DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2, 6, 15-16, 18, and 25) in the reply filed on 07/24/2026 is acknowledge. Group II (claims 27, 33-36, 38, 41, and 43-47) are withdrawn from consideration.
Status of claims: As directed, claims 1-2, 6, 15-16, 18, and 25 are pending in this application, claims 27, 33-36, 38, 41, and 43-47 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2025, 05/14/2024, and 09/08/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Examiner note: the IDS submitted on 07/22/2025 listed the foreign document number as “3-7148”, however it should read “03007148,” and the kind code should read “A.” The foreign patent document has been correctly listed on the “PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.”
Inventorship
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “717” in Fig. 7e. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“Supply system 100” (Pg. 21, line 15), should read “supply system” or “installation 100.”
“Deaeration path 122” (Pg. 24, line 8), should read “deaeration path” or “inlet pump 122.”
“Heating system 30” (Pg. 28, line 24), should read “heating system” or “thermal load 30.”
“Pressure vessel 100” (Pg. 36, line 12), should read “pressure vessel 110.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the vessel” in line 4 of the claim. Should read “the pressure vessel.”
Claim 6 recites “the vessel” in line 3 of the claim. Should read “the pressure vessel.”
Claim 15 recites “each of the thermal loads” in lines 3-4 of the claim. Should read “the first and second thermal loads.”
Claim 15 recites “the plurality of loads” in line 9 of the claim. Should read “the plurality of thermal loads.”
Claim 15 recites “the thermal loads” in line 10 of the claim. Should read “the first and second thermal loads.”
Claim 25 recites “the cumulative enthalpy” in line 4 of the claim. Should read “a cumulative enthalpy.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 16, 18, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the thermal load" in line 7 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to “the first thermal load,” “the second thermal load,” or both of the thermal loads. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “priority data” in line 10 of the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to what applicant means by “priority data.” For examination purposes, “priority data” is being interpreted as any data being prioritized to meet thermal demands.
Claim 16 recites the limitation " a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa " in lines 3-4 of the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa,” due to “a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa” already being established in claim 1 and claim 16 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “phasing a profile of water supply during the recharge period so that it is front-loaded relative to a profile of heating during the recharge period” in lines 7-8 of the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to what applicant means by “water supply profile,” “front-loaded,” and “profile of heating.” For examination purposes, “water supply profile” is being interpreted as water supplied, “profile of heating” is being interpreted as amount of heating, and “front-loaded” is being interpreted as a greater proportion of water and heating at the beginning of the process.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a profile of water supply" in line 9 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “profile of water supply,” due to “a profile of water supply” already being established in claim 16 and claim 18 depends from claim 16. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a profile of heating" in line 9 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “profile of heating,” due to “a profile of heating” already being established in claim 16 and claim 18 depends from claim 16. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa" in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa,” due to “a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa” already being established in claim 1 and claim 25 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 16, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 109780517 A), hereinafter Liu, in view of Kumasaka (JP 3733522 B2).
Figure 1 (Liu)
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a method of thermal energy storage and supply, comprising: providing subcooled water (Liu’s Fig. 1, “cold water” [0060]) to a pressure vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]); heating liquid water (“water is heated” [0060]) within the pressure vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) using an electrically-powered heater (Liu’s Fig. 1, “electric heater 9” [0056]) so that the vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) contains saturated liquid water and steam (“steam and hot water can be generated simultaneously” [0062]) at a variable storage pressure (“pressure of the steam inside the chamber” [0228]; “Preferably, if the pressure measured by the pressure sensor is lower than a certain pressure, the controller controls the electric heating device to increase the heating power. If the pressure measured by the pressure sensor is higher than a certain pressure, such as above a dangerous critical pressure, the controller will stop the electric heating device from heating in order to avoid overheating“ [0230])); controlling the heater (Liu’s Fig. 1, “electric heater 9” [0056]) to raise (“when the measured pressure is lower than the first pressure, the electric heater 9 heats at a first power” [0232]) the storage pressure (“pressure of the steam inside the chamber” [0228]) to a peak storage pressure (“certain pressure” [0230]; “If the pressure measured by the pressure sensor is higher than a certain pressure, such as above a dangerous critical pressure, the controller will stop the electric heating device from heating in order to avoid overheating” [0230]); selectively discharging steam (“The steam generated after heating is discharged through the steam outlet 5” [0060]) from an outlet (Liu’s Fig. 1, “steam outlet 5” [0056]) of the pressure vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) to a thermal load (“steam utilization device” [0152]), in response to a thermal energy demand (“With this setup, the heating power can be adjusted according to the pressure of steam outlet 5, thereby ensuring that the heat exchange of the steam utilization device meets the requirements, while maximizing steam output and ensuring the safety of the steam generator” [0187]) such that during a depletion period (“steam output” [0187]) the storage pressure (“pressure of the steam inside the chamber” [0228]) reduces (“Preferably, an exhaust port 6 is provided on the upper part of the housing 1. By setting up vent 6, excessive pressure inside the chamber 1 can be avoided, ensuring safety.” [0066]; “With this setup, the heating power can be adjusted according to the pressure of steam outlet 5, thereby ensuring that the heat exchange of the steam utilization device meets the requirements, while maximizing steam output and ensuring the safety of the steam generator” [0187]; “If the temperature measured by the pressure sensor is higher than a certain value, the controller will control the electric heater 9 to reduce the heating power in order to avoid danger caused by excessive pressure” [0188]; “If the pressure measured by the pressure sensor is higher than a certain pressure, such as above a dangerous critical pressure, the controller will stop the electric heating device from heating in order to avoid overheating” [0230]) from the peak storage pressure (“certain pressure” [0230]; “If the pressure measured by the pressure sensor is higher than a certain pressure, such as above a dangerous critical pressure, the controller will stop the electric heating device from heating in order to avoid overheating” [0230]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa; during a depletion period the storage pressure reduces by at least 1 MPa from the peak storage pressure.
However, Kumasaka discloses a method of thermal energy storage and supply (“a method for controlling the pressure inside a storage tank and to a rock-in-rock hydrothermal water storage facility, which stores hot water in a storage tank installed within rock for use in power generation and the like” [0001]) comprising a peak storage pressure (“storage pressure/internal pressure” [0003]-[0004]) of at least 2 MPa (“In this case, the storage temperature of the hot water 4 is about 200 to 300°C, and the storage pressure is about 4 to 20 MPa, and the upper part of the storage tank 1 becomes a steam reservoir 5 filled with high-temperature, high-pressure steam in equilibrium with the hot water 4” [0003]); during a depletion period (“To discharge such high-temperature, high-pressure hot water 4 from the storage tank 1” [0004]) storage pressure (“storage pressure/internal pressure” [0003]-[0004]) reduces by at least 1 MPa (“To discharge such high-temperature, high-pressure hot water 4 from the storage tank 1, as shown in Figure 5(a), the hot water 4 is pumped up by a hot water discharge pipe 6, steam S is generated by a steam generator 7, and the steam S is used to drive a power generation gas turbine to generate electricity. As shown in (b), after the hot water 4 is discharged, the temperature inside the storage tank 1 is about 100 to 200°C and the internal pressure is about 2 MPa, which is lower than when the hot water 4 is stored in a full tank” [0004]; “This system has a steam supply pipe 3 and a steam discharge pipe 8. As shown in Figure 6, steam S is pressurized by a compressor 2 and injected under pressure into the hot water 4 in the storage tank 1 from the steam supply pipe 3, and as shown in Figure 7, steam S is directly discharged from the steam reservoir 5 through the steam discharge pipe 8. In this case as well, the temperature and pressure conditions inside storage tank 1 are the same as those in the above case shown in Figures 4 and 5” [0005]) from the peak storage pressure (“storage pressure is about 4 to 20 MPa” [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the
time the invention was filed to modify Liu with Kumasaka, by modifying the pressure vessel’s peak storage pressure and storage pressure during the depletion period of Liu with pressure vessel’s peak storage pressure and storage pressure during the depletion period being taught by Kumasaka, for in doing so would allow the peak storage pressure of the pressure vessel to be 2 MPa or more, which would allow for increased thermodynamic efficiency, improved heat transfer, and a more cost-effective steam generator system.
Additionally, a pressure vessel with a storage pressure of at least 2MPa and a storage pressure reduced by at least 1 MPa during the depletion period for the purpose of providing increased thermodynamic efficiency, improved heat transfer, or a more cost-effective steam system would have been obvious as:
1) Both pressure vessels address a recognized problem of generating energy by raising the storage pressure to a peak storage pressure, and reducing storage pressure during a depletion period .
2) There are a finite number of identified and predictable solutions to this
problem, and
3) One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa and during a depletion period the storage pressure reduces by at least 1 MPa from the peak storage pressure with a reasonable expectation of success.
Based on the above, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under 35 USC 103. See MPEP 2143-I-E.
Regarding claim 2, Liu further discloses wherein: the discharged steam (“steam is discharged” [0062]) is provided to the thermal load (“steam utilization device” [0152]) directly without passing through an intermediate steam accumulator (“the generated steam is discharged directly through the steam outlet” [0062]; “The steam generator also includes a steam utilization device. The steam generated in the heating chamber enters the steam utilization device through the steam outlet, and after being fully utilized by heat exchange in the steam utilization device, it is circulated back to the water tank” [0012]); or any steam accumulator or steam accumulators between the pressure vessel and the thermal load have a total volume which is less than a volume of the pressure vessel.
Examiner note: the discharged steam is stated to be discharged “directly through the steam outlet” and “the steam generated in the heating chamber enters the steam utilization device through the steam outlet,” thus it can be interpreted that the steam does not pass through an intermediate steam accumulator.
Regarding claim 16, Liu further discloses comprising, during a recharge period (“rising process” [0099]; “water turns into steam and rises” [0124]): heating liquid (“The electric heater heats the water entering the outer tube to generate steam” [0011]) in the pressure vessel (Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) to raise the storage pressure (“pressure of the steam inside the chamber” [0228]) to a peak storage pressure (“certain pressure” [0230]; “If the pressure measured by the pressure sensor is higher than a certain pressure, such as above a dangerous critical pressure, the controller will stop the electric heating device from heating in order to avoid overheating” [0230]); providing subcooled water (Fig. 1, “cold water” [0060]) to the pressure vessel (Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) to reach a peak mass of water (inherent mass in the “housing/chamber/tank 1” at the “certain pressure” [0230]) in the pressure vessel (Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) corresponding to a peak liquid level (inherent liquid level of water in the “housing/chamber/tank 1” at the “certain pressure” [0230]) at the peak storage pressure (“certain pressure” [0230]; “If the pressure measured by the pressure sensor is higher than a certain pressure, such as above a dangerous critical pressure, the controller will stop the electric heating device from heating in order to avoid overheating” [0230]); and phasing a profile of water supply (“water entering the lower part” [0124]) during the recharge period (“rising process” [0099]; “water turns into steam and rises” [0124]) so that it is front-loaded (“By setting the heating power of the lower part to be greater than that of the upper part, the water is fully heated in the lower part and then heated in the upper part during the rising process” [0099]; “it has been found that by setting the orifice distribution density to be smaller and smaller, the main reason is to ensure that most of the water is heated at the bottom. As the water turns into steam and rises, water continuously enters the inner tube 2, providing continuous heating. If there is insufficient water entering the lower part, it may cause the water in the lower part to vaporize rapidly, resulting in excessive pressure inside the inner tube 2, which may prevent the water in the upper part from entering the inner tube due to pressure” [0124]) relative to a profile of heating (“heating power” [0099]) during the recharge period (“rising process” [0099]; “water turns into steam and rises” [0124]).
Examiner note: when the water enters the pressure vessel (“housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) at a peak storage pressure (“certain pressure” [0230]), the water in the pressure vessel at that time has a liquid level and a mass. This liquid level and mass being the peak liquid level and the peak mass at that time, relative to the peak storage pressure. Additionally, mass of water and liquid level are intrinsic parameters to water entering a vessel.
Liu does not explicitly disclose heating liquid in the pressure vessel to raise the storage pressure by at least 1 MPa to a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa.
However, Kumasaka discloses a method of thermal energy storage and supply (“a method for controlling the pressure inside a storage tank and to a rock-in-rock hydrothermal water storage facility, which stores hot water in a storage tank installed within rock for use in power generation and the like” [0001]) comprising heating liquid (“hot water 4” [0003]) in the pressure vessel (“storage tank 1” [0003]) to raise the storage pressure (“storage pressure” [0003]) by at least 1 MPa (“In this case, the storage temperature of the hot water 4 is about 200 to 300°C, and the storage pressure is about 4 to 20 MPa, and the upper part of the storage tank 1 becomes a steam reservoir 5 filled with high-temperature, high-pressure steam in equilibrium with the hot water 4” [0003]) to a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa (“storage pressure is about 4 to 20 MPa” [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the
time the invention was filed to modify Liu with Kumasaka, by modifying the pressure vessel’s peak storage pressure and raising of the storage pressure of Liu with pressure vessel’s peak storage pressure and raising of the storage pressure being taught by Kumasaka, for in doing so would allow the peak storage pressure of the pressure vessel to be 2 MPa or more, which would allow for increased thermodynamic efficiency, improved heat transfer, and a more cost-effective steam generator system.
Additionally, a pressure vessel with a storage pressure of at least 2MPa and a storage pressure raised by at least 1 MPa for the purpose of providing increased thermodynamic efficiency, improved heat transfer, or a more cost-effective steam system would have been obvious as:
1) Both pressure vessels address a recognized problem of generating energy by raising the storage pressure to a peak storage pressure, and raising storage pressure.
2) There are a finite number of identified and predictable solutions to this
problem, and
3) One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued raising the storage pressure by at least 1 MPa to a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa with a reasonable expectation of success.
Based on the above, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under 35 USC 103. See MPEP 2143-I-E.
Regarding claim 25, Liu further discloses comprising a recharge period (“rising process” [0099]; “water turns into steam and rises” [0124]) in which liquid (“water” [0124]) in the pressure vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) is heated (“The electric heater heats the water entering the outer tube to generate steam” [0011]) to raise the storage pressure (“pressure of the steam inside the chamber” [0228]) to a peak storage pressure (“certain pressure” [0230]; “If the pressure measured by the pressure sensor is higher than a certain pressure, such as above a dangerous critical pressure, the controller will stop the electric heating device from heating in order to avoid overheating” [0230]); wherein a dimensional ratio of (i) the cumulative enthalpy (inherent enthalpy of the “steam” discharged from the “housing/chamber/tank 1”) of steam discharged (“steam output” [0040]) from the pressure vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) during the depletion period (“To discharge such high-temperature, high-pressure hot water 4 from the storage tank 1” [0004]) and (ii) an average reheat power (inherent power of the “electric heater 9” “after being fully utilized by heat exchange in the steam utilization device, it is circulated back to the water tank. The water enters the chamber from the water tank through a water pump” [0012] and the process starts again) of the heater (Liu’s Fig. 1, “electric heater 9” [0056]) during the recharge period (“rising process” [0099]; “water turns into steam and rises” [0124]) is a certain number of seconds (dimensional ratio of time is inherent, enthalpy (Joule)/power (Watt) = time (s)); wherein the average reheat power (inherent power of the “electric heater 9” “after being fully utilized by heat exchange in the steam utilization device, it is circulated back to the water tank. The water enters the chamber from the water tank through a water pump” [0012] and the process starts again) is defined as a cumulative energy (inherent amount of energy it takes “electric heater 9” to heat the “water” [0124]) provided to the liquid water (“water” [0124]) during the recharge period (“rising process” [0099]; “water turns into steam and rises” [0124]), divided by a duration of the recharge period (inherent duration of time the “rising process” [0099]; “water turns into steam and rises” [0124] takes).
Examiner note: when the water is heated by the electric heater (Liu’s Fig. 1, “electric heater 9” [0056]), the water in the pressure vessel has an enthalpy and the heater has a power. Enthalpy is an intrinsic property of heated water. Additionally, power of an electric heater is an intrinsic parameter of an electric heater. Thus, a dimensional ratio with the unit of seconds is necessarily present as enthalpy (Joule)/power (Watt) = time (s)).
Liu does not disclose comprising a recharge period in which liquid in the pressure vessel is heated to raise the storage pressure by at least 1 MPa to a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa; wherein a dimensional ratio is at least 25000 seconds;
However, Kumasaka discloses a method of thermal energy storage and supply (“a method for controlling the pressure inside a storage tank and to a rock-in-rock hydrothermal water storage facility, which stores hot water in a storage tank installed within rock for use in power generation and the like” [0001]) comprising heating liquid (“hot water 4” [0003]) in the pressure vessel (“storage tank 1” [0003]) to raise the storage pressure (“storage pressure” [0003]) by at least 1 MPa (“In this case, the storage temperature of the hot water 4 is about 200 to 300°C, and the storage pressure is about 4 to 20 MPa, and the upper part of the storage tank 1 becomes a steam reservoir 5 filled with high-temperature, high-pressure steam in equilibrium with the hot water 4” [0003]) to a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa (“storage pressure is about 4 to 20 MPa” [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the
time the invention was filed to modify Liu with Kumasaka, by modifying the pressure vessel’s peak storage pressure and raising of the storage pressure of Liu with pressure vessel’s peak storage pressure and raising of the storage pressure being taught by Kumasaka, for in doing so would allow the peak storage pressure of the pressure vessel to be 2 MPa or more, which would allow for increased thermodynamic efficiency, improved heat transfer, and a more cost-effective steam generator system.
Additionally, a pressure vessel with a storage pressure of at least 2MPa and a storage pressure raised by at least 1 MPa for the purpose of providing increased thermodynamic efficiency, improved heat transfer, or a more cost-effective steam system would have been obvious as:
1) Both pressure vessels address a recognized problem of generating energy by raising the storage pressure to a peak storage pressure, and raising storage pressure.
2) There are a finite number of identified and predictable solutions to this
problem, and
3) One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued raising the storage pressure by at least 1 MPa to a peak storage pressure of at least 2 MPa with a reasonable expectation of success.
Based on the above, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under 35 USC 103. See MPEP 2143-I-E.
Additionally, including a dimensional ratio of at least 25000 seconds for the purpose of optimizing a ratio between the enthalpy of the steam discharged from the pressure vessel and the average amount of reheat power would have been obvious as:
1) Both dimensional ratios describe the relationship between the enthalpy of the steam discharged from the pressure vessel and the average amount of reheat power.
2) There are a finite number of identified and predictable solutions to this
problem, and
3) One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued a dimensional ratio of at least 25000 seconds with a reasonable expectation of success.
Based on the above, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under 35 USC 103. See MPEP 2143-I-E.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 109780517 A) in view of Kumasaka (JP 3733522 B2), further in view of (KR 200352249 Y1).
Figure 1 (KR 200352249 Y1)
Regarding claim 6, Liu further discloses wherein steam is discharged (“The steam generated after heating is discharged through the steam outlet 5” [0060]) to the thermal load (“steam utilization device” [0152]) at a discharge pressure (“pressure of steam outlet 5” [0040]); wherein subcooled water (“cold water” [0060]) is provided to the vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]); and wherein the subcooled water (“cold water” [0060]) is provided (“The steam generated by heating in the steam generator 1 enters the steam utilization device through the steam outlet 5. After being fully heat-exchanged and utilized in the steam utilization device, it is then circulated back to the water tank. The water enters the tank body from the water tank 11 through the water pump 10. It is heated in the tank body by the electric heater 9, and the generated steam enters the steam utilization device through the steam outlet pipe 5” [0152]) to the pressure vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) during the depletion period (“steam output” [0187]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein subcooled water is provided to the vessel when the storage pressure is greater than the discharge pressure.
However, (KR 200352249 Y1) discloses a method of thermal energy storage and supply wherein subcooled water (“water from the upper tank” [53]) is provided to the vessel (KR 200352249 Y1’s Fig. 1, “lower water tank21” [53]) when the storage pressure (“pressure inside the lower water tank (21) increases” [53]) is greater than the discharge pressure (“ supplying water from the upper water tank (22) to the lower water tank (21) and simultaneously discharging the pressure of the lower water tank (21) to the upper water tank (22)” [53]) (“Additionally, the above manual water supply port (72) acts as a steam outlet that discharges the pressure of the upper water tank (21) that has been increased in the steam tank (10) when the pressure inside the lower water tank (21) increases and the water level decreases, so that the electronic valve (26a) installed in the bulkhead (26) opens, thereby supplying water from the upper water tank (22) to the lower water tank (21) and simultaneously discharging the pressure of the lower water tank (21) to the upper water tank (22)” [53]; Examiner note: since the electronic valve, once it is opened, allows for pressure to be vented from the lower tank to the upper tank, it is then known that the upper tank has lower pressure than the lower tank due to higher pressure moving to areas of lower pressure due to gradient forces. Thus, subcooled water is provided to the lower tank when the lower tank pressure is greater than the upper tank pressure).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu in view of Kumasaka to incorporate the teachings of (KR 200352249 Y1) to have the subcooled water provided to the vessel when the storage pressure is greater than the discharge pressure. Doing so allows for higher heat and mass transfer rates which would allow for a faster removal of latent heat which would be beneficial to the users because it could improve condensation efficiency.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 109780517 A) in view of Kumasaka (JP 3733522 B2), further in view of (JP S58222904 A).
Figure 1 (JP S58222904 A)
Regarding claim 15, Liu further discloses wherein a flash potential (“water” [0060]) corresponds to an amount of steam that can be flashed (“Water in the box 1 enters the inner tube 2 through the water inlet channel 8 on the outer tube. Then, the water is heated in the octagonal through hole and the electric heater in the quadrilateral through hole of the core 7 inside the inner tube 2. The steam generated after heating is discharged through the steam outlet 5” [0060]; Examiner note: there is no structure that is claimed that is actually doing the flashing, thus flash potential is the water entering the pressure vessel, and the Liu teaches a pressure vessel that intakes water to be heated by a heater, and that water has the potential or can be flashed) from liquid water (“water” [0060]) within the pressure vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) before the storage pressure (“pressure of the steam inside the chamber” [0228]) reaches a lower limit pressure (inherent pressure of the “housing/chamber/tank 1” when “The steam generated by heating in the steam generator 1 enters the steam utilization device through the steam outlet 5” [0152]) for sustaining discharge of steam (“steam” [0152]) to the thermal load (“steam utilization device” [0152]); the method further comprising: evaluating a criterion (“temperature control”; “water level control”; “Control of heating power based on water level”; “Pressure control”; “Steam flow control”; “Temperature control of water outlet pipeline”; “Steam generator temperature control”; “Steam generator pressure control” [0154]-[0237]) corresponding to whether the flash potential (“water” [0060]) is sufficient to meet a predicted demand (“requirements” [0040]) of the thermal load (“steam utilization device” [0152]); based on the evaluation and on priority data (“data” [0154]-[0237]) relating to the thermal load (“steam utilization device” [0152]), determining to discharge steam (“steam output” [0040]) to the thermal load (“steam utilization device” [0040]) to meet a respective thermal energy demand (“requirements” [0040]).
Examiner note: when the pressure vessel (“housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) discharges steam to the thermal load (“steam utilization device” [0152]) it occurs at some pressure. This pressure being the lower limit pressure for sustaining discharge of steam to the thermal load. Thus, the pressure at which the pressure vessel discharges steam is the lower limit pressure and is a necessarily present parameter of a steam thermal storage and supply system.
a lower limit pressure (inherent pressure of the “housing/chamber/tank 1” when “The steam generated by heating in the steam generator 1 enters the steam utilization device through the steam outlet 5” [0152])
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein there is a plurality of thermal loads including a first thermal load and a second thermal load; wherein steam is selectively discharged from the pressure vessel to each of the thermal loads via respective control valves, based on respective thermal energy demands; based on the evaluation and on priority data relating to the thermal loads, determining to discharge steam to the first thermal load to meet a respective first thermal energy demand in preference to discharging steam to the second thermal load to meet a respective second thermal energy demand.
However, (JP S58222904 A) discloses a method of thermal energy storage and supply (“The present invention relates to a steam generator” [0001]) wherein there is a plurality of thermal loads (“multiple turbine generators” [0001]) including a first thermal load (JP S58222904 A’s Fig. 1, “high-pressure turbine 5” [0001]) and a second thermal load (JP S58222904 A’s Fig. 1, “medium-pressure turbine 7” [0001]); wherein steam (“steam” [0001]) is selectively discharged (“The exhaust steam is turned into steam, passes through the main steam pipe 10 and the control valve 3, works in the NO.1 high-pressure turbine 5 and NO.2 medium-pressure turbine 7” [0001]) from the pressure vessel (JP S58222904 A’s Fig. 1, “boiler 1” [0003]) to each of the thermal loads (JP S58222904 A’s Fig. 1, “high-pressure turbine 5” and “medium-pressure turbine 7” [0001]) via respective control valves (JP S58222904 A’s Fig. 1, “control valve 3” [0001]) based on respective thermal energy demands (“the load distribution setter 13 adjusts the control valve 3 to set the load distribution for each turbine generator in relation to the total load, thereby controlling the power generation of each turbine to any desired load” [0001]); based on the evaluation and on priority data relating to the thermal loads (JP S58222904 A’s Fig. 1, “high-pressure turbine 5” and “medium-pressure turbine 7” [0001]), determining to discharge steam to the first thermal load (JP S58222904 A’s Fig. 1, “high-pressure turbine 5” [0001]) to meet a respective first thermal energy demand in preference to discharging steam to the second thermal load to meet a respective second thermal energy demand (“Currently, the load of a turbine generator can be arbitrarily set, and the reheater steam pressure and temperature can be controlled independently of each turbine generator to match that load, thereby allowing for arbitrary load control” [0001]). Examiner note: the “evaluation and priority data” relating to the thermal load is already taught by Liu. Additionally, since the load distributor setter 13 adjusts the control valve 3 to set the load distribution to any arbitrary load desired by the turbine generator, (JP S58222904 A) teaches that the first thermal energy could be met in preference to discharging steam to the second thermal energy demand.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu in view of Kumasaka to incorporate the teachings of (JP S58222904 A) to have steam selectively discharged from the pressure vessel to each of the thermal loads via respective control valves, based on respective thermal energy demands and determining to discharge steam to the first thermal load to meet a respective first thermal energy demand in preference to discharging steam to the second thermal load to meet a respective second thermal energy demand. Doing so allows for the user to have more control over the emitted steam to the respective thermal loads, and it would also allow for the user to provide energy to a larger number of thermal loads, which is beneficial for as it can be implemented in a wider variety of industrial applications. Furthermore, having more than one thermal load lacks a patentable distinction over the prior art as no new or unexpected result is produced.“[T]he courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960): (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-B.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Kumasaka disclose a flash potential (“water” [0060]) corresponds to an amount of steam that can be flashed (“Water in the box 1 enters the inner tube 2 through the water inlet channel 8 on the outer tube. Then, the water is heated in the octagonal through hole and the electric heater in the quadrilateral through hole of the core 7 inside the inner tube 2. The steam generated after heating is discharged through the steam outlet 5” [0060]; Examiner note: there is no structure that is claimed that is actually doing the flashing, thus flash potential is the water entering the pressure vessel, and the Liu teaches a pressure vessel that intakes water to be heated by a heater, and that water has the potential or can be flashed) from liquid water (“water” [0060]) within the pressure vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) before the storage pressure (“pressure of the steam inside the chamber” [0228]) reaches a lower limit pressure (inherent pressure of the “housing/chamber/tank 1” when “The steam generated by heating in the steam generator 1 enters the steam utilization device through the steam outlet 5” [0152]) for sustaining discharge of steam (“steam” [0152]) to the thermal load (“steam utilization device” [0152]); and wherein a liquid level margin (inherent liquid level of water in the “housing/chamber/tank 1”) corresponds to an amount of liquid water (inherent amount of liquid water in the “housing/chamber/tank 1”) within the pressure vessel (Liu’s Fig. 1, “housing/chamber/tank 1” [0060]) above a lower limit amount (“water level is too low”; “if the water level is too low, the controller will reduce the power of the electric heater 9 or turn off the electric heater 9 directly to avoid excessive steam production caused by excessive heating power, which would further reduce the water level” [0177]) for operation of the heater upon discharge of the flash potential (“water” [0060]);
However, Liu in view of Kumasaka do not disclose “wherein the method comprises, during a water-priority portion of the recharge period, phasing a profile of water supply relative to a profile of heating to maintain a minimum recharge flash potential while increasing an amount of water within the pressure vessel to the target peak mass of water, such that the liquid level margin progressively rises; and subsequently heating the liquid water during a flash-priority portion of the recharge period to raise the storage pressure to the peak storage pressure.”
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Marini (US 2493678 A) discloses:
Figure 1 (Marini)
A method of thermal energy storage and supply (“invention relates to improvements in steam generating boilers, apparatus, or units used to change liquid water to its- vapor, steam, by the application of heat to the liquid in a closed vessel [Col. 1, lines 1-5]) wherein a flash potential (“discharge of heated stream” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]) corresponds to an amount of steam (“steam” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]) that can be flashed from liquid water (“unvaporized water” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]) within the pressure vessel (Marini’s Fig. 1, “closed vessel/flash chamber F” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]) before the storage pressure (“pressure on the water in pipeline 2” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]) reaches a lower limit pressure (Marini’s Fig. 1, “desired constant pressure – which is lower than the pressure on the water in pipeline 2, the generator coils G1 and G2, and the water storage pressure tank T” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]) for sustaining discharge of steam (“The steam is withdrawn from the upper portion of the flash chamber F through a steam outlet such as to meet the steam demand” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]) to the thermal load; the method further comprising: evaluating a criterion (“The first principle of operation therefore is to discharge the heated stream of water flowing from the generator coils G1 and G2 into the flash chamber F at a constant predetermined rate and to vary the heat input to the generator coils G1 and G2 according to variations of the desired pressure in the flash chamber F, caused by variations in the steam demand, to cause the ratio of steam to excess unvaporized water separated in the flash chamber F to vary in such a manner as to make available sufficient steam to meet the varying steam demand and maintain the desired pressure in the flash chamber F” [Col. 6, lines 19-32]) corresponding to whether the flash potential (“discharge of heated stream” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]) is sufficient to meet a predicted demand (“steam demand” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]) of the plurality of loads. (“where said stream of water is heated then flows through pipeline 2 to a control valve H which controls or regulates the rate of discharge of this heated stream of water into a closed vessel F which I call the flash chamber, where steam is separated from the excess unvaporized water at a desired constant pressure which is lower than the pressure on the water in pipeline 2, the generator coils G1 and G2, and the water storage pressure tank T. The 16 steam is withdrawn from the upper portion of the flash chamber F through a steam outlet such as I to meet the steam demand while the excess unvaporized water falls to the bottom of the flash chamber” [Col. 2, lines 5-19])
a liquid level margin (“the surface level of the body of accumulated water can be maintained at a desired predetermined level” [Col. 3, lines 38-48]) corresponds to an amount of liquid water (“accumulated water” [Col. 3, lines 38-48]) within the pressure vessel (Marini’s Fig. 1, “closed vessel/flash chamber F” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]) above a lower limit amount (“predetermined low level W” [Col. 3, lines 38-48]) for operation of the heater (“While any source of heat can be used to furnish heat to the generator coils G1 and G2” [Col. 2, lines 43-46]) upon discharge of the flash potential (“discharge of heated stream” [Col. 2, lines 5-19]).
Conclusion
/E.E.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3761 09/18/2026
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761