DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments received 03/02/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-12, and 14 are pending. Any objection or rejection previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 12/04/2025 not maintained herein has been overcome by Applicant’s amendments and is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is directed toward a “coenzyme QH composition”. It is unclear if “coenzyme QH composition” indicates that that composition comprises coenzyme QH in addition to the co-crystal of coenzyme QH and nicotinamide. Moreover, in looking to the specification, examples 6-9 (p. 14-16) demonstrate how the claimed composition is made. While the ratio of coenzyme QH and nicotinamide differs from the claimed co-crystal, the method of making the composition is otherwise the same as the method of making the co-crystal (nicotinamide, coenzyme QH, and ethanol added to a ball mill jar, followed by ball milling for 2 hours and then vacuum drying) and the compositions have substantially similar XRPD and DSC patterns compared to the co-crystal. It is unclear how Applicant differentiates between a co-crystal and a composition if the compositions also have crystalline properties which are the same as the claimed co-crystal. Are the compositions not also co-crystals with a different ratio of coenzyme QH and nicotinamide? How do the compositions differ from the claimed co-crystal if they have the same properties? Clarification is requested. Claim 10 is rejected for depending on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prohenz López et al. (WO 2019/162429 A1; IDS filed 12/16/2024) in view of Mei et al. (CN 107721902 A; IDS filed 09/08/2023).
Prohenz López et al. discloses co-crystals comprising ubiquinol (reduced coenzyme Q10) and a hydrogen bond donor with improved stability (p. 2, lines 35-39; p. 3, lines 11-12). Prohenz López et al. additionally teaches a dietary supplement comprising a co-crystal of ubiquinol and a hydrogen bond donor (p. 15, lines 5-12). Prohenz López et al. discloses particular examples of making co-crystals of ubiquinol and a hydrogen bond donor in a 1:1 molar ratio comprising dissolving 3,5-dihydroxybenzoic acid in acetonitrile, ethyl ketone, or diethyl ether, adding ubiquinol until a suspension was observed, and filtering and drying the solid suspension under vacuum (p. 20, lines 24-30; p. 21, Table 8). Prohenz López et al. discloses additional examples wherein the solvent is ethyl acetate or isopropanol (p. 21).
Prohenz López et al. does not disclose a co-crystal of ubiquinol and nicotinamide in a 1:1 stoichiometric ratio. This limitation is obvious over Mei et al.
Mei et al. discloses a co-crystal of apremilast and nicotinamide, wherein the co-crystal has improved physical and chemical properties (English Abstract). Mei et al. discloses the following structure for nicotinamide (p. 5).
It would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to try to co-crystallize ubiquinol and nicotinamide. One would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, as nicotinamide is a co-former known in the art to improve stability when co-crystallized with pharmaceuticals. Moreover, nicotinamide would be expected to act as a hydrogen bond donor as desired by Prohenz López et al. via the hydrogens of its amide group. It would additionally be within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at a 1:1 stoichiometric ratio using routine optimization and the teachings of Prohenz López et al.
Examiner additionally notes that while claims 7 and 9-10 require the co-crystal of claim 1, claims 7 and 9-10 are drawn to compositions of matter. Neither the claims nor the specification clearly exclude liquid compositions wherein the co-crystal is dissolved, in which the crystalline form with the XRPD peaks listed in claim 1 would not be maintained. For example, see specification p. 8 which includes combining the co-crystal with diluents.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks filed 03/02/2026, Applicant points to example 6 of the specification to clarify that the coenzyme QH composition also comprises an excess of coenzyme QH or nicotinamide in addition to the co-crystal of claim 1. However, in looking to the specification for further guidance, the specification states on p. 5, “In some embodiments, in addition to the co-crystal… the coenzyme QH composition may comprise an excess amount of nicotinamide, or an excess amount of coenzyme QH…” which suggests that the scope of claim 7 does not require excess coenzyme QH or nicotinamide. The scope of claims 7 and 10 are still unclear. The rejection is maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-5, 11-12, and 14 are allowed.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-5, 11-12, and 14 are allowed. Claims 7 and 9-10 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1624 03/25/2026
/BRENDA L COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624