DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 05 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that the subject matter in claims 1-10 have similar features as the subject matter in claim 11 and thus claims 1-11 would not present a search and examination burden. This is not found persuasive because the subject matter in claims 1-10 relate to a product of a battery pack, which plainly claim features of the battery pack, and claim 11 relates to a method of manufacturing a battery pack, which claim steps in forming a battery pack. Considering that different permutations of forming the claimed battery pack are possible, the different groups of claims are pertain to distinct subject matter.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method of manufacturing a battery pack, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08 September 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 2021/0402884 A1). This prior art reference being cited to as Wang hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a battery pack (100 Fig. 1; “a battery pack 100” [0073]), comprising:
at least one battery module (3 Fig. 1; “a battery cell 3” [0073]);
a pack housing (collectively 1 and 2 shown in Fig. 1; “lower box body 1” and “box body upper cover 2” [0074]) comprising:
a space formed to accommodate the at least one battery module (“The lower box body 1 has an accommodating area 16 , there may be a plurality of battery cells 3 , and the plurality of battery cells 3 form an array accommodated in the foregoing accommodating area 16.” [0074]);
a gas inlet configured receive gas generated in the space (141 Fig. 4; “the lower box body 1 is further provided with an exhaust port 141” [0076]);
a gas discharge channel configured to communicate the gas received through the gas inlet (142 Fig. 4; “the exhaust port 141 is in communication with the exhaust channel 142” [0079]); and
a gas outlet formed at an end of the gas discharge channel (“exhaust unidirectionally . In this way , the high - temperature gas generated by the battery cell 3 can flow to the outside of the battery pack 100 without flowing back to the accommodating area 16” [0085]); and
a gas venting unit (15 Fig. 4; “exhaust assembly 15” [0076]) having a plate cover (collectively 155, 153, 152 and 156 shown in Fig. 7; “the ventilation frame 151 is provided with a first attraction component 155 ; the baffle 152 is provided with a second attraction component 156” [0098], “a sealing component 153 is arranged between the ventilation frame 151 and the a baffle 152” [0102]) configured to seal the gas inlet (“When thermal runaway does not occur in the battery cell 3 , the baffle 152 can cover the ventilation frame 151” [0088]),
wherein the gas venting unit is configured to at least partially ruptured when an internal gas pressure of the pack housing increases to or above a first predetermined value (“when the pressure of the accommodating area 16 reaches the set value , the second body 152a is separated from the first body 151a” [0092]), and
wherein the gas generated in the space is introduced into the gas inlet when the gas venting unit is at least partially ruptured (the gas penetrates the first body 151a and enters the exhaust channel 142” [0092]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the battery pack with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the pack housing includes a side frame, the side frame facing a side of the at least one battery module (collectively 11 and 14 shown in Fig. 2; “the lower box body 1 includes a lateral beam 11 , … and a medial vertical beam 14” [0105]), wherein the gas inlet is formed at a surface of the side frame (“the exhaust port 141 and the exhaust assembly 15 are respectively arranged on the medial vertical beam 14 and the lateral beam 11” [0105]) facing the at least one battery module (“the explosion - proof valve on the battery cell 3 will usually face the medial transverse beam 13 and the lateral beam 11” [0106]), wherein the gas discharge channel is formed along a direction of the side frame, and wherein the gas outlet is formed at an end of the side frame (“, the high - temperature gas generated inside the battery cell 3 is ejected through the explosion - proof valve and can directly enter the exhaust channel 142” [0106] and “The high - temperature gas can penetrate the exhaust assembly 15 and enter the exhaust channel 142 , and then be discharged to the outside of the battery pack 100.” [0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the battery pack with all the features set forth in claim 2 above, and wherein the plate cover is a discharge disk (“the baffle 152 rotates and opens in a direction away from the battery cell 3 , to exhaust unidirectionally” [0085]), and
wherein the discharge disk is configured to at least partially rupture when the internal gas pressure of the pack housing increases to or above the first predetermined value (“when the pressure of the accommodating area 16 reaches the set value , the exhaust assembly 15 is configured to be opened” [0082] where “when the pressure of the accommodating area 16 reaches the set value , the second body 152a is separated from the first body 151a” [0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the battery pack with all the limitations set forth in claim 4 above, and wherein the gas venting unit further includes a coupling plate coupled to the discharge disk (151 Figs. 6-7; “a ventilation frame 151 … the ventilation frame 151 and the baffle 152 are rotatably connected [0084]),
wherein the coupling plate comprises an opening (“the first body 151a is in a mesh structure” [0090]), and
wherein a portion of the discharge disk is exposed at the opening (“When the pressure of the accommodating area 16 does not reach the set value , the second body 152a covers the first body 151a” [0092]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses a vehicle comprising the battery pack with all the features set forth in claim 1 above (“a vehicle , including the battery pack 100” [0112]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2021/0402884 A1) in view of Jung et al (US 2022/0209332 A1). The latter prior art reference cited to as Jung hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the battery pack with all the features set forth in claim 2 above, but does not disclose wherein the side frame further includes a gas channel cap configured to seal an end of the gas discharge channel opposite to the gas outlet.
However, Jung discloses a battery pack comprising a pack housing (“FIG . 7 is a cut - away perspective view of a battery pack according to an embodiment of the present invention . The battery pack 1 according to the present invention may include a battery pack case 10” [0091]) that comprises a space formed (“a battery pack case 10 in which a plurality of module spaces M are formed” [0091]) to accommodate at least one battery module (“a battery cell assembly 600 provided in an internal space of each of the plurality of module spaces M” [0091]), a gas inlet configured to receive gas generated in the space (250 Fig. 4A; “, a communication hole 250 is formed in an inner sidewall of the right frame positioned in the internal space of each of the plurality of module spaces M” [0070]), and a gas outlet formed (“the other end of each channel C to be in communication with the outside through the vent hole 450 formed in each vent cap 400 to open any one of the opened one end and the opened other end of each channel C” [0076]) at an end of the gas discharge channel (“a plate 100 providing a space in which battery modules are seated ; an outer frame 200 formed at a predetermined height at an outer side of the plate ; and a partition frame 300 partitioning an internal space defined by the plate and the outer frame into a plurality of module spaces” [0063] where all the disclosed frames correspond to the claimed gas discharge channel).
Jung teaches wherein the side frame further includes a gas channel cap configured to seal an end of the gas discharge channel opposite to the gas outlet (“close the other of the opened one end and the opened other end of each channel C” [0076] where Fig. 4B shows each channel C having a closed end by means of elements 410 and 420, “the respective vent caps 410 and 420” [0076]), and that this structure implemented on the gas discharge channel allows harmful material generated in any one of the triggered battery modules to be discharged through the channel in a desired direction ([0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a gas channel cap to the side frame of the battery pack of Wang, in view of Jung, that is configured to seal an end of the gas discharge channel opposite to the gas outlet, in order to control the direction of harmful gas discharged from any one of the battery modules of the battery pack through the gas discharge channel.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the battery pack with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the at least one battery module includes:
at least one battery cell (“plurality of battery cells 3” [0074]);
a module discharge unit configured to discharge gas from inside the module housing toward the gas venting unit when an internal gas pressure of the module housing increases to or above a second predetermined value (“Once thermal runaway occurs in the battery cell, the high - temperature gas generated inside the battery cell 3 is ejected through the explosion - proof valve” [0106]), and
wherein the module discharge unit faces the gas venting unit (“the explosion - proof valve on the battery cell 3 will usually face the medial transverse beam 13 and the lateral beam 11” [0106] where “the exhaust port 141 and the exhaust assembly 15 are respectively arranged on the medial vertical beam 14 and the lateral beam 11” [0105]).
Wang does not disclose a module housing configured to accommodate the at least one battery cell therein, and
wherein the module discharge unit is provided at a side of the module housing.
However, Jung discloses a battery pack comprising a pack housing (“FIG . 7 is a cut - away perspective view of a battery pack according to an embodiment of the present invention . The battery pack 1 according to the present invention may include a battery pack case 10” [0091]) that comprises a space formed (“a battery pack case 10 in which a plurality of module spaces M are formed” [0091]) to accommodate at least one battery module (“a battery cell assembly 600 provided in an internal space of each of the plurality of module spaces M” [0091]), a gas inlet configured to receive gas generated in the space (250 Fig. 4A; “, a communication hole 250 is formed in an inner sidewall of the right frame positioned in the internal space of each of the plurality of module spaces M” [0070]), and a gas outlet formed (“the other end of each channel C to be in communication with the outside through the vent hole 450 formed in each vent cap 400 to open any one of the opened one end and the opened other end of each channel C” [0076]) at an end of the gas discharge channel (“a plate 100 providing a space in which battery modules are seated ; an outer frame 200 formed at a predetermined height at an outer side of the plate ; and a partition frame 300 partitioning an internal space defined by the plate and the outer frame into a plurality of module spaces” [0063] where all the disclosed frames correspond to the claimed gas discharge channel).
Jung teaches a module housing configured to accommodate the at least one battery cell therein (“configure a module by bundling several battery cells … when configuring the module , a module housing protecting the battery cell from an external shock [0095]), and
wherein the module discharge unit is provided at a side of the module housing (“a gas safety device , an electric device and the like are installed inside the module housing” [0095]).
Jung further teaches that implementing this structure to the at least one battery cell safely and efficiently manages the battery cells ([0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a module housing configured to accommodate the at least one battery cell therein to the battery pack of Wang in view of Jung, wherein the module discharge unit is provided at a side of the module housing, in order to safely and efficiently manage the battery cells.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the battery pack with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose it further comprising a guide member located at an outer perimeter of the gas venting unit to guide a movement direction of the gas discharged from the at least one battery module.
However, Jung discloses a battery pack comprising a pack housing (“FIG . 7 is a cut - away perspective view of a battery pack according to an embodiment of the present invention . The battery pack 1 according to the present invention may include a battery pack case 10” [0091]) that comprises a space formed (“a battery pack case 10 in which a plurality of module spaces M are formed” [0091]) to accommodate at least one battery module (“a battery cell assembly 600 provided in an internal space of each of the plurality of module spaces M” [0091]), a gas inlet configured to receive gas generated in the space (250 Fig. 4A; “, a communication hole 250 is formed in an inner sidewall of the right frame positioned in the internal space of each of the plurality of module spaces M” [0070]), and a gas outlet formed (“the other end of each channel C to be in communication with the outside through the vent hole 450 formed in each vent cap 400 to open any one of the opened one end and the opened other end of each channel C” [0076]) at an end of the gas discharge channel (“a plate 100 providing a space in which battery modules are seated ; an outer frame 200 formed at a predetermined height at an outer side of the plate ; and a partition frame 300 partitioning an internal space defined by the plate and the outer frame into a plurality of module spaces” [0063] where all the disclosed frames correspond to the claimed gas discharge channel).
Jung teaches the battery pack further comprises a guide member located at an outer perimeter of the gas venting unit (500 Fig. 5; “a guide wall 500 disposed on each channel” [0078]) to guide a movement direction of the gas discharged from the at least one battery module (“in order to guide the harmful material introduced from the trigger module into each channel to the end
portion at which the vent hole 450 is formed” [0078]).
Jung further teaches the guide member may be provided in each channel to prevent the gas or the like generated in the trigger module and introduced into each channel from moving to the end portion closed by a vent cap , and then return and be again introduced into the module space where the triggered battery module exists , and may be combined with a function of the vent cap to certainly discharge the harmful material in a desired direction ([0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a guide member located at an outer perimeter of the gas venting unit to the battery pack of Wang in view of Jung to guide a movement direction of the gas discharged from the at least one battery module, in order to prevent gas generated by a battery module to be reintroduced to the space that the battery module is disposed in to certainly discharge the gas out of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the battery pack with all the features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the guide member has a tube shape extending toward the at least one battery module (Jung “The guide wall 500 may be formed in various shapes” [0078] and Fig. 6 shows corners formed in guide wall 500 with a circumference), and a perimeter of the tube shape increases toward the at least one battery module (Jung Fig. 6 shows the circumference of each corner to open up in the direction of the battery module spaces).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2021/0402884 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the battery pack with all the features set forth in claim 5 above, but does not disclose wherein the gas venting unit includes at least two discharge disks, and
wherein the at least two discharge disks are stacked next to each other.
However, the claimed limitations is a mere duplication of parts recited in claim 1, which is rejected in claim 1 on the basis of the Wang prior art reference. MPEP 2144.04 Section VI-B discloses mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) legal precedence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to add at least one more discharge disk to the battery pack of Wang wherein the at least two discharge disks are stacked next each other because mere duplication of the discharge disk does not have patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Conclusion
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721