DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections made in a previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Imamura et al. (US 2019/0031566).
Regarding claim 1, Imamura discloses a large-sized silicon nitride sintered substrate, see abstract. The reference further discloses that in order to suppress the substrate to be formed from being curved or waved, a weight plate is placed on a top surface of the greensheet formed for producing the silicon nitride substrate [0076-0083], see Figures 7-10. The substrate has a main surface of a shape larger than a square having a side of a length of 120 mm or a rectangle of 150 mm x 170 mm [0019]. Note that the ranges in Imamura are considered to disclose the claimed range with “sufficient specificity” so as to anticipate the claimed range; see MPEP 2131.03 II.
While the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed thermal conductivity ratio, it is expected the disclosed silicon nitride substrate will have the same thermal conductivity variation (i.e. the claimed ratio) given the disclosed and claimed substrates are formed using the same or similar method (i.e. molding Si powder into greensheets, placing a weight on the greensheet to prevent it from being curved or waved after sintering, stacking the greensheets in a vertical frame, and nitriding the Si powder); see Imamura [0066-0091] and Applicant’s specification [0047-0052]. See also MPEP 2112.01 I: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.”
Additionally, while the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed thermal conductivity values, given the reference discloses a substrate of the same or similar composition produced by the same or similar method, it is expected the disclosed silicon nitride substrate will have the same properties regarding thermal conductivity values; see above discussion and MPEP 2112.01 I and II.
Regarding claim 2, the reference discloses the substrate has a main surface of a shape larger than a square having a side of a length of 120 mm or a rectangle of 150 mm x 170 mm [0019]. Note that the ranges in Imamura are considered to disclose the claimed range with “sufficient specificity” so as to anticipate the claimed range; see MPEP 2131.03 II.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the presence of uniformity is not necessarily obtained by the process of Imamura. Specifically, Applicant notes that the “reference example” in the instant application shows that, even if the conditions are met, the ratio becomes 0.83 due to difference in frame shape and the like. Applicant also argues that “large-sized” silicon nitride substrates have uneven volatilization of the sintering aid, which makes it difficult to ensure in-plane uniformity of thermal conductivity. According to Applicant, the present invention achieves a remarkable unexpected result contrary to the expectation of a person skilled in art. As such, Applicant request the withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed above and previously, Imamura discloses a silicon nitride substrate of a similar size made by a similar process. Note that the shape of the disclosed substrate is also similar, see Applicant’s Fig. 4 and Imamura Fig. 1. The similar processing method, size and shape disclosed by the reference are the rationale for showing inherency of the claimed properties in the prior art; see MPEP 2112 IV. Once the Examiner presents reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the Applicant; MPEP 2112 V. In the instant case, Applicant argues that the ratio is shape dependent, but Examiner notes that the disclosed substrate has the same shape. Further, Applicant’s reference example is for a vertical frame, where the frame in Imamura has a horizontal structure similar to Applicant, see Imamura Fig. 8 and [0092] and Applicant’s specification [0056-0061]. Additionally, Applicant argues that it is typical to provide a recess to achieve high thermal conductivity for such a large size, but the reference does not teach a recess. Lastly, Examiner notes that unexpected results are not relevant to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102.
For the above reasons, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Imamura are respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783