DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-25 are pending.
Priority
The application was filed on 9/8/2023 and claims the benefit of priority to:
See filing receipt dated 1/29/2024.
Drawings/Specification
The drawings are objected to because are blurry and difficult to read.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
the specification is objected to because it appears to contain greyscale which is difficult to read, see [0023-0024, 0029, and 0032-0038]; and
the schemes/structures on the following pages are blurry and difficult to read: Scheme 3 on p. 24; Structure 6a on p. 33; and Structure 6b on p. 34.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-14, 16-20, and 22-25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 3-5, 14, 16-18, 20, and 22-24 are objected to because the structures within the claims are blurry and difficult to read.
Claims 1, 3-5, 14, 16-18, 20, and 22-24 are further objected to because the Markush group language with respect to the R variables is improper. The word “and” should be inserted between the penultimate and final option in each group.
Claims 1, 3-5, 14, 16-18, 20, and 22-24 are further objected to because the following limitations within the definition of variable R4 are missing the symbol denoting the point of attachment (~~) which is shown in all other drawn-out options in the claim:
. Standardized notation should be maintained throughout the claims. It is also noted that the point of attachment notation is not used with respect to R5 in any of the claims.
Line 2 of claim 6 contains a grammatical error “useful for as a”. One of “for” or “as” should be deleted.
Claims 6-13 all contain the limitation “claims 1”. This limitation should be amended to recite “claim 1”.
Claim 9 recites “a diagnostic kit for targeting lysosomal, mitrochondrial, or nucleus”. This phrase contains grammatical errors. “Lysosomal” and “mitochondrial” are adjectives which should modify a noun (which appears to be missing) and “nucleus” is a noun, but is an alternative to the other two options. The same or similar phrasing is also present in claims 13, 19, and 25 and also requires correction.
Claim 10 recites “a pH-probe for diagnostic purpose”. This phrase contains grammatical errors. The Examiner suggests amending the limitation to recite “a diagnostic pH probe” or “a pH-probe for diagnosing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claim 14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof.
Applicant is advised that should claim 9 be found allowable, claim 19 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof.
Applicant is advised that should claim 12 be found allowable, claim 20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof.
Applicant is advised that should claim 13 be found allowable, claim 25 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof.
The scope of formula (I) in claims 1, 14, and 20 is identical.
When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the definition of variable R4 contains the following structure:
. This limitation is indefinite because variable “R” is undefined. The indefinite structure is also present in claims 3-5, 14, 16-18, 20, and 22-24. The deficiency is not cured in any dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 2, 4, 15, 17, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 2 and 4 recite that R2 and R3 are methyl. These are not options in independent claim 1, from which both claims depend, therefore this is an improper broadening of the scope of R2 and R3.
Claims 15 and 17 recite that R2 and R3 are methyl. These are not options in independent claim 14, from which both claims depend, therefore this is an improper broadening of the scope of R2 and R3.
Claims 21 and 23 recite that R2 and R3 are methyl. These are not options in independent claim 20, from which both claims depend, therefore this is an improper broadening of the scope of R2 and R3.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the interest of compact prosecution, the compounds of claims 2, 4, 15, 17, 21 and 23, wherein R2 and R3 are methyl in Formula (I), are addressed with the following rejection.
Claims 2, 4, 15, 17, 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichihashi (US2018/0134952, published on 5/17/2018).
On page 54, Ichihashi teaches the following compound of formula G-111:
. This compound corresponds to a compound of instant formula (I) wherein R4 is -NO2; R5 is -CO2Et; and R2 and R3 are methyl. Regarding the limitations “diagnostic kit” in claims 15 and 17 and “pH activable fluorescent probe” in claims 21 and 23, according to the specification as filed, the compound alone can fulfill both of these functional limitations. Also see MPEP 2131.
Subject Matter free from the Prior Art
The inventions of claims 1, 3, 5-14, 16, 18-20, 22, and 24-25 appear to be free from the prior art. The closest prior art compounds to the claimed compounds are those disclosed in:
Kang (US 5274113, published on 12/28/1993);
Chang (US 2014/0359794, published on 12/4/2014);
Xie (CN103214505A, published on 7/24/2013);
Gayathri (“Study on Liposomal Encapsulation of New Bodipy Sensitizers for Photodynamic Therapy” ACS Med Chem Lett, 2018, p. 323-327); and
Hiruta (“Near IR Emitting Red-Shifting Ratiometric Fluorophores Based on Borondipyrromethene” Org. Lett, 2015, p. 3022-3025).
Kang teaches the following derivatives of dipyrrometheneboron difluoride dyes that have an absorption maximum at wavelengths longer than about 525nm, and are chemically reactive with nucleic acids, proteins, carbohydrates, and other biologically derived or synthetic chemical materials of the following structure:
. See abstract and claims. A multitude of species are described in Table 2 on col. 5-12. None of the compounds teach or suggest the claimed compounds. None of the compounds of Kang teach a Ph-4-R4 group at R4 of Kang, compounds wherein instant R2 and R3 (variables R2 and R6 of Kang) are both one of the groups claimed, and/or instant R5 (variables R2 and R6 of Kang) is one of the groups claimed.
Chang teaches fluorescent compounds of formula (I) with specificity to neural stem cells:
. See abstract. Tables 1-2 on p. 14-26 teach species of the compounds. None of the compounds of Chang teach instant R2 and R3 (variables are both one of the groups claimed and/or instant R5 (variables R2 and R6 of Kang) is one of the groups claimed.
Xie teaches the following pyrromethene-boron difluoride fluorescent derivative:
See abstract and claims. Xie does not teach a compound wherein R2 and R3 are one of the claimed groups and/or wherein R5 is one of the claimed groups.
Gayathri teaches Bodipy sensitizers for photodynamic therapy of the following formulae:
. See abstract and Fig. 1 on p. 324. Gayathri does not teach a compound wherein R2 and R3 are one of the claimed groups and/or wherein R5 is one of the claimed groups.
Hiruta teaches near IR emitting red-shifting ratiometric fluorophores of the following formula:
. See abstract and scheme 1 on p. 3022. Hiruta does not teach a compound wherein R2 and R3 are one of the claimed groups and/or wherein R5 is one of the claimed groups.
Nor is there motivation to modify any of the disclosed references to arrive at the claimed compounds.
Conclusion
/AMY C BONAPARTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692