DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendments filed 9/8/2023 have been entered.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2014/189478 (‘478).
‘478 teaches a cleansing composition comprising “0.1-10% docusate sodium; 0.1-90% solvents such as ethanol, water, and hydrosol, … 0-10% pH regulators such as citric acid” (see claim 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘478.
‘478 teaches a cleansing composition comprising “0.1-10% docusate sodium; 0.1-90% solvents such as ethanol, water, and hydrosol, … 0-10% pH regulators such as citric acid” (see claim 18).
‘478 does not expressly teach the mass ratio between the surfactant and the organic acid. ‘478 does not expressly teach the herein claimed weight ratio of each of the components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adjust the amount of the components to the herein claimed amount.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the amount of the components to the herein claimed amount. The optimization of result effect parameters (dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since the weight percentage of the citric acid, ethanol, water, and docusate sodium encompass what is recited, the prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, the mass ratio between docusate sodium (MW=444.6 g/mol) and citric acid (MW=192.1 g/mol) would be about 2.25 if the weight percentage of both agents to be the same (1:1 ratio). As such the disclosed weight percentage of both agents will encompass the herein claimed mass ratio, therefore, the prima facie case of obviousness exists.
The herein claimed properties would be considered intrinsic properties in the suggested composition as ‘478 teaches a composition containing the same ingredients, in the same mass ratio and percentage (see claims 2 and 7 for example).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/654,693 (‘693) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘693 teaches a method of using the composition of the instant case (see claims 1-21). The composition is disclosed in ‘693 comprising a surfactant, an organic acid or its salt, and water. .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/SAN MING R HUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627