DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (“Huang”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0020416) in view of Byrd et al. (“Byrd”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0041576).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses an optical modulator in which an electro-optical conversion element and a driver circuit for driving the electro-optical conversion element are housed in the same case (fig. 6 elements 640 and paragraphs 0033-0034, where being part of the same chip reads on “housed in the same case”), comprising: a multiplexer that converts an input modulation signal, which is input from an outside of the case, into an output modulation signal having a higher frequency than the input modulation signal, and supplies the output modulation signal to the driver circuit, wherein the multiplexer and the driver circuit are disposed on a flip-chip substrate (paragraph 0033), the flip-chip substrate is housed in the case (fig. 6 elements 660, where the data signals arriving from outside the chip reads on “outside of the case”, in light of fig. 2 element 240 and paragraph 0020, where the multiplexer is inputting more than one data signals from the data bus and directing an output signal for the modulator). The multiplexing inherently results in at least more, i.e., a higher frequency of, bits per symbol than any one of input data streams. Huang does not disclose that the input modulation signal is transmitted using a flexible printed circuit provided on the outside of the case. Byrd discloses a flexible printed circuit for conveying external signals to an optical transceiver circuit (fig. 1A element 165 and paragraph 0051). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a flexible printed circuit to convey the data signals to the chip of Huang, since flexible printed circuits allow for more arrangement options, compact packaging, etc.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Huang and Byrd discloses the optical modulator according to claim 1, wherein the multiplexer is parallel/serial conversion means (Huang: fig. 6 elements 660 in light of fig. 2 element 240 and paragraph 0020, where an N:1 multiplexer reads on parallel/serial conversion).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Huang and Byrd discloses the optical modulator according to claim 1, but does not expressly state that the flip-chip bonding is separating the electro-optical conversion element from the multiplex and driver circuit. However, fig. 6 discloses the modulators 640 with the larger chip boundary and the multiplexers and drivers on the smaller chip boundary CMOS circuitry 620. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to flip-chip bond these elements for the flip-chip configuration mentioned by Huang, since fig. 6 shows the alignment of the two chip components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Huang does not disclose the multiplexer and the driver circuit are disposed on a flip-chip substrate, the flip-chip substrate is housed in the case. This argument is not persuasive because its conclusory, without addressing the corresponding citation to Huang on the merits, as presented in the rejection. As for Huang not disclosing the input modulation signal is transmitted using a flexible printed circuit provided on the outside of the case, the argument against Huang is persuasive because the limitation is rejected based on the combination of Huang and Byrd, not Huang alone.
Applicant also argues that Byrd does not teach the input modulation signal is transmitted using a flexible printed circuit provided on the outside of the case, an electro-optical conversion element and a driver circuit for driving the electro-optical conversion element are housed in the same case, and the multiplexer and the driver circuit are disposed on a flip-chip substrate, the flip-chip substrate is housed in the case. For the first of these limitations, the argument is conclusory, without addressing the corresponding citation to Byrd on the merits, or the rationale of the combination with Huang, as presented in the rejections. For the latter two of these limitations, the argument against Byrd is not persuasive because Huang is cited for them, not Byrd.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634