DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 5/21/2026.
Claims 7-11 are pending.
Claims 7-11 are rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
This communication is in response to Applicant’s reply filed under 3 CFR 1.111 on 5/21/2026. Claims 7-11 were amended and claims 7-11 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US Pub. 2022/0216904)(Z1 hereafter) in view of Li et al. (US Pub. 2023/0189369)(L1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 7,9,10 and 11, Z1 teaches a system [refer Fig. 1] comprising a terminal [refer Fig. 1; 116] and a base station [refer Fig. 1; 103], the terminal comprises:
a receiver [refer Fig. 3; 310][paragraph 0098] that receives one channel state information (CSI) resource configuration [paragraph 0172] corresponding to both of a configuration of an SS/PBCH Block (SSB) of a serving cell and a configuration of an SSB of a plurality of non-serving cells (resource settings can be for a serving cell and for non-serving cells)[paragraph 0178]; and
a processor [refer Fig. 3; 340][paragraph 0098] that controls transmission of a CSI report (the UE is configured to report to the network CSI reporting for serving cell and non-serving cell)[paragraph 0178], and
the base station [refer Fig. 2] comprises:
a processor [refer Fig. 2; 225][paragraph 0089] that controls reception of the CSI report (the UE sends the CSI report to the network (i.e. the base station))[paragraph 0166], a plurality of indexes corresponding to the CSI resource configuration is configured [paragraph 0146], and the index indicates a serving cell (i.e. an index can identify the serving cell), and indicates any one of the plurality of non-serving cells (an index can be for an entry to a list of PCIs (i.e. physical cell identities))[paragraph 0246].
However, Z1 fails to explicitly disclose that the index indicates a serving cell when the index is set to 0, and indicates any one of the plurality of non-serving cells when the index is set to a value other than 0, the index is an integer and is distinct from a physical cell ID (PCI).
L1 discloses that for providing measurement results for a cell in which a cell can be identified by an index [paragraph 0189], an example of a serving cell and non-serving cells can be identified in which the serving cell is defined as index 0 and the non-serving cell can be identified by cell 1, cell 2, cell 3 and cell 4 (i.e. non-zero)[paragraph 0190][refer Table 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Z1 for configuring a UE to report to a network CSI reporting for serving cell and non-serving cell [refer Z1; paragraph 0178] using different types of valid identifiers/higher layer signaling index values [refer Z1; paragraph 0145][Provisional 63/166699; page 30; “They could correspond to different non serving cells' PCIs, e.g., in/from a non-serving cell PCIs list higher layer configured/indicated to the UE by the network, or any other valid identifiers/higher layer signaling index values”] to incorporate the use of a specific numbering of indexes to identify a serving cell and non-serving cell respectively as taught by L1. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique in the field of endeavor when such alternatives for indexes [refer Z1; paragraph 0145] and other cell-specific information/ID/index are allowed [refer Z1; paragraph 0161].
Regarding claims 8, Z1 teaches when group-based beam reporting is applied [paragraph 0137], the CSI report includes both of reference signal received power (RSRP) corresponding to the SSB [paragraph 0139] of the serving cell and RSRP corresponding to the SSB of the plurality of non-serving cells (report format includes the reporting of one or more resource indicators/beam metrics associated with/for both serving cell and non-serving cell)[paragraph 0149].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed 5/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 7-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li et al. (US Pub. 2023/0189369)(L1 hereafter) as noted in the above rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu et al. (US Pub. 2022/0046458) discloses the use of a one-bit flag/multi-bit indicator for CSI- reporting that indicates a non-serving cell or serving cell [paragraph 0426; “the UE could identify the non-serving (or neighboring) cell RS and/or CSI resource/reporting parameters/configurations from the indicated CSI resource/reporting setting(s) following the one-bit flag indicator in the CSI resource/reporting setting (e.g., in CSI-ResourceConfig/CSI-SSB-ResourceSet/NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet/CSI-IM-ResourceSet/CSI-ReportConfig) indicating the non-serving (or neighboring) cell RS and/or CSI resource/reporting parameters/configurations (e.g., “1”/“ON”/“true” for the non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP while “0”/“OFF”/“false” for the serving cell/TRP)”].
Ryan Kavleski
/R.C.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412