Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This Office action is in response to Application No. 18/280,898 to Yoon et al ., assigned to LG Energy Solution, Seoul, Korea, filed 09/07/2023 and published as U.S. PG Publication 2024/0154206A1 on 05/09/2024. This application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 National Stage entry of International Application PCT/KR2022/009559 filed 07/01/2022, and claim priority to KR10-2021-0086817. Status of the Claims The status of the claims in the latest set of claims f iled 09/07/2023 stand as follows: Currently amended 1-2, 4, 7-14, 16, 19-28 Original 3, 5-6, 15, 17-18, 29-30 Claims 1- 30 are currently pending in this application. All the claims are under full consideration. Foreign Priority Benefit Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim to foreign priority benefit from Korean Patent Applications KR10-2021-0086817 filed 07/02/2021 and KR10-2021-0172790 filed 12/06/2021. Certified copies of the priority documents have been filed and are made of record. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/07/2023, 10/24/2024, and 06/23/2025 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered by the examiner. Duly initialed and signed copies are attached herewith. Accordingly, information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by Examiner. Drawings The drawings filed on 09/07/223 are acceptable for examination purposes . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim 1 -12 , 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. ( U.S. PG Publication 2018/0175468 ) in view of Walker et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2014/0 2 42428) Regarding claim 1 Shin teaches a battery module having a plurality of battery cells electrically connected with each other and a middle- and large-size battery pack including the same as a unit module are used (Shin paragraph 0003, 0004); thus , teaching a battery pack is formed of unit battery modules, and each battery module formed of plurality of battery cells (Shin paragraph 0003, 0004). Shin discloses a battery module including a stack of battery cells in which battery cells are stacked and a cooling plate interposed between (Shin paragraph 0010 , 0014, 0068 ) . The battery module 200 has an outer casing ( Shin Fig. 3). But Shin is silent about a pack frame for accommodating the battery module. Walker discloses a power source for a vehicle, the power source include lithium battery source, wherein a battery pack may include one or more module, each of which may include one or more battery cell (Walker paragraph 0008), and the battery packs may be individually mounted into cavities within a floor of a vehicle (Walker paragraph 0006), the cavities considered equivalent to the pack frame accommodating the battery modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the battery modules of Shin and accommodated them in a frame or housing so as to a form battery pack that include safety features, which may thermally or electrically isolate components (Walker paragraph 0008). According to the MPEP such a modification is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 I C). Shin discloses a cooling unit 230 that is in thermal contact with the battery cells on at least one surface of the stack of battery cells (Shin paragraph 0014), and is disposed on a lower part of the battery module (Shin Fig. 3). Shin discloses the cooling unit may be a water cooling type heat exchange unit through which cooling water passes (Shin Fig. 3, paragraph 0053). The Instant Specification also discloses a heat sink 500 may be a water-cooled type of heat sink 500 into which a refrigerant, for example, cooling water is injected ( Published Instant Application paragraph 96 ). Thus, the cooling unit of Shin is considered equivalent to the heat sink of the instant invention. Shin is silent about the cooling unit, considered equivalent to the heat sink, is between the battery cell stack and the pack frame. However, in the battery modules of Shin as modified by the pack frame of the disclosure of Walker it would have been obvious to have placed the cooling unit between the stacks of battery cells constituting the battery modules and the frame so the battery modules and the heat sink are in close proximity for the effective cooling of the battery cells of the battery modules constituting the battery pack. Shin discloses the battery module may further include cooling fins interposed at the interface of the battery cells (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016) equivalent to the at least one cooling fin between two adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells. Shin discloses the cooling fin 216 (Shin Fig. 3) has a sheet or plate shape that is in contact with the two adjacent battery cells 210 (Shin Fig. 3, 0071), and having their end protruding out of the lateral surface of the stack of battery cells (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016). The part contact the battery cells in considered equivalent to the claimed body part and the protruding end is considered equivalent to the extension part , and the extension part, i.e. the protruding part is adjacent to the cooling unit 220 (Shin Fig. 3, 4), that is equivalent to the heat sink. Shin disclose the protrusion part considered equivalent to the extension part has a bent part formed by bending in the horizontal direction at an angle about 90° (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0073). Shin Fig. 3 Shin Fig. 4 Regarding claim 2 the cooling unit 230 , equivalent to the heat sink, is outside the battery module and bent part of the fin, considered equivalent to the extension part is on contact with the cooling unit 230 , equivalent to the heatsink (Shin Fig. 3, 4). Regarding claim 3 the cooling fin may be bent at 90° and has an L-shape (Shin Fig. 3, paragraph 0073). Regarding claim 4 Shin discloses the cooling fin is made of a sheet of metallic material such as aluminum or an aluminum alloy (Shin paragraph 0071). The I nstant S pecification also discloses the fin in the instant invention is made from a metal such as aluminum or an alloy of , and recognize it as having an elastic structure (Published Instant Application paragraph 0 107 , 0108 ) . Therefore, the fin disclosed by Shin will also be elastic, since according to the MPEP, “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present." (In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658, Fed. Cir. 1990) See MPEP 2112.01 II Regarding claim 5 the fin of Shin bent part deformable or bent according to the distance between the stack of the battery cells and the heat sink (Shin Fig. 3, 4). Regarding claim 6 Shin discloses a cooling plate 220 receives heat from the battery cells 210 through the cooling fins 216 and transfers the heat to the cooling unit 230 to carry out cooling (Shin paragraph 0076); thus , it transfers heat, considered to be equivalent to dissipate heat, and the cooling plate is formed between the battery cell stack and the heat sink 230 , and considered equivalent to the heat dissipation layer formed between the battery cell stack and the heat sink. Regarding claim 7 Shin discloses the cooling plate 220 , equivalent to the heat dissipation layer is bent at intervals in the direction of stacking of the battery cells, equivalent to the first direction, and is disposed discontinuously, that is at internals where it is not bent (Shin Fig. 4). Regarding claim 8 Shin discloses a plurality of cooing fins 216 disposed at intervals from each other (Shin Fig. 3, 4, 0016, 0017, 0070-0073). The cooling plate, equivalent to the heat dissipation layer, has plurality of bent segments, and each segment contact two cooling fins of the plurality of cooling fins 216 (Shin Fig. 4). Regarding claim 9 Shin discloses the protruding end of cooling fins 216 , equivalent to the extension part of the fin, is bent so that it may be in close contact with the cooling plate 220 (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0073), equivalent to the heat dissipation layer contacts the extension part. Regarding claim 10 the cooling layer, equivalent to the heat dissipation layer, is in contact with a terminal end of the extension part i.e. a second point of the fin than to a first point where the fin bends and the body part and the protruding part contact each other (Shin Fig. 3, 4). Regarding claim 11 Shin discloses the protruding end of cooling fins 216 , equivalent to the extension part of the fin, is bent so that it may be in close contact with the cooling plate 220 (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0073), equivalent to the heat dissipation layer contacts the extension part. The cooling plate 220 also contact the heat sink 230 (Shin Fig. 4). Regarding claim 12 Walker discloses the battery module has a housing designed to protect the cells from outside damage (Walker paragraph 0075); thus, such a housing will have plates on all sides to protect the cells, including at least one side plate to contact with an outer most battery cell. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have modified the battery module of Shin b y the housing of Walker so as to protect the battery cells from damage and had at least one side late in contact with an outermost battery cell (Walker paragraph 0075). According to the MPEP such a modification is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 I C). Regarding claim 15 Shin discloses the battery module is use d in an electric vehicle (Shin paragraph 0064 ); the vehicle is considered equivalent the claimed device comprising the battery pack. Claim 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2018/0175468) in view of Walker et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2014/042428) as applied to claim 12, and further in view o f Jung et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2021/0194077) The discussion of Shin and Walker as applied to claim 12 above is fully incorporated here and is relied upon for the limitation of the claims in this section. Regarding claim 13 Shin as modified by Walker is silent about a holding strap for holding and fixing the side plates together. Jung discloses a battery system 1 include one or more battery module 10 , the battery module 10 include plurality of battery cells 11 equivalent to the battery cell stack , a plurality of cooling structures 12 and 13 , a plurality of plates 14 and 15 , and a plurality of fixing portions 16 equivalent to the holding strap (Jung Fig. 2 paragraph 0027 , 0064 ), the plates 14 , 15 are equivalent to the sides plates, and the battery module 10 and consequently th e battery cell stack is disposed between the two sides plates 15 , and two sides plates are fixed by the fixing portions 16 , equivalent to the holding straps. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the battery module of Shin by the side plates 15 and fixing portion 16 of Jung, equivalent to the claimed holding strap, in order to hold and fix the battery cell stack in the battery module. According to the MPEP such a modification is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 I C). Regarding claim 14 Jung discloses the fixing portion 16 considered equivalent to the holding strap is connected to an edge of the sides plates 15 (Jung Fig. 2, paragraph 0070), and shows to have holes at its two ends and the edge of the side plates 15 (Jung Fig. 2) and may be used for bolts and nuts connection , but is silent that the fixing portion 16 comprise a hook at its terminals ends and hoo k groove s corresponding to the hook formed on the side plate to fix the holding strap to the plates. However, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art to have used hooks-to-grooves connection between the fixing portion and the side plates instead of bolts-nuts connection for ease of connection. Such a modification is to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I B) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2018/0175468) Regarding Claim 16 Shin discloses a battery module 200 including a stack of battery cells 210 and a heat sink 230 , and in which battery cells are stacked and include cooling fins 216 interposed between at the interface of the battery cells 210 (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016). Thus, the cooling fin 216 has a part in contact with the battery cell 210 and is parallel with the battery cell (Shin Fig. 3, 4,), has a sheet or plate shape that is in contact with the two adjacent battery cells 210 (Shin Fig. 3, 0071), and having its end protruding out of the lateral surface of the stack of battery cells towards the heat sink (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016). The part contact ing the battery cells in considered equivalent to the claimed body part and the protruding end is considered equivalent to the extension part. The protruding part considered equivalent to the extension part has a bend and at the point of bending has a curvature (Shin Fig. 4). Regarding claim 17 the cooling fin 216 has a protruding part, equivalent to the extension part, and has bending portions, in the first bend has a first curvature, and that the second bend has a second curvature, and the first curvature is different from the second curvature (Shin Fig. 4, paragraph 0073). Regarding claim 18 the protruding part, equivalent to the extension part, has two bends having two potions that have different slanting angles (Shin Fig. 4); thus, having two slopes, a first slope and a second slope that are different since the bend angle for the two parts are different (Shin Fig. 4). Regarding claim 19 the first bending angle is winder than the second bending angle (Shin Fig 4), and so the absolute value of the slope for the two sides are different, one being greater than the other. The first point, that of bending of the protruding part, is located further from the one end of the body part than the second point. Regarding claim 20 one of the two bend point is located closer to the heat sink than the other point, (Shin Fig. 4), both referred to as first point and second point. Regarding claim 21 one of the bend point, referred to as the first point is located further from the one end of the body part than the second point, and second point being that is closer to the one end of the body part and is in non-contact with the heat sink (Shin Fig. 4). Regarding claim 22 the cooling fin of Shin protruding part, that is the bent part, can be deformable or bent according to the distance between the stack of the battery cells and the heat sink (Shin Fig. 3, 4). Regarding claim 23 the protruding part equivalent to the extension part have multiple bending points and form more than one part (Shin Fig. 4) considered equivalent to being formed in plural numbers. Regarding claim 24 Shin discloses a cooling plate 220 receives heat from the battery cells 210 through the cooling fins 216 and transfers the heat to the cooling unit 230 to carry out cooling (Shin ‘ paragraph 0076); thus, it transfers heat, considered to be equivalent to dissipate heat, and the cooling plate is formed between the battery cell stack and the heat sink 230 , and considered equivalent to the heat dissipation layer formed between the battery cell stack and the heat sink. The protruding part of the cooling fin 216 that is considered equivalent to the extension part is in contact with the cooling plate 220 (Shin Fig. 4) considered equivalent to the heat dissipation plate. Regarding claim 25 Shin discloses the cooling plate, equivalent to the heat dissipation layer, has plurality of bent segments (Shin Fig. 4). Shin also discloses the cooling fin protruding part, equivalent to the extension part, has more than one bend portion (Shin Fig.4), considered equivalent to the plurality of extensions formed from the body part. Regarding claim 26 Shin discloses the cooling plate 220 , equivalent to the heat dissipation layer is bent at intervals in the direction of stacking of the battery cells, equivalent to the first direction, and is disposed discontinuously, that is at the internals where it is not bent, (Shin Fig. 4), and not disposed at the interval where it is bent (Shin Fig. 4). Regarding claim 27 Shin discloses a plurality of cooing fins 216 disposed at intervals from each other (Shin Fig. 3, 4, 0016, 0017, 0070-0073), equivalent to the cooling fins formed as two or more cooling fins. The cooling plate 220 , equivalent to the heat dissipation layer, has plurality of bent segments, and each segment contact two cooling fins of the plurality of cooling fins 216 (Shin Fig. 4). Regarding claim 28 Shin discloses the protruding end of cooling fins 216 , equivalent to the extension part of the fin, is bent so that it may be in close contact with the cooling plate 220 (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0073), equivalent to the heat dissipation layer contacts the extension part. The cooling plate 220 also contact the heat sink 230 (Shin Fig. 4). Regarding claim 29 Shin discloses a battery module may further include cooling fins interposed at the interface of the battery cells (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016). Regarding claim 30 Shin discloses a battery pack with a cooling member for cooling the battery cells (Shin paragraph 0004), and disclose cooling fins used (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016, 0071). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT OMAR M KEKIA whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5918 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 9:00am-5:00 pm, . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT NIKI BAKHTIARI can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3433 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OMAR M KEKIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722