DETAILED ACTION
This Office action regarding Application No. 18/280,898 to Yoon et al., assigned to LG Energy Solution, Seoul, Korea, filed 09/07/2023 and published as U.S. PG Publication 2024/0154206A1 on 05/09/2024 is in response to applicant’s arguments/remarks and claims amendment filed 07/06/2026.
This application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 National Stage entry of International Application PCT/KR2022/009559 filed 07/01/2022, and claim priority to KR10-2021-0086817.
Status of the Claims
In the response filed 07/06/2026 applicant has amended the claims of the application. Claim 1 amended to recite the extension part directly contacting the heat sink previously recited in claim 2. Claim 7, previously dependent on claim 1, is now made into an independent claim. Claim 16 reciting limitations of a cooling fin reciting the extension part has a curvature is amended to recite a curvature in which the extension part is curved is a same bending direction from the one end of the body part to a terminal end of the extension part. The rest of the claims are previously presented.
The status of the claims stand as follows:
Currently amended 1-2, 7, 16, 27
Original 3, 5-6, 15, 17-18, 29-30
5.3 Previously presented 4, 8-14, 19-26, 28
Claims 1-30 are currently pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2026 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered by the examiner. A duly initialed and signed copy is attached herewith. Accordingly, information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by Examiner.
Claim Rejections -35 USC § 103
Claim 1-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2018/0175468) in view of Walker et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2014/0242428)
Regarding claim 1 and 7 Shin teaches a battery module having a plurality of battery cells electrically connected with each other and a middle and large-size battery pack including the same as a unit module are used as recited in claim 7 (Shin paragraph 0003, 0004); thus, teaching a battery pack is formed of unit battery modules, and each battery module formed of plurality of battery cells (Shin paragraph 0003, 0004).
Shin discloses a battery module including a stack of battery cells in which battery cells are stacked and a cooling plate interposed between (Shin paragraph 0010, 0014, 0068). The battery module 200 has an outer casing (Shin Fig. 3). But Shin is silent about a pack frame for accommodating the battery module.
Walker discloses a power source for a vehicle, the power source include lithium battery source, wherein a battery pack may include one or more module, each of which may include one or more battery cell (Walker paragraph 0008), and the battery packs may be individually mounted into cavities within a floor of a vehicle (Walker paragraph 0006), the cavities considered equivalent to the pack frame accommodating the battery modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the battery modules of Shin and accommodated them in a frame or housing so as to a form battery pack that include safety features, which may thermally or electrically isolate components (Walker paragraph 0008). According to the MPEP such a modification is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 I C).
Shin discloses a cooling unit 230 that is in thermal contact with the battery cells on at least one surface of the stack of battery cells (Shin paragraph 0014), and is disposed on a lower part of the battery module (Shin Fig. 3). Shin discloses the cooling unit may be a water cooling type heat exchange unit through which cooling water passes (Shin Fig. 3, paragraph 0053). The Instant Specification also discloses a heat sink 500 may be a water-cooled type of heatsink 500 into which a refrigerant, for example, cooling water is injected (Published Instant Application paragraph 96). Thus, the cooling unit of Shin is considered equivalent to the heat sink of the instant invention.
Shin is silent about the cooling unit, considered equivalent to the heat sink, is between the battery cell stack and the pack frame. However, in the battery modules of Shin as modified by the pack frame of the disclosure of Walker it would have been obvious to have placed the cooling unit between the stacks of battery cells constituting the battery modules and the frame so the battery modules and the heat sink are in close proximity for the effective cooling of the battery cells of the battery modules constituting the battery pack.
Shin discloses the battery module may further include cooling fins interposed at the interface of the battery cells (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016) equivalent to the at least one cooling fin between two adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells. Shin discloses the cooling fin 216 (Shin Fig. 3) has a sheet or plate shape that is in contact with the two adjacent battery cells 210 (Shin Fig. 3, 0071), and having their end protruding out of the lateral surface of the stack of battery cells (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016). The part contact the battery cells in considered equivalent to the claimed body part and the protruding end is considered equivalent to the extension part, and the extension part, i.e. the protruding part is adjacent to the cooling unit 220 (Shin Fig. 3, 4), that is equivalent to the heat sink.
Shin disclose the protrusion part considered equivalent to the extension part has a bent part formed by bending in the horizontal direction at an angle about 90° (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0073). The bent part of the fin, considered equivalent to the extension part is in contact with the cooling unit 230, equivalent to the heat sink (Shin Fig. 3, 4).
Shin discloses the cooling plate 220, equivalent to the heat dissipation layer is bent at intervals in the direction of stacking of the battery cells, equivalent to the first direction, and is disposed discontinuously, that is at internals where it is not bent (Shin Fig. 4) as recited in claim 7
Regarding claim 2 the cooling unit 230, equivalent to the heat sink, is outside the battery module (Shin Fig. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 3 the cooling fin may be bent at 90° and has an L-shape (Shin Fig. 3, paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 4 Shin discloses the cooling fin is made of a sheet of metallic material such as aluminum or an aluminum alloy (Shin paragraph 0071). The Instant Specification also discloses the fin in the instant invention is made from a metal such as aluminum or an alloy of, and recognize it as having an elastic structure (Published Instant Application paragraph 0107, 0108). Therefore, the fin disclosed by Shin will also be elastic, since according to the MPEP, "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present." (In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658, Fed. Cir. 1990) See MPEP 2112.01 II
Regarding claim 5 the fin of Shin bent part deformable or bent according to the distance between the stack of the battery cells and the heat sink (Shin Fig. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 6 Shin discloses a cooling plate 220 receives heat from the battery cells 210 through the cooling fins 216 and transfers the heat to the cooling unit 230 to carry out cooling (Shin paragraph 0076); thus, it transfers heat, considered to be equivalent to dissipate heat, and the cooling plate is formed between the battery cell stack and the heat sink 230, and considered equivalent to the heat dissipation layer formed between the battery cell stack and the heat sink.
Regarding claim 8 Shin discloses a plurality of cooing fins 216 disposed at intervals from each other (Shin Fig. 3, 4, 0016, 0017, 0070-0073). The cooling plate, equivalent to the heat dissipation layer, has plurality of bent segments, and each segment contacts two cooling fins of the plurality of cooling fins 216 (Shin Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9 Shin discloses the protruding end of cooling fins 216, equivalent to the extension part of the fin, is bent so that it may be in close contact with the cooling plate 220 (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0073), equivalent to the heat dissipation layer contacts the extension part.
Regarding claim 10 the cooling layer, equivalent to the heat dissipation layer, is in contact with a terminal end of the extension part i.e. a second point of the fin than to a first point where the fin bends and the body part and the protruding part contact each other (Shin Fig. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 11 Shin discloses the protruding end of cooling fins 216, equivalent to the extension part of the fin, is bent so that it may be in close contact with the cooling plate 220 (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0073), equivalent to the heat dissipation layer contacts the extension part. The cooling plate 220 also contact the heat sink 230 (Shin Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12 Walker discloses the battery module has a housing designed to protect the cells from outside damage (Walker paragraph 0075); thus, such a housing will have plates on all sides to protect the cells, including at least one side plate to contact with an outer most battery cell. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have modified the battery module of Shin by the housing of Walker so as to protect the battery cells from damage and had at least one side late in contact with an outermost battery cell (Walker paragraph 0075). According to the MPEP such a modification is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 I C).
Regarding claim 15 Shin discloses the battery module is used in an electric vehicle (Shin paragraph 0064); the vehicle is considered equivalent the claimed device comprising the battery pack.
Claim 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2018/0175468) in view of Walker et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2014/042428) as applied to claim 12, and further in view of Jung et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2021/0194077)
The discussion of Shin and Walker as applied to claim 12 above is fully incorporated here and is relied upon for the limitation of the claims in this section.
Regarding claim 13 Shin as modified by Walker is silent about a holding strap for holding and fixing the side plates together. Jung discloses a battery system 1 include one or more battery module 10, the battery module 10 include plurality of battery cells 11 equivalent to the battery cell stack, a plurality of cooling structures 12 and 13, a plurality of plates 14 and 15, and a plurality of fixing portions 16 equivalent to the holding strap (Jung Fig. 2 paragraph 0027, 0064), the plates 14, 15 are equivalent to the sides plates, and the battery module 10 and consequently the battery cell stack is disposed between the two sides plates 15, and two sides plates are fixed by the fixing portions 16, equivalent to the holding straps.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the battery module of Shin by the side plates 15 and fixing portion 16 of Jung, equivalent to the claimed holding strap, in order to hold and fix the battery cell stack in the battery module. According to the MPEP such a modification is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 C).
Regarding claim 14 Jung discloses the fixing portion 16 considered equivalent to the holding strap is connected to an edge of the sides plates 15 (Jung Fig. 2, paragraph 0070), and shows to have holes at its two ends and the edge of the side plates 15 (Jung Fig. 2) and may be used for bolts and nuts connection, but is silent that the fixing portion 16 comprise a hook at its terminals ends and hook grooves corresponding to the hook formed on the side plate to fix the holding strap to the plates. However, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art to have used hooks-to-grooves connection between the fixing portion and the side plates instead of bolts-nuts connection for ease of connection. Such a modification is to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I B).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
The text of the text of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code not included in this section can be found in the prior Office Action.
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2018/0175468)
Regarding Claim 16 Shin discloses a battery module 200 including a stack of battery cells 210 and a heat sink 230, and in which battery cells are stacked and include cooling fins 216 interposed between at the interface of the battery cells 210 (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016). Thus, the cooling fin 216 has a part in contact with the battery cell 210 and is parallel with the battery cell (Shin Fig. 3, 4,), has a sheet or plate shape that is in contact with the two adjacent battery cells 210 (Shin Fig. 3, 0071), and having its end protruding out of the lateral surface of the stack of battery cells towards the heat sink (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016). The part contacting the battery cells is considered equivalent to the claimed body part and the protruding end is considered equivalent to the extension part. The protruding part considered equivalent to the extension part has a bend and at the point of bending has a curvature and extends from the curved portion to the terminal end (Shin Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17 the cooling fin 216 has a protruding part, equivalent to the extension part, and has bending portions, in the first bend has a first curvature, and that the second bend has a second curvature, and the first curvature is different from the second curvature (Shin Fig. 4, paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 18 the protruding part, equivalent to the extension part, has two bends having two potions that have different slanting angles (Shin Fig. 4); thus, having two slopes, a first slope and a second slope that are different since the bend angle for the two parts are different (Shin Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19 the first bending angle is wider than the second bending angle (Shin Fig 4), and so the absolute value of the slope for the two sides are different, one being greater than the other. The first point, that of bending of the protruding part, is located further from the one end of the body part than the second point.
Regarding claim 20 one of the two bend point is located closer to the heat sink than the other point, (Shin Fig. 4), both referred to as first point and second point.
Regarding claim 21 one of the bend point, referred to as the first point is located further from the one end of the body part than the second point, and second point being that is closer to the one end of the body part and is in non-contact with the heat sink (Shin Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 22 the cooling fin of Shin protruding part, that is the bent part, can be deformable or bent according to the distance between the stack of the battery cells and the heat sink (Shin Fig. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 23 the protruding part equivalent to the extension part have multiple bending points and form more than one part (Shin Fig. 4) considered equivalent to being formed in plural numbers.
Regarding claim 24 Shin discloses a cooling plate 220 receives heat from the battery cells 210 through the cooling fins 216 and transfers the heat to the cooling unit 230 to carry out cooling (Shin 'paragraph 0076); thus, it transfers heat, considered to be equivalent to dissipate heat, and the cooling plate is formed between the battery cell stack and the heat sink 230, and considered equivalent to the heat dissipation layer formed between the battery cell stack and the heat sink. The protruding part of the cooling fin 216 that is considered equivalent to the extension part is in contact with the cooling plate 220 (Shin Fig. 4) considered equivalent to the heat dissipation plate.
Regarding claim 25 Shin discloses the cooling plate, equivalent to the heat dissipation layer, has plurality of bent segments (Shin Fig. 4). Shin also discloses the cooling fin protruding part, equivalent to the extension part, has more than one bend portion (Shin Fig.4), considered equivalent to the plurality of extensions formed from the body part.
Regarding claim 26 Shin discloses the cooling plate 220, equivalent to the heat dissipation layer is bent at intervals in the direction of stacking of the battery cells, equivalent to the first direction, and is disposed discontinuously, that is at the internals where it is not bent, (Shin Fig. 4), and not disposed at the interval where it is bent (Shin Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 27 Shin discloses a plurality of cooing fins 216 disposed at intervals from each other (Shin Fig. 3, 4, 0016, 0017, 0070-0073), equivalent to the cooling fins formed as two or more cooling fins. The cooling plate 220, equivalent to the heat dissipation layer, has plurality of bent segments, and each segment contacts two cooling fins of the plurality of cooling fins 216 (Shin Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 28 Shin discloses the protruding end of cooling fins 216, equivalent to the extension part of the fin, is bent so that it may be in close contact with the cooling plate 220 (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0073), equivalent to the heat dissipation layer contacts the extension part. The cooling plate 220 also contact the heat sink 230 (Shin Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 29 Shin discloses a battery module may further include cooling fins interposed at the interface of the battery cells (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 30 Shin discloses a battery pack with a cooling member for cooling the battery cells (Shin paragraph 0004), and disclose cooling fins used (Shin Fig. 3, 4, paragraph 0016, 0071).
Response to Argument
Applicant traverses the rejection of the claims presented in the previous non-final Office action dated 04/06/2026. Applicant argues against the rejection of claims 1-6 and 8-15 and notes that the extension part of the cooling fin is in direct contact with the heat sink, while in the reference of Shin the protruding end of the cooling fin does not contact the cooling plate (Remarks page 8-9). Examiner notes that the protruding portion of the cooling fin is in direct contact with heat sink since the thermal pad, the cooling plate and the cooling unit are all can be considered constituting the heat sink since these features are integrated and together constitute the heat sink. Therefore, Shin is considered to disclose the limitation of amended claim 1 that the cooling is in direct contact with the heat sink.
Applicant also traverse the rejection of claim 7 and argues that the applied references including Shin do not disclose or suggest the combination of elements as set forth in independent claim 1 (this must be independent claim 7) (Remarks page 10-11). Examiner notes that the rejection of claim 7 is re-written to address all the newly added limitation. Examiner notes that the cooling pate 220 of Shin, considered equivalent to the heat dissipation layer has a structure bent at intervals where it is not in contact with the heat sink plate at intervals, and where it is in contact at intervals where it is not bent. Thus, meeting the limitation where it is disposed discontinuously in the first direction.
Applicant also traverses the rejection of claim 16-30 and argues that Shin does not disclose the feature that the cooling fin has a curvature in which it is curved in the same bending direction (Remarks page 12-13). Examiner notes that the cooling fin of Shin has a double such bending direction which are along the same plane and the adjacent bend portions are directed in the same direction meeting the claim limitation.
Therefore, the previously presented rejections of the claims is not overcome by the amendment of the claims and is still considered proper, and the combined teachings of the applied references renders the claimed invention obvious. This Office action is made final.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/OMAR M KEKIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1722