DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/08/2023, 01/29/2025 and 08/08/2025 have been entered and considered. Initialed copy/copies of the PTO-1449 by the Examiner is/are attached
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites in part “the chute receives”. Please amend the claim by replacing the word “the” with the word “a” because the phrase “the chute receives” induces indefinite language. Amending the claim would avoid a 35 USC 112(b) indefinite rejection.
Claim 13 recites in part “a an approximately”. Please amend the claim by removing the word “a”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Eliuk teaches a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object (an automated Pharmacy Admixture System (APAS) may include a manipulator system to transport medical containers such as bags, vials, or syringes in a compounding chamber regulated to a pressure below atmospheric pressure – see [p][0007]) comprising: a robotic conveying arm (318 – see Fig 1) comprising an end effector with a clamp (the robotic arm 318 further includes a gripper that can be used, for example, to pick items from a pocket on a rack or to grasp items within the APAS cell 100 for manipulation – see [p][0091] and Fig 1), wherein the clamp is adjustable to grip cylindrical objects with different diameters (the robot gripper 904 grasps the fill port 810 both above and below the bag holder 812 with two-jawed gripper fingers 906 to provide a reliable grip and provide alignment of the port with respect to the gripper axes – see [p][0115]) and wherein the robotic conveying arm is movable in x, y, and z ([t]he processing chamber 304 includes a multiple degree of freedom robotic arm 318, and the robotic arm 318 further includes a gripper that can be used, for example, to pick items from a pocket on a rack or to grasp items within the APAS cell 100 for manipulation. An illustrative gripper is described in further detail with reference to FIGS. 9-11. The robotic arm 318 may respond to command signals from a controller (not shown) to pick up, manipulate, or reposition inventory items within the processing chamber 304, and in or around the carousels 310, 312. The robotic arm 318 may manipulate inventory items, for example, by picking a vial, IV bag, or syringe from a rack of he carousels 310, 312 in the inventory chamber 302, and moving the item to a station in the processing chamber 304 for use in compound preparation. In some examples, the robotic arm 318 may manipulate inventory items on the carousels 310, 312 through access port 410 in the dividing wall 316. The dividing wall 316 may be substantially sealed so that a substantially aseptic environment may be maintained for compounding processes in the processing chamber 304 – see [p][0091]); a platform (5005 - see Fig 50) for receiving a cylindrical sample container (5015 – see Fog 50), wherein the sample container is placed on the platform by the robotic conveying arm (FIG. 48 shows how gripper information can be used in vial confirmation in an APAS cell. The robotic arm 506 is equipped with a gripper 1000 with movable fingers 4810 and 4815, as shown with reference to FIG. 10 – see [p][0417] and Fig 10 and 48); a camera (camera system 5010 – see [p][0433]) positioned to obtain an image of the cylindrical sample container when placed on the platform (camera to take images of the vial label – see [p][0398]), wherein the cylindrical sample container is placed on the platform in a vertical orientation ([i]n this embodiment, the diluent bag manipulator station 1702 may orient IV bags for fluid transfer on a needle up syringe manipulator station 322, an example of which is described with reference to FIG. 3 – see [p][0161]) and wherein the cylindrical sample container carries a label (see [p][0298]) and wherein the camera is placed to obtain one or more images of the label carried by the cylindrical sample container (vial labels may be trained by using a software interface and camera to take images of the vial label -see [p][0398]); wherein the system constructs a two-dimensional image of the label from the one or more images of the label obtained by the camera (camera to take images of the vial label – see [p][0398]); and wherein, after an image of the label is obtained, the cylindrical sample container is removed from the system by the robotic conveying arm (perform one or more other actions, and return to grasp and convey the object after sanitization is complete – see [p][0243]).
Regarding claim 3, Eliuk teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a rotating platform (a rotating platform 5005 – see Fig 50) on which the cylindrical sample container is place (see [p][0433]).
Regarding claim 4, Eliuk teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the camera obtains an image of the label in a single frame ([a]s the vial 5015 rotates, the camera 5010 can take images of the vial label 5025 – see [p][0433]).
Regarding claim 5, Eliuk teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the camera is in communication with a processor ([t]he APAS can include a processor (e.g., digital circuit, ASIC, and/or microprocessor) – see [p][0484]).
Regarding claim 12, Eliuk teaches the system of one of claim 1, wherein a gate is placed on the platform, wherein the gate is operable from a first position in which the cylindrical sample container is supported on the platform to a second position where the cylindrical sample container is allowed to pass through an opening in the platform that results when the gate is moved to the second position (FIG. 4, in the inventory supply area 3110 can operate as a type of revolving door pass-through, preventing uncontrolled air transfer between the inventory supply area 3110 and the ambient environment. This can occur during the loading of the APAS cell 3100. The inventory carousels in the inventory supply area 3110 can also prevent uncontrolled air transfer between the inventory supply area 3110 area and the compounding area 3105 during inventory access – see [p][0266]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1) as applied to claim 1 in view of Berndt (US Patent No.: 7643134).
Regarding claim 2, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the cylindrical sample container is a blood culture bottle.
However, Berndt explicitly teach wherein the cylindrical sample container is a blood culture bottle (blood culture bottle – col 6, lines 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Berndt wherein the cylindrical sample container is a blood culture bottle.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the cylindrical sample container is a blood culture bottle.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for performing optical measurements on a sealable container that can be used to rapidly distinguish positive blood cultures from negative blood cultures to automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Berndt relate to imaging bottles, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Berndt performing optical measurements on a sealable container that can be used to rapidly distinguish positive blood cultures from negative blood cultures (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Berndt (US Patent No.: 7643134), see col 1, lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 14, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 3, wherein the cylindrical sample container is a blood culture bottle.
However, Berndt explicitly teach wherein the cylindrical sample container is a blood culture bottle (blood culture bottle – col 6, lines 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Berndt wherein the cylindrical sample container is a blood culture bottle.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the cylindrical sample container is a blood culture bottle.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for performing optical measurements on a sealable container that can be used to rapidly distinguish positive blood cultures from negative blood cultures to automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Berndt relate to imaging bottles, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Berndt performing optical measurements on a sealable container that can be used to rapidly distinguish positive blood cultures from negative blood cultures (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Berndt (US Patent No.: 7643134), see col 1, lines 11-15).
Claims 6-7 and 18-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1) as applied to claim 1 in view of
Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760).
Regarding claim 6, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 5, wherein the processor is programmed to apply a polar transform to the image received from the camera.
However, Vertoprakhov explicitly teach wherein the processor is programmed to apply a polar transform to the image received from the camera (Polar inspection system 302 receives image data that includes a polar projection of a circumferential view of an object under inspection – see [p][0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Vertoprakhov wherein the processor is programmed to apply a polar transform to the image received from the camera.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the processor is programmed to apply a polar transform to the image received from the camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for locating defects of the object in a projected image data for the purpose of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Vertoprakhov relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Vertoprakhov locate defects of the object in a projected image data or by converting the image data from the projected inspection coordinates to Cartesian coordinates (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760), see [p][0162]).
Regarding claim 7, Eliuk does not explicitly teach, wherein the processor outputs a transformed image from applying the polar transform.
However, Vertoprakhov explicitly teach wherein the processor outputs a transformed image from applying the polar transform (the relationship between the location of individual pixels and the image data generated at those locations can be determined based on a mathematical relationship based on the dimensions of the set of mirrors that are used to generate the peripheral image data. In this manner, the polar projected image data can be mapped to a Cartesian coordinate system to allow image data inspection processes that require the use of Cartesian coordinate data to be utilized – see [p][0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Vertoprakhov wherein the processor outputs a transformed image from applying the polar transform.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the processor outputs a transformed image from applying the polar transform.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for locating defects of the object in a projected image data for the purpose of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Vertoprakhov relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Vertoprakhov locate defects of the object in a projected image data or by converting the image data from the projected inspection coordinates to Cartesian coordinates (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760), see [p][0162]).
Regarding claim 18, Eliuk does not explicitly teach, further comprising an auxiliary mirror module comprising an angled mirrored interior surface interposed between the cylindrical sample container and the camera, wherein the camera is positioned such that it can capture an image of the cylindrical sample container when placed on the platform.
However, Vertoprakhov explicitly teach further comprising an auxiliary mirror module comprising an angled mirrored interior surface interposed between the cylindrical sample container and the camera, wherein the camera is positioned such that it can capture an image of the cylindrical sample container when placed on the platform (camera 104 generates image data of an image provided by the lens through the cone mirror 204. Spherical mirror 206 has a known spherical curvature and a radius that allows the polar projection image of the object under inspection that is generated by reflection of the image onto cone mirror 204 and generation into a set of image data by camera 104 to be inspected. The radius of curvature of mirrors 206 and angle of the cone 204 and suitable distances can be derived from general optics theory. An aspherical profile of the mirror 206 can be applied to reduce image aberration - see [p][0027] and Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Vertoprakhov further comprising an auxiliary mirror module comprising an angled mirrored interior surface interposed between the cylindrical sample container and the camera, wherein the camera is positioned such that it can capture an image of the cylindrical sample container when placed on the platform.
Wherein having Eliuk further comprising an auxiliary mirror module comprising an angled mirrored interior surface interposed between the cylindrical sample container and the camera, wherein the camera is positioned such that it can capture an image of the cylindrical sample container when placed on the platform.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for locating defects of the object in a projected image data for the purpose of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Vertoprakhov relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Vertoprakhov locate defects of the object in a projected image data or by converting the image data from the projected inspection coordinates to Cartesian coordinates (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760), see [p][0162]).
Regarding claim 19, Eliuk does not explicitly teach, wherein the angled mirrored surface comprises two angled side mirrors wherein the side of the mirror facing the cylindrical object reflective, wherein the mirrored surfaces of the two angled side mirrors are configured to direct light from the reflective surfaces to reflective surfaces on a central angled mirror, wherein the reflective surfaces on the central angled mirror are configured to direct light toward the camera.
However, Vertoprakhov explicitly teaches wherein the angled mirrored surface comprises two angled side mirrors wherein the side of the mirror facing the cylindrical object reflective, wherein the mirrored surfaces of the two angled side mirrors are configured to direct light from the reflective surfaces to reflective surfaces on a central angled mirror, wherein the reflective surfaces on the central angled mirror are configured to direct light toward the camera (camera 104 generates image data of an image provided by the lens through the cone mirror 204. Spherical mirror 206 has a known spherical curvature and a radius that allows the polar projection image of the object under inspection that is generated by reflection of the image onto cone mirror 204 and generation into a set of image data by camera 104 to be inspected. The radius of curvature of mirrors 206 and angle of the cone 204 and suitable distances can be derived from general optics theory. An aspherical profile of the mirror 206 can be applied to reduce image aberration.- see [p][0027] and Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Vertoprakhov wherein the angled mirrored surface comprises two angled side mirrors wherein the side of the mirror facing the cylindrical object reflective, wherein the mirrored surfaces of the two angled side mirrors are configured to direct light from the reflective surfaces to reflective surfaces on a central angled mirror, wherein the reflective surfaces on the central angled mirror are configured to direct light toward the camera.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the angled mirrored surface comprises two angled side mirrors wherein the side of the mirror facing the cylindrical object reflective, wherein the mirrored surfaces of the two angled side mirrors are configured to direct light from the reflective surfaces to reflective surfaces on a central angled mirror, wherein the reflective surfaces on the central angled mirror are configured to direct light toward the camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for locating defects of the object in a projected image data for the purpose of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Vertoprakhov relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Vertoprakhov locate defects of the object in a projected image data or by converting the image data from the projected inspection coordinates to Cartesian coordinates (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760), see [p][0162]).
Regarding claim 20, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 19, wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about -45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
However, Vertoprakhov explicitly teaches the system of claim 19, wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens (104 and 106 – see Fig 6 below) assembly (a system 600 for generating a single image of the top and the entire periphery of an object and performing an inspection in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. System 600 includes mirror 602 which is a spherical section mirror that has a center orifice to allow the top of the object under inspection to also be imaged – see [p][0045]) and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about -45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera (note that the curvature of mirror left and right curvature of mirror 602 are -45 and 45 respectively – see Fig 6 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Vertoprakhov wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about -45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about -45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for locating defects of the object in a projected image data for the purpose of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Vertoprakhov relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Vertoprakhov locate defects of the object in a projected image data or by converting the image data from the projected inspection coordinates to Cartesian coordinates (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760), see [p][0162]).
Regarding claim 21, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 20, wherein the central angled mirror comprises a first angled reflective surface and a second angled reflective surface wherein the first and second angled reflective surfaces are at about +45 degrees and about -45 degrees, respectively.
However, Vertoprakhov explicitly teaches the system of claim 20, wherein the central angled mirror comprises a first angled reflective surface (left side of mirror 602 – see Fig 6) and a second angled reflective surface (left side of mirror 602 – see Fig 6) wherein the first and second angled reflective surfaces are at about +45 degrees and about -45 degrees, respectively (note that the curvature of mirror left and right curvature of mirror 602 are approximately -45 and 45 respectively – see Fig 6 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Vertoprakhov wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about -45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about -45 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for locating defects of the object in a projected image data for the purpose of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Vertoprakhov relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Vertoprakhov locate defects of the object in a projected image data or by converting the image data from the projected inspection coordinates to Cartesian coordinates (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760), see [p][0162]).
Regarding claim 22, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 19, wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +37 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about - 37 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
However, Vertoprakhov explicitly teaches wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +37 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about - 37 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera (note that the curvature of mirror left and right curvature of mirror 610 are approximately -37 and 37 respectively – see Fig 6 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Vertoprakhov wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +37 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about - 37 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +37 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about - 37 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for locating defects of the object in a projected image data for the purpose of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Vertoprakhov relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Vertoprakhov locate defects of the object in a projected image data or by converting the image data from the projected inspection coordinates to Cartesian coordinates (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760), see [p][0162]).
Regarding claim 23, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 22, wherein the central angled mirror comprises a first angled reflective surface and a second angled reflective surface wherein the first and second angled reflective surfaces are at about +45 degrees and about -45 degrees, respectively.
However, Vertoprakhov explicitly teaches the system of claim 22, wherein the central angled mirror comprises a first angled reflective surface(104 and 106 – see Fig 6 above) and a second angled reflective surface wherein the first and second angled reflective surfaces are at about +45 degrees and about -45 degrees, respectively (note that the curvature of mirror left and right curvature of mirror 602 are -45 and 45 respectively – see Fig 6 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Vertoprakhov wherein the central angled mirror comprises a first angled reflective surface and a second angled reflective surface wherein the first and second angled reflective surfaces are at about +45 degrees and about -45 degrees, respectively.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the central angled mirror comprises a first angled reflective surface and a second angled reflective surface wherein the first and second angled reflective surfaces are at about +45 degrees and about -45 degrees, respectively.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for locating defects of the object in a projected image data for the purpose of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Vertoprakhov relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Vertoprakhov locate defects of the object in a projected image data or by converting the image data from the projected inspection coordinates to Cartesian coordinates (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760), see [p][0162]).
Regarding claim 24, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 19, wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +35 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about -35 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
However, Vertoprakhov explicitly teaches wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +35 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about -35 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera (note that the curvature of mirror left and right curvature of mirror 602 are approximately -35 and 35 respectively – see Fig 6 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Vertoprakhov wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +35 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about -35 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the angle of the reflective surface of a first angled side mirror is about +35 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera and lens assembly and the angle of the reflective surface of a second angled side mirror is about -35 degrees with respect to an axis from the cylindrical object to the camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for locating defects of the object in a projected image data for the purpose of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Vertoprakhov relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Vertoprakhov locate defects of the object in a projected image data or by converting the image data from the projected inspection coordinates to Cartesian coordinates (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760), see [p][0162]).
Regarding claim 25, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 24, wherein the central angled mirror comprises a first angled reflective surface and a second angled reflective surface wherein the first and second angled reflective surfaces are at about +45 degrees and about -45 degrees, respectively.
However, Vertoprakhov explicitly teaches wherein the central angled mirror comprises a first angled reflective surface and a second angled reflective surface wherein the first and second angled reflective surfaces are at about +45 degrees and about -45 degrees, respectively (note that the curvature of mirror left and right curvature of mirror 602 are approximately -45 and 45 respectively – see Fig 6 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Vertoprakhov wherein the central angled mirror comprises a first angled reflective surface and a second angled reflective surface wherein the first and second angled reflective surfaces are at about +45 degrees and about -45 degrees, respectively
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the central angled mirror comprises a first angled reflective surface and a second angled reflective surface wherein the first and second angled reflective surfaces are at about +45 degrees and about -45 degrees, respectively.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for locating defects of the object in a projected image data for the purpose of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Vertoprakhov relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Vertoprakhov locate defects of the object in a projected image data or by converting the image data from the projected inspection coordinates to Cartesian coordinates (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Vertoprakhov et al (Pub No.: 20140333760), see [p][0162]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1) as applied to claim 3 in view of Kundu et al (NPL titled: Tri-modality small animal imaging system).
Regarding claim 8, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 3, wherein the rotating platform rotates the cylindrical sample container by 360 degrees and the camera obtains an image of the label in n images, each image being taken as the cylindrical sample container rotates a predetermined portion of the 360 degrees.
However, Kundu explicitly teach wherein the rotating platform rotates the cylindrical sample container by 360 degrees and the camera obtains an image of the label in n images, each image being taken as the cylindrical sample container rotates a predetermined portion of the 360 degrees (object was rotated in steps of 45 degrees over 360 degrees (8 views) and the transmitted light out was measured
using the IVIS Xenogen camera – see section III, subsection B, [p][002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Kundu wherein the rotating platform rotates the cylindrical sample container by 360 degrees and the camera obtains an image of the label in n images, each image being taken as the cylindrical sample container rotates a predetermined portion of the 360 degrees.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the rotating platform rotates the cylindrical sample container by 360 degrees and the camera obtains an image of the label in n images, each image being taken as the cylindrical sample container rotates a predetermined portion of the 360 degrees.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for obtaining a 360 view of an object for the purposes of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Kunda relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Kunda obtains a 360 view of an object by rotating the object and capturing 8 viewpoints (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and V Kundu et al (NPL titled: Tri-modality small animal imaging system), see section III, subsection B, [p][002]).
Regarding claim 9, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 8, wherein the predetermined portion of the 360 degrees is 45 degrees.
However, Kundu explicitly teach wherein the predetermined portion of the 360 degrees is 45 degrees (object was rotated in steps of 45 degrees over 360 degrees (8 views) and the transmitted light out was measured using the IVIS Xenogen camera – see section III, subsection B, [p][002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Kundu wherein the predetermined portion of the 360 degrees is 45 degrees.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the predetermined portion of the 360 degrees is 45 degrees.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for obtaining a 360 view of an object for the purposes of automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Kunda relate to object inspection, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Kunda obtains a 360 view of an object by rotating the object and capturing 8 viewpoints (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Kundu et al (NPL titled: Tri-modality small animal imaging system), see section III, subsection B, [p][002]).
Regarding claim 10, Eliuk in view of Kundu teaches the system of claim 9, Eliuk teaches wherein the n images are stitched together to obtain an image of the label (see [p][0433] and Fig 50).
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1) as applied to claim 1 in view of
Ramsden (US Patent No.: 5369221).
Regarding claim 11, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, further comprising a chute disposed beneath the platform.
However, Ramsden explicitly teach Ramsden further comprising a chute disposed beneath the platform (chute 94 is positioned beneath the slidable platform 88 – see col, lines 56-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Ramsden further comprising a chute disposed beneath the platform.
Wherein having Eliuk further comprising a chute disposed beneath the platform.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for preventing an object from being damage and automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Ramsden relate to processing object, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Ramsden to prevent object from being damage by using a chute (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Ramsden (US Patent No.: 5369221) see col 5, lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 13, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the chute receives the cylindrical sample container in an approximately vertical orientation and eases the cylindrical sample container into a an approximately horizontal orientation.
However, Ramsden explicitly teach Ramsden wherein the chute receives the cylindrical sample container in an approximately vertical orientation and eases the cylindrical sample container into a an approximately horizontal orientation ([p]ositioned beneath the pivotable drawer is an inclined low friction chute 94 which inclines downwardly to a location above a collection space 9 – see col 5, lines 49-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Ramsden wherein the chute receives the cylindrical sample container in an approximately vertical orientation and eases the cylindrical sample container into a an approximately horizontal orientation.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the chute receives the cylindrical sample container in an approximately vertical orientation and eases the cylindrical sample container into a an approximately horizontal orientation.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for preventing an object from being damage and automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Ramsden relate to processing object, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Ramsden to prevent object from being damage by using a chute (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Ramsden (US Patent No.: 5369221) see col 5, lines 56-59).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1) in view of Ramsden (US Patent No.: 5369221) in view of Berndt (US Patent No.: 7643134).
Regarding claim 15, Eliuk does not explicitly teach the system of claim 11, wherein the chute comprises a sloped ramp that guides the bottle to the approximately horizontal orientation.
However, Ramsden explicitly teach wherein the chute comprises a sloped ramp that guides the bottle to the approximately horizontal orientation ([p]ositioned beneath the pivotable drawer is an inclined low friction chute 94 which inclines downwardly to a location above a collection space 9 – see col 5, lines 49-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Ramsden wherein the chute comprises a sloped ramp that guides the bottle to the approximately horizontal orientation.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the chute comprises a sloped ramp that guides the bottle to the approximately horizontal orientation.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for preventing an object from being damage and automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Ramsden relate to processing object, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Ramsden to prevent object from being damage by using a chute (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Ramsden (US Patent No.: 5369221) see col 5, lines 56-59).
Note the discussion above; the combination of Eliuk and Ramsden as whole does not explicitly teach blood culture.
However, Berndt explicitly teach blood culture (blood culture bottle – col 6, lines 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk as modified by of Ramsden having a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Berndt blood culture.
Wherein having Eliuk blood culture.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for performing optical measurements on a sealable container that can be used to rapidly distinguish positive blood cultures from negative blood cultures to automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Berndt relate to imaging bottles, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Berndt performing optical measurements on a sealable container that can be used to rapidly distinguish positive blood cultures from negative blood cultures (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Berndt (US Patent No.: 7643134), see col 1, lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 16, Eliuk in view of Ramsden teaches the system of claim 15, Eliuk teaches wherein the ramp is a pair of sloped tracks with an opening therebetween (see [p][0248]), wherein a neck of the bottle fits between the sloped tracks as the cylindrical sample container pivots from the approximately vertical orientation to the approximately horizontal orientation (see [p][0149]).
Note the discussion above; the combination of Eliuk and Ramsden as whole does not explicitly teach blood culture.
However, Berndt explicitly teach blood culture (blood culture bottle – col 6, lines 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk as modified by Ramsden of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Berndt blood culture.
Wherein having Eliuk blood culture.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for performing optical measurements on a sealable container that can be used to rapidly distinguish positive blood cultures from negative blood cultures to automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Berndt relate to imaging bottles, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Berndt performing optical measurements on a sealable container that can be used to rapidly distinguish positive blood cultures from negative blood cultures (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Berndt (US Patent No.: 7643134), see col 1, lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 17, Eliuk in view of Berndt teaches the system of claim 11, Eliuk teaches wherein the end effector of the robotic conveying arm grasps a bottom of the cylindrical sample container (the APAS cell may include fill port holding and grasping features that allow IV bags of all sizes to be manifested – see [p][0109]); however, Eliuk in view of Berndt does not teachwherein the robotic conveying arm conveys the cylindrical sample container from the chute when the cylindrical sample container is in the horizontal position.
However, Ramsden explicitly teach wherein the robotic conveying arm conveys the cylindrical sample container from the chute when the cylindrical sample container is in the horizontal position. ([p]ositioned beneath the pivotable drawer is an inclined low friction chute 94 which inclines downwardly to a location above a collection space 9 – see col 5, lines 49-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Eliuk of a system for obtaining an image of a cylindrical object, with the teachings of Ramsden wherein the robotic conveying arm conveys the cylindrical sample container from the chute when the cylindrical sample container is in the horizontal position.
Wherein having Eliuk wherein the robotic conveying arm conveys the cylindrical sample container from the chute when the cylindrical sample container is in the horizontal position.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for preventing an object from being damage and automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel since both Eliuk and Ramsden relate to processing object, wherein Eliuk automatically determine and monitor the inventory content at each inventory location on the carousel while Ramsden to prevent object from being damage by using a chute (Please see Eliuk et al (Pub No.: US20060259195A1), Paragraph [0108], and Ramsden (US Patent No.: 5369221) see col 5, lines 56-59).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vivet et al (Pub No.: 20170345141) teaches a method and apparatus for detecting foam in a specimen container. The method includes the following steps: transporting a specimen container into a locator well; centering the specimen container in the locator well; rotating the specimen container around a vertical axis in the locator well; imaging the specimen container during the rotation; analyzing an image of the specimen container captured during the rotation; and detecting foam in the specimen container based on the analysis of the image. An apparatus configured to perform the steps is also provided. The method and apparatus may be used in conjunction with a system for automatically determining whether a sample is positive for microorganism growth.
VERTOPRAKHOV et al (Pub No.: 20080013820) discloses a method involves generating a set of image data of multiple sides of an object by a camera. Projection of the image data is compensated by a projected image data inspection system. Predetermined inspection processes are performed on the compensated image data. The projected polar image data of the object are received by the inspection system. The projected polar image data are converted into Cartesian coordinate data. Inspection processes are performed on the Cartesian coordinate data.
Chen et al (Pub No.: 20110102542 ) discloses an apparatus that has a robotic handler (18) that rotates an object. An optical imager (14) captures several images of object, when object is rotated by robotic handler. A microcontroller associates with imager and programmed to create a single panoramic image of object using images.
Mallett et al (US Patent No.: 8195328 ) discloses a system and method related to dispensing and disposing medical items is provided. The dispensing portion is generally configured to dispense medical items stored within compartments based on dispensing instructions. The disposal portion is generally configured to sort waste items into a plurality of containers according to applicable rules and regulations governing the handling and/or disposal of such items. In some embodiments, a system comprises sorting stations each of which houses a number of disposable containers. Each station can identify an item of waste, determine the most appropriate container for the item, and facilitate disposal of the item in the appropriate container.
Inquiries
/ANDRAE S ALLISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673
March 13, 2026