Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 10, 13, 14, and 16 – 25, in the reply filed on 24 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the claims share a unity of invention, and that the references fail to disclose the claimed combination having a compressible flex component. This is not found persuasive because the compressible flex component has been mapped to the membrane as taught by Bergh et al, included on the annotated figure 2C which can be found on page 7 of this action. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “a valve actuator […] comprising a compressible flex component comprising a pin” encompasses the embodiment of a two-part flex component comprising a flexible membrane deformed by a pin. The open “comprising” in the claim does not prevent the inclusion of a feature such as a membrane, nor does the claim language require that the pin itself be compressible or flexible.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08 September 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Particularly, claim 16 recites the term “actuation means”, wherein “actuation means” comprises a solenoid and piston mechanism, a pneumatic mechanism, or other suitable means for applying a compression force to actuate the pin component of the modular microvalve (as cited in [00202] of the instant specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 10, 13, 14, and 16 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the valve" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets claim 1 to mean “…configured to couple the modular microvalve…” (in line with the language of claim 6).
Claims 2, 3 ,5 – 10, 13, 14, and 16 – 25 are rejected as indefinite due to their dependance on claim 1.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the array" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets claim 13 to mean “wherein the assembly comprises…”
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the array" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets claim 13 to mean “wherein the assembly comprises…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5, and 19 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergh et al (US 20020124897 A1, cited on the IDS provided 08 September 2023) in view of Gonzalez (US 4425935 A, cited on the IDS provided 08 September 2023).
With regards to claim 1, Bergh et al teaches;
The claimed “A valve supporter comprising a non-compressible valve body having an inner surface, an outer surface, a top surface, a bottom surface, and an inner chamber; and a valve actuator comprising a compressible flex component, a pin, wherein the bottom surface of the valve supporter is in a sealable relationship with a corresponding top surface of the valve actuator” has been read on the taught (See annotated Figure 2C, below);
However, Bergh et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the valve body is cylindrical, and at least one integrated snap-arm coupled to the valve body and configured to couple the valve to a receptacle.
In the analogous art of valve design, Gonzalez teaches;
The claimed “least one integrated snap-arm coupled to the valve body and configured to couple the valve to a receptacle” has been read on the taught (Column 4, line 8, “The actual connection between the stem 84 and the knob 233 is provided by a pair of spring prongs or arms 126 and 128…”; Arms 126 and 128 read on an integrated snap-arm. Stem 84 reads on a valve body. Knob 233 reads on a receptacle).
The claimed “a cylindrical non-compressible valve body” has been read on the taught (Column 2, line 47, “Communication between the inlet passage 24 and the main chamber 26 is controlled by a valve cartridge 30, comprised of five parts molded of semi-rigid resilient plastic material.”; Valve cartridge 30 reads on a valve body. Figure 4, reproduced below, shows valve cartridge 30 having a cylindrical body. Semi-rigid resilient plastic reads on the valve body being non-compressible.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the valve as taught by Bergh et al with the snap arms as taught by Gonzalez, for the predictable result of allowing the valve to be coupled to another structure with minimal tool use, as taught by Gonzalez (Column 1, line 38, “The primary object of this invention is to provide an improved valve structure, designed for installation, removal and replacement without tools…).
Regarding the limitation “a cylindrical […] valve body,” the examiner believes this limitation refers to a mere change of shape that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art; please see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). As the specification does not explicitly disclose any evidence that the shape of the valve body is significant, this limitation does not distinguish the prior art from that of Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
With regards to claim 2, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Bergh et al does not explicitly disclose wherein each snap-arm extends outwards from a side of the top outer surface of the valve supporter, and wherein each snap-arm comprises a shoulder feature, an outer flat component extending downwards from the shoulder feature, and a latch-end at a proximal end of the outer flat component.
Gonzalez further teaches;
The claimed “each snap-arm extends outwards from a side of the top outer surface of the valve supporter, and wherein each snap-arm comprises a shoulder feature, an outer flat component extending downwards from the shoulder feature, and a latch-end at a proximal end of the outer flat component” has been read on the taught (Please see annotated figure 4 below, which shows the snap-arm valve coupler taught by Gonzalez);
While the embodiment in Figure 4 shows the flat area extending upwards from the shoulder, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to flip the embodiment by 180 degrees as a mere rearrangement of parts; please see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the valve as taught by Bergh et al with the snap arms as taught by Gonzalez et al, for the predictable result of allowing the valve to be coupled to another structure with minimal tool use, as taught by Gonzalez et al (Column 1, line 38, “The primary object of this invention is to provide an improved valve structure, designed for installation, removal and replacement without tools…).
With regards to claim 3, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Neither Bergh et al nor Gonzalez explicitly disclose wherein the pin is frustoconical in shape or wherein the pin is a tapered cylinder. However, the examiner believes this to be a mere change in shape. Per MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), changes in shape may be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence that a particular configuration is significant. As the specification does not include any evidence regarding the shape of the pin, this limitation does not distinguish the device of claim 3 from the prior art of Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
With regards to claim 5, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Bergh et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the pin further comprises a divot feature on a proximal end of the pin, wherein the divot feature comprises an actuatable flow space configured to either block fluid flow when compressed or to allow fluid flow when uncompressed” has been read on the taught (Please see annotated Figure 2C below, showing the divot on the overall pin block 221. The proximal end of the divot creates a point of the pin, which blocks fluid when compressed against the flexible component and allows fluid flow when uncompressed.)
With regards to claim 19, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Bergh et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the valve supporter comprises a thermoplastic material.
Gonzalez additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the valve supporter comprises a thermoplastic material” has been read on the taught (Column 2, line 47, “…a valve cartridge 30, comprised of five parts molded of semi-rigid resilient plastic material.”; a semi-rigid resilient plastic material which can be molded reads on a thermoplastic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microvalve device as taught by Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez with the thermoplastic material taught by Gonzalez. According to MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Bergh et al teaches a valve structure seated in a microfabricated structure. The prior art of Gonzalez teaches a plastic valve seating structure. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known improvement technique of a plastic housing to the base device of Bergh et al’s microvalve, with the predictable result of creating a cheaper and easy-to-produce valve structure.
With regards to claim 20, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of
The claimed “wherein the thermoplastic material is selected from a group consisting of polycarbonate (PC), acrytonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), or any other suitable rigid thermoplastic material” has been read on the taught (Column 2, line 47, “…a valve cartridge 30, comprised of five parts molded of semi-rigid resilient plastic material.”; a semi-rigid resilient plastic material which can be molded reads on any other suitable rigid thermoplastic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microvalve device as taught by Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez with the thermoplastic material taught by Gonzalez. According to MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Bergh et al teaches a valve structure seated in a microfabricated structure. The prior art of Gonzalez teaches a plastic valve seating structure. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known improvement technique of a plastic housing to the base device of Bergh et al’s microvalve, with the predictable result of creating a cheaper and easy-to-produce valve structure.
With regards to claim 21, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Bergh additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the valve actuator comprises an elastomeric material” has been read on the taught ([0047], “Membranes suitable for use in the invention may generally include polymer or metal films… Particularly preferred membranes include […] fluoropolymer films such as Kalrez® commercially available from DuPont Dow Elastomers, Wilmington, Del.”; A fluoropolymer film from Dow Elastomers reads on an elastomeric material).
With regards to claim 22, the device of claim 21 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Bergh et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the elastomeric material is selected from a group consisting of silicone, hydrogel, PDMS, TPE material, or any other suitable elastomeric material” has been read on the taught ([0047], “Membranes suitable for use in the invention may generally include polymer or metal films… Particularly preferred membranes include […] fluoropolymer films such as Kalrez® commercially available from DuPont Dow Elastomers, Wilmington, Del.”; A fluoropolymer film from Dow Elastomers reads on any other suitable elastomeric material).
With regards to claim 23, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Neither Bergh et al nor Gonzalez explicitly disclose wherein the diameter of the modular micro valve is from about 8 mm to about 15 mm.
Bergh et al does disclose that the overall valve should be less than 500mm and more typically 1mm, as read on the taught ([0035], “As used herein, the term "microvalve" is meant to have its ordinary meaning in the art of fluid control, particularly referring to a fluid control device whose critical features are less than about 0.5 cm in size and may more typically have a size ranging from about a micron to about a millimeter.”)
Regarding the limitation “wherein the diameter of the modular micro valve is from about 8 mm to about 15 mm,” the examiner believes this to be a mere change in size or proportion. Per MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), changes in size or proportion do not render a claimed device patentably distinct, provided that a device having the claimed dimensions would not operate differently than the prior art device. As the prior art of Bergh et al teaches a device operating on the millimeter scale, this limitation does not render the claimed device patentable over the device of Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
With regards to claim 24, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Neither Bergh et al nor Gonzalez explicitly disclose wherein the snap-arms extend outward from the valve supporter from about 1 mm to about 2 mm.
Bergh et al does disclose that the overall valve should be less than 500mm and more typically 1mm, as read on the taught ([0035], “As used herein, the term "microvalve" is meant to have its ordinary meaning in the art of fluid control, particularly referring to a fluid control device whose critical features are less than about 0.5 cm in size and may more typically have a size ranging from about a micron to about a millimeter.”)
Regarding the limitation “wherein the snap-arms extend outward from the valve supporter from about 1 mm to about 2 mm,” the examiner believes this to be a mere change in size or proportion. Per MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), changes in size or proportion do not render a claimed device patentably distinct, provided that a device having the claimed dimensions would not operate differently than the prior art device. As the prior art of Bergh et al teaches a device operating on the millimeter scale, this limitation does not render the claimed device patentable over the device of Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
With regards to claim 25, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Neither Bergh et al nor Gonzalez explicitly disclose wherein the height of the modular microvalve is from about 3.6 mm to about 7.6 mm.
Bergh et al does disclose that the overall valve should be less than 500mm and more typically 1mm, as read on the taught ([0035], “As used herein, the term "microvalve" is meant to have its ordinary meaning in the art of fluid control, particularly referring to a fluid control device whose critical features are less than about 0.5 cm in size and may more typically have a size ranging from about a micron to about a millimeter.”)
Regarding the limitation “wherein the height of the modular microvalve is from about 3.6 mm to about 7.6 mm,” the examiner believes this to be a mere change in size or proportion. Per MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), changes in size or proportion do not render a claimed device patentably distinct, provided that a device having the claimed dimensions would not operate differently than the prior art device. As the prior art of Bergh et al teaches a device operating on the millimeter scale, this limitation does not render the claimed device patentable over the device of Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Claims 6 – 10, 13, 14, and 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergh et al (US 20020124897 A1, cited on the IDS provided 08 September 2023) in view of Gonzalez (US 4425935 A, cited on the IDS provided 08 September 2023) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ball et al (US 20200038864 A1).
With regards to claim 6, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez.
Bergh et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “an assembly” has been read on the taught (Abstract, “The invention further provides for parallel injection valve arrays…”);
The claimed “one or more fluid openings in fluid contact with corresponding fluid channels arranged to allow for fluid communication between the modular microvalves and the fluid channels” has been read on the taught ([0039], “The fluid transfer channel 211 formed in the first face of the first plate 205 has a floor 211A and extends between the inlet passage 207 and outlet passage 209 of the first plate 205 for fluid communication therebetween.”);
However, Bergh et al does not explicitly disclose one or more valve receptacles protruding upward from a top surface of the microfluidic device and arranged to allow the modular microvalves to engagedly connect to the valve receptacles via the snap-arms; latch features corresponding to the snap-arms arranged for engaging the snap-arms and thereby sealing the modular micro valve into the valve receptacle; or one or more fluid input loading wells in fluid communication with the fluid channels.
Gonzalez additionally discloses;
The claimed “latch features corresponding to the snap-arms arranged for engaging the snap-arms and thereby sealing the modular micro valve into the valve receptacle” has been read on the taught (Column 4, line 8, “The actual connection between the stem 84 and the knob 122 is provided by a pair of spring prongs or arms 126 and 128 […] Together, they fit an elongated square or rectangular hole 130 (FIG. 4) at a recessed hub 132 of the knob.”; The square hole reads on latch features).
However, neither Bergh et al nor Gonzalez explicitly disclose one or more valve receptacles protruding upward from a top surface of the microfluidic device and arranged to allow the modular microvalves to engagedly connect to the valve receptacles via the snap-arms one or more fluid input loading wells in fluid communication with the fluid channels.
In the analogous art of microfluidic devices, Ball et al teaches;
“A microfluidic device including valves” has been read on the taught (Abstract, “The present invention relates to microfluidic check valves, as well as fluidic cartridges including such check valves.”);
The claimed “one or more valve receptacles protruding upward from a top surface of the microfluidic device and arranged to allow the modular microvalves to engagedly connect to the valve receptacles via the snap-arms” has been read on the taught ([0030], “Such valves can be produced as stand-alone, modular components (e.g., that are readily integrated into prototype devices or cartridges having valve seats to accommodate the valves)…”);
The claimed “one or more fluid input loading wells in fluid communication with the fluid channels” has been read on the taught (See Figure 3C below, which shows inlet 3001 which reads on one or more fluid input loading wells. [0048] further teaches downstream reaction channels.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve of Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez with the drop-in microfluidic device of Ball et al, for the predictable benefit of easy integration into microfluidic devices as taught by Ball et al ([0074], “Such exemplary benefits can include ease of integration into microfluidic or millifluidic devices…”).
With regards to claim 7, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of Ball et al.
Bergh et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the latch features further comprise lip-edges in corresponding openings in the valve receptacles to engagedly connect to latch-ends.
Gonzalez additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the latch features further comprise lip-edges in corresponding openings in the valve receptacles to engagedly connect to latch-ends” has been read on the taught (Column 4, line 8, “The actual connection between the stem 84 and the knob 122 is provided by a pair of spring prongs or arms 126 and 128 […] Together, they fit an elongated square or rectangular hole 130 (FIG. 4) at a recessed hub 132 of the knob.”; The square hole reads on lip-edges in corresponding openings.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microvalve device as taught by Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of Ball et al with the lip-edges as taught by Gonzalez. According to MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Bergh et al teaches a valve structure seated in a microfabricated structure. The prior art of Gonzalez teaches a lip-edge to connect a valve structure. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known improvement technique of a plastic housing to the base device of Bergh et al’s microvalve, with the predictable result of creating a valve structure which can be affixed to a receptacle.
With regards to claim 8, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of Ball et al.
Bergh et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the modular microvalve is arranged such that compression of the valve actuator prevents liquid flow from the fluid input loading well into the corresponding fluid opening” has been read on the taught ([0053], “The injection valve 301 operates by moving the pistons 321 relative to the first plate 305 between an open position (FIG. 3A) in which the sealing membrane 317 is spaced from the valve seat 313 to permit fluid flow between the inlet passages 307 and outlet passages 309 through the fluid transfer channels 311, and a closed position in which the pistons 321 press the sealing membrane 317 against the valve seats 313 to prevent fluid flow between the inlet passages 307 and the outlet passages 309 through the fluid transfer channels 311…”).
With regards to claim 9, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of Ball et al.
Bergh et al additionally discloses wherein the assembly comprises an array of microvalves, as read on the taught ([0067], “In a fourth embodiment, the injection valves of the present invention are arranged in a parallel array of injection valves capable of controlling fluids from multiple sources substantially simultaneously.”). However, Bergh et al does not explicitly disclose valve receptacles.
The combination of Gonzalez and Bergh et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the assembly comprises an array of modular microvalves and corresponding valve receptacles.
Ball et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the assembly comprises an array of modular microvalves and corresponding valve receptacles” has been read on the taught ([0023], “FIG. 12A-12C shows photographs of exemplary fluidic cartridges. Provided are (A) a first exemplary cartridge configured to conduct multiple, separate reactions on the same cartridge, in which four separate samples can be introduced in each separate fluidic network…”; The exemplary cartridge reads on an array of microvalves and valve receptacles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluidic device of Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez in view of Ball et al with the array of microvalves as taught by Ball et al, for the predictable benefit of allowing multiple assays to be performed in the same device, on the same sample, in parallel, as taught by Ball et al ([0138], “…such chips can be adapted to conduct parallel assays, in which the same assay can be performed on different samples in a parallel manner or in which different assays can be performed with the same sample in a parallel manner.”).
With regards to claim 10, the device of claim 9 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of Ball et al.
Bergh et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the array of modular microvalves and corresponding valve receptacles are configured in a series, in parallel, or a combination thereof” has been read on the taught ([0067], “In a fourth embodiment, the injection valves of the present invention are arranged in a parallel array of injection valves capable of controlling fluids from multiple sources substantially simultaneously.”; A parallel array reads on the valves being configured in parallel.).
With regards to claim 13, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of Ball et al.
Bergh et al discloses an array (see, e.g. [0068]), but neither Bergh et al nor Gonzalez explicitly disclose an array comprising at least one modular microvalve and a corresponding valve receptacle.
Ball et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the array comprises at least one modular microvalve and a corresponding valve receptacle” has been read on the taught ([0023], “FIG. 12A-12C shows photographs of exemplary fluidic cartridges. Provided are (A) a first exemplary cartridge configured to conduct multiple, separate reactions on the same cartridge, in which four separate samples can be introduced in each separate fluidic network…”; The exemplary cartridge reads on an array of microvalves and valve receptacles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluidic device of Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez in view of Ball et al with the array of microvalves as taught by Ball et al, for the predictable benefit of allowing multiple assays to be performed in the same device, on the same sample, in parallel, as taught by Ball et al ([0138], “…such chips can be adapted to conduct parallel assays, in which the same assay can be performed on different samples in a parallel manner or in which different assays can be performed with the same sample in a parallel manner.”).
With regards to claim 14, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of Ball et al.
Bergh et al discloses an array (see, e.g. [0068]), but neither Bergh et al nor Gonzalez explicitly disclose an array comprising at least one modular microvalve and a corresponding valve receptacle.
Ball et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the array comprises a plurality of modular microvalves and corresponding valve receptacles” has been read on the taught ([0023], “FIG. 12A-12C shows photographs of exemplary fluidic cartridges. Provided are (A) a first exemplary cartridge configured to conduct multiple, separate reactions on the same cartridge, in which four separate samples can be introduced in each separate fluidic network…”; The exemplary cartridge reads on an array of microvalves and valve receptacles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluidic device of Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez in view of Ball et al with the array of microvalves as taught by Ball et al, for the predictable benefit of allowing multiple assays to be performed in the same device, on the same sample, in parallel, as taught by Ball et al ([0138], “…such chips can be adapted to conduct parallel assays, in which the same assay can be performed on different samples in a parallel manner or in which different assays can be performed with the same sample in a parallel manner.”).
With regards to claim 16, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of Ball et al.
Bergh et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the microfluidic device further comprises an actuation means for applying a compression force to the modular microvalve” has been read on the taught ([0044], “The microvalve 201 is operated by an actuator (not shown) in fluid communication with fluid activation passage 231.”; An actuator reads on an actuation means).
With regards to claim 17, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of Ball et al.
Bergh et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the actuation means for applying a compression force is selected from a group consisting of a solenoid and piston mechanism, a pneumatic mechanism, or other suitable means for applying a compression force to actuate the pin of the modular microvalve” has been read on the taught ([0044], “The microvalve 201 is operated by an actuator (not shown) in fluid communication with fluid activation passage 231.”; An actuator reads on “other suitable means for applying a compression force to actuate the pin of the modular microvalve”. ).
With regards to claim 18, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Bergh et al in view of Gonzalez and further in view of Ball et al.
Bergh et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the modular micro valves in fluid communication with the fluid channels are actuatable between a closed configuration that inhibits fluid flow through the fluid openings into the fluid channels when the pin is in a compressed state and an open configuration allowing fluid flow from the fluid input loading wells through the fluid openings into the fluid channels when the pin is in an uncompressed state” has been read on the taught ([0010], “….an open position in which the sealing membrane does not block fluid flow in a corresponding one of the fluid transfer channels between the inlet passage and outlet passage, and a closed position in which the piston deforms the sealing membrane to block fluid flow in said corresponding one of the fluid transfer channels between the inlet passage and outlet passage.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Christy (US 4909441 A1) teaches a fluidic valve with an elastomeric pin.
Clemens et al (US 20080200343 A1) teaches a variety of fluidic arrangements including valves.
Maltezos et al (US 20080142157 A1) teaches a microfluidic, pin-actuated valve.
Heath et al (US 20070051412 A1) teaches a pin-actuated fluidic valve and actuation mechanisms.
/ALISON CLAIRE GERHARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797