DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Claims 9-12 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/10/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 and 13-17 in the reply filed on 7/10/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. Per MPEP 2111.03 ‘The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps'. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0095239 A1 to Chun et al. (hereinafter Chun)
Regarding claim 1, Chun discloses a quantum dot (14, Fig. 1A) comprising:
a surface including:
inherently polar planes (para [0013]). Chun does not expressly recite that polar planes account for an area percentage of 70% or more.
However, Chun does teach an example where all surfaces are polar (para [0012]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a quantum dot where all surfaces are polar to provide chemical compatibility for systems including a variety of materials and ultimately facilitate tailoring the quantum dots for particular applications (para [0012]).
Claims 1, 2, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2004/0185251 A1 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a quantum dot (semiconductor nanocrystals, para [0006]) comprising:
a polar dominated ZnO surface (para [0016]). The reference does not expressly recite the polar planes accounting for an area percentage of 70% or more.
However, Wang does teach a polar dominated surface (para [0016]) and teaches an embodiment where the nanocrystals comprise large top and bottom surfaces that are polar (0001) facets (para [0045] and Fig 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a polar dominant plane suggests a polar plane with an area percentage of greater than 50%. Polar planes (0001) in Fig. 1 account for a large portion, significantly greater than 50%, of the area of the crystal. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the Chun quantum dot to have a polar area percentage of greater than 50%, absent evidence to the contrary. An area percentage of greater than 50% overlaps the instantly claimed area percentage of 70% or more. See MPEP 2144.05(I), which states that ‘In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists’.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the quantum dot according to claim 1, wherein the surface can include only the polar planes. As discussed above, Chen discloses a polar dominant plane, with an area percentage of greater than 50%. See para [0045] and Fig 1. Greater than 50% overlaps and includes 100%, which would include only the polar planes. See MPEP 2144.05(I) cited above.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the quantum dot according to claim 1, further comprising:
a wurtzite crystal system, wherein the surface includes two planes, ±(0001), consisting of a (0001) plane and a (000-1) plane (para [0043]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the quantum dot according to claim 1, further comprising:
a sodium chloride crystal system,
wherein the surface includes six planes consisting of a (100) plane, a (-100) plane, a (010) plane, a (0-10) plane, a (001) plane, and a (00-1) plane (para [0069]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 12, and 14 and of U.S. Patent No. 12302670 B2 (hereinafter 670). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach overlapping quantum dots having only nonpolar planes instant claims 1 and 2 and 670 claims 4 and 12). Only (all) nonpolar planes fall within the instantly claimed range of an area percentage of 70% or more. Both teach overlapping core/shell quantum dots (instant claim 3 and 670 claims 1, 3, and 6). Both also teach quantum dots comprising a wurtzite system with at least six planes/faces (hexagonal prism, 670 claim 5) wherein the surface includes the same planes (instant claim 15 and 670 claims 2 and 14, first crystal plane), (instant claim 16 and 670 claims 2 and 14, first and second crystal planes), and (instant claim 17 and 670 claims 4 and 12). 670 claim 6 recites II-VI semiconductors, which include ZnS. The 670 claims do not expressly recite the term “wurtzite”. However, the planes as disclosed in 670 claims 2, 4, and 12 are drawn to wurtzite crystal systems.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12497289 B2 (hereinafter 289). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach overlapping quantum dots having only polar planes instant claims 1 and 2 and 289 claims 1 and 7). Only (all) polar planes falls within the instantly claimed range of an area percentage of 70% or more. Both teach quantum dots comprising a zinc-blende system with multiple planes/faces wherein the surface includes the same planes (instant claim 4 and 289 claim 1, tetradecahedron), (instant claim 5 and 289 claims 1(a) and 7(a), quadrangular faces), (instant claim 6 and 289 claim 1(b), hexagonal faces), and (instant claim 13 and 289 claim 13, dodecahedron). The quantum dots are defined as II-VI crystals (col 11, ln 10-11 of the 289 disclosure), which include ZnS. The 289 claims do not expressly recite the term “zinc-blende”. However, the planes as disclosed in 289 claims 1, 7 and 13 are drawn to zinc-blende crystal systems.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 8-13 of copending Application No. 19/118840 (hereinafter 840). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach overlapping quantum dots having 70% of or more of the quantum dot surface constituted by one type of equivalent crystal plane (instant claims 1 and 2 and 840 claims 1, 2, 4 and 13). 840 claim 4 expressly recites polar planes. 840 claim 13 recites the (11-20) plane, which is nonpolar. 840 claim 1 recites 80% or more, which falls within the instantly claimed range of 70% or more as set forth in instant claim 1. Both teach overlapping core/shell structures (instant claim 3 and 840 claim 3). Both also teach overlapping quantum dots having a zinc-blend structure with equivalent crystal planes. See instant claim 5 and 840 claims 8 and 9, (100) equivalent plane, defined in para [0052] of the printed publication, US 2026/0143862 A1 (hereinafter 862), instant claim 6 and 840 claim 10, (111) equivalent plane, defined in 862 para [0055], and instant claim 13 and 840 claim 11, (110) equivalent plane, defined in 862 para [0057] .Both also teach overlapping quantum dots having a sodium chloride structure with equivalent crystal planes (instant claim 7 and 840 claim 12 (111) equivalent plane).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/L.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734