DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 recites the limitation "the reflector" in claim 6 line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Please change “the reflector” to “a reflector” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weinschenk et al. (US Pat. 10,210,607).
Regarding claim 1, Weinschenk discloses a work information projection system (system 100 of fig. 1), comprising:
a projector (projector 102 of fig. 1) that projects an auxiliary image (truss image 633 shown in fig. 6) that assists work onto a workplace (area underneath the camera 101 and projector 102 of fig. 6);
a camera (camera 101 of fig. 1) that captures the workplace (truss-assembly table 109 of fig. 1);
a memory (each projector 102/camera 101 of fig. 1 has a processor 105; it is known that processors require memory): and
a controller (projection control 610 of fig. 6), connected to the memory (illustrated in fig. 6), that creates the auxiliary image (from the truss file repository 232) and transmits it to the projector,
wherein, during a calibration process of calibrating relative information that indicates a relative positional relation between the camera and the projector (col. 11 lines 30-31):
the camera (101) captures a calibration image (calibration image 634 of fig. 6) projected by the projector (102) onto a calibration jig (table 609 of fig. 6), and
the controller (610) performs the calibration process of calibrating the relative information based on the calibration image captured by the camera (illustrated in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Weinschenk discloses wherein the camera moves integrally with the projector (illustrated in figs. 2A and fig. 5; projector/camera subsystems 111 (e.g., 211-219) are integrated by projector-camera subsystems 111).
Regarding claim 4, Weinschenk discloses wherein during the work when the auxiliary image (633) is projected onto the workplace (area underneath the camera 101 and projector 102 of fig. 6), a direction of an optical axis of the camera is different form a direction of an optical axis of the projector (illustrated in fig. 6 the projector is separate from the camera; therefore, the optical axis is different from the direction of an optical axis of the projector).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinschenk et al. (US Pat. 10,210,607) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Someya (US PG Pub. 20190110032).
Regarding claim 2, Weinschenk discloses a work information projection system (system 100 of fig. 1), comprising: a projector (projector 102 of fig. 1) that projects an auxiliary image (truss image 633 shown in fig. 6) that assists work onto a workplace (area underneath the camera 101 and projector 102 of fig. 6); a camera (camera 101 of fig. 1) that captures the workplace (truss-assembly table 109 of fig. 1).
Weinschenk fails to teach wherein, during the work when the image is projected onto the surface: the controller estimates a position of the camera based on an image captured by the camera, the controller estimates a position of the projector based on the relative information and the position of the camera, and the controller controls the projector based on the position of the projector to project the image onto the surface.
Someya discloses wherein, during the work when the image is projected onto the surface (para. 0037; a standardized light pattern 12 of a predetermined picture pattern is projected by a projector 11 onto a screen 13): the controller (para. 0087; control unit 251) estimates a position of the camera based on an image captured by the camera (para. 0037; the attitude (positional relationship) of the camera), the controller estimates a position of the projector based on the relative information and the position of the camera (para. 0037; the standardized light pattern 12 and the captured image 15 are determined on the basis of the picture pattern of the standardized light pattern 12, the attitude (positional relationship) of the projector 11 and the camera 14), and the controller controls the projector based on the position of the projector to project the image onto the surface (para. 0037; the attitude (positional relationship) of the projector 11 and the camera 14, a shape of the screen 13, and the like are determined by triangulation or the like, on the basis of the corresponding points, whereby the attitude of the projector and the camera can be estimated on the basis of the result.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection system of Weinschenk and the estimation unit of Someya in order to perform on-line sensing without synchronizing and without using a specialized device (Someya; para. 0017).
Claim(s) 5 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinschenk et al. (US Pat. 10,210,607) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boissier (FR 2969319 A).
Regarding claim 5, Weinschenk discloses a work information projection system (system 100 of fig. 1), comprising: a projector (projector 102 of fig. 1) that projects an auxiliary image (truss image 633 shown in fig. 6) that assists work onto a workplace (area underneath the camera 101 and projector 102 of fig. 6); a camera (camera 101 of fig. 1) that captures the workplace (truss-assembly table 109 of fig. 1).
Weinschenk fails to teach wherein during the work, the optical axis of the camera is not included in a range in which the projector can project projection light.
Boissier discloses wherein during the work, the optical axis of the camera is not included in a range in which the projector can project projection light (illustrated in fig. 8; the camera 2 is not in the range of the projection light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection system of Weinschenk with the camera not in the range of the projected image as shown in Boissier in order to prevent obstruction of the projected image.
Regarding claim 11, Weinschenk discloses a work information projection system (system 100 of fig. 1), comprising: a projector (projector 102 of fig. 1) that projects an auxiliary image (truss image 633 shown in fig. 6) that assists work onto a workplace (area underneath the camera 101 and projector 102 of fig. 6); a camera (camera 101 of fig. 1) that captures the workplace (truss-assembly table 109 of fig. 1).
Weinschenk fails to teach wherein an optical axis of the camera is upward or downward with respect to a plane perpendicular to a vertical direction.
Boissier discloses wherein an optical axis of the camera (camera 2 of fig. 8) is upward or downward with respect to a plane perpendicular to a vertical direction (illustrated in fig. 8 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection system of Weinschenk with the camera facing downward as shown in fig. 8 of Boissier in order to prevent glare from being analyzed in the projected image.
Regarding claim 12, Weinschenk discloses a work information projection method comprising: comprising: capturing an image by a camera (camera 101 of fig. 1): calibrating relative information that indicates a positional relation between the camera and a projector (col. 9 lines 55-59; projector/camera subsystem 211-219 (see FIG. 2A) is calibrated by having its projector 102 project a geometric pattern (e.g., a quadrilateral or other suitable shape) and having its camera 101 obtain an image of the work surface of TMS 209); and projecting an auxiliary image onto a workplace using the projector that moves integrally with the camera (illustrated in figs. 2B and 4), wherein the calibrating includes: projecting a calibration image onto a calibration jig by the projector; calibrating the relative information based on the calibration image captured by the camera (col. 9 lines 55-59; projector/camera subsystem 211-219 (see FIG. 2A) is calibrated by having its projector 102 project a geometric pattern (e.g., a quadrilateral or other suitable shape) and having its camera 101 obtain an image of the work surface of TMS 209).
Weinschenk fails to teach capturing the calibration image through a reflector by the camera.
Boissier discloses capturing the calibration image through a reflector by the camera (pg. 2 3rd para.; using camera sensing technology. In particular, one of the possible solutions is to ensure that the camera automatically detects the position of a predefined set of cue points generated by the computer and projected by the video projector, during the calibration phase).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection system of Weinschenk with the reflector of Boissier in order to prevent glare from being analyzed in the projected image.
Regarding claim 13, Weinschenk discloses a work information projection system (system 100 of fig. 1), comprising: a projector (projector 102 of fig. 1) that projects an auxiliary image (truss image 633 shown in fig. 6) that assists work onto a workplace (area underneath the camera 101 and projector 102 of fig. 6); a camera (camera 101 of fig. 1) that captures the workplace (truss-assembly table 109 of fig. 1).
Weinschenk fails to teach a reflector and the reflector being detachable.
Boissier discloses a reflector (separating mirror 4 of fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection system of Weinschenk with the reflector of Boissier in order to prevent glare from being analyzed in the projected image.
Weinschenk as modified by Boissier fails to teach wherein the reflector is detachable; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the reflector making it detachable in order to make the projection device easily packable, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 1 t
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The subject matter of claim 9 that was found to be allowable because the camera captures the calibration image through the reflector during the calibration process, and the camera captures the workplace without the reflector during the work when the auxiliary image is projected onto the workplace.
The subject matter of claim 10 that was found to be allowable because the calibration process: the controller calculates a positional relation between the camera and the reflector based on the reflector included in an image captured by the camera, the controller calculates a positional relation between the camera and a virtual camera based on the positional relation between the camera and the reflector, and the controller calculates a positional relation between the projector and the virtual camera based on the calibration image reflected in the reflector and calibrates the relative information.
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 23 January 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882