DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2025 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Based to the Applicant’s REMARKS and Amendment filed on 12/30/2025, this office action considers -
Claims 41-60 are pending; and
Claims 1-40 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 41-60 have been considered, but they are not persuasive.
The Rejection of Claims Under § 102
The Applicant presented argument that-
A. Independent claim 41 recites:
decode higher layer signaling, the higher layer signaling to configure a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission in a set of symbols;
decode a downlink control information (DCI) format, the DCI format to
configure a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception in a subset of symbols from the set of symbols; and
determine to prioritize the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception based on a comparison between a pre-configured offset and a time offset between a first symbol of the set of symbols and a last symbol of the DCI format.
KITTICHO does not disclose at least the above-recited functionalities, because –
i. KITTICHO itself does not provide an explicit decoding step for higher-layer signaling; it narratively assumes configuration states (semi-static UL occasion),
ii. KITTICHO depicts overlapping DL and UL occasions in time and discusses prioritization and cancellation rules. The depiction of overlap does not demonstrate that the DL PDSCH is intentionally configured in a "subset of symbols" that belong to the UL occasions "set of symbols. Overlap is a collision scenario, not an affirmative configuration of PDSCH as a subset of the UL occasions symbol set.
iii. KITT/CHO lacks disclosure of the "time offset between a first symbol of the set of symbols and a last symbol of the DCI format. (REMARKS, Pages 9-13)
B. KITTICHO does not disclose 'wherein the pre-configured offset is a UE PUSCH preparation procedure time (Tproc,2),'' as recited by dependent claim 42. (REMARKS, Page 13)
C. KITTICHO does not disclose "prioritize the PUSCH transmission based on the time offset being smaller than or equal to the UE PUSCH preparation procedure time," as recited by dependent claim 43. (REMARKS, Page 14)
D. KITTICHO does not disclose "prioritize the PDSCH reception and cancel the PUSCH transmission based on the time offset being greater than the UE PUSCH preparation procedure time," as recited by dependent claim 44. (REMARKS, Page 15)
E. KITTICHO does not disclose "wherein the higher layer signaling configures a second PDSCH reception in the set of symbols, wherein the DCI format configures a second PUSCH transmission in at least one symbol of the set of symbols, and wherein the processing circuitry is to:
determine to prioritize the second PUSCH transmission over the second PDSCH reception,'' as recited by dependent claim 45. (REMARKS, Page 16)
With respect to Applicant’s argument for rejections under 35 USC 102 (a)(2), the Examiner presents that "A claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference." Verdegaal Bros. v. Union Oil Co. of California, 814 F.2d 628, 631, 2 USPQ2d 1051, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1987).
The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that, in some circumstances, it is permissible to use multiple references in a 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection. See MPEP § 2131.01.
Therefore according to MPEP, as long as claim elements are disclosed expressly/explicitly or inherently/implicitly by a single prior art (in some cases by multiple prior arts), the claim is anticipated, and further prior art does not need same language to disclose the elements.
With respect to Applicant’s Argument A.i, the Examiner presents that as MPEP specifies that either explicit or inherent or implicit disclosure is sufficient.
KITICHO, as previously cited, discloses -
[0011] semi-statically configured with a UL transmission occasion ….in symbols occurring after a number of symbols that is larger than or equal to Tproc, 2 after an end of DCI scheduling the DL reception.
Fig 7, Block 702, [0106] In block 702, the method includes prioritizing dynamically scheduled DL reception by the UE in response to the UE being dynamically scheduled with DL reception.
[0108] a HD-FDD UE is …. semi-statically configured with UL transmission occasion.
Fig. 8, [0109] FIG. 8 is an example of a HD-FDD UE …. with a configured grant (CG) PUSCH occasion…
(Construed that CG-PUSCH are scheduled on a set of symbols, see [0011].
Further, it is well known that Semi-Static Scheduling, Semi-Permanent Scheduling or Configured Grant are configured by higher layer signaling as evident from TS 38.331)
Additionally KITICHO also discloses-
[0221] … the wireless network may be configured to operate according to specific standards or other types of predefined rules or procedures. Thus, particular embodiments of the wireless network may implement communication standards, such as ….. Long Term Evolution (LTE), and/or other suitable 2G, 3G, 4G, or 5G standards;…
TS38331 teaches Radio Resource Control (RRC) Information Elements (IRs) or Higher Layer IEs-
See Content Pages 7-10 Section 6.3.2
ConfiguredGrantConfig, SPS-Config
See also,
Pages 212-215 ConfiguredGrantConfig
– ConfiguredGrantConfig
The IE ConfiguredGrantConfig is used to configure uplink transmission without dynamic grant according to two possible schemes. The actual uplink grant may either be configured via RRC (type1) or provided via the PDCCH (addressed to CS-RNTI) (type2).
Periodicity
Periodicity for UL transmission without UL grant for type 1 and type 2 (see TS 38.321 [3], clause 5.8.2).
rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant
Configuration for "configured grant" transmission with fully RRC-configured UL grant (Type1). If this field is absent the UE uses UL grant configured by DCI addressed to CS-RNTI (Type2). Type 1 configured grant may be configured for UL or SUL, but not for both simultaneously.
TS38331 discloses RRC message parameters for configured grant UL transmission or CG PUSCH, also discloses periodicity for Type 1 and Type 2 UL transmission referring to TS 38.321 [3], clause 5.8.2 which is available free over internet, disclosing Type 1 and Type 2 UL transmission or CG PUSCH is configured with RRC or higher layer signalling, where Type 2 CG PUSCH requires additional DCI grant.
With above 3GPP standard for New Radio or 5G, the CG PUSCH in KITICHO is RRC or higher layer configured, implicitly teaching decoding step for higher-layer signaling for CG PUSCH configuration.
With respect to Applicant’s Argument A.ii, the Examiner presents that KITICHO [0011] and Fig. 7 Block 702, [0106] In block 702, the method includes prioritizing dynamically scheduled DL reception by the UE in response to the UE being dynamically scheduled with DL reception and semi-statically configured with an UL transmission occasion which overlap in time,
disclosing overlap in time domain in symbols, disclosing explicitly or affirmatively that scheduled dynamically DL PDSCH overlaps with at least a subset of symbols of CG PUSCH. Since DL PDSCH is scheduled by network, it is intentional, and KITICHO’s prioritization is defined to process the overlap or collision with a CG PUSCH occasion.
With respect to Applicant’s Argument A.iii, the Examiner presents that KITICHO discloses –
[0011] prioritizing for processing the DL reception or UL transmission includes prioritizing a dynamically scheduled DL reception in response to the UE being dynamically scheduled with the DL reception and semi-statically configured with a UL transmission occasion which overlap in time, and the method further canceling processing of the UL transmission, if any, in symbols occurring after a number of symbols that is larger than or equal to Tproc, 2 after an end of DCI scheduling the DL reception.
Fig. 7, Fig. 8,
[0221] … implement communication standards, such as ….. Long Term Evolution (LTE), and/or other suitable …. 4G, or 5G standards;…
In the above KITICHO discloses LTE, 5G standard and a gap in symbols for start symbol of semi-statically configured UL Transmission or CG PUSCH, as Fig. 7 or Fig. 8, from end of DCI scheduling the DL reception or end of last symbol of DCI as in cited standards.
Therefore, KITICHO disclosing gap in symbols teaches time offset between a first symbol of the set of symbols and a last symbol of the DCI format, and teaches all elements required by claim 41.
With respect to Applicant’s Argument B, the Examiner presents that KITICHO discloses –
[0098] UE PUSCH preparation procedure time T.sub.proc,2 (sec) or N.sub.2 (symbols) as defined in [5],Section 6.4.
Fig. 7, [0107] In block 704, the method includes canceling the UL transmission if the UL transmission occasion starts later than Tproc,2 after end of the DCI scheduling DL reception.
See also Fig. 8.
[0215] [5] TS 38.214, v. 16.4.0, “NR, Physical layer procedures for data”.
See also [0011], Fig. 7 Block 702 cited for claim 41 disclosing gap in symbols between end of DCI and start of CG PUSCH for prioritizing DL or PDSCH reception, and explanation presented above in response to Applicant’s Argument A.iii,
The Examiner also notes that the Applicant acknowledges that TS 38.214 Section 6.4 (external standard) defines Tproc,2 as a physical-layer procedure time relevant to UE PUSCH preparation (in symbols).
Therefore, KITICHO teaches standard defined Tproc,2 is a pre-configured offset for UE PUSCH preparation procedure time as required by claim 42.
With respect to Applicant’s Argument C, the Examiner presents that KITICHO discloses –
Fig. 7, [0107] In block 704, the method includes canceling the UL transmission if the UL transmission occasion starts later than Tproc,2 after end of the DCI scheduling DL reception. In some examples, if the UL transmission occasion does not start later than Tproc,2 after the end of the DCI scheduling the DL reception, the UE prioritizes processing earlier transmission or reception.
(Construed prioritize the UL or PUSCH transmission over DL reception if the UL transmission occasion starts before the end of Tproc,2 after end of the DCI scheduling DL reception or the time offset, since UL will be cancelled if UL starts later than Tproc,2 after end of the DCI scheduling DL reception, i.e.
Block 704 and [0011, 0107] disclosing-
if time offset between end of DCI scheduling PDSCH and start of CG PUSCH > Tproc, 2, then prioritize PDSCH,
else prioritize CG PUSCH.
See also Examiner’s explanation in response to Applicant’s arguments A and B above.
Therefore, KITICHO teaches "prioritize the PUSCH transmission based on the time offset being smaller than or equal to the UE PUSCH preparation procedure time," as recited by dependent claim 43.
With respect to Applicant’s Argument D, see above Examiner’s explanation in response to Applicant’s Argument C, and KITICHO Fig. 7 Blocks 702. 704, [0106, 0107] and Fig. 8, indicates the teaching for elements required by claim 44.
With respect to Applicant’s Argument E, the Examiner presents that KITICHO with evidence by TS38331 discloses –
Fig. 11, [0115] FIG. 11 is a flow chart of an example of a method for applying another prioritization rule by user equipment for handling downlink and uplink collisions according to some embodiments of inventive concepts. In block 1202, the method includes prioritizing by the UE dynamically scheduled UL transmission in response to the UE being dynamically scheduled with UL transmission and semi-statically configured with a DL reception occasion which overlap in time.
[0116] In block 1204, the method includes ignoring or canceling processing of the DL reception occasion if the DL reception occasion starts later than Tproc, 2 after the end of the DCI scheduling the UL transmission. Otherwise, the UE prioritizes processing an earlier transmission or reception, or alternatively, the UE does not expect to transmit the dynamically scheduled UL transmission.
See also Fig. 12, [0119] FIG. 12 is an illustration of an example of a HD-FDD UE being dynamically scheduled with PUSCH overlapping with a DL SPS occasion. Since the DL SPS occasion starts later than Tproc,2 after the end of the DCI scheduling PUSCH, the UE ignores the DL SPS occasion or cancels the DL SPS reception, and only transmits the PUSCH. FIG. 12 is also an illustration of the method of FIG. 11.
See also [0126, 0127] Semi-Statically Configured DL Reception, SPS PDSCH.
Additionally, TS38331 discloses DL SPS is occasions are configured using RRC IE, and therefore.
Therefore, DL SPS disclosed in Fig. 11, Fig. 12, [0115, 0116, 0119] are SPS PDSCH, which are RRC or higher layer configured, and processed by UE which is implicit.
Accordingly, KITICHO teaches all elements of claim 45.
Therefore, independent claims 41, 51 and 59 and corresponding dependent claims 42-50, 52-58 and 60 are rejected for reasons cited above.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41-48 and 50-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kittichokechai et al. (US 20240080878 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63138784, of record, hereinafter ‘KITTICHO’) with evidence by 3GPP TS 38.331 v15.13.0 (of record, hereinafter ‘TS38331’).
Regarding claim 41, KITTICHO teaches an apparatus for user equipment (UE) (Fig. 20 Communication Device 2000, Fig. 24 UE 4200) configured for half-duplex (HD) operation in a Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) network (
[0108] a HD-FDD UE.
Fig. 24, [0251] FIG. 24 illustrates one embodiment of a UE in accordance with various aspects described herein. …. UE 4200, as illustrated in FIG. 24, is … configured for communication in accordance with one or more communication standards promulgated by the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), such as 3GPP's …. 5G standards.), the apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry (Fig. 20 Communication Device 2000 with processor 2003), wherein to configure the UE for the HD operation in the 5G NR network, the processing circuitry is to:
decode higher layer signaling, the higher layer signaling to configure a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission in a set of symbols (
[0011] semi-statically configured with a UL transmission occasion ….in symbols occurring after a number of symbols that is larger than or equal to Tproc, 2 after an end of DCI scheduling the DL reception.
Fig 7, Block 702, [0106] In block 702, the method includes prioritizing dynamically scheduled DL reception by the UE in response to the UE being dynamically scheduled with DL reception.
[0108] a HD-FDD UE is …. semi-statically configured with UL transmission occasion.
Fig. 8, [0109] FIG. 8 is an example of a HD-FDD UE …. with a configured grant (CG) PUSCH occasion…
[0221] … the wireless network may be configured to operate according to specific standards or other types of predefined rules or procedures. Thus, particular embodiments of the wireless network may implement communication standards, such as ….. Long Term Evolution (LTE), and/or other suitable 2G, 3G, 4G, or 5G standards;…
(Construed that CG-PUSCH are scheduled on a set of symbols, see [0011].
Further, it is well known that Semi-Static Scheduling, Semi-Permanent Scheduling or Configured Grant are configured by higher layer signaling as evident from TS 38.331));
decode a downlink control information (DCI) format, the DCI format to configure a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception in a subset of symbols from the set of symbols (
[0011] a dynamically scheduled DL reception in response to the UE being dynamically scheduled with the DL reception and semi-statically configured with a UL transmission occasion which overlap in time, and the method further canceling processing of the UL transmission, if any, in symbols occurring after a number of symbols that is larger than or equal to Tproc, 2 after an end of DCI scheduling the DL reception.
Fig 7, Block 702, [0106] UE being ….. semi-statically configured with an UL transmission occasion.
[0108] HD-FDD UE is dynamically scheduled with DL reception and semi-statically configured with UL transmission occasion which overlap in time domain, the UE prioritizes the dynamically scheduled DL reception.
[0109] FIG. 8 is an example of a HD-FDD UE being dynamically scheduled with PDSCH
(Construed that PDSCH is scheduled on a subset of symbols, see [0011], configured dynamically by a DCI format, DCI having a format is well known in the art)); and
determine to prioritize the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception based on a comparison between a pre-configured offset and a time offset between a first symbol of the set of symbols and a last symbol of the DCI format (
[0011] prioritizing for processing the DL reception or UL transmission includes prioritizing a dynamically scheduled DL reception in response to the UE being dynamically scheduled with the DL reception and semi-statically configured with a UL transmission occasion which overlap in time, and the method further canceling processing of the UL transmission, if any, in symbols occurring after a number of symbols that is larger than or equal to Tproc, 2 after an end of DCI scheduling the DL reception.
See also Fig. 7 Block 702 [Wingdings font/0xE8] Block 704,
[0106] In block 702, the method includes prioritizing dynamically scheduled DL reception by the UE in response to the UE being dynamically scheduled with DL reception and semi-statically configured with an UL transmission occasion which overlap in time.
[0107] In block 704, the method includes canceling the UL transmission if the UL transmission occasion starts later than Tproc,2 after end of the DCI scheduling DL reception. In some examples, if the UL transmission occasion does not start later than Tproc,2 after the end of the DCI scheduling the DL reception, the UE prioritizes processing earlier transmission or reception, or alternatively, the UE does not expect to receive the dynamically scheduled DL reception.
(Construed that Tproc, 2 == pre-configured offset, and UL transmission, if any, in symbols occurring after a number of symbols that is larger than or equal to Tproc, 2 after an end of DCI scheduling the DL reception == a time offset between a first symbol of the set of symbols and a last symbol of the DCI format,
Then, Block 704 and [0011, 0107] disclosing-
if time offset between end of DCI scheduling PDSCH and start of CG PUSCH > Tproc, 2, then prioritize PDSCH,
else prioritize CG PUSCH)); and
memory coupled to the processing circuitry and configured to store the higher layer signaling and the DCI format (
Fig. 24, [0252] In FIG. 24, UE 4200 includes processing circuitry 4201 that is operatively coupled to …… memory 4215 including random access memory (RAM) 4217, read-only memory (ROM) 4219, and storage medium 4221 or the like..
[0260] The features, benefits and/or functions described herein may be implemented in one of the components of UE 4200 … may be implemented in any combination of hardware, software, or firmware. …. Further, processing circuitry 4201 may be configured to communicate with any of such components over bus 4202. In another example, any of such components may be represented by program instructions stored in memory that when executed by processing circuitry 4201 perform the corresponding functions described herein.
(Construed that UE stores the higher layer configured CG PUSCH occasion and DCI formats for the communication protocol between network and UE as illustrated by Fig. 7 and Fig. 8)).
TS38331 teaches Radio Resource Control (RRC) Information Elements (IRs) or Higher Layer IEs-
See Content Pages 7-10 Section 6.3.2
ConfiguredGrantConfig, SPS-Config
See also,
Pages 212-215 ConfiguredGrantConfig
– ConfiguredGrantConfig
The IE ConfiguredGrantConfig is used to configure uplink transmission without dynamic grant according to two possible schemes. The actual uplink grant may either be configured via RRC (type1) or provided via the PDCCH (addressed to CS-RNTI) (type2).
Periodicity
Periodicity for UL transmission without UL grant for type 1 and type 2 (see TS 38.321 [3], clause 5.8.2).
rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant
Configuration for "configured grant" transmission with fully RRC-configured UL grant (Type1). If this field is absent the UE uses UL grant configured by DCI addressed to CS-RNTI (Type2). Type 1 configured grant may be configured for UL or SUL, but not for both simultaneously.
Pages 376-377
The IE SPS-Config is used to configure downlink semi-persistent transmission. Downlink SPS may be configured on the SpCell as well as on SCells. The network ensures SPS-Config is configured for at most one cell in a cell group.
Regarding claim 42, KITTICHO, with evidence by TS38331, teaches the apparatus of claim 41, wherein the pre-configured offset is a UE PUSCH preparation procedure time (Tproc,2) (
[0098] UE PUSCH preparation procedure time T.sub.proc,2 (sec) or N.sub.2 (symbols) as defined in [5],Section 6.4.
Fig. 7, [0107] In block 704, the method includes canceling the UL transmission if the UL transmission occasion starts later than Tproc,2 after end of the DCI scheduling DL reception.
See also Fig. 8.
[0215] [5] TS 38.214, v. 16.4.0, “NR, Physical layer procedures for data”.
(KITICHO teaches standard defined Tproc,2 is a pre-configured offset for UE PUSCH preparation procedure time)).
Regarding claim 43, KITTICHO, with evidence by TS38331, teaches the apparatus of claim 42, wherein the processing circuitry is to:
prioritize the PUSCH transmission based on the time offset being smaller than or equal to the UE PUSCH preparation procedure time (
Fig. 7, [0107] In block 704, the method includes canceling the UL transmission if the UL transmission occasion starts later than Tproc,2 after end of the DCI scheduling DL reception. In some examples, if the UL transmission occasion does not start later than Tproc,2 after the end of the DCI scheduling the DL reception, the UE prioritizes processing earlier transmission or reception
(Construed prioritize the UL or PUSCH transmission over DL reception if the UL transmission occasion starts before the end of Tproc,2 after end of the DCI scheduling DL reception or the time offset, since UL will be cancelled if UL starts later than Tproc,2 after end of the DCI scheduling DL reception, i.e.
Block 704 and [0011, 0107] disclosing-
if time offset between end of DCI scheduling PDSCH and start of CG PUSCH > Tproc, 2, then prioritize PDSCH,
else prioritize CG PUSCH)).
Regarding claim 44, KITTICHO, with evidence by TS38331, teaches the apparatus of claim 43, wherein the processing circuitry is to:
prioritize the PDSCH reception and cancel the PUSCH transmission based on the time offset being greater than the UE PUSCH preparation procedure time (
Fig. 7, [0106] In block 702, the method includes prioritizing dynamically scheduled DL reception by the UE in response to the UE being dynamically scheduled with DL reception and semi-statically configured with an UL transmission occasion which overlap in time.
[0107] In block 704, the method includes canceling the UL transmission if the UL transmission occasion starts later than Tproc,2 after end of the DCI scheduling DL reception. In some examples, if the UL transmission occasion does not start later than Tproc,2 after the end of the DCI scheduling the DL reception, the UE prioritizes processing earlier transmission or reception, or alternatively, the UE does not expect to receive the dynamically scheduled DL reception.
See also Fig. 8.).
Regarding claim 45, KITTICHO, with evidence by TS38331, teaches the apparatus of claim 41, wherein the higher layer signaling configures a second PDSCH reception in the set of symbols, wherein the DCI format configures a second PUSCH transmission in at least one symbol of the set of symbols, and wherein the processing circuitry is to:
determine to prioritize the second PUSCH transmission over the second PDSCH reception (
Fig. 11, [0115] FIG. 11 is a flow chart of an example of a method for applying another prioritization rule by user equipment for handling downlink and uplink collisions according to some embodiments of inventive concepts. In block 1202, the method includes prioritizing by the UE dynamically scheduled UL transmission in response to the UE being dynamically scheduled with UL transmission and semi-statically configured with a DL reception occasion which overlap in time.
[0116] In block 1204, the method includes ignoring or canceling processing of the DL reception occasion if the DL reception occasion starts later than Tproc, 2 after the end of the DCI scheduling the UL transmission. Otherwise, the UE prioritizes processing an earlier transmission or reception, or alternatively, the UE does not expect to transmit the dynamically scheduled UL transmission.
See also Fig. 12, [0119] FIG. 12 is an illustration of an example of a HD-FDD UE being dynamically scheduled with PUSCH overlapping with a DL SPS occasion. Since the DL SPS occasion starts later than Tproc,2 after the end of the DCI scheduling PUSCH, the UE ignores the DL SPS occasion or cancels the DL SPS reception, and only transmits the PUSCH. FIG. 12 is also an illustration of the method of FIG. 11.).
Regarding claim 46, KITTICHO, with evidence by TS38331, teaches the apparatus of claim 41, wherein the processing circuitry is to:
detect an overlap between a dynamically scheduled uplink transmission and a reception of a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block and determine to prioritize performing of the dynamically scheduled uplink transmission over the reception of the SS/PBCH block (
[0081] The embodiments are described herein using generic terms of DL reception and UL transmission. DL reception can include physical DL channels or signals such as PDSCH, PDCCH, SSB, and CSI-RS. Similarly, UL transmission can include physical UL channels or signals such as PUSCH, PUCCH, SR, and SRS. When DL reception or UL transmission is described as being dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured, it can therefore cover all the mentioned physical channels and signals.
Fig. 12, [0119] FIG. 12 is an illustration of an example of a HD-FDD UE being dynamically scheduled with PUSCH overlapping with a DL SPS occasion. Since the DL SPS occasion starts later than Tproc,2 after the end of the DCI scheduling PUSCH, the UE ignores the DL SPS occasion or cancels the DL SPS reception, and only transmits the PUSCH.).
Regarding claim 47, KITTICHO, with evidence by TS38331, teaches the apparatus of claim 41, wherein the processing circuitry is to:
detect an overlap between a semi-statically configured downlink reception and a dynamically scheduled uplink transmission on the PUSCH, and determine to prioritize the dynamically scheduled uplink transmission over the semi- statically configured downlink reception (
Fig. 12, [0119] FIG. 12 is an illustration of an example of a HD-FDD UE being dynamically scheduled with PUSCH overlapping with a DL SPS occasion. Since the DL SPS occasion starts later than Tproc,2 after the end of the DCI scheduling PUSCH, the UE ignores the DL SPS occasion or cancels the DL SPS reception, and only transmits the PUSCH).
Regarding claim 48, KITTICHO, with evidence by TS38331, teaches the apparatus of claim 41, wherein the processing circuitry is to:
detect an overlap between a dynamically scheduled downlink reception and a dynamically scheduled uplink transmission, and determine to perform one of the dynamically scheduled downlink reception or the dynamically scheduled uplink transmission based on a start time of the dynamically scheduled uplink transmission and the pre-configured offset (
Fig. 6, [0103] FIG. 6 is an illustration of the method of FIG. 5. FIG. 6 is also an example of a HD-FDD UE being dynamically scheduled with overlapping PDSCH and PUSCH where PDSCH is scheduled earlier (e.g., its DCI ends earlier). A cancellation indication (CI) 602 is included in the DCI scheduling the overlapping PUSCH (later DCI) indicating to the UE to cancel processing of PDSCH reception at symbols which occur after T.sub.proc,2 after the end of the later DCI.).
Regarding claim 50, KITTICHO, with evidence by TS38331, teaches the apparatus of claim 41, further comprising:
transceiver circuitry coupled to the processing circuitry (
Fig. 20, Fig. 23, Fig. 24, [0161] [0161] FIG. 20 is a block diagram illustrating elements of a communication device UE 2000 ……. Communication device UE may also include processing circuitry 2003 (also referred to as a processor, e.g., corresponding to processing circuitry 4120 of FIG. 23, processor 4201 of FIG. 24, …….. coupled to the transceiver circuitry, and memory circuitry 305 ); and
two or more antennas coupled to the transceiver circuitry (
Fig. 23, 4111 Antennas coupled to 4122 RF Transceiver Circuitry via 4112 Radio Front End Circuitry,
[0240] Antenna 4111 may include one or more antennas or antenna arrays, configured to send and/or receive wireless signals, and is connected to interface 4114.
[0241] RF transceiver circuitry 4122 may be considered a part of interface 4114).
Regarding claim 51, KITTICHO teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 20, Memory 2005, Fig. 24 UE 4200 Memory 4215 ) that stores instructions for execution by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (
Fig. 24, [0252] In FIG. 24, UE 4200 includes processing circuitry 4201 that is operatively coupled to …… memory 4215 including random access memory (RAM) 4217, read-only memory (ROM) 4219, and storage medium 4221 or the like..
[0260] The features, benefits and/or functions described herein may be implemented in one of the components of UE 4200 … may be implemented in any combination of hardware, software, or firmware. …. Further, processing circuitry 4201 may be configured to communicate with any of such components over bus 4202. In another example, any of such components may be represented by program instructions stored in memory that when executed by processing circuitry 4201 perform the corresponding functions described herein), the instructions to configure the UE for half-duplex (HD) operation in a Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) network (
[0108] a HD-FDD UE.
Fig. 24, [0251] FIG. 24 illustrates one embodiment of a UE in accordance with various aspects described herein. …. UE 4200, as illustrated in FIG. 24, is … configured for communication in accordance with one or more communication standards promulgated by the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), such as 3GPP's …. 5G standards).
Further Claim 51 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 41, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 41.
Regarding claim 52, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 42.
Regarding claim 53, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 43.
Regarding claim 54, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 44.
Regarding claim 55, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 45.
Regarding claim 56, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 46.
Regarding claim 57, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 47.
Regarding claim 58, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 48.
Regarding claim 59, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 41, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 41.
Regarding claim 60, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 42.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai et al. (US 20240080878 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63138784, hereinafter ‘KITTICHO’) with evidence by 3GPP TS 38.331 v15.13.0 (hereinafter ‘TS38331’) in view of Christoffersson et al. (US 20220408478 A1 with priority of PCT/EP2020/077747, hereinafter ‘CHRIS’).
Regarding claim 49, KITTICHO, with evidence by TS38331, teaches the apparatus of claim 41.
KITTICHO does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE is configured for operation in a paired spectrum, and wherein the processing circuitry is to:
determine a Message A (MsgA) PUSCH occasion is valid when it does not overlap in time and frequency with a random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) that is valid.
In an analogous art, CHRIST teaches wherein the UE is configured for operation in a paired spectrum, and wherein the processing circuitry is to:
determine a Message A (MsgA) PUSCH occasion is valid when it does not overlap in time and frequency with a random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) that is valid (
[0070] The time resources and preamble format for PRACH transmission is configured by a PRACH configuration index, which indicates a row in a PRACH configuration table specified in TS 38.211 Tables 6.3.3.2-2, 6.3.3.2-3, 6.3.3.2-4 for FR1 paired spectrum, FR1 unpaired spectrum and FR2 with unpaired spectrum, respectively.
[0140] In some cases, separately configured 2-step and 4-step ROs may partially overlap. In this case an invalidation rule must be defined for those overlapped ROs. And even in case 2-step RO configuration is not overlapped with any 4-step RO, if some PRACH formats used by 4-step RA are also considered for 2-step RA, some additional rules may be needed to select only a subset of the 2-step ROs to minimize the gap between msgA preamble and msgA PUSCH.
(It is obvious from [0070] that a UE may be configured with PRACH resources and operate in paired or unpaired spectrum, and from [0140] that when 2-step RACH with msgA and 4-step RO does not overlap, 4-step RO is valid, and msgA is also valid with some additional rules)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of selecting RACH opportunities (ROs) and PUSCH opportunities (POs) when the configurations are not shared in case of collisions or no collision between 2-step msgA and 4-step RO of CHRIS to the system of handling DL/UL collision with prioritization rules of KITTICHO in order to take the advantage of a method for communicating RO configurations to UEs improving performance and latency (CHRIS: ABSTRACT, [0002, 0254]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
He et al. (US 20230179391 A1), describing Half Duplex Frequency Division Duplex For New Radio
Sun et al. (US 20220039115 A1), describing METHOD AND DEVICE FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING SIGNALS
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413