management apparatuses, a battery pack management apparatus configured to manage the plurality of battery module management apparatuses, and a number of the plurality of battery modules is equal to a number of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses and each respective battery module management apparatus of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses is connected to a different battery module of the plurality of battery modules.
However, Liu teaches
a plurality of battery modules,
a plurality of battery modules management apparatuses (Liu; [0043] FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a partial electrical connection structure of a vehicle including a battery pack system according to an embodiment of the present application. The battery pack system includes multiple battery packs (plurality of battery modules), which are PACK 1, PACK 2, ..., PACK N, where N is a natural number greater than 1.
Each battery pack includes a BMS (battery modules management apparatus) and battery cells. As shown in FIG. 1, PACK 1 includes BMS 1, PACK 2 includes BMS 2, and PACK N includes BMS N…),
a battery pack management apparatus configured to manage the plurality of battery module management apparatuses (Liu; [0043] … The BMS of each battery pack serves as a BMS node and can monitor or obtain the status of other battery packs from the vehicle-wide CAN communication bus. Also see paragraph [0048].), and
a number of the plurality of battery modules is equal to a number of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses and each respective battery module management apparatus of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses is connected to a different battery module of the plurality of battery modules (Liu; [0043] …The battery pack system includes multiple battery packs (plurality of battery modules), which are PACK 1, PACK 2, ..., PACK N, where N is a natural number greater than 1.
Each battery pack includes a BMS (battery modules management apparatus) and battery cells. As shown in FIG. 1, PACK 1 includes BMS 1, PACK 2 includes BMS 2, and PACK N includes BMS N…)
Blank and Liu are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, managing battery packs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Liu teachings into Blank invention to also allow Blank to monitor plurality of battery packs, as suggested by Liu ([0043]), to arrive at the invention.
But Blank and Liu do not explicitly teach the controller is configured to, by controlling the battery pack management apparatus, divide the firmware to generate divided firmware packet information and transmit the divided firmware packet information to the plurality of battery module management apparatuses.
However, Acharya teaches the controller is configured to, by controlling the battery pack management apparatus, divide the firmware to generate divided firmware packet information (Acharya; [0037 – 0039] In still another instance, the one or more aspects of the target device (battery module management apparatuses) may affect or determine the division of the software update. In particular, the amount of memory of the target device may determine whether the software update is sent in one unitary section, or is divided into sections (such as separate unitary sections) for separate transmission (and potentially separate updating at the target device). As one example, the server (battery pack management apparatus) may have two options available for transmitting the software update: (i) undivided; or (ii) divided into sections (so that the upgrade of the software is performed piecemeal, section-by-section) …) and transmit the divided firmware packet information to the plurality of battery module management apparatuses (Acharya; [0052] … In instances where the software update is divided into sections, the software update may manage the process, including receiving an indication (firmware packet information) as to the section of software to use with the delta to recreate the image of the software in memory and installing the recreated image into the volatile and/or non-volatile memory …
[0030] … in one implementation, one or more aspects of the software update are adapted based on one or more capabilities (such as computing capabilities, memory capabilities, security capabilities, or the like) of the device or devices (plurality of battery module management apparatuses) that are subject to the update (e.g., the target device) …)
Blank, Liu and Acharya are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, updating software. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Acharya teachings into Blank/Liu invention to determine transmission of firmware to determine division of firmware based on amount of memory of a device as suggested by Acharya ([0037].)
But Blank, Liu and Acharya do not explicitly teach the plurality of battery module management apparatuses, transmit monitored battery data information to the battery pack management apparatus, and the battery management system is configured to control a switch that controls charging or discharging of the plurality of battery modules to turn on or off based on the monitored battery data information.
However, Hu teaches
the plurality of battery module management apparatuses transmit monitored battery data information to the battery pack management apparatus (Hu; [0026] the present invention provides a power battery pack 100, which includes a plurality of electrically connected single cells 10, a circuit board 20, and a charge-discharge switch module 30.
[0027 – 0028] … the circuit board 20 is provided with an acquisition module 201 (battery module management apparatuses), a conversion, module 202 and a control module 203 (battery pack management apparatuses) …
The acquisition module 201 is connected to the multiple single cells 10, and the acquisition module 201 is used to acquire parameter information (battery information) of the multiple single cells 10 … the control module 203 is used to receive the parameter information of the digital signal …); and
the battery management system is configured to control a switch that controls charging or discharging of the plurality of battery modules to turn on or off based on the monitored battery data information (Hu; [0028 – 0030] … The control module 203 is also used to control the opening or closing of the charge and discharge switch module 30 according to the parameter information.
… when the parameter information is within a normal range, the control module 203 can control the charge and discharge switch module 30 to close, and the power battery pack 100 charges and discharges normally; and when the parameter information is within an abnormal range, the control module 203 can control the charge and discharge switch module 30 to disconnect, and the power battery pack 100 stops charging and discharging …)
Blank, Liu, Acharya, and Hu are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, controlling battery packs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Hu teachings into Blank/Liu/Acharya invention to allow Blank to obtain battery information to control battery discharge and charge to avoid abnormal conditions as suggested by Hu ([0007].)
Claim 14
Acharya teaches the controller is further configured to, by controlling the battery pack management apparatus, transmit a non-divided firmware to the plurality of battery module management apparatuses when a firmware batch download command is input according to a scheme designated in the battery pack management apparatus (Acharya; [0037 – 0039] In still another instance, the one or more aspects of the target device may affect or determine the division of the software update. In particular, the amount of memory of the target device may determine whether the software update is sent in one unitary section (non-divided), or is divided into sections (such as separate unitary sections) for separate transmission (and potentially separate updating at the target device). As one example, the server may have two options available for transmitting the software update: (i) undivided (non-divided); or (ii) divided into sections (so that the upgrade of the software is performed piecemeal, section-by-section) …) command == server’s determination. Motivation for incorporating Acharya into Blank/Liu is the same as motivation in claim 1.
Claim 16
Liu teaches the controller is further configured to, by controlling one or more of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses, transmit the monitored battery data information to at least some of other battery module management apparatuses of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses (Liu; [0048] … The BMS (e.g., BMS 1) is configured to monitor the status of PACK 1 and other battery packs (one or more of PACK 2 to PACK N) …) Motivation for incorporating Liu into Blank is the same as motivation in claim 1.
Claim 19
Blank also teaches each respective battery module management apparatus of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses is connected to the battery module of the plurality of battery modules through a respective wire (Blank; [0032] Fig. 1 schematically shows a battery system comprising a battery pack 11, coupled via main lines 101 (wire) and measuring lines 102 to a battery management unit 10 …)
Claims 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blank, Liu, Acharya, and Hu as applied to claims 1, 7, and 13 above, and further in view of ANONYMOUS (NPL “Network packet”, hereinafter Anonymous, IDS dated 09/20/2024.)
Claim 3
Blank, Liu, Acharya, and Hu do not teach the battery pack management apparatus is configured to store length information of the divided firmware packet information transmitted to the plurality of battery module management apparatuses.
However, Anonymous teaches the battery pack is configured to store length information of the divided firmware packet information transmitted to the plurality of battery module management apparatuses (Anonymous; p. 1: second full paragraph; In telecommunications and computer networking, a network packet is a formatted unit of data carried by a packet-switched network. A packet consists of control information and user data …; network packet is sent between two devices;
p. 2; A packet may contain any of the following components:
…
Length
There may be a field to identify the overall packet length …)
Blank, Liu, Acharya, Hu and Anonymous are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, manage communication between devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Anonymous teachings into Blank/Liu/Acharya/Hu invention to incorporate data information (e.g. addresses, length) in the network packet, as suggested by Anonymous (p. 1 – p. 2); thus, efficient and reliable data transmission is achieved.
Claim 9
This limitation is already discussed in claim 3; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 15
Blank, Liu, Acharya, and Hu do not teach the controller is further configured to, by controlling the battery pack management apparatus, is configured to store length information of the divided firmware packet information transmitted to the one or more battery module management apparatuses.
However, Anonymous teaches the controller is further configured to, by controlling the battery pack management apparatus, is configured to store length information of the divided firmware packet information transmitted to the one or more battery module management apparatuses (Anonymous; p. 1: second full paragraph; In telecommunications and computer networking, a network packet is a formatted unit of data carried by a packet-switched network. A packet consists of control information and user data …; network packet is sent between two devices;
p. 2; A packet may contain any of the following components:
…
Length
There may be a field to identify the overall packet length …)
Blank, Liu, Acharya, Hu and Anonymous are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, manage communication between devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Anonymous teachings into Blank/Liu/Acharya/Hu invention to incorporate data information (e.g. addresses, length) in the network packet, as suggested by Anonymous (p. 1 – p. 2); thus, efficient and reliable data transmission is achieved.
Claims 5, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blank, Liu, Acharya, and Hu as applied to claims 4, 10, and 16 above, and further in view of Eisenhauer et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0305237 A1; hereinafter Eisenhauer.)
Claim 5
Blank, Liu, Acharya, and Hu do not explicitly teach the one or more of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses are further configured to encode the monitored battery data information and the divided firmware packet information together to generate encoding information and transmit the encoding information to the at least some of the other battery module management apparatuses.
Eisenhauer teaches the one or more of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses are further configured to encode the monitored battery data information and the divided firmware packet information together to generate encoding information and transmit the encoding information to the at least some of the other battery module management apparatuses (Eisenhauer; Fig. 1; [0030] Vendor system 100 (battery module management apparatus) includes supported devices 110, which includes a list of supported device type identifiers for the particular computing system corresponding to update request 105. As such, vendor system 100 (battery module management apparatus) includes (encodes) the supported device type identifiers (battery data information) and updated firmware in update package 115, and sends update package 115 to distributed management appliance A 125 (other battery module management apparatus).)
Blank, Liu, Acharya, Hu and Eisenhauer are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, updating software. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Eisenhauer teachings into Blank/Liu/Acharya/Hu invention to allow Blank to send battery information (e.g., device type) to other battery management apparatus to track supported battery as suggested by Eisenhauer ([0003].)
Claim 11
This limitation is already discussed in claim 5; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 17
Blank, Liu, Acharya, and Hu do not explicitly teach the controller is further configured to, by controlling the one or more of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses, encode the monitored battery data information and the received divided firmware packet information together to generate encoding information and transmit the encoding information to at least some of the other battery module management apparatuses.
However, Eisenhauer teaches the controller is further configured to, by controlling the one or more of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses, encode the monitored battery data information and the received divided firmware packet information together to generate encoding information and transmit the encoding information to at least some of the other battery module management apparatuses (Eisenhauer; Fig. 1; [0030] Vendor system 100 (controller, battery module management apparatus) includes supported devices 110, which includes a list of supported device type identifiers for the particular computing system corresponding to update request 105. As such, vendor system 100 (battery module management apparatus) includes (encodes) the supported device type identifiers (battery data information) and updated firmware in update package 115, and sends update package 115 to distributed management appliance A 125 (other battery module management apparatus).)
Blank, Liu, Acharya, Hu and Eisenhauer are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, updating software. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Eisenhauer teachings into Blank/Liu/Acharya/Hu invention to allow Blank to send battery information (e.g., device type) to other battery management apparatus to track supported battery as suggested by Eisenhauer ([0003].)
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blank, Liu, Acharya, Hu, and Eisenhauer as applied to claims 5, 11, and 17 above, and further in view of Kostadinov et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0052512 A1; hereinafter Kostadinov.)
Claim 6
Blank, Liu, Acharya, Hu and Eisenhauer do not teach the one or more of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses are further configured to identify the divided firmware packet information by using the monitored battery data information and the encoding information received from another of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses.
However, Kostadinov teaches the one or more of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses are further configured to identify the divided firmware packet information by using the monitored battery data information and the encoding information received from another of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses (Kostadinov; Fig. 2; [0020] … In FIG. 2, the host device 204 (another battery module management apparatus) couples with a receiving device 214 (one or more battery module management apparatuses) … The receiving device 214 couples with a plurality of target devices (battery) (e.g., a first target device 216, a second target device 218, and a third target device 220) … The network sections 222, 224 can convey data and information, e.g., in the form of an update input 226 (encoding information) and an update output 228 that delivers one or more firmware components …;
[0022] … In one embodiment, the receiving device 214 includes executable instructions (also "operating instructions") that can generate outputs in response to the update input from the host device 204 …; device 214 generates update output 228 for target devices based on update input 226;
[0030] FIG. 7 illustrates details of one example of the update input 226 (encoding information) that can convey data and information to update executable instructions across devices … The update input 226 includes a download package 264 with various content in the form of one or more download components (e.g., a first download component 266 and a second download component 268) …
[0033] The data and information in the download package 264 can use various parameters to identify the components and other features of the information found therein … The second download component 268 may include one or more firmware descriptors (battery data information) … Examples of the firmware descriptors can identify the size of the firmware, the version of the firmware, and the target device.) when receive the update input 226 from host device 204, receiving device 214 generate update output 228 comprising firmware for target devices (battery) based on firmware descriptor (battery data information.)
Blank, Liu, Acharya, Hu, Eisenhauer and Kostadinov are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, updating software. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Kostadinov teachings into Blank/Liu/Acharya/Hu/Eisenhauer invention to include device information in software package, wherein the device information is used to identify software for target device(s) as suggested by Kostadinov ([0022 & 0033].)
Claim 12
This limitation is already discussed in claim 6; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 18
Blank, Liu, Acharya, Hu and Eisenhauer do not teach the controller is further configured to, by controlling the one or more of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses, identify the divided firmware packet information by using the battery data information and the encoding information received from another of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses.
However, Kostadinov teaches the controller is further configured to, by controlling the one or more of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses, identify the divided firmware packet information by using the battery data information and the encoding information received from another of the plurality of battery module management apparatuses (Kostadinov; Fig. 2; [0020] … In FIG. 2, the host device 204 (another battery module management apparatus) couples with a receiving device 214 (controller, one or more battery module management apparatuses) … The receiving device 214 couples with a plurality of target devices (battery) (e.g., a first target device 216, a second target device 218, and a third target device 220) … The network sections 222, 224 can convey data and information, e.g., in the form of an update input 226 (encoding information) and an update output 228 that delivers one or more firmware components …;
[0022] … In one embodiment, the receiving device 214 includes executable instructions (also "operating instructions") that can generate outputs in response to the update input from the host device 204 …; device 214 generates update output 228 for target devices based on update input 226;
[0030] FIG. 7 illustrates details of one example of the update input 226 (encoding information) that can convey data and information to update executable instructions across devices … The update input 226 includes a download package 264 with various content in the form of one or more download components (e.g., a first download component 266 and a second download component 268) …
[0033] The data and information in the download package 264 can use various parameters to identify the components and other features of the information found therein … The second download component 268 may include one or more firmware descriptors (battery data information) … Examples of the firmware descriptors can identify the size of the firmware, the version of the firmware, and the target device.) when receive the update input 226 from host device 204, receiving device 214 generate update output 228 comprising firmware for target devices (battery) based on firmware descriptor (battery data information.)
Blank, Liu, Acharya, Hu, Eisenhauer and Kostadinov are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, updating software. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Kostadinov teachings into Blank/Liu/Acharya/Hu/Eisenhauer invention to include device information in software package, wherein the device information is used to identify software for target device(s) as suggested by Kostadinov ([0022 & 0033].)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CUONG V LUU/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192