DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7 September 2023. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0032369 A1 (hereinafter “Struber”), in view of US 4181520 A (hereinafter “Reuter”).
Regarding claim 1, Struber teaches a method of operating a pelletizing plant (See title). Struber teaches that the green pellets are fired to form hard fired pellets (see Abstract of BRIEF SUMMARY). Struber teaches that the method includes carrying green pellets and lumpy agglomerates to a furnace (see Fig 1 and [0057]-[0061]). The pellets thus form a “bed” as shown in Fig 1. Struber teaches that the pellets are fired in an indurating furnace (see [0049]).
Struber does not teach addition of a fuel briquette to the furnace as claimed. Struber is silent with regard to any solid fuel.
Reuter teaches a method of direct reduction of iron ore (see title, abstract). Reuter teaches that a pellet is fired to reduce to sponge iron (see Abstract or col 2-3). Reuter teaches that the method uses an agglomerated reducing agent, and prefers to use a briquetted solid reducing agent (see cols 2-3). Reuter teaches that these fuel briquettes will disintegrate prior to a full heating of the pellets (see SUMMARY). Reuter teaches that this allows a volatile reducing agent to be introduced to a charging end of a furnace (see col 2-3).
It would have been an obvious matter to one of ordinary skill in the art a time of filing to have practiced the pelletizing of Struber, and to have added in a volatile briquetted reducing agent as taught by Reuter (cited above), because Reuter teaches that the briquetted reducing agent is introducible at a charging section without losses to the exhaust gases (cols 2-3).
Regarding claim 2, Reuter teaches that the briquetted reducing agent is added to the pellets prior to the firing for direct reduction (See Figure and col 4).
Regarding claim 3, Struber teaches that the ore pellets are carried by a grate car (see Figure 1 and [0050]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Reuter teaches that the briquetted reducing agent includes coal (See SUMMARY or col 2 or Table at top of col 5).
Regarding claim 5, Struber teaches tat the fired pellets are screened (sieved) in order to classify them (see [0052]).
Regarding claim 6, Reuter teaches in an example that a ash content of the briquetted fuel is 5.23% (see Table at top of col 5), falling in the range claimed and establishing a prima facie case of obviousness for the range.
Regarding claim 7, Reuter teaches that the briquette disintegrate during handling such that a range of sizes are present (see col. 5). It is believed that the briquettes would have had the size in the range as claimed. Alternatively, the size of the briquettes, by itself, is insufficient to distinguish over the briquettes of the prior art, being used in the same field of endeavor of ore reduction. Alternatively, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case the sizes disclosed (-16 mm, +16 mm) are believed to be close enough that the briquettes in the process would have functioned similarly to what is now claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Struber teaches that a grate furnace can be used (see [0024]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3732062 A is representative of prior art pelletizing operations.
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1759