DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed 11/13/2025, with respect to the claim rejections set forth in the Non-Final Rejection dated 8/13/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Galvani Bioelectronics Limited (WO 2021/116674) which is the WIPO publication of the previously applied Sridhar et al. (2023/0021801).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the specific target site of “a terminal perineal branch of a pudendal nerve at a location where the terminal perineal nerve branch innervates an external urethral sphincter”. Applicant has disclosed targeting one or more terminal perineal branches this as a single embodiment in par. [0078] of the specification: “In other examples, systems and methods of the present disclosure are configured to apply stimulation to the perineal branch of the pudendal nerve 44 (e.g., targeting the terminal perineal branches of the pudendal nerve where they innervate the external urethral sphincter).”
Applicant discloses stimulating the base of the pudendal nerve as a separate embodiment as well, see par. [0079], with the key point being the word “OR”: “As a point of reference, some benefits of functional stimulation (e.g., at levels sufficient to cause muscular contraction) of the pudendal nerve base or posterior pudendal nerve (proximal the pudendal nerve branches, such as location A in FIGS. 4A-4E)” (emphasis added)
Applicant also discloses stimulation of the posterior pudendal nerve target as an alternative to stimulating the branches, see par. [0078], “With this anatomy in mind, in some examples, systems and methods of the present disclosure can include applying stimulation to a posterior region of the pudendal nerve 44 (e.g., targeting the pudendal nerve 44 posterior to where it enters Alcock's canal, for example by delivering a lead or the like through the buttocks). In other examples, systems and methods of the present disclosure are configured to apply stimulation to the perineal branch of the pudendal nerve 44 (e.g., targeting the terminal perineal branches of the pudendal nerve where they innervate the external urethral sphincter).” (emphasis added)
The same applies to the nerve root of the sphincter and directly to the sphincter muscle itself. Applicant has not provided a disclosure that combines stimulation form the various embodiments into a single embodiment.
Claims 1 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires stimulation of a terminal perineal nerve branch. Claim 15 introduces applying stimulation to two terminal perineal nerve branches. It is unclear if one of these branches is the branch form Claim1 or if they are two additional branches, different from that of Claim 1.
Claims 12 and 16-19 are unclear in that the disclosure only targets terminal perineal nerve branch(es) OR any one of the other claimed locations. Therefore, it is unclear if the locations in claims 12 and 16-19 supersede and replace the target nerve as claimed in claim 1 or if Applicant is intending to target multiple nerves with a single embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galvani Bioelectronics Limited (WO 2021/116674), herein Galvani.
Regarding Claims 1 and 16-19, Galvani discloses causing contraction of the external urethral sphincter by stimulating the pudendal nerve and/or any of its branches (p. 11, lines 15-25), such as the perineal nerve in order to address a potential urinary stress incontinence (p. 16). Galvani does not explicitly mention “a terminal perineal nerve branch of the pudendal nerve at a location where the terminal perineal; nerve branch innervates an external urethral sphincter” as presently claimed. However, Galvani does disclose targeting the pudendal nerve (which as defined by Galvani also could include the perineal nerve) to selectively stimulate the external urethral sphincter (EUS) thus clearly targeting a part of the perineal nerve that innervates the EUS (p. 11, lines 20-31). Galvani also discloses that optimizing the placement of the electrodes along the pudendal nerve (which would include the perineal nerve as disclosed by Galvani) to obtain the desired effect can be a trial and error process performed by a skilled clinician (p. 12, lines 21-31).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try and target a terminal perineal nerve at a location where the terminal perineal nerve branch innervates an external urethral sphincter since Galvani has provided a finite number of solutions (the perineal nerve dorsal genital nerve, sacral roots, se p. 11, lines 15-20) each having a reasonable expectation of success of selectively stimulating the EUS.
Galvani also discloses a routine optimization process of the target nerve (the perineal nerve) such that the location that provides the desired stimulation can be selected through a trial and error fitting process (pp. 35-37). Testing the claimed location of “a terminal perineal nerve at a location where the terminal perineal nerve branch innervates an external urethral sphincter” is well within the scope of the nerve area and stimulation result disclosed by Galvani, which is the same result claimed by Applicant. The claimed invention is an obvious variation of a routine optimization fitting process disclosed by Galvani.
This also applies to the other locations claimed for stimulation the EUS.
In regard to Claim 12, Galvani also discloses the inferior rectal nerve and/or the distal branch of the pudendal nerve such as the dorsal genital nerve can be targeted (p. 11, lines 15-20).
Regarding Claim 15, Galvani discloses multiple perineal locations can be tested and used (p. 12, lines 20-30
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796