Claims 1-26 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted have been considered. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.9 /. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 4, replace “estimate a the predetermined" with ---estimate the predetermined---.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a conversion unit", "an extraction unit", and "an estimation unit" of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject `matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the elements "a conversion unit", "an extraction unit", and "an estimation unit" are limitations that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function. The specification never clearly specifies what each of these elements are. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. In the instant application, it is not clear in the specification as to what particular corresponding structures the Applicant intends to encompass for performing the claimed functions. The specification and drawings do not disclose sufficient corresponding structure, material or acts for performing the claimed functions. The specification merely repeats the function without any structure to perform the function. The drawing provided simply designates a 'block box' to perform the function (see for example FIG. 1, 21, 23, and 24). Thus, Examiner could not properly determine the scope of the claim as the specification does not set forth clear structure that performs each function invoked by the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
The patent law requires that applicant must disclose his invention in such detail that it will not require undue experimentation for one skill in the art. Applicant did not comply with this requirement of the first paragraph. The examiner contends (at the time the invention was made) that it would require undue experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the claimed invention for the reasons set forth above. Applicant is reminded that no new matter is allowed in the amendment to the specifications under 35 U.S.C. 132 and 37 CFR 1.118(a). Dependent claims are rejected upon dependency of the above independent claims.
Claims 1 and 5 recite the limitation “extracting normal vector data having a relatively high similarity to the abnormal vector data from among a plurality of pieces of normal vector data obtained by converting a plurality of pieces of normal packet data using the model” which does specify how the extraction or separation is performed. Further, how do the normal data and abnormal vector data are related or what is their similarity. Interconnections between the normal vector data having a relatively high similarity to the abnormal vector data are extremely confusing and for the most part not detailed or mentioned in the claim. It is difficult to translate the claim and follow what processes are taking place. Correction is required.
Dependent claim depends from the base claim and inherently includes limitations therein and therefore is rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Iizuka et al. “herein Iizuka” (U.S. PN: 11,507,076).
As per claims 1 and 5:
Iizuka substantially teaches estimation method and apparatus (see col. 5, lines 34-50) comprising a conversion unit comprising one more processors, configured to convert abnormal packet data into abnormal vector data using a model that converts packet data into vector data in which each byte of the packet data is associated with each vector representing a characteristic of a value of each byte an extraction unit that extracts configured to extract normal vector data having a relatively high similarity to the abnormal vector data from among a plurality of pieces of normal vector data obtained by converting a plurality of pieces of normal packet data using the model; (see col. 6, lines 32-67 to col. 7, lines 1-21, and col. 9, lines 36-43) and an estimation unit that estimates an abnormal byte in the abnormal packet data from a similarity between a vector corresponding to each byte of the abnormal vector data and a vector corresponding to each byte of the extracted normal vector data (see col. 7, lines 22-36, col, 13, lines 29-67 to col. 14, lines 1-28).
As per claim 2, Iizuka teaches wherein the model is generated by learning a value of each byte of a plurality of pieces of normal packet data (see col. 6, lines 32-67 to col. 7, lines 1-21, and col. 9, lines 36-43).
As per claim 3, Iizuka teaches wherein the extraction unit calculates a similarity between a vector of the abnormal vector data and a vector of the normal vector data for each byte of the abnormal vector data to calculate a similarity between the abnormal vector data and the normal vector data from the similarity calculated for each byte (see col. 6, lines 32-67 to col. 7, lines 1-21, and col. 9, lines 36-43).
As per claim 4, Iizuka teaches wherein in a case where a highest similarity among similarities between a vector corresponding to a predetermined byte of the abnormal packet data and a vector corresponding to each byte of the extracted normal vector data is lower than a predetermined threshold, the estimation unit estimates the predetermined byte as the abnormal byte (see col. 6, lines 32-67 to col. 7, lines 1-21, and col. 9, lines 36-43).
As per claim 6, Iizuka teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions executable by a computer to perform operations as the estimation apparatus (see col, 3, lines 7-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oba (U.S. PN: 11962479) teaches on the basis of the abnormality degree of detection target packet stream 20 that has been calculated by information calculator 27, determiner 28 determines whether or not detection target packet stream 20 is abnormal. Subsequently, determiner 28 outputs determiner 28 outputs the determination result to the outside of determiner 28. For example, determiner 28 may store a threshold value, and when the abnormality degree of detection target packet stream 20 is greater than or equal to the threshold value, determiner 28 may determine that detection target packet stream 20 is abnormal, and when the abnormality degree of detection target packet stream 20 is less than the threshold value, determiner 28 may determine that detection target packet stream 20 is not abnormal.
Gupta et al. (U.S. PN: 12,021,720) in FIG. 3, teaches training controller 204 includes the example feature extractor 304 to generate a feature vector based on pre-processed packet samples and features from the example pre-processor 302. The example feature extractor 304 generates or builds derived values of feature vectors (e.g., representative off features in n packet samples) that are to be informative and non-redundant to facilitate the training phase of the training controller 204. As used herein, a feature vector is an n-dimensional array (e.g., a vector) of features that represent some workload category. For example, a feature could be one of the f features such as inter-packet arrival time, protocol identifier, packet direction, source and destination, packet length (e.g., bit size), QoS, etc. For example, the network packet controller 202 of FIG. 2 captures a plurality of network data packets from the network 102 corresponding to a video call. In such an example, the feature extractor 304 extracts data packet features and generates vectors for the data packets and provides the vectors to the model trainer 308.
/ESAW T ABRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112