Specification
The disclosure is objected to because at paragraph 71, windows are identified by reference numerals 52 and 53, but elsewhere those reference numerals identify ball grooves.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 & 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadota, US 5,061,223.
Claim 1. Kadota discloses a tripod constant velocity joint comprising:
a housing (1) having a tubular shape (see Figs. 1-3) that forms three track grooves (3) arranged along a circumferential direction;
a spider (4) having a hub (see Fig. 2) placed inside the housing and three journals (8) respectively extending radially outward from the hub and respectively arranged in the track grooves; and
three bearing units respectively engaged to the journals,
wherein each of the bearing units comprises a track race (11) that is arranged in the track groove in a state of being tiltably engaged (see Fig. 8) to the journal and a first (17) and a second ball array (18) that are disposed between a peripheral surface of the track race and power transmission surfaces facing each other in a circumferential direction to form the track grooves and respectively comprise a plurality of balls (16), and
wherein the first and second ball arrays are arranged at different positions along a
length direction of the journal (see Fig. 2).
Claim 2. Wherein the track race (11) comprises a first (17) and a second (18) inner ball groove configured to partially accommodate the first and second ball arrays, respectively, and
wherein the first and second inner ball grooves respectively form a ball circulation path (see Fig. 4) that allows the balls of the first and second ball arrays to circulate along a periphery of the track race.
Claim 4. Wherein the first (17) and second (18) inner ball grooves comprise a straight section (17, 18) provided on a portion facing the power transmission surface, and a curved section (19) connecting the linear section, and wherein the power transmission surface of the housing (1) is provided with a first (20) and a second (21) outer ball grooves formed at positions corresponding to the straight sections of the first and second inner ball grooves.
Claim 6. See Claims 2 & 4.
Claim 7. Wherein Fig. 2 shows the balls (16) of the first (17) and second (18) ball arrays are configured to contact at one or more points with the first (20) and second (21) inner ball grooves and the first and second outer ball grooves, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-11, 14, 20 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orain, US 4,741,723 in view of Shigley.
Claim 1. Orain discloses a tripod constant velocity joint comprising:
a housing (10) having a tubular shape (see Figs. 1-2) that forms three track grooves arranged along a circumferential direction;
a spider (1) having a hub placed inside the housing and three journals (3) respectively
extending radially outward from the hub and respectively arranged in the track grooves; and
three bearing units respectively engaged to the journals,
wherein each of the bearing units comprises a track race (5) that is arranged in the track groove in a state of being tiltably engaged to the journal (col. 3, lines 24-30) and a first ball array (8) that is disposed between a peripheral surface (7) of the track race and power transmission surfaces (9) facing each other in a circumferential direction to form the track grooves and respectively comprise a plurality of balls (8).
Orain does not expressly disclose a second ball array are arranged at a different position along a length direction of the journal. At page 486, second complete paragraph, Shigley teaches providing a second or double row bearing in order to carry heavier radial and thrust loads. Fig. 11-2(g) shows the ball arrays of a double bearing are arranged at different position. along a length direction of a journal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tripod constant velocity joint by including a second ball array are arranged at different position. along a length direction of the journal in order to carry heavier radial and thrust loads as taught by Shigley.
Claim 6. At Fig. 2 (Orain) and Fig. 11-2g (Shigley) the track race (5) is shown to a first and a second inner ball groove (7) configured to partially accommodate the first and second
ball arrays respectively, and wherein the housing (10) comprises a first and second outer ball grooves (9), respectively formed on the power transfer surface at positions corresponding to the first and second inner ball grooves, to accommodate parts of the balls of the first and second ball arrays that are exposed outside the first and second inner ball grooves.
Claim 7. Wherein Fig. 2 (Orain) and Fig. 11-2g (Shigley) show the balls (8) of the first and second ball arrays are configured to contact at one or more points with the first and second inner ball grooves (7) and the first and second outer ball grooves (9), respectively.
Claim 9. Wherein Fig. 2, Orain shows the bearing unit further comprises a retainer (13) configured to surround the track race and accommodates the ball arrays (8). See the retainer shown in Shigley at Figs. 11-1 and 11-2g.
Claim 10. Wherein Fig. 2 (Orain) and Fig. 11-2g (Shigley) show the retainer (13) is provided with a first and a second window that are respectively formed on a part facing the power transmission surface, to expose outer part of a portion of balls of the first and second ball arrays.
Claim 11. At col 3, lines 51-56, Orain discloses a height of the first and second windows is smaller than a diameter of the balls of the first and second ball arrays.
Claim 14. See claims 6 & 10.
Claim 20. See claims 1, 6 & 9-11.
Claim 21. See claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 8, 12-13, 15-19 & 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
At Fig. 2 Nagatani shows a discloses a tripod constant velocity joint comprising a tiltable track race (6) having two ball arrays (9 & 23) arranged at different positions along a length direction of a journal 5.
At Figs. 5-6, Guimbretierre shows a discloses a tripod constant velocity joint comprising a tiltable track race (7) having recirculating ball arrays (12).
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679