DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-22, 26-27 and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottwald et al. (US PG. Pub. 2019/0363043) in view of Huang et al. (US PG. Pub. 2019/0237373) and further in view of Batchelder (US Patent 6019165).
Regarding claim 16 – Gottwald teaches a printed circuit board (fig. 10, 60 [paragraph 0055] Gottwald states, “circuit board module 60”) for electrical components (components 10 and 30) and/or conducting paths, comprising
- a base body (40 [paragraph 0049] Gottwald states, “circuit board base frame 40”) extending along a main extension plane (horizontal plane), and
- an insert (10 [paragraph 0056] Gottwald states, “embedded metal-ceramic module 10”) integrated in the base body (40), wherein the insert (10) comprises a metal-ceramic substrate (12 [paragraph 0061] Gottwald states, “metal-ceramic substrate 12”), an electrical and/or electronic component (30) and an encapsulation (58 [paragraph 0054] Gottwald states, “curing the resin 58 liquified during lamination”) enclosing (along the side surface and top surface) at least the electrical and/or electronic component (30 [paragraph 0044] Gottwald states, “electronic component 30), wherein, in addition to the electrical and/or electronic component, a component metallization (16 [paragraph 0038] Gottwald states, “metal top ply 16”), a ceramic element (14 [paragraph 0036] Gottwald states, “ceramic carrier 14”) and/or a backside metallization (18 [paragraph 0057] Gottwald states, “metal inner ply 18”) of the metal-ceramic substrate (12) is surrounded by the encapsulation (58) at the side of the insert (10; claimed structure shown in figure 10), wherein the ceramic element (14) protrudes with respect to the component metallization (16) and/or backside metallization (figure 10 shows the ceramic element 14 “protruding” above the backside metallization 18).
Gottwald fails to explicitly teach wherein the insert comprises a heat sink, and wherein the heat sink comprises at least one cooling channel.
Huang teaches an insert (fig. 6, 10 [paragraph 0021] Huang states, “chip package module 10”) wherein the insert (10) comprises a heat sink (106 [paragraph 0032] Huang states, “the heat dissipation apparatus 106 includes a pressure-resistant insulating material 108 and a heat sink 110”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board having an insert as taught by Gottwald with the insert comprises a heat sink as taught by Huang because a heat sink will remove heat from the electronic component extending the life of the printed circuit board and electronic component.
Batchelder explicitly teaches wherein the heat sink (fig. 6, 110 [title] Batchelder states, “heat exchange apparatus”) comprises at least one cooling channel (see cooling channel formed between fins 112 [column 7 lines 5-7] Batchelder states, “a thermal conduction means such as pins (102), fins (112)”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board having an insert comprising a heat sink as taught by Gottwald in view of Huang with the heat sink explicitly having at least one cooling channel as taught by Batchelder because Batchelder states, “The fin means function to increase the effective area of contact between a heat transfer fluid such as the atmosphere and one or more surfaces (104)” [column 7 lines 11-14].
Regarding claim 17 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 16, wherein the insert (10) has at least one insert-side connection (insert-side connections shown connected to vias V1 and V2), wherein the at least one insert-side connection is formed on a component side (top side of component 30) of the insert (10) and is connected to the electrical and/or electronic component (30) via a through-hole plating (V1 [paragraph 0059] Gottwald states, “The contacts by means of the through contacts or vias V1 to V4”) in the encapsulation (58).
Regarding claim 18 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 16, wherein the metal-ceramic substrate (12) comprises a component side metallization (16 [paragraph 0038] Gottwald states, “metal top ply 16”) and a ceramic element (14 [paragraph 0036] Gottwald states, “ceramic carrier 14”).
Regarding claim 19 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 16, wherein the component metallization (16) is structured (figure 10 shows the component metallization 16 having a defined “structure” additionally the combined metallization of 16 with 20 show a step structure which is also considered a “structure” when considering broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims).
Regarding claim 20 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 16, wherein the encapsulation (58) surrounds the electrical and/or electronic component (30) and at least a portion of the metal-ceramic substrate (12; claimed structure shown in figure 10).
Regarding claim 21 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 16, wherein a sidewall of the insert (10) is modulated to form a profile (see profile shown of insert 10), wherein the ceramic element (14) protrudes with respect to the component metallization (16) and/or the backside metallization (18) in a direction parallel (horizontal direction) to the main extension plane (claimed structure shown in figure 10).
Regarding claim 22 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 16, wherein the insert (10) comprises a further through-hole plating (V2 [paragraph 0054] Gottwald states, “contacts V1, V2, V3”) which is recessed into the encapsulation (58) and which bonds the component metallization (combination of layers 22 & 20) of the metal-ceramic substrate (12) to an insert-side connection (56 [paragraph 0052] Gottwald states, “copper film 56”) of the insert (10).
Regarding claim 26 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 16, wherein at least one wiring level (22 [paragraph 0039] Gottwald states, “metal layer 22”) is integrated into the encapsulation (58, figure 10 shows the wiring level 22 being covered by the encapsulation on the upper and side surface and is considered “integrated” into the encapsulation 58).
Regarding claim 27 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 16, wherein the base body (40 having layer 42 [paragraph 0049] Gottwald states, “a circuit board base frame 40 made of a circuit board carrier material 42 (for example, made of FR4) is provided”) has a different material composition than the insert (10; ceramic material described in paragraph 0036 is materially different than that of FR4).
Regarding claim 29 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the insert (Gottwald; fig. 10, 10) for a printed circuit board (60) according to claim 16, wherein the insert (10) comprises a metal-ceramic substrate (12) as well as an electrical and/or electronic component (30) and an encapsulation (58) surrounding at least the electrical and/or electronic component (30), wherein, in addition to the electrical and/or electronic component (30), a component metallization (20), a ceramic element (14) and/or a backside metallization (18) of the metal-ceramic substrate (12) is also surrounded by the encapsulation (58) at the side of the insert (10; claimed structure shown in figure 10), wherein the ceramic element (14) protrudes with respect to the component metallization and/or backside metallization (18, figure 10 shows the ceramic element 14 “protruding” above the component metallization 18).
Regarding claim 30 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the method of manufacturing a printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 29, wherein
- an insert (10) according to claim 14 and a base body (40) are provided,
- the insert (10) is inserted into the base body (40), and
- the insert (10) and base body (40) are adhesively bonded (adhesively bonded/laminated/cured through resin 58), force-fitted and/or form-fitted to one another.
Regarding claim 31 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 17, wherein the at least one insert-side connection (56 [paragraph 0052] Gottwald states, “copper film 56”) is connected to a component-side connection (connection shown between component 30 and via V1) on the electrical and/or electronic component (30) on its side facing away from the metal-ceramic substrate (12).
Regarding claim 32 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 18, wherein the metal-ceramic substrate (12) further comprises a backside metallization (18 [paragraph 0056] Gottwald states, “metal bottom ply 18”).
Regarding claim 33 – Gottwald in view of Huang teach the printed circuit board (Gottwald; fig. 10, 60) according to claim 19, wherein a space between two metal sections (22) of the structured component metallization (combination of elements 16 & 22) is filled with material from the encapsulation (58; claimed structure shown in figure 10).
Claim(s) 23 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottwald et al. in view of Huang et al. and Batchelder as applied to claims 16 and 17 above, and further in view of Fuergut et al. (US PG. Pub. 2022/0102311).
Regarding claim 23 – Gottwald in view of Huang and Batchelder teach the printed circuit board according to claim 17, but fails to teach wherein a distance dimensioned in the stacking direction between the component-side connection and the insert-side connection has a value between 100 um and 500 um.
Fuergut teaches a printed circuit board (fig. 1, 100) having an insert (20 [paragraph 0027] Fuergut states, “semiconductor die package 20”) wherein a distance dimensioned in the stacking direction between the component-side connection (22A [paragraph 0027] Fuergut states, “source pad 22A”) and the insert-side connection (40 [paragraph 0032] Fuergut states, “outer metallic contact layers 40”) has a value between 100 um and 500 um ([paragraph 0030] Fuergut states, “a length of the vertical contacts 24, 25, and 26 lies in a range from 30 μm to 1 mm, more specifically from 50 μm to 500 μm, more specifically from 100 μm to 300 μm”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board having a distance between the component-side connection and the insert-side connection as taught by Gottwald in view of Huang and Batchelder with the distance between the component-side connection and the insert-side connection being between 100um and 500um as taught by Fuergut because this distance provides effective insulation to prevent shorting of the electrical component while also maintain a thin profile for the completed printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 28 – Gottwald in view of Huang and Batchelder teach the printed circuit board according to claim 16, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the encapsulation is manufactured
- from the material of the base body and/or
- from plastic, hard paper and/or epoxy resin.
Fuergut explicitly teaches a printed circuit board (fig. 1, 100) having an encapsulation (23 [paragraph 0038] Fuergut states, “encapsulant 23”) wherein the encapsulation is manufactured
- from the material of the base body and/or
- from plastic, hard paper and/or epoxy resin ([paragraph 0038] Fuergut states, “
The encapsulant 23 can be comprised of a conventional mold compound like, for example, a resin material, in particular an epoxy resin material”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board having an encapsulation as taught by Gottwald in view of Huang and Batchelder with the encapsulant being epoxy resin as taught by Fuergut because Fuergut states, “the encapsulant 23 can be made of a thermally conductive material to allow efficient heat dissipation to external metallic heat sinks” [paragraph 0038]. Epoxy resin is known to have exceptional strength, durability and moisture resistance, desirable characteristics for PCBs.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottwald et al. in view of Huang et al. and Batchelder as applied to claims 16 above, and further in view of Hsu (US PG. Pub. 2007/0158824).
Regarding claim 25 – Gottwald in view of Huang and Batchelder teach the printed circuit board according to claim 16, but fails to teach wherein the heat sink is directly connected to the ceramic element.
Hsu teaches wherein a heat sink (fig. 4, 18 [paragraph 0030] Hsu states, “heat dissipating structure 18”) is directly connected to a ceramic element (17 [paragraph 0032] Hsu states, “thermal conductive layer 17 can be made of material such as metal or ceramic”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board with an insert having a ceramic element and having a heat sink connected to the insert as taught by Gottwald in view of Huang and Batchelder with the heat sink being directly connected to the ceramic element as taught by Hsu because Hsu states, “a thermal conductive layer 17 is formed on a bottom surface of the conductive layer 11 and associated with a heat dissipating structure 18. The heat dissipating structure 18 functions to lower the temperature of the electrical component 14 and/or the circuit layer 15 by thermal convection with environmental air or other medium” [paragraph 0030]. The direct contact between the ceramic element and the heat sink will facilitate efficient heat dissipation properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “While Gottwald mentions the “option” of a direct connection to a heat sink, it treats the heat sink as an external add-on or a generic metal layer (ply 18) rather than a structured internal cooling system. Gottwald does not consider the internal fluid dynamics or the specific expansion-ratio benefits of channels…Huang’s cooler is a discrete component intended for general chip packaging, not an integrated part of a metal-ceramic insert designed to be embedded within a PCB base body…The cooling element of Huang is attached at the bottom side of assembly of PCB and insert. The Cooling element is not incorporated into the insert” [REMARKS page 8].
Examiner disagrees. As pointed out by the Applicant Gottwald does suggest including a heat sink and states in paragraph 0056, “the metal bottom ply 18 of the embedded metal-ceramic module 10 forms a bottom metal outer ply, so that the option exists here of a direct connection to a heat sink”. Therefore including the heat sink of Huang (for heat dissipation) to that of the insert of Gottwald (which discloses the use of a heat sink) would appear reasonable to one having ordinary skill in the art.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847